Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭doc_17

8-10 wrote: »
    Robbie Fowler in his pomp would be ridiculously good in the current system, better than Firmino in my opinion.

People underestimate how good he was

Yeah I couldn't agree more. Fowler was so good before the injuries, among other things, piled up and took their toll. What a player he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

doc_17 wrote: »
    Yeah I couldn't agree more. Fowler was so good before the injuries, among other things, piled up and took their toll. What a player he was.

Nobody is questioning how great a player he was. He was fookin amazing.

Saying he wouldn't be the ideal type of forward for Klopp, while debating Sturridge, doesn't equate to saying Robbie wasn't a great player.

We can't rely on Sturridge. We're in with a an outside chance this year so imo we should go shopping next month.

We won't win a league with a crocked striker and Origi as back up.

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    We can't rely on Sturridge. We're in with a an outside chance this year so imo we should go shopping next month.

We won't win a league with a crocked striker and Origi as back up.

A fit Sturridge doesn't get into klopp's starting 11, klopp is not any way reliant on him.
    We won't win a league with origi & firmino up front though.
    I am very interested to see what striker if any klopp does buy over the next window or two.

I hope we'll spend in January but I fear we won't and our challenge will fizzle out.

Saying he wouldn't be the ideal type of forward for Klopp, while debating Sturridge, doesn't equate to saying Robbie wasn't a great player.

Indeed.

Your point was lost on many unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

We are scoring enough goals to win a league. The main problem is the keeper and a cb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

doc_17 wrote: »

Yep looking back it reads that way but that's not what I meant at all. My underestimating comment was just a standalone "people forget how good he was" comment, not related to what I quoted.

In my defence I had a few too many cognac's on me last night so don't fully remember posting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

We are scoring enough goals to win a league. The main problem is the keeper and a cb.

It's also the spread of goals.

We've failed to score in 3/14.
    City and Chelsea have only failed to score in 1 league game each this season.

Now that's a small sample size and all that, but if we extrapolate that over the course of a full season it's 8 games we can't win.
    That would mean the best situation from those would be 35pts from 19 games (what we've played, plus 5 more we don't score in).

That leaves the other 19 left for us to get something in the region of 50/57 pts (2.63ppg) to get 85 pts.

Thus far we have got 28/33 in the games we've scored in (2.55 ppg).

These number can go up and down and I wouldn't put much store in them in terms of how they can predict events, but they do illustrate how only looking at goals scored in raw terms is too simplistic.

We're a great team but we lack top quality or a solid defence and those help you iron out those bumps in the road where there are injuries, people don't turn up or you're facing a particularly stubborn defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

eyerer wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that at the time those coaches were sacked, Rodgers was given another three or so months because Klopp wanted a break from football after Dortmund, then when that time was up Rodgers was sacked and replaced.
    It's always the way I saw it.

I don't, purely because we got involved in the Beneteke deal that summer. I highly doubt they had any conversations with Klopp anyway before mid September of that year.

There was always a possibility that Rodgers could have started that season strongly. I think they concluded there was nothing they wanted right then, then reevaluated after the poor start.

But it's speculation either way.

Well yeah we're lacking in a few departments. You'd expect that with a work in progress with a manager who hasn't been there long.

But all the fundamentals are already in place, we have a very clear style of play and a really good eleven who on their day could beat just about anyone.
    That's a good position to be in at this early stage in Klopp's tenure. Way faster than most would have expected.
    So when we're on song we're majestic and when a couple of crucial players like Matip and Coutinho go missing it seems to break down on us.
    Plus we're a tad fortunate that Milner has been almost ever-present. If he was the one missing last weekend against Bournmouth and Moreno had taken part in that debacle then the internet would have exploded altogether.

Of course we need a few players. And we'll get them, in time. A CB, LB, a replacement for Sturridge when he leaves, another attacking midfielder and jesus if it was me, a goal-keeper.

