Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The continuing story of a quack who's gone to the dogs

• 23-11-2016 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭

I'm not really a doctor. Or a veterinarian. Love The Muppets though.

I've been a regular lurker and an occasional poster on Boards for a few years. Often meant to start a training log but never got around to it. Now might be a good time.

Background and History

I'm a 46 year old man with one wife and three children. I have a job, a mortgage and the various other commitments that might get in the way of the important business of running if you were to allow them.

In school I had no involvement in sport. This continued throughout my twenties and thirties though I did cycle occasionally as a means of getting from A to B. I was 39 when I noticed I'd gained a few pounds and wasn't quite as sprightly as I had been. It was time to take action.
    I began training for Gaelforce West, an adventure race which was all the rage back then. I immediately loved the cycling but surprisingly once I got over the initial shock I enjoyed the running too. Over the next few years I did GFW three times and a good few other adventure races too. I gradually became more focussed on running and in 2011 I signed up for Dublin Marathon. Since then I've run 10 marathons, not all raced, and marathon running has become my primary focus.

Over the last 7 years, running has been a constant source of joy. Not least I suppose because of the many friends I've met through running and that I still train with. I've been a member of an athletic club, Mayo AC, for the last few years and though I rarely train with the club its also been hugely beneficial in terms of comaraderie, the advice from more seasoned runners and of course I've many friends in the club too. I've met quite a few boardsies over the years and remain friendly with some. I enjoy reading the logs on here so its time to make my contribution.

Now some stats:

Marathon History:

(as well as I can remember)

Dublin 2011 3:29:30........Happy Out

Dublin 2012 3:14:xx........Hit sub 3:15 target, Happy Out

Dublin 2013 3:13:xx........Missed sub 3:10 target, this isn't so easy

Limerick 2014 3:12:30....raced well, pb, happy again

Dublin 2014 3:27:xx....Disastrous, 3:10 target again, walking by mile 15

Dublin 2015 3:10:50...Sub 3:10 target but windy day so happy with pb

Rotterdam 2016 3:06:52..Flat course, no wind, loved every minute

Clare Burren trail marathon May 2016 3:55 or so. Ran with a friend, lovely day out.

Dublin 2016 3:29:22 I was one of the 3:30 pacers. Enjoyed the day.

Beleek woods marathon, Nov 12 2016. 3:46:xx...Another fun day out. Ran mostly with my friends.

PB's

5k 18:47 June 2016

8k 31:05 Sept 2016

10k 38:54 October 2016

Half Marathon 1:28:20 Kinvara, March 2016

Marathon 3:06:52 Rotterdam, April 2016

The Plan

The plan is to go back to Rotterdam next April and better my marathon time. I'm not sure exactly what the target will be. The dream scenario would be to go in search of sub 3 hours but I suspect that is a little ambitious. I wont even set a target until after I run a half in the spring. That's likely to be Kinvara again, though Mullingar is also a possibility.

I'll be following the Pfitzinger and Douglas (p+d) 55-70 mpw plan.The 18 week version. I've used the up to 55 mpw plan a few times in the past. I think the plans are good but you need to be fit for the milage. I firmly believe that milage is key to success at marathons. Almost everyone I know who is faster than me does higher milage and the converse also holds true. At this stage I think I have the milage base to justify moving to the 70 mpw plan. Time will tell. I also hope to make some improvements in terms of weight, diet and sleep. There's plenty room for improvement in all categories.

I had hoped to start the plan this week. This would allow 2 weeks extra for step back, racing, or anything that might come up. However my wife is away for a few days so it looks difficult to hit all the sessions. Hence, I'll call this a preliminary week and repeat it properly next week.

I don't do any gym work, conditioning, pilates, foam rolling or even very much stretching post run. I have an active, physical job so hopefully this will keep me covered. As I said above, I really think the miles are key so this will be the focus, even if I have to miss some of the paces and sessions.
    Thankfully I've never had any major injury and feel 100% now and good to go.

I don't anticipate any posts being this long again, mainly I'll just post what I've run. I appreciate all and any feedback, even negative. Take it easy on the kudos and backslapping, its not what I'm here for.

