Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

irfu supporters club 6N tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

I also got 2 tickets for the England game - still shocked that I was successful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭shawty

Maybe I naively just stopped clicking after it said no tickets :(

What's up with that "I'm not a robot" drawing a square around things too, I think I've said I'm not a robot 100 times now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Got 2 for england as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Rocko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

At 10 0 for England damn captcha

0 for France - tried a few times got 1 for Fra 60

So Scotland and France this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Wish we could of used the TM app, very easy to use and none of this robot, matching pictures ****e

Look I'm bulling cause I didn't get any and was on the site early but It's not the end of the world, there will be future games, there on tv/pub etc

I'm not the only disappointed person I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭PMC83

Got 2 for England, went straight into 'Best Ticket available' which can have pricey results but in the past I have tried to start with the cheapest categories and work my way up, ending up with nothing. Happy enough with my purchase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 amgelec

Bit of a farce really.....tried at 10 on the dot, got two tickets up in the sky which would have done but somehow lost them.

Waste of money joining the club. May just watch on the telly now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭garrettod

Firstly, congrats to those who got tickets today. I must admit, I was surprised that there are quite a few here who were successful - can't figure out if I was just extremely unlucky, or if it just happens that everyone who got a ticket today happened to then post here :D

I spent the guts of 45 minutes trying both the France and England games (on reasonably decent broadband speeds etc), mixed it up - initially looking for 2 tickets for either game, then reducing to 1 ticket per game (ultimately hoping for something for either one, even if I was going to have to go by myself). Not a sniff....

I for one clicked the old "I am not a robot" button so many times, that I feel I've turned into a bloomin' robot !

I then emailed IrishRugby and asked them a straight question - how many tickets were released for each of the two pre-sales today, but guess what, they don't want to answer that question. One can only wonder why ? :rolleyes:

I don't have an issue with there only being a limited number of tickets being made available for sale through the supporters pre-sale, thats life, demand is extremely high for Ireland tickets these days etc. However, what I do have an issue with is the amount of time that everyone had to waste this morning because of IrishRugby and Ticketmaster - it's extremely disrepectful of all trying to get tickets.

Anyway, hope its a great 6-nations. I've been fortunite enough to get along to quite a few games over the years and always enjoyed myself. Hopefully those going next Spring will have an equally good, if not better time :)

oh, btw... fair play to Munster on the honest open approach here:
    We wish to advise members that the MRSC will receive 404 tickets for both RBS 6 Nations home games in 2017

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭kuang1

Yeah I can't see why they can't reveal the number of tickets that were allocated to the supporters club.
    The transparency would ease my frustration significantly.

At least I got 4 tickets for the Welsh game this morning.

kuang1 wrote: »
    Yeah I can't see why they can't reveal the number of tickets that were allocated to the supporters club.....

As I think I actually said to the guy that I swapped emails with, the absence of this information creats suspicion...

We all know there's no guarantee of a ticket with the supporters club, so there's no issue there to be disputed.

I can't think of any other good reason they might have, for not wanting to release the numbers.

Thanks,

G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

They probably think they'll get far less people signing up to the supporters club if they knew how few tickets were actually available. Which is probably right

Synode wrote: »
    They probably think they'll get far less people signing up to the supporters club if they knew how few tickets were actually available. Which is probably right

This will probably happen anyway with the amount of disappointed people today though.

I'm happy to pay my €50 annually regardless. I tell myself that I'm contributing my bit for the cause!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 st1903

I think for the €50 everyone puts in we should get some transparency about the amount of tickets available. For the last 50 I paid I've only managed to get tickets for Australia. I saw though the other day they weren't accepting any new members so guess this is the level of competition for tickets we can expect. While the team is successful anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

I was lucky enough to get tickets but looking at the resale sites there are tickets being sold for up to 3000 which is disgusting.

You could make a ridiculous amount of money by selling on tickets for events I go to but I wouldn't be able to do it. Aside from the fact I go to the games its a real low life thing to do to be taking advantage of people like that.

I would love to see some kind of effort be made to restrict these sites and the tickets they sell. If someone is found to be selling tickets through them their tickets and account should be cancelled and go back to fans that are paying face value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

st1903 wrote: »
    I saw though the other day they weren't accepting any new members so guess this is the level of competition for tickets we can expect.

nah, they just weren't allowing any more to join before this sale

it will be open again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

That robot drove me nuts......and I was stupid and took a while to cop on to it, so missed out. I've done very well via the Supporters Club for the last few years, but think I'll chuck it after the autumn internationals in 2017 and just go to be pub or stay at home.

Well done to those of you who got tickets - enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A split second or 2 can be the difference in getting tickets or not. I uncopyed my password by mistake and didn't cope on and then had to rush to get it again and they were all gone. I had the page open on my phone too but the screen ****ed up. I'll enjoy the games in the pub and a big plus is no need too worry about travelling

Tickets for the autumn internationals 2017 and 2018 6N may be easier to get with the South Africa, Wales and Scotland games being the hardest tickets to get hold off

Congrats to all those going

Yeah I can't see why they can't reveal the number of tickets that were allocated to the supporters club.
    The transparency would ease my frustration significantly.

At least I got 4 tickets for the Welsh game this morning.

