Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Liam O wrote: »
    Ugh. Yeah a lot of United fans wanted their 19 year old keeper sold after a couple of mistakes. Absolutely laughable comment but sure the usual cronies are there to back slap so I'll not bother posting on the matter again.

I said some united fans, which is true. Same as some Liverpool fans want Karius sold.

Do you disagree that DDG was very poor in his first season, especially before Christmas? Ferguson would agree because he dropped him half way through the season, iirc.

The point I was making in my original post was that de gea was as bad as Karius has been for us and he was given time and now he's in the top 5 keepers in the world.

Don't know why 2 of ye found offence to that? I was slating De gea.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

NukaCola wrote: »
    Gary and Phil post here?

That's actually a good one! I may start using that for them if you don't mind!
    So......Is Daniel feeling 100% for the game on Wednesday?

People don't like me doing it but ye know Hefferboi asked for the sh1te to stop but sure enough this is textbook stuff from 'Phil' right here. You know well he's out injured, you know he's not 100% yet you keep asking the question just to bait the likes of me, calling him Daniel will still add to your 300 plus posts referencing Sturridge btw. I will continue to call your bs much to the detriment of the thread, so if you'd kindly stop that'd be good for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I've given him plenty of stick but to be fair to him, Karius didn't really say anything much about Neville and the interview was scheduled 2 weeks in advance so not like he did it in response to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Klopp is laying down a marker by selecting his own men rather than players signed under the previous regime. Mignolet, Lovren, Milner, Sturridge, Origi, Lucas will all depart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I see West Ham again are being linked to Daniel in tomorrows papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

chicorytip wrote: »
    Klopp is laying down a marker by selecting his own men rather than players signed under the previous regime. Mignolet, Lovren, Milner, Sturridge, Origi, Lucas will all depart.

Thats by far one of the dumbest posts I've seen in here tbh. Y'know considering he didn't sign most of the team. Is Clyne gone? Can? Henderson? Coutinho? Firmino? He didn't sign any of them. Lallana either for that matter.

Lovren and Milner are starters in the first team. Both certainly can be improved upon though. I don't doubt that if someone better can be signed then we'd try and get them. Origi is currently a starter, and will hopefully be a long term option for Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I see West Ham again are being linked to Daniel in tomorrows papers.

Ings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sturridge obviously. Be perfect for him - they like a crock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

wish the comparisons with DDG would stop but....

"Grobbelaar's early days as No.1 were strewn with errors and the Reds struggled to obtain any sort of consistency, Grobbelaar taking a lot of the blame." Wikipidia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Fair play to Ian Ladyman for saying that.

Sturridge obviously. Be perfect for him - they like a crock

Surely Ings so :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

The idea that a player when criticised should just "shut up and do your job" sounds like a lovely soundbite for the average football fan to latch onto and nod their head approvingly but in reality it's just an effort by the pundits to give themselves free reign to say what they want with no consequences. Basically they can give it but they can't take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

I think when analysing a game where the keeper was poor and pointing it out is fine. Some comments were bit OTT but whatever, its to be expected.

I dont like, or think its fair, to then jump onto social media and continue throwing in sarcastic comments and digs. Carra is as bad if not worse. I mean, I give Karius stick but I'm not an ex-Liverpool pro that is held in high regard by Liverpool fans. I'm not saying he should be crying for Karius but its rather two faced of him. I bet he'd never talk to Klopp about it on MNF for example.

And honestly it doesn't help that the average fan didn't actually read the articles and quotes and are getting upset on someone else's behalf.

Thankfully theres a game midweek so there will be more to talk about than a GK and pundits back and forth.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I don't ultimately care what players or pundits say in these situations, but I wish our players wouldn't keep making mistakes that can cause these discussions to happen in the first place. It's really irritating. I'd hope that Karius isn't bulletproof in terms of being dropped though. If he continues to make obvious blunders every game Mignolet has to be brought back in surely. Goalkeeper is a very difficult role so I have lots of sympathy, but we need a solution there , however it happens.

If Karius and his quick distribution were responsible for quick counter attacks leading to goals then I'd care less, but I haven't seen too much of this side of things either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Thankfully theres a game midweek so there will be more to talk about than a GK and pundits back and forth.

Yeah we'll have another Karius mistake to talk about :pac:

*runs*

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Milkers wrote: »
    The idea that a player when criticised should just "shut up and do your job" sounds like a lovely soundbite for the average football fan to latch onto and nod their head approvingly but in reality it's just an effort by the pundits to give themselves free reign to say what they want with no consequences. Basically they can give it but they can't take it.

Tbh players shouldn't get into it with them, it only gives them a platform to spout on & you look like an idiot for taking the bait. Would Buffon or Neuer give 2 fúcks what Jamie Redknapp or Robbie Savage would think of them?
    Nobody takes what is said on Sky, MOTD or BT as expert views anyway. Most of what they do is salesmanship and cliched nonsense.

