Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

We have been poison. Absolute poison. For all of January. Our passing is really slowing up our game. Really laboured and inaccurate. Something is quite obviously wrong with the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Dogsh1t. Absolute abysmal from start to finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Lallanas worst game in ages. Massively worrying form for us, cant deny southampton deserved over the two legs fair play to em.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Bring back Rodgers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Better team won. Klopp has a TON of work to do to turn this around. I believe he can get us back playing well but it needs to be sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Bring back Rodgers?

Not even funny.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Bret Hart wrote: »
    Lol.

Are you lost? Should that not be a match thread post?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

2 home defeats in a row.

Nothing to see here. No need to sign anyone to improve squad. Let's pretend all is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Terrible ref again
    But Southampton deserved to go through no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

2017 has been awful for us so far.

Are we in crisis now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Worst thing is that this was supposed to be our 'angry' reaction to the Swansea defeat. A few bad results rapidly turning into something worse. From looking like we'd score every time we attacked at the start of the season to these sterile performances, hard to think what we change to get it right. Can's been rank though and Gini should be straight back in for him against Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

We should get Long too. Long and Brady.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

A definite trend here, using Mane as an excuse ain't good enough.
    No reaction after losing to Swansea at home is pitiful.

2 home defeats in a row.

Nothing to see here. No need to sign anyone to improve squad. Let's pretend all is ok

Same squad had us top of the league and scoring goals for fun.

Something else has gone wrong.

Transfers not always the answer, and who can they buy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Bring back Rodgers?

For his great cup record?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Better team won. Klopp has a TON of work to do to turn this around. I believe he can get us back playing well but it needs to be sooner rather than later.

He can start by playing the best 11 (bar Mane for now) and in their correct positions. Sturridge can feck off, Firmino is the striker of choice now, Lallana is a No 8 and a half not a No 11. Wiji in and Can for FA Cup only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

So who does Liverpool sign from Southampton this summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Oh dear.... 4th gone and now the Carling cup.

That's the disappointing thing, I expected some defeats of course but I thought Klopp would always be able to stir a reaction to those defeats and we wouldn't go through such a rut like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

2017 not our year
    We just can't win a game, two home defeats in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭54and56

Lot's of chat elsewhere earlier in the season that Klopp's gegenpressing wasn't sustainable throughout an entire English season.

Is tiredness as a result of the system the root cause of why the team has been flat for the last month or so?

Chelsea at the weekend :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

We're making a right ****ing Arsenal of this January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Look, we were terrible for both legs, no one's denying that. Southampton deserved to win of course, but that doesn't excuse a clear penalty that could easily have us in Extra Time right now. We missed some chances, we played like shít, but chances are we'd still be fighting if the ref didn't fcuk it up, or better yet if they'd stop whinging and just implement video referees already.

redzerdrog wrote: »

If Klopp can match B-Rods 2nd place finish he will have done well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Start a striker and we probably win that.

Vanolder wrote: »

Oh dear, you're back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Never going to win anything with Jordan Henderson as captain. As for the likes of Sturridge & Can, kindly do one please.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Same squad had us top of the league and scoring goals for fun.

Something else has gone wrong.

Transfers not always the answer, and who can they buy anyway.

Well it's no coincidence that when we were top of the league we had everyone fit an available .

We got a couple of injuries and a dip in form of one or two players and we struggle. Why's that? Well we lack real depth . What came in isn't good enough

When our injured came back did we expect them to hit form once more.

It's 100% Klopps fault for not having back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭baldbear

Vanolder wrote: »

4th gone? I don't think so. Mane to come back & things won't so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭emo72

Has the team over trained? They looked slow. No spark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Totally deserved. Southampton completely outplayed us in both games.

They defended solidly enough and while their finishing wasn't great they created far more proper chances.
    Romeu was a beast in both games.

I expected a response tonight and we didn't have anything.

It wasn't even an awful performance on an individual basis.
    Even Can had quite a good few moments sprinkled among the bad.

There were negatives of course - Sturridge missing chances, Milner looking tired, Henderson looking a bit rusty, Firmino not featuring enough and being sloppy in possession, Matip looking rusty in defence and making a few poor attempts at challenges on Redmond, Lovren looking rattled by Southampton fans as ever, TAA looking like an 18 year old.
    In the main they were all doing fine in the minute to minute though.

