Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

2.263157894736842 ppg at the half way point.

Fantastic season so far.

Happy New Year to ye all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Might not have been the greatest match, but that win is a ****ing statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Get in!!

Great way to kick off Doughboy day eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Huge win....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,929 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Jaysus Klopp's tools did well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Job done ;) Next game please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Don't know how we got out without conceding today ! Big 3 points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That was in some ways exemplary football and game management - Klopp clearly decided he was not going to go 100% toe to toe with City so he worked to control the space, not the ball. Obviously we're not used to a game plan that is much more like Rafa in Europe but it yielded exactly what he wanted and it'll serve everyone well for future reference.

I love this woman..... Fortress of Anfield

https://twitter.com/Linda_Pizzuti/status/815277498493702144
    Quite a battle today, but an important win at the Fortress of Anfield after a short rest. And a clean sheet! #LIVMCI #LFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Damien360

Delighted to see that we can park when we want to and hold out any attacks. Klopp played a brilliant tactical game. Good win. We are learning from mistakes early in the season. Clean sheet again.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,268 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Huge 3 points, daylight to 3rd, still in touch with 1st

Clean sheet

Thought Lovren and Klavan did well, particularly Klavan considering his early yellow.

24 unbeaten at home.

2016 has been a very good year.

See ye all in 2017 !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Liverpool can't win to nil
    Liverpool can't close out a game 🤔🤔🤔

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Klopp borrowed Jose's bus for the game. Well appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Incredibly professional performance, get the goal and shut City out. Mignolet barely had a thing to do, bar making a fool of Aguero with those flicks. Never thought I'd see us put in that sort of performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

We will take that... we will take that.

Nobody played amazing and they looked tired but hopefully they all get rested for the FA Cup and we can come back from that fresh after giving everything against Sunderland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Difficult to watch in the second half but it is the result that counts.
    Hugely important three points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Big win today, looked defensively a lot more solid then usual, while it wasn't vintage it's the kind of performance that goes a long way to winning the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

When do Chelsea play somebody decent? Seem to have had a nice run of games!

Nervy stuff tonight but great result, some shíte game tho :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Not only did we manage to park the bus in the last 30, but we did it really effectively. With a bit more practice, the outlet passing would tidy up and we'd create a lot more quality counter-attacks. What we need to do is use that strategy against weaker teams as well when we're a goal up. There's no need to batter every team when you can defend as well as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Good show from 'Pool, took the lead and played on the counter, only poor execution prevented a comprehensive win.

Parked the bus well, klavan in particular was the boss.

Not being down on Karius, but it looks to me that the defence is more comfortable, more assured in front of Mig.

Get in, happy new year lads!

darced wrote: »

Not giving City a shot on goal is never a bad performance, it wasn't pretty but it was practical.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

kfallon wrote: »
    When do Chelsea play somebody decent? Seem to have had a nice run of games!

Nervy stuff tonight but great result, some shíte game tho :p

Spurs away next up for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Never thought City were going to win. And they won't be winning the league anytime soon either. Too busy cashing their huge paychecks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

ebbsy wrote: »
    Never thought City were going to win. And they won't be winning the league anytime soon either. Too busy cashing their huge paychecks.

they're no more mercenaries than our lads are. They're still a good side but they're really hurting from a lack of quality out wide. Outside of Sterling there's nothing there. I expect when Sane settles in properly they'll be a lot better. They do need something better at fullback tho.

Ragnar has been boss the last 3 games he will be unlucky if he gets dropped when Matip is fit again.

He is a cool head
    I knew early yellow was not an issue for him
    He saw it out and made sure he didn't get another

Ah Matip has been one of the best cbs in the league. He has to start when fit.

Aguero didn't have a single touch in our box today. Job well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

It's a great problem to have.

Matip - Free.

Klavan - the few coins I keep in the glove compartment for the toll on the M7.

Stones - eleventy bazillion bucks.

LOLOLOLOLOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

For me that was probaly the most impressive performance this season. The way we did not over commit and look for the 2nd goal and the way we contained city was magnificant. A well disciplined performance and one a few weeks ago i thought this team could not be able to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I would drop Lovren & start Matip & Klavan.

Wijnaldum was superb today. We were off in the final third but defended very well & grinded out the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Hendo's long-standing heel injury acting up according to Jurgen, that's why he came off. Hope it's not a major flare-up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Alonso77

I think that's 6 clean sheets in last 10 games across all comps.

Getting there.

Knowing Liverpool after that impressive performance we'll drop points to a sh!te team like Sunderland or United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Henderson had a problem with his heel. Worrying that it is probably the same injury as last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

You know you're a threat when every rival fan is trying to denounce a performance that saw us beat Pep's Manchester City simply because we defended a lot.

Fúck me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Hardly entertainment was it.

Would like to see gap to Chelsea at less that 6pts when we face them.

If you're a Liverpool fan and you don't find Liverpool winning entertaining then I don't know what's wrong with you.

If you're not a Liverpool fan then it matters even less.

Was built as ##game of the season##
    It was the worst game of the season
    But 3pts is sweet reward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Go to the circus.

IT was far from worst game of the season.

We've had more than enough of that this season already. I'll take wins like that from now til the end of the season.

I'd also like to mention Milner's absolute domination over Sterling.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Didn't play particularly well so great to get the win. I'd be a bit worried about Sunderland on Monday I'd imagine tonight took a lot out of the players. Hopefully Henderson's injury is only short term.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I'd also like to mention Milner's absolute domination over Sterling.

He is a class act. Getting him in on a free and getting 50 million for sterling was a great bit of business.

I'm sure we can rest a few attackers for Sunderland, start Origi and Sturridge probably. Maybe bring Lucas in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Thought we played quite well........a few bad passes but fairly good from back to front. Hardworking and generally calm. Nice 3 points.

Some people were complaining that we dont look like a team capable of taking a lead and holding it, we do it and we were poor apparently. That is what grinding out a close game looks like. We cant blast through everyone.