Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jaymla627 wrote: »
    I hope all the processors especially glanbia who are ready to pull the trigger on more shiny new processing wait to see how this pans out it effectively means a fairy farmer will be stuck at 2-2.5 cows ha unless he can obtain our has alot of land not part of the milking block to dilute is n/ha, either that our simply just sell your entitlements and farm away haha.....
    Also throws up a curve-ball re cow type and grass based highly stocked systems with cows producing 4000-5500 litres, you'd imagen their would be reversal back to your 7500 litre plus leggy hols to help keep production up when the option of increasing stocking rate isnt their

If I take my 530kl produced here, divide it by 235kg/ha (our current sr), and multiply by 170 it leaves me at 380kl. That simply wouldn't be worth the effort for me 2bh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Timmaay wrote: »
    If I take my 530kl produced here, divide it by 235kg/ha (our current sr), and multiply by 170 it leaves me at 380kl. That simply wouldn't be worth the effort for me 2bh.
    I wouldn't worry too much.

It's always doom and gloom at the beginning until they 'pull out all the stops' and secure a slightly less attractive derogation plan.

I wonder what our water quality would be like if towns had to pull their drinking supply out from down river of the discharge points:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

21c to produce a litre of milk 😠ðŸ™ðŸ˜€ðŸ˜€

Is that with or without farm wages?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Anyone saying they are producing for 21c per litre average for the year should in my opinion be subject to an audit from the likes of KPMG. if they can prove paying wages, bills and using realistic figures its being done they should be commended but if not it should be shouted from the roof tops thats its a pile of ****e and stop giving the coops justification to pay poor prices across the board. Not a hope in the wide earthly world I'm even close to producing at 21c average over 305 days, more realistically 27 / 28 dependant on weather etc so I'm that left of field might be time to bite the bullet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Without a lot of things, I'd say.
    Thought we had got rid of that nonsense. Is he still spouting it? Wonder how much Matt is willing to work for?

Some one in Teagasc forgot to send him the Memo that the figures were discredited a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

For feck sake, I'm not the most efficient by any means .and have a lot to improve on but by his reckoning I'm close on 10 cent off everyone else, must be fcuked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Another dreamer just like some of the articles the lines of Adrian Brennan print .21c a litre I'd like to see him try and do it as well as include the costs of production like farmers wage. Land charge debt repayment etc .instead of getting kpmg to audit Him a Lynch mob should be organised for insulting farmers intelligence by implying we're fools working for nothing on free land and all debt free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Another dreamer just like some of the articles the lines of Adrian Brennan print .21c a litre I'd like to see him try and do it as well as include the costs of production like farmers wage. Land charge debt repayment etc .instead of getting kpmg to audit Him a Lynch mob should be organised for insulting farmers intelligence by implying we're fools working for nothing on free land and all debt free

I wonder do Teagasc and the IFJ realise who's paying their wages. It was all over Twitter yesterday aswell predictions on the super year we are going to have next year. Line up the vultures why don't they.
    I'm busting my h*le to produce to twice the litres I was producing 2 years ago, to increase efficiency FOR MYSELF and increase what I earn, not for Teagasc to tell us that incomes haven't dropped too much, because we're producing once and a half what we were. Running faster to stand still sh1te.
    I had a coop rep in a few days ago aswell looking down his nose at me when I told him my COP was no where near the 21c that he felt it should be. Imagine how happy I felt, as he sat into his 161 SUV, paid for by the idiots down in the pit 14 times a week.
    These parasites should have their wages firmly linked to the price of milk and and see how they like it to run twice and hard for the same pay check at the end of the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

That article is self-congratulatory nonsense. If you switch to cash costing Ireland looks disproportionately cheap due to where we are in the expansion cycle. When real costs are considered, or farms incur more cash costs as a result of expansion, our major competitors (the Dutch) are cheaper because of an intensive system which we have deliberately shied away from.

Matt Dempsey & Teagasc have demonstrated that milk from grass is an advantage for an average, unexpanded, low debt family farm with one family member willing to work for little or nothing during a downturn. So far, so obvious.

Now we need to hear how grass will be still be an advantage for the same farm when it doubles in size, incurs (or accounts for) real costs, and has nothing like the litres / labour unit or hectare of a Dutch farm. The only way to do that is to obtain a premium price in the market for grass based milk, and - in my opinion - it's time for Teagasc and others to start explaining clearly and transparently to farmers how that is going to happen.

Until they do that, there is a real risk that milk from grass for export is a cul de sac which will benefit processors far more than those who produce it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Lads I seem to have misplaced a batch of 2016 born animals cards,,am I in trouble, anyone lost a batch of them before?