But instead of worrying and focusing on the negatives, we should be counting our lucky stars that we are where we are already.
    I was gutted after last weekend. Really pissed me off and was like a bear all weekend after. So just avoided posting but I was reading and crikey it was like the end of the universe altogether.
    Sometimes I think people forget how little time Klopp has had here. We're way ahead of where I thought we'd be already. We'll get there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Great video of Karius, he spills everything and catches nothing. That is a '' how not to be a goalkeeper video''
    Never seen a keeper spill every shot before, but looks like we found one.
    Explains the Bournemouth game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Imagine a Xhaka Can midfield! We got lucky there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Imagine a Xhaka Can midfield! We got lucky there.

Ain't nobody was a way better tune!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Good to see everyone getting on the same page about Daniel. :)

Still think Origi's being underrated a by quite a few though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

Julian Draxler suspended from Wolfsburg squad, may not play for them again.

https://twitter.com/iMiaSanMia/status/807255584043048960

I wonder if Klopp would be interested:)
    They must be looking to recoup their money before he becomes toxic - Schalke sold him for €36M and he was reported as having a €75M release clause at Wolfsburg.

There has to be a question about his mentality. After he joined Wolfsburg he gave an interview about the end of his time at Schalke and one of the reasons he cited for the move was that he felt he was under pressure from the club to perform in every game. The pressure to perform will be even greater in the Premier League.

Ain't nobody was a way better tune!!!!!
    Sorted:pac:

Sorted:pac:

:D haha, now we're talkin!

Just in time for opening that slab of Carling I bought yesterday. Apologies in advance for whatever I post later on......... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Could be down to 5th come end of weekend. Can't retake top no matter what happens

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Could be down to 5th come end of weekend. Can't retake top no matter what happens

If we score more than three trys then we'll get a bonus point and maybe go top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

At least 3 goals in every PL game so far this weekend.

The Leicester ones are my favorite.

Gotta hand it to Leicester. Every time you think they'll win, they lose. And when you're expecting them to lose they go 3-0 up inside 30 mins. Mad gits.

Big win for Newcastle today. Will be made up for Rafa if/when they win the division. I love that man. (Carling kicking in already but still....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Pep will probably just spend half a billion in January and turn it around.

#genius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Gotta hand it to Leicester. Every time you think they'll win, they lose. And when you're expecting them to lose they go 3-0 up inside 30 mins. Mad gits.

Big win for Newcastle today. Will be made up for Rafa if/when they win the division. I love that man. (Carling kicking in already but still....)

Tuborg here. Love him too. Made me feel about the game again.

Pep will probably just spend half a billion in January and turn it around.

#genius
    Tbh, I don't think Klopp is for sale:pac:

niallo27 wrote: »
    Tuborg here. Love him too. Made me feel about the game again.

Tuborg..... I like yer style mate! Often my choice too. Many's the night I was escorted away from the laptop by herself at 2am after a few cans of that while watching this with a tear in the eye:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OHC7lIfvk4

It's the Rafa tribute vid by the way.... Before anyone gets worried :D
    Brilliant vid. Always get a bit emotional watching it still to this day.

This one is good too, while yer enjoying your pint:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0jvOZN8Fnk

Yeah there was a banner held up at a few games under him saying "Make Us Dream" and that's exactly what he did.
    Made me start loving watching us again.
    Plus all the wonderful things he did for the HJC and the way he immersed himself in all the important things about the club away from the field.
    And best day of my life was 25-05-05 thanks to him.
    Broke my heart what those 2 knobs did to him and the team he was building.

He's right up there with Shankly, Paisley and Dalglish for me. Legend.

Johnny Giles starting to look more and more spot on about City with what he said about them at the back and the way Pep's style of defenders and goalie trying to be mids won't work in the Prem.
    Giles gets a hard time but I'd say he's forgotten more about the game than we'll ever know about it.

Incidentally he said we'll finish 2nd this season. Just for the record.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Good to see everyone getting on the same page about Daniel. :)

I'd agree with carragher, regarding both Sturridge & karius.