5starpool wrote: »
    I'd hope that Karius isn't bulletproof in terms of being dropped though. If he continues to make obvious blunders every game Mignolet has to be brought back in surely. Goalkeeper is a very difficult role so I have lots of sympathy, but we need a solution there , however it happens.

I agree. I mean, I've said it a lot, but all we have to go on is his Mainz form where he was apparently decent. Personally 10 games for me is enough to say this guy is blowing his chance. But there is every chance he will turn it around. Its more of a hope for me than an inevitability though.

I'd give him 2 more games. We cant afford to give him another 10 in this form. I think Klopp will be strong enough to hook him. He stood up for Moreno but dropped him too.

It's be great to see Karius pull off a few nice saves tomorrow night, or have little to do but catch a few crosses and punch away corners convincingly.

Best way to answer the critics.

I think I said similar prior to West Ham so I'm back to hoping that :)

ERG89 wrote: »
    Nobody takes what is said on Sky, MOTD or BT as expert views anyway. Most of what they do is salesmanship and cliched nonsense.

I agree but he's getting stick from them off air on social media too. Its constant. There is maybe a case to not be on SM but its a source of revenue also I guess.

ERG89 wrote: »
    Tbh players shouldn't get into it with them, it only gives them a platform to spout on & you look like an idiot for taking the bait. Would Buffon or Neuer give 2 fúcks what Jamie Redknapp or Robbie Savage would think of them?
    I agree but it's easier said than done. Lots of players wouldn't give 2 fcuks what someone says about them but others would find it harder to keep quiet when getting criticised. They're only human at the end of the day. Only natural to want to defend yourself.

Augeo wrote: »
    It's be great to see Karius pull off a few nice saves tomorrow night, or have little to do but catch a few crosses and punch away corners convincingly.

Best way to answer the critics.

I think I said similar prior to West Ham so I'm back to hoping that :)

What stage of grief is that? Bargaining? :pac:

Yea, I do hope he'll just stay solid for a while........

hefferboi wrote: »
    I agree but it's easier said than done. Lots of players wouldn't give 2 fcuks what someone says about them but others would find it harder to keep quiet when getting criticised. They're only human at the end of the day. Only natural to want to defend yourself.

Young lad too.....

I see a few of the players were out last night. Saw Firmino, Lucas, Coutinho and Moreno out for Firminos girlfriends birthday. Clyne was out too. Probably a lot more out but that's all I saw on Instagram.

I usually wouldn't mind players going out after a game but they dropped needless points at home Sunday and have a game Wednesday and their allowed out on Monday. That's ridiculous tbh.

Mightn't have been drinking much if anything. Nice healthy meal out in good company, I'm sure it won't do any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I see a few of the players were out last night. Saw Firmino, Lucas, Coutinho and Moreno out for Firminos girlfriends birthday. Clyne was out too. Probably a lot more out but that's all I saw on Instagram.

I usually wouldn't mind players going out after a game but they dropped needless points at home Sunday and have a game Wednesday and their allowed out on Monday. That's ridiculous tbh.

They have to live their lives too you know. As long as they weren't out drinking all night like Rooney did then what's the issue? They probably had a glass of coke..

I very much doubt that any of them were drinking (well Coutinho might have had a couple). As long as they are not breaking club rules about what/when they eat ot drink it's none of our business really what they do. If it turned out they knocked back a couple of bottles of vodka between them then that is a different ball game, but I'd be pretty sure it was all within the rules laid out to allow them to enjoy their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Its a strange situation where some fans would want players to cancel their birthday plans after a bad result. It hardly helps matters for them to sit at home stewing about a poor result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

MarkY91 wrote: »
    They have to live their lives too you know. As long as they weren't out drinking all night like Rooney did then what's the issue? They probably had a glass of coke..

Ya exactly, they are not in a gulag. In general I'd say the foreign lads probably don't drink very much if it all. Plenty of the Brits/Paddies could learn a thing or two from them.

I haven't seen the story but just going on what's posted here but it's a good sign that Clyne was out as well. In general, like in any country, the foreigners tend to socialise with other foreigners, so nice to see that Clyne was out with them. Hope more of the English lads socialise more with the foreign lads, can only help team spirit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Those f*cking monsters.

Tear up their contracts.

Socialising with teammates outside of working hours is not to be permitted under Herr Klopp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Criticism of the lads being on a night "out" is a direct reflection of what the typical Irish definition of "going out" means.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

I'd be disappointed with James Milner if he wasn't in bed by 10.

Maybe they should all stay home and pray to their deity that they don't get injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'd rather they did seven rounds of Jagerbombs than go on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

So if they had won on Sunday then it's fine.

You think players should just sit in every night? Not go for a meal or to the cinema?

Does not mean they were out on the lash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    The goalkeeping is indefensible at this point.

That was with both goalkeepers and we had similar stats last season.

I'd extrapolate you're comment to being the goalkeeping coaching is indefensible at this point.

Cue the defense of the goalkeeping coach from the usual!! :)

dogbert27 wrote: »
    I'd extrapolate you're comment to being the goalkeeping coaching is indefensible at this point.