Mind sharing how you went about getting those badboys?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

I got 2 for the England game. Last year got 4 for wales and 2 for Italy, think I was allowed 6 in total with a max of 4 per game. obviously the 2 games this year are the big BIG guns so more demand. happy enough anyway.

on and off note and not sure if this is allowed on here. the England game falls on my mates wedding anniversary so he mightn't be able to go. potential there to swap an England ticket for a france ticket if anyone here is in the supporters club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    the England game falls on my mates wedding anniversary so he mightn't be able to go

They'll never last :pac:

aha that's what I said :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

PMC83 wrote: »
    Mind sharing how you went about getting those badboys?:)

I think you can join the equivalent Supporters Group

Clubs may also get an allocation

Riskymove wrote: »
    I think you can join the equivalent Supporters Group

Clubs may also get an allocation

Yup. Joined the Welsh supporters club.

Membership cost me £53 and I now own a Welsh scarf and a certificate from Warren congratulating me on my decision to join.

But also got to buy 4 tickets to the Wales v Ireland game (on 10th March...friday night 8.05pm) this morning at 10.00am. Had flights and accommodation all booked so those tickets were a higher priority than the Aviva tickets for me.
    It was the cheapest option for me to get my hands on tickets through official channels.

Membership cost me £53 and I now own a Welsh scarf and a certificate from Warren congratulating me on my decision to join.

But also got to buy 4 tickets to the Wales v Ireland game (on 10th March...friday night 8.05pm) this morning at 10.00am. Had flights and accommodation all booked so those tickets were a higher priority than the Aviva tickets for me.
    It was the cheapest option for me to get my hands on tickets through official channels.

Ah nice one. I'm going myself and debated this option, but went the viagogo route in the end. I had debated waiting to see how the supporters club trip pans out but usually its over and back in the same night so figured I'd organize my own thing.

Well, by refusing to be transparent and creating suspicion, they are definitely running the risk of people cancelling their memberships - particularly when people feel that they don't care about wasting our time etc.
    ....I'm happy to pay my €50 annually regardless. I tell myself that I'm contributing my bit for the cause!

Would you not get greater comfort by directing that €50 straight to your local club, where it's more likely to be spent on bringing the local kids through rather than on fancy marketing, plush offices, big salaries etc ? :)
    st1903 wrote: »
    ....I saw though the other day they weren't accepting any new members so guess this is the level of competition for tickets we can expect.....

I also spotted that recently, but find myself wondering if that was more likely due to some technical issue before the pre-sale went live, rather than to give everyone reasonable odds of getting a ticket. Lets not forget, while it was closed to new members, it remained open for those who needed to renew their membership, so that implies to me that it may have been something to do with setting up new accounts - rather than increasing / decreasing the odds for the pre-sale.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Are all tickets gone for the Ireland vs England game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Shane732 wrote: »

Hours ago.

Shane732 wrote: »

For the supporters sale, yes... through clubs, corporates etc. I suspect they are still available to some parties.

I seriously doubt we will ever see a general sale for either of the games next Spring.

Thanks,

G.

I cant remember the last time i saw 6ns tickets on general sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Controversial question here. Should the IRFU try raising ticket prices somewhat in order to maximise their profits rather than allowing touts and clubs sell tickets and pocket the difference between face value and true market price therefore allowing greater investment in Rugby in this country.

Or do we think that the IRFU should avoid gouging the fans.

I cant remember the last time i saw 6ns tickets on general sale

Earlier this year for the Italy match I think?

Controversial question here. Should the IRFU try raising ticket prices somewhat in order to maximise their profits rather than allowing touts and clubs sell tickets and pocket the difference between face value and true market price therefore allowing greater investment in Rugby in this country.

Personally this is the reason why im all for clubs selling the tickets, or membership clubs. There is a traceability then. if you get your ticket through a club and sell it on then you won't get another 1. with the membership club its harder to prove but a possible way around it would be to have a block booked, and do what the premiership soccer clubs do, have the tickets on the membership card rather then pieces of paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

I think they need to do a combo. The soccer team have built themselves a good little supporters group. Sell maybe 5-6k cheap seats to Supporters club dedicated to creating match day atmosphere. Then wack up the price everywhere else. If you're going to a match and you're not creating atmosphere you need to be punished

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I'm very jealous, Friday night with the roof closed, the place will be hopping!

....do what the premiership soccer clubs do, have the tickets on the membership card rather then pieces of paper

While thats a step in the right direction, lots of people (touts, travel agents etc.) just get a few memberships, buy the tickets on the card and then pass the cards on (taking a refundable deposit which is given back, when the card is returned after the game).

There are perfectly good ways to putting an end to the touts apart from increasing prices, if IrishRugby (or any other sporting body) actually gave a fuk....

Incresing prices would have no impact while demand continues to be high for tickets, it's all about supply-v-demand here.

With modern technology, it's easy enough to insert a photo onto the ticket or better yet, onto a membership card thats activated for each game purchased - photos could be uploaded through Tickmaster / Supporters clubs accounts and just saved with other personal details.

One your photos on your ticket or card, there'll be few prepared to buy the tickets from you and chance their arm in the knowledge that the lads won't let them in the front game of the event.

Thanks,

G.