Lads just don't buy that rag of a journal and then matt will be writing to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,482 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Lads I seem to have misplaced a batch of 2016 born animals cards,,am I in trouble, anyone lost a batch of them before?
    form er94b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Seen a very peculiar comment from Aidan where he was trying to explain how heifer replacement rearing costs weren't fully included when he comes out with his 21c a litre tag lines, it's a pretty good way to massage figures for expanding herds when you consider what a massive drain on cash this is....
    Will be in our around 5 cent a litre here this year spent on carrying heifers if I knocked this figure of my cost of production sure I'd be flying it haha

Contact your Agricultural Officer (AO) and you should be fine. Just explain and have them reissiued. I think they are technically the property of the Dept of Ag.

John do you mean teagasc adviser? Will I draw attention on myself and get a fxxking Inspection?

Whelan do the vets have them forms, will they have to sign them? Will I be putting myself in fireing line with the dept?I have turnew the house upside down I reckon they got thrown in the rubbish by mistake.

no better to have the cards than not have them, vets will have form. We lost 40 cards a few years ago and there was no problem getting replacements

Your vet can get you replacement cards just give them the full tag number, the practice I'm with the girls in the office do all the paperwork and post them out to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Just wondering what is the injection people give to cows at dry off to help scc with also the added benefit of foot foul? Seen it mentioned on here before but can't seem to find it

As per others, approach your vet practise, who can help you apply for a new set of cards.
    The AO is the Dept of Agriculture guy who deals with your herd.
    I happen to be on good terms with my own AO, that is why I suggested him/her. Has been very helpful to me, esp if you have a genuine issue.
    There wont' be a problem to worry about.

Thanks lads, there always something ain't there, I need a secretary, sure matt in the journal probably thinks we should be able afford one......

Sillycace, found this post from Buford

Cows all dried off today, thankfully. I forgot to count the short round when buying the tubes so I had to go to collect more before I could finish. And the vet came and gave a shot of Mycotil to 3 high SCC ladies so I'll be interested to see how those 3 come back into milk cell count wise.

Switching off the alarm clock for a couple of weeks now

Water John wrote: »
    Sillycace, found this post from Buford

Cows all dried off today, thankfully. I forgot to count the short round when buying the tubes so I had to go to collect more before I could finish. And the vet came and gave a shot of Mycotil to 3 high SCC ladies so I'll be interested to see how those 3 come back into milk cell count wise.

Switching off the alarm clock for a couple of weeks now

Thanks John, seen that alright but it was a while ago, thought it was something along the lines of Tylan put it could be mycotil...I just remember the post saying that it also helped to cure foot foul as well as scc!

Sillycave wrote: »
    Thanks John, seen that alright but it was a while ago, thought it was something along the lines of Tylan put it could be mycotil...I just remember the post saying that it also helped to cure foot foul as well as scc!

Correct ,tylovet is what ur after .50 cc each side of neck or 20 cc daily for 5 days .

Thanks MJ and John

Tylosin is the one you want. I think Tylovet isn't indicated for pregnant cows. Check with your vet.

Mycotil has to be given by your vet, it isn't allowed to be given by a non vet as is has serious side effects if a drop gets on your skin.

Tylosin is the one you want. I think Tylovet isn't indicated for pregnant cows. Check with your vet.

Mycotil has to be given by your vet, it isn't allowed to be given by a non vet as is has serious side effects if a drop gets on your skin.

Tylovet def for high scc cows ,have one heifer over 200 k on all 4 recordings this year and vet prescribed it to me to use at dry off

Cheers, will ask vet about both and see what he says, thanks

If injected into humans accidental it's fatal, causes cardiac arrest, brilliant for treating pneumonia in calves too

Ok. One vet gives the Tylosin to pregnant cows and Tylovet, which is much cheaper, to non pregnant cows. The other gives whichever is left in his jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Ok. One vet gives the Tylosin to pregnant cows and Tylovet, which is much cheaper, to non pregnant cows. The other gives whichever is left in his jeep.

Use tylan or tylosin here no difference between one just generic products. tylovet is the same I assume? Drug company be on a hiding to nothing you'd think if it can't be used on pregnant animals

Mooooo wrote: »
    Use tylan or tylosin here no difference between one just generic products. tylovet is the same I assume? Drug company be on a hiding to nothing you'd think if it can't be used on pregnant animals

Don't know, he is fairly on the ball and I couldn't fault him on charging tbh. He was saying a while back that it can be associated with foetal losses?