It was just tactically inept, either in it's design or implementation.

No intelligence in how we attacked.
    At least Lallana started popping up on the left 2nd half and we got some joy from it, but it didn't happen enough and nobody was really doing the same on the right.

If you've no width, nobody who can beat a man, nobody in behind, and you're playing against a team with 9-10 men behind the ball, how can you possibly expect to break it down?
    Dead ball? Maybe, but they were awful.

Look, we were terrible for both legs, no one's denying that. Southampton deserved to win of course, but that doesn't excuse a clear penalty that could easily have us in Extra Time right now. We missed some chances, we played like shít, but chances are we'd still be fighting if the ref didn't fcuk it up, or better yet if they'd stop whinging and just implement video referees already.

The fact that we're hoping for a late penalty after almost 180 minutes is enough to show that we were awful, didn't deserve it and there is something majorly wrong at the moment.

Turtyturd wrote: »

Pity we don't have any at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭Ardent

I think tiredness is a factor in these recent performances. We need new blood this transfer window.

And get rid of Sturridge, should be clear to all now that he's not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Is it still our year

You'd have to blame Klopp for this defeat.

Pretty much hands a cup to Utd too.

So you don't think Southhampton can beat them. Really disagree with that.

redzerdrog wrote: »

Right. Never mind the cups. Just focus on the league.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I feel absolutely downtrodden right now. This is a really bad funk we're in.

Lot's of chat elsewhere earlier in the season that Klopp's gegenpressing wasn't sustainable throughout an entire English season.

Is tiredness as a result of the system the root cause of why the team has been flat for the last month or so?

Iirc I said that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

baldbear wrote: »
    4th gone? I don't think so. Mane to come back & things won't so bad.

Lol.... Check in to reality, mate. They have been falling apart for 6 weeks now... The players are knackered.

Ardent wrote: »
    I think tiredness is a factor in these recent performances. We need new blood this transfer window.

And get rid of Sturridge, should be clear to all now that he's not good enough.

Sturridge is top class. Anyone that says he's not is deluded . He just doesn't suit the way we play.

And persisting with him is just another problem we ain't addressing

He can start by playing the best 11 (bar Mane for now) and in their correct positions. Sturridge can feck off, Firmino is the striker of choice now, Lallana is a No 8 and a half not a No 11. Wiji in and Can for FA Cup only.

It's insane. We can't ruin everyone else's game just to accommodate Sturridge, especially when he's playing like shíte himself. Rather than shifting the whole team around just because Mane is out we should be leaving everyone as they were and bringing in the likes of Ojo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We pressed United
    How exactly can we press anyone when we have the ball for 75% of the time. This is why we beat the bigger clubs who actually want to play football and lose to teams like Swansea and Southampton who give us ball.
    Our plan B needs review as you can't press when you have ball, only without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

lets see the manager explain this one,great crowd for 90 mins,tripe performance.. 100 % peno not give again as well, something is very wrong .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

Is it still our year

It's always our year.

So you don't think Southhampton can beat them. Really disagree with that.

I'll run naked outside the GPO if they do

The fact that we're hoping for a late penalty after almost 180 minutes is enough to show that we were awful, didn't deserve it and there is something majorly wrong at the moment.

It doesn't matter that we're hoping for it, I know we were awful I said that, the point is is that poor refereeing can't be excused just because "we didn't deserve it anyway."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Two holding midfielders who won't go past the ball and yet aren't around when the other team break.
    Two full backs who are ok defensively (TAA bit to learn but young) but offer absolutely nothing going forward.

When you have these in your side you'll find it hard to break down a team set up to defend.

As the saying goes, we were lucky to get nil.

Well it's no coincidence that when we were top of the league we had everyone fit an available .

We got a couple of injuries and a dip in form of one or two players and we struggle. Why's that? Well we lack real depth . What came in isn't good enough

When our injured came back did we expect them to hit form once more.

It's 100% Klopps fault for not having back up

Pretty much a full team out tonight, only Mane missing.

He bought plenty in the summer. Who would you have wanted him to buy this month that would slot straight into the time and fit in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Turtyturd wrote: »

start with 10 players and no sturridge we would probably score