Cue the defense of the goalkeeping coach from the usual!! :)

I honestly have no clue about goal keeping coaches but if you reckon he's the problem I'd extrapolate your point to being the manager is not seeing that his goalkeeping coach is brutal.

I couldn't imagine that being the case :)

Do people here honestly think that if the GK coach was as bad as ye recon him to be at his job that Klopp (and his other coaches) wouldn't have noticed after 12 months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Liverpool are eyeing a January move for Newcastle United skipper and defender Jamaal Lascelles. This according to the sunderland echo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ian Rush made his Liverpool debut on this day in 1980, it was also the day Harry Palmr got his bus pass.....

ian-rush-liverpool-fc-498368164.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Augeo wrote: »
    I honestly have no clue about goal keeping coaches but if you reckon he's the problem I'd extrapolate your point to being the manager is not seeing that his goalkeeping coach is brutal.

I couldn't imagine that being the case :)

Do people here honestly think that if the GK coach was as bad as ye recon him to be at his job that Klopp (and his other coaches) wouldn't have noticed after 12 months?

I guess it could be down to the managers football philosophy. Klopp and Rodgers have an attacking philosophy and have not focused so much on defense. Maybe the don't see the role of goal keeping coach as vitally important.

Benitez had a philosophy of building from the back and had an excellent goal keeping coach in Xavi Valero and build a solid defense and spine over time.

People are saying that we need a top goalkeeper to realistically be challenging for competitions. There's no point getting a top class goal keeper when you don't have a top class keeper to coach him.

dogbert27 wrote: »
    ............ Klopp and Rodgers have an attacking philosophy and have not focused so much on defense. Maybe the don't see the role of goal keeping coach as vitally important...............

They both (Klopp acted more so than Rodgers) recognised Mignolet wasn't good enough though.

I honestly can't fathom Klopp entertaining a GK coach that's actually having a negative impact on the GK.

Karius looks totally a sh1t keeper at the moment, I can't see the GK coach being responsible for his current form :)

ricero wrote: »
    Liverpool are eyeing a January move for Newcastle United skipper and defender Jamaal Lascelles. This according to the sunderland echo

I'd be utterly amazed if this were true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Just because Klopp hasn't done anything about Achterberg doesn't mean he's not a problem. Every goalkeeper to join Liverpool since his appointment has looked significantly worse playing in a Liverpool jersey than they did before joining. Even Reina fell off the mark when he was appointed.

Just because Klopp hasn't done anything about Achterberg doesn't mean he's not a problem...............

Perhaps, if we have a keeper costing us points that is essentially due to poor coaching I'd expect the manager to spot and resolve the problem.

To be honest I'm not at all thinking that the GK coach is the problem, again I know nothing about the chap. I'd just presume you can't be sh1t to the extent he's being credited with on here and get away with it at LFC, especially under a manager like Klopp who is really really involved on the coaching side.

Dortmunds Michael Zorc telling Liverpool they are wasting their time if they plan on bidding for Pulisic

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11669/10694554/liverpool-warned-to-keep-away-from-christian-pulisic-by-borussia-dortmund

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Dortmunds Michael Zorc telling Liverpool they are wasting their time if they plan on bidding for Pulisic

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11669/10694554/liverpool-warned-to-keep-away-from-christian-pulisic-by-borussia-dortmund

If the player wants to leave and the money is right the deal will be done

ricero wrote: »
    If the player wants to leave and the money is right the deal will be done

Of course. The player is getting game time, strange that a contract hasn't been agreed yet so maybe the player is open to a move.....all speculation obviously.

Just because Klopp hasn't done anything about Achterberg doesn't mean he's not a problem. Every goalkeeper to join Liverpool since his appointment has looked significantly worse playing in a Liverpool jersey than they did before joining. Even Reina fell off the mark when he was appointed.

This is intuitive and probably accurate. The truth is none of us know the problem. An easy solution to outsiders would be to get rid of the coach, but I find it strange that if he was that obviously weak and bad at his job he would have survived through so many regime changes. I doubt that anything he says leads to Karius punching the ball badly, or not knowing how to catch a ball driven at him coming into his chest, or nearly let a shot straight at him slip through his hands (like at Bournemouth).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

5starpool wrote: »
    This is intuitive and probably accurate. The truth is none of us know the problem. An easy solution to outsiders would be to get rid of the coach, but I find it strange that if he was that obviously weak and bad at his job he would have survived through so many regime changes. I doubt that anything he says leads to Karius punching the ball badly, or not knowing how to catch a ball driven at him coming into his chest, or nearly let a shot straight at him slip through his hands (like at Bournemouth).

Or to keep his fucking hands down by his sides when someone's lobbed him and he's still well inside his penalty area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

kfallon wrote: »
    Ian Rush made his Liverpool debut on this day in 1980,

ian-rush-liverpool-fc-498368164.jpg

And he still looks like he could jink past Lovren and Lucas to slot one past Karius! :D

Ah Harry stop with the digs at Daniel :p now he's not as fit as a 55 year old Rushie :pac: