Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No fermentation

Options
  • 17-11-2016 1:16am
    Registered Users Posts: 10

Hello, new poster here, but I have a question for any homebrewers here , the question is I have been being brewing for a few months now and am on my fourth batch, it's an all grain. The problem is that it's a high alcohol small batch( 1 gallon.) So I mashed anf boiled and ended up with 1.064 reading put my yeast in and week later nothing. So put some more yeast in and put it in the hotpress still nothing and finally hydrated some yeast and still nothing. It all looks and smells fine when I open it. I put in half a pack each time. Does high alcohol high sugar being require different standards. The recipe I using said some yeast nutrient but I didn't bother as I never used or heard about it before? Thanks in advance for any help you can give, Nevbrewer.

Comments

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Nevbrewer wrote: »
    and week later nothing.
    By "nothing" do you mean the gravity is still 1.064?
    I put in half a pack each time.
    Never use a half packet of yeast. Dried yeast shouldn't be scaled down for smaller batches the way hops and malt are.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Nevbrewer

BeerNut wrote: »
    By "nothing" do you mean the gravity is still 1.064?

Never use a half packet of yeast. Dried yeast shouldn't be scaled down for smaller batches the way hops and malt are.