So we're not on the sane page chap :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

Johnny Giles starting to look more and more spot on about City with what he said about them at the back and the way Pep's style of defenders and goalie trying to be mids won't work in the Prem.
    Giles gets a hard time but I'd say he's forgotten more about the game than we'll ever know about it.

Incidentally he said we'll finish 2nd this season. Just for the record.

Absolute fucking dinosaur. The fact that he's still wheeled out by Newstalk, the Indo etc to opine about modern football through his singular 'in my day' prism says what you need to know about football analysis in this country.
    He's on the record as saying that Klopp's a "one trick pony" - even the most cursory listen to his ramblings on OTB on whatever evening he's on highlights that he still laments the fact that Sir Stanley Matthews is no longer playing.
    Cannot abide the man.

mosstin wrote: »
    Absolute fucking dinosaur. The fact that he's still wheeled out by Newstalk, the Indo etc to opine about modern football through his singular 'in my day' prism says what you need to know about football analysis in this country.
    He's on the record as saying that Klopp's a "one trick pony" - even the most cursory listen to his ramblings on OTB on whatever evening he's on highlights that he still laments the fact that Sir Stanley Matthews is no longer playing.
    Cannot abide the man.

keep-calm-johnnys-got-you-covered.png

Charlie19 wrote: »
    keep-calm-johnnys-got-you-covered.png

In my day, there were better responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

SNPHfRz.jpg

Cannot abide the man.

So when I said "he gets a hard time" it was stuff like this then. :D

Dinosaur? That's a cheap insult. Do you think you or me know more about the game than him? I don't know you, but I doubt it.
    Look, I know he's not everyone's cup of joe but if you keep an open mind and listen to his "ramblings" he gets more right than wrong and was spot on about City. Spot on about Chelsea. And he said we'd finish 2nd so it's not as though he's this big anti-Liverpool dinosaur.

I heard what he said about the one trick pony bit. Yeah shockingly stupid turn of phrase alright.
    It came in the aftermath of the Bournmouth game and I saw worse said on here from Liverpool fans after the same game.
    What he actually meant was that there's no fall back plan when games turn on us like Southampton last season, the Europa League final, and last weekend.
    Is he right? Well that's another debate entirely but he's entitled to his opinion.
    And here it is, for what it's worth, the same one trick pony interview:

I see no balance, nothing to lean on when the wheels come off and they concede soft goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Well after City doing a City it surely certain Liverpool will do a Liverpool!

So when I said "he gets a hard time" it was stuff like this then. :D

Dinosaur? That's a cheap insult. Do you think you or me know more about the game than him? I don't know you, but I doubt it.
    Look, I know he's not everyone's cup of joe but if you keep an open mind and listen to his "ramblings" he gets more right than wrong and was spot on about City. Spot on about Chelsea. And he said we'd finish 2nd so it's not as though he's this big anti-Liverpool dinosaur.

I heard what he said about the one trick pony bit. Yeah shockingly stupid turn of phrase alright.
    It came in the aftermath of the Bournmouth game and I saw worse said on here from Liverpool fans after the same game.
    What he actually meant was that there's no fall back plan when games turn on us like Southampton last season, the Europa League final, and last weekend.
    Is he right? Well that's another debate entirely but he's entitled to his opinion.
    And here it is, for what it's worth, the same one trick pony interview:

I see no balance, nothing to lean on when the wheels come off and they concede soft goals.