Lots of stuff in this link on OAD milking if there are still a few interested.

http://www.dairynz.co.nz/animal/herd-management/once-a-day-milking/full-season-once-a-day-oad-milking/

I'm treating 2 lame dry cows with Tylosin at the moment 20cc/day. So will Tyslosin 50cc x 2 into the neck do the same job ???
    They're dry and out in a field for their feet, it would be very handy if I could just do them in the neck once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have a lame cow as well ,very swelled around hoof with mortellaro ,is tylosin ang good for this also i am spraying with euthricin

cute geoge wrote:
    I have a lame cow as well ,very swelled around hoof with mortellaro ,is tylosin ang good for this also i am spraying with euthricin

Me too, not sure what the cause and will have a look tomorrow but she decided not to come up to milk tonight. Will dry her off and get her looked at.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I'm treating 2 lame dry cows with Tylosin at the moment 20cc/day. So will Tylosin 50cc x 2 into the neck do the same job ???
    They're dry and out in a field for their feet, it would be very handy if I could just do them in the neck once.

Personally, I'd prefer the longer regime. Also, 20ml per day is only enough for 400 Kg cows which is a bit light........

Something like 33ml daily for 3 days would be more rational. Longer course at correct dosage rate. For lameness, you may need to continue longer than 3 days too.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

cute geoge wrote: »
    Treatment of digital dermatitis:
    Individual cows must be treated by removing any underrun horn and applying an antibiotic spray (eg
    oxytetracycline) twice a day for 3-5 days to a washed and dried lesion. Also check the other foot for
    lesions and treat if present. Injectable antibiotics are of limited use, the only registered treatment being
    Tylan.
    If multiple cases of DD are present, the provision of a footbath reduces labour. The herd should be put
    through a pre-treatment water bath and then a medicated footbath of 3 meter length, 1 meter width with a
    10-12 cm fluid depth. This should be done twice daily for 3 consecutive days. It can be repeated at
    intervals of 2-4 weeks depending of the size of the problem. The following solutions can be used:
    - lincospectin- 150 g per 200 ltr of water (treatment) 150 g per 400 ltr (control)
    - tylosin- 100 g per 100ltr (treatment) 100 g per 200 ltr (control)
    - erythrocin- 400 g per 200 ltr
    - oxytetracycline- 6-10 g per ltr
    - formalin- 2-5%
    - copper sulphate- 5-10%
    - zinc sulphate- 10%
    Beware that none of these products are licensed for use in a footbath. Furthermore, cows should not be
    allowed to drink the solution as they can be toxic and can result in detectable antibiotic levels in the milk.
    Formalin is hazardous to human health and should not be used near the milking parlour. Correct disposal
    of the solutions should be taken care of and can be difficult (a mat or minimal solution bath will reduce
    drug usage).

http://www.parklandsvets.co.uk/Portals/Parklands/Docs/Cattle%20Fact%20Sheets/Fact%20sheet%20Digital%20Dermatitis.pdf

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

cute geoge wrote: »

I don't know what injection to use but I'd highly recommend HealMax. It can be got for a foot bath but you can also get in gel form in a spray bottle. Spray on infected foot each milking and it'll clear.

We were using Formalin and perecetic acid and found it good. We reluctantly changed to Healmax because of price but I must say we won't be going back to form. Local farm store should have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Find cows respond well to first round of antibiotics but if get lame again they don't, agree with keep growing foot bath, spray. I had a problem last winter and formalin/bluestone done the bizz. Had to foot pair also.

I don't know what injection to use but I'd highly recommend HealMax. It can be got for a foot bath but you can also get in gel form in a spray bottle. Spray on infected foot each milking and it'll clear.

We were using Formalin and perecetic acid and found it good. We reluctantly changed to Healmax because of price but I must say we won't be going back to form. Local farm store should have it.

Do you just spray or footpath etc. With any kind of lameness in the foot or do you have to positively diagnose the cause first?

Have cow lame on rear left foot, no easy means of lifting foot.. what am I looking for?

Around here we are moving away from footbathing as it can spread the problem. Individual treatments and also being treated early helps too

whelan2 wrote: »
    Around here we are moving away from footbathing as it can spread the problem. Individual treatments and also being treated early helps too

What treatment did you go with?

+1 healmax ,savage stuff

What treatment did you go with?

Lincocin powder mixed up in a squirty bottle

whelan2 wrote: »
    Lincocin powder mixed up in a squirty bottle

Mixed At Footbath rates?

No. Stronger. Done twice a day for 3 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭awaywithyou