Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

My god.

How the mighty have fallen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Lucas in defence again :(
    Joe Gomez deserves a chance, he's not going to get better without playing. Lucas has been nothing short of atrocious in defence.
    NukaCola wrote: »
    Lucas at CB again....not a good sign. He's just not good enough to start let alone start out of position.
    RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Lucas is a disaster at CB. Spurs will score at least 2 today
    Umaro wrote: »
    Lucas in defence is a bad move.
    Lucas has done nothing to justify selection, nothing at all! By all accounts a nice lad/good servant and all, but fvuk me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

My god.

Dammit! I wish I'd spotted that. Some decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Where are all The End is Nigh posters I guess we won't see them again till we lose against Leicester:pac::pac:

Now. Now, don't dismiss legitimate concerns of one win in ten as OTT.

It wasn't and we are still miles behind where we should be starting with that Sunderland away game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Dammit! I wish I'd spotted that. Some decline.

Too late! They're my Thanks now.

noodler wrote: »

It's more so the fact that they only rear their heads when we're losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Lucas is boss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

noodler wrote: »

It wasn't and we are still miles behind where we should be starting with that Sunderland away game.

Ah now leave OTT out of this the poor lad must be on his death bed so us to have a performance like that today.

Don't get well soon OTT. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

How the mighty have fallen.

Can see Klopp turning to Lovren up front to save our season bud. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Can see Klopp turning to Lovren up front to save our season bud. :)

Pal too. He loves using that one as well. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Milkers wrote: »

Meh, I standby my comment......

You missed the best one.
    shamrock55 wrote: »
    There is a hammering on the cards today with lucas at cb,wtf is klopp playing at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Lads, Lucas is still not the answer. The problem we've had in recent games is two other passengers (Sturridge and Can). Have said it a few times - these two are holding back the team as of recent weeks. Both were dropped today - we won handily.

It's more so the fact that they only rear their heads when we're losing.

Who?
    Name them.

Has everyone who thinks Mane is the antidote to all that ails us at the moment forgotten that he was actually fairly poor the few weeks before he left? Do you just presume the amazing Mane of the first few weeks of the season will show up and everything will be grand?

In the spirit of judging a player on one performance like your previous multiquote post......

Lads, Lucas is still not the answer. The problem we've had in recent games is two other passengers (Sturridge and Can). Have said it a few times - these two are holding back the team as of recent weeks. Both were dropped today - we won handily.

Of the 5 PL games where we got 3 pts how many did Sturridge start?

martyos121 wrote: »
    Pal too. He loves using that one as well. :pac:

Mig...... solid..... 5 years....... Yup

Hopefully fringe players like Can and Sturridge wont be scapegoated by the majority here for recent poor form.

Augeo wrote: »
    Who?
    Name them.

You know the ones, relax Mulder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Clique in the house! Sturridge bashing commences, he didn't even play tonight...I'll bow out, enjoy the circle jerk lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Mig...... solid..... 5 years....... Yup

You don't think maybe,just MAYBE he was joking no?

You know the ones, relax Mulder.

I actually don't TBH.

The internet is no place for jokes.

I think there was zero joke on his part.

He can confirm but will probably hide under joke excuse

Leave him be, it's funnier when he doesn't get the reference (or the irony for that matter). :)

Do explain pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Came in for the gloating and good times.

Ah well.

Do explain pal.

It's not hard to figure out bud. ;)

Grayditch wrote: »
    Came in for the gloating and good times.

Ah well.

We're awful bastards.

How has nobody busted this out yet?

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQj5CndEn675Wx4lVxgcAHlqSd0eCYwr2cEo9e5peGUulAA_6VzNA

Enjoyed this!......even if it was a bit weird.

https://gfycat.com/BaggyFragrantAnura

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

What was he trying to achieve there?

It's not hard to figure out bud. ;)

Go on.......

On a side note the laundry is well staffed this evening

Dunno if that shot is tried enough for it to be used, might have made sense with a closer free.

Or maybe Mig has such a difficult time just looking at the ball that he needs someone to cover that.

Block a potential low free-kick since they're often taken that close to the goal.

My complaint about that is he should've been lying on his side with his front to goal, more coverage. :D

If the wall jumped the ball couldn't be hit along the ground? Maybe, I dunno....

Block a shot under the wall.

Dunno if that shot is tried enough for it to be used, might have made sense with a closer free.

Or maybe Mig has such a difficult time just looking at the ball that he needs someone to cover that.

Phil knows all about it

https://streamable.com/m3in

Block a potential low free-kick since they're often taken that close to the goal.

My complaint about that is he should've been lying on his side with his front to goal, more coverage. :D

They should put him in different places for each free kick. Next time Matip lifts him up and he hangs by his arms from the cross bar blocking the top corner.

Exactly, another body beside Mignolet would really phil the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,479 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sturridges minutes left for Liverpool could be less than 200. I just can't see him getting game time now that we are our of the cups.
    What happened Spurs, unless they were under a rock the past month it was blatantly obvious what is needed to frustrate and beat Liverpool. They didn't set out to do that though, or did they?
    One could argue they never even got the chance to do that, they are the draw experts but two quick goals put an end to any game plan they might of had going into game.
    We woz lucky with how the cookie crumbled, how the cards were dealt .

Lovely win today.

Lucas played well. I feared the worst. Matip was excellent beside him too.

Not having Can on the pitch was a big plus. I'd be happy enough to not see him play much again this season. Himself and Sturridge can keep each other company on the bench.

That's actually brilliant that's someone doing there homework knowing he likes to kick under a jumping wall.

It was almost arrogant from Spurs to play the way they did. They would have known how to beat us but refused to change their system. Every single time we play them the game ends with criticism of their high line, but they never change it against us. They even stumbled across a plan that worked, belt it up to Kane and have him knock it down to Son and Alli, but they didn't use that tactic nearly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

You break my heart at times Liverpool but by fūck I love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Super stuff. I can watch Match Of The Day again. Haven't watched it in ages.

Also, all the football podcasts.
    Wij breaks up play well also......a really good signing. If we can add another 3 first teamers like Matip, Wij and Mané in the summer we'll be in great shape.

I think that highlights one of our issues.

I think they need to be another level above.

This is us on a good day and we still can't kill the game off because we don't have enough quality in the box.
    We need a better standard of attacker and not just more of the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

If Henderson at DM is such a major issue surely the top sides would be exposing this weakness. Our goals against record versus the top 7 is exceptional bar the 3 goals we let in at arsenal on the first game. 1 goal in 2 games against spurs and the same against utd. A goal in each game against Chelsea and clean sheets against city and Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

If Henderson at DM is such a major issue surely the top sides would be exposing this weakness. Our goals against record versus the top 7 is exceptional bar the 3 goals we let in at arsenal on the first game. 1 goal in 2 games against spurs and the same against utd. A goal in each game against Chelsea and clean sheets against city and Everton.

He can't shield the back 4 as well as some but if you've got the quality you need to have anyway in front of him that creates the space he needs and you have Wijnaldum and Lallana alongside so you can play quickly he looks right at home.

He was great today.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Assuming our game vs Leicester goes ahead, Spurs and Utd will play 4 times before we do next.

Edit: I should really have finished that sentence

And if Leicester are still in the with a chance against Sevilla going into the second leg they may throw out a second string team against us.