Dinosaur isn't intended as an insult, more as a an opinion and it's strongly held. The contempt with which he spits out words such as 'formations', 'tactics', rotation' etc. shows how little he understands the modern game. But it's precisely because of this apologetic 'What Gilesy doesn't know about football....' attitiude, that he'll still be held up as the voice of footballing reason in the years to come.
    As for the bolded bit, Mark Knopfler knows a lot more about the guitar than I do, but I'm fucked if anyone's gonna make me listen to a Dire Straits album.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Alonso77

Dinosaur isn't intended as an insult, more as a an opinion and it's strongly held. The contempt with which he spits out words such as 'formations', 'tactics', rotation' etc. shows how little he understands the modern game. But it's precisely because of this apologetic 'What Gilesy doesn't know about football....' attitiude, that he'll still be held up as the voice of footballing reason in the years to come.
    As for the bolded bit, Mark Knopfler knows a lot more about the guitar than I do, but I'm fucked if anyone's gonna make me listen to a Dire Straits album.

our defensive performance last week would've Been perfect for that "walk of life" video!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

In my day, there were better responses.

ijUesU4W4Vbsc.gif

Turtyturd wrote: »
    ijUesU4W4Vbsc.gif

Aureliio's reaction.

Jesus, it's Dire Straits albums now. Nobody "makes you listen" to Johnny Giles either.
    You can choose to ignore him if you like.

I'm not his feckin agent, I'm not interested in debating him all night anymore than I'd lose any sleep over others not liking him.
    But I would listen to him faster than most of the current pundits. He has a great knowledge of the game and it's unfortunate imo that people slag him off but if throwing up funny J-pegs and gif's and making comments like "dinosaur" and taking the piss out of him is what yee are into then fire away, who am i to stop you.

Jesus, it's Dire Straits albums now. Nobody "makes you listen" to Johnny Giles either.
    You can choose to ignore him if you like.

I'm not his feckin agent, I'm not interested in debating him all night anymore than I'd lose any sleep over others not liking him.
    But I would listen to him faster than most of the current pundits. He has a great knowledge of the game and it's unfortunate imo that people slag him off but if throwing up funny J-pegs and gif's and making comments like "dinosaur" and taking the piss out of him is what yee are into then fire away, who am i to stop you.

All I can think of reading these posts is that Dinosaur Jr are a far better band than Dire Straits

Alonso77 wrote: »
    All I can think of reading these posts is that Dinosaur Jr are a far better band than Dire Straits

Alonso77 wrote: »

Now you're talking.

Seems like the title of this song is running through Lucas head in the last 5 mins of every game he plays when an opposition player is running towards our box!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭mormank

When the keeper has to make a save in general play it means everyone in front of him has failed to do their job.

So does that mean that when the striker doesn't score or get chances it is everyone else's fault too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭mormank

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Nonsense. He is one of the most skilfull players I have seen. He has an unbelievable touch and fantastic vision. He is clever too, trying shots and passes that wouldnt even cross the mind of 90% off other players.

Pace was never his game.

I genuinely feel sorry for Sturridge, he gets some ammount of sh1te. Yes, he is injury prone, but he doesnt want to be. He wants to be loved - obviously - the face on him this season. He is genuinely hurt/ miserable at the lack of love (despite his privilege etc.).

I like how you turned his infuriatingly selfish tendancy to shoot from ridiculous angles into a positive by calling it clever. :P Let's be honest, he is greedy in front of goal, not clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Dinosaur Jr and LFC in the same place. What a time to be alive.

mormank wrote: »
    I like how you turned his infuriatingly selfish tendancy to shoot from ridiculous angles into a positive by calling it clever. :P Let's be honest, he is greedy in front of goal, not clever.

To be fair, most strikers are, for the want of a better word, a bit greedy by nature. Shearer, Fowler, Rush, etc etc.

Sturridge is the same. It's not a bad thing, it's usually a good thing in most teams, it's what makes them, it's instinctive.

It's not our way under Klopp but most teams would want a striker who has a bit of a selfish streak. Give them the ball and they'll score.

I can fully see JMysterios point to be honest. And he is an excellent player. (Sturridge I mean. Haven't had the privilege of watching Mysterio play :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Dinosaur Jr and LFC in the same place. What a time to be alive.

And people punning off of their song titles as well! Colour me impressed and I can't hardly wait til we start doing The Replacements puns.