Thanks to anybody who's read this far, now I'll begin the logging.

Oh, by the way, this might annoy the purists but I measure mainly in kilometers. I also throw in miles here and there so everyone can be equally confused.:P

P+D, 18 Week, 55-70 mpw
    Week -1

Monday Nov 21
    Rest.
    I nailed this session, off to a good start.

Tuesday Nov 22
    13 Km (8 miles) @ 5:18/km

Should have been a few strides but I took it easy as I had run a 10k race on Sunday. (40:45 since you ask, no speed having run a marathon the previous weekend). I normally run 8k with a group of friends on Tuesdays and I intend to keep this up so I showed up early and had 5k done before I met the others.

wednesday Nov 23

18.5km (11.5 mi) @5:17/k

Frosty and icy so took it slow on the pavement and did it mostly on the greenway which had a compacted gravel surface. Plan had 11 miles but needed to detour owing to some closed barriers on my route, ended up climbing a few fences to avoid another mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Excellent! About bloody time:D Best of luck with the Rotterdam training!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Very best of luck with the log P, good to have a West of Ireland man with a bit of substance open a log unlike those pair of spoofers from Galway. Shall be following very closely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck with the log P and with Rotterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Whoop whoop:D. Finally!!

Best of luck with the log P and Rotterdam training!! The after party won't be as good this year without the rest of us!!(but if I win the Lotto, I'll be there;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Ososlo wrote: »
    Excellent! About bloody time:D Best of luck with the Rotterdam training!

Thanks, A. You're flying right now. If I could do anything like your milage I think I might achieve something.
    tang1 wrote: »
    Very best of luck with the log P, good to have a West of Ireland man with a bit of substance open a log unlike those pair of spoofers from Galway. Shall be following very closely.

Sure, Galway men are renowned spoofers:). Btw, whereabouts did your people come from, tang? All joking aside I'm seriously disappointed it didn't go well for tbl today.He's starting to remind me of the Mayo football team. And not in a good way.:pac:
    As for Marty, he could literally do anything. and he might.
    jake1970 wrote: »
    Best of luck with the log P and with Rotterdam.

Thanks, L. I'll be following you closely too as I do with all those around the same level.
    Younganne wrote: »
    Whoop whoop:D. Finally!!

Best of luck with the log P and Rotterdam training!! The after party won't be as good this year without the rest of us!!(but if I win the Lotto, I'll be there;))

On the contrary, Anne. Plans are well underway for the after party. It looks like we'll have a good crew from these parts and recruiting is continuing apace. Some of them might actually even run the marathon. Keep buying the tickets, though. Any party would be better for your presence.

Delighted with myself today. I've learned how to multi quote. Didn't even have firedance to teach me:).
    In fact this log has been a big IT learning curve for me. The q doesn't work on my keyboard and I couldn't even write the title without it. Step forward alt + 113. It's the little things:pac:.

Oh, yes, I've been training too.

Thursday Nov 24

Plan called for 5 miles.
    I have 2 or 3 friends I normally run with on Thursdays but my schedule was very tight with mrs ss being away and friends minding the children so I ran this alone. Ran on the greenway again as the paths were slippy. Very dark and the battery in my headtorch was low so this was quite eerie. Met about 20 youngsters from the local AC going the other way and on the way back a few of them passed me out. Great to see.

8k @ 5:11/ km

Friday Nov 25

The plan had 9 miles but it was never going to happen.

Nothing

Saturday Nov 26

Westport parkrun.

A few slippy patches but we proceeded with caution. Took it careful.

5k @ 4:51/ k

Sunday Nov 27

Club prize giving last night so had left this a bit open.

Met two friends at 10am. Did 10k quickish as one guy wanted to get to mass. Myself and the other lad then did another 10k slightly slower but it was pretty hilly. Felt grand, wore hrm and was nice and comfortable all the way.

20k @ 5:05/ k.

Weekly total: 62.5K (39 miles)

Next week I'll repeat week 1 of the plan. Will hope to complete all the milage which should be 53 miles I think.
    I may have to rearrange it a little, I've agreed to pace a few people to 22:15 in parkrun on saturday. There's a 15 miler on sunday into which I need to incorporate a 10k race, again an unofficial pacing job but very slow. Probably have to split the run in two but needs must.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

snailsong wrote: »
    I'm seriously disappointed it didn't go well for tbl today.He's starting to remind me of the Mayo football team. And not in a good way.:pac:

Poor C, I'm must admit I shed a tear when tang text me. If anyone deserves a break its him.

Delighted with myself today. I've learned how to multi quote. Didn't even have firedance to teach me:).

I notice you waited till she left the building before starting your log :D:D

In all seriousnous delighted to see this up and running and look forward to seeing your progress in the coming months.

Thanks, Annie. Yes, I'd love to see Lemonhead get a break. If he sticks at it I'm sure it'll happen.

Hope we'll see Fd back soon. She had encouraged me to start a log and even showed me how to do smilies when I used my technical ignorance as an excuse. :D I spy on her by other means and can report she's running well and improving all the time.

P+D 70 mile, week 1 proper

Monday Nov 28

Rest.

I've signed up for a challenge to run every day in December. Did it last year and enjoyed it, also found it beneficial training wise. Anyway, my plan has six days running so this should be the last rest day for a while.

Tuesday Nov 29

Plan said 8 miles with 10 x 100m strides. I intended to have 3 miles done in advance of my usual 5 with the group but time pressure meant I was half a mile short. Only got 3 or 4 badly timed strides in but made amends by running the last km with the group fast (4:18). Highlight was meeting 52 head torches coming the other way in the second km.

Total 12k @ 5:10/km

Wednesday Nov 30

Plan: 11 miles MLR

Headed to Newport to run on the Mulranny Greenway. Diverted after 1km to the Derrada loop which takes you around Furnace lake and up the side of the hill. the road climbs quite steeply and ends at a style. From here its bog road or track. Can be quite muddy but its been dry recently. After 8 k I rejoined the greenway and did an out and back to make up the milage. The section on the flat was all about 4:50/km at low hr. Very happy with the session. I love this route, only saw 2 people for the duration.

Total 17.8k @ 5:07/km

Thursday Dec 1.

Plan: 5 miles recovery.

First day proper of the challenge.

Met a good friend after work and did this nice and easy. He's recently become a dad so lots to talk about.

Total 8k @ 5:59/km

Friday Dec 2

Plan: 9 miles General Aerobic

Met another buddy after work and she was on for 8k so we did yesterdays route in reverse. Afterwards I ran 6.4k all by myself. I can see that running in the dark will limit the choice of safe routes. Starting to realise the commitment of high milage in the winter.

Total 14.5k @ 5:28/k

Pace should be probably a bit quicker, must look that up.

Saturday Dec 3

Plan: 5 miles recovery

Recovery would have suited me fine but I had already promised to pace 2 friends at Westport parkrun. They both had pb's about 22:30 and whilst they'd love to break 22 I suggested 22:15 as a reasonable target. Now Westport is a game of two halves, First 2 k are downhill, next two uphill and a bit of both in the final k. The rough plan was splits of 4:15, 4:15, 4:30, 5:00 and 4.15. We ran about 4:15, 4:19, 4:29, 4:50 and stormed home in 4:05. Finished with 22:03 and 22:04, happy pacees. Really enjoyed this. Did another 3k or so to make up the milage.

5k @ 4:25/k
    3.5 k @ 5:43/k

Total 8.5k

Sunday Dec 4

Plan 15 mile long run

This was never going to happen as planned as Mrs ss was planning a sub 1hr attempt in the Beleek 10k in Ballina and guess who was designated pacer?

Stage 1: Met up with a friend at 8:30 and set off for a 10k. It was great to run in daylight again and take a more scenic route. Got so distracted chatting that we forgot the planned route and ended up doing 11k. The legs starting to feel a bit heavy and I was glad I wasn't carrying on another 13 k.
    10.8k @ 5:13/k

Stage 2: Arrived in Ballina, met lots of old friends including a good representation from the Westport parkrun family. Both pacees from yesterday were present. Headed off for a few easy k.
    3.1k @ 5:24/k plus a few laps of the track.

Stage 3: The race underway and pleased to report all went well. First half in 30:03 and despite a slight wobble at 8.5k we crossed the line in 59:09. Delighted with that, its the culmination of sixteen weeks dedicated training and a 5 minute improvement since april.
    10k @ 5:53/k

Total today 24k

Weekly total 84.8 km (52.6 miles)
    Very happy to hit the milage, more or less:). This is one of my highest milage weeks ever.

Next week, 56 miles.

Nice week that P, well done on the pacing and big well done to Mrs ss, great PB by her.

Had planned to update more often but there aren't enough hours in the day, unfortunately.

Anyway,

P+D 70 mile plan, 16 weeks to goal

Monday
    Plan: Rest

There is no rest for the wicked. Or for those of us who have committed to running every day in December. Met up with a friend and did a nice easy 5k.
    Hardly argued at all:). She winds me up but I rise to it. Someone suggested I'm a grumpy old man and, while I disaggree, I can see the evidence that's being misconstrued.

Total 5k @ 5:25/k

Tuesday
    Plan: 8 miles with 10 x 100 metre strides

Running late as usual so only got in 4k before I met the running group for our usual 8k. Legs felt heavy so the strides didn't happen. I'm not worried about strides right now, too much fast running has been my problem of late. We all went for a pint afterwards, not sure if it's going to be a trend.
    Enjoyed it anyway.

Total 12.1 k @ 5:20/k

Wednesday 7/12

Plan 12 miles medium long run

Highlight of the week. Met with a friend and training partner with whom I've run two marathons this year, she won one of them. She had a 12 mile route planned in her neck of the woods that I hadn't run before. Virgin road is always a treat. The route was pretty spectacular with several lakes, hill and sea views. There was even a natural spring well with a faucet for the water station, idyllic. 340 metres of climbing coupled with force 9 wind which nearly had us going backwards on some of the crests made this a testing run. We felt good though and the company made the miles fly by. Ran by feel but the pace came out very respectable. Ran a little bit extra too.

Total 19.5k @ 5:24/k

Thursday 8/12

Plan; 5 miles recovery

Met with my antagonistic friend from Monday for another pleasant 8k. Tried to keep the pace easy, the body is starting to complain.

Total 8.1k @5:46/k

Friday 9/12

Plan: 9 miles general aerobic.

I'm not used to running on Fridays and I can see this being an ongoing problem. Had to squeeze it in between work and our work outing. My friends were not available until later so this was my first solo run of the week. I thought I might take the oppertunity to go a little quicker, maybe 5 minute k's, but the old body said no. I started about 5:10/k but when I upped the effort the pace only seemed to drop. Very curious, in the end i felt I was working hard but the splits dropped right off to 5:50/k. I think thats 9:20/mile for you Luddites. Afterwards the calfs were tight and feet sore. Had no time for foam rolling, not that I ever do it anyway. I'm not at all concerned by this. My milage is higher than its ever been so I expected some reaction. Reassured actually that some effect is taking place, that was the idea.

Total 14.4k @ 5:23/k

Saturday 10/12

Plan: 5 miles recovery

I had resolved to run today super slow and try to get recovered before tomorrow's 17 miler which was starting to look like a tall order. Was reasonably conservative with the booze on the night out so managed to make parkrun as usual. Started at the back with my brother and ran sections with several parkrun friends that I'd rarely run with. Lots of banter and craic all the way. Ran 27:50 which is my slowest since I've run with the children, really enjoyed it. Afterwards added another 3k even slower to make up the miles.

Total 8k @ 5:46/k

Sunday 11/12

Plan 17 miles long run

Didn't relish the prospect of running any of this alone so I decided to divide it in to a 7 mile followed by a 10 mile and sent the shout out for partners for either or both. Thankfully volunteers were forthcoming, 1 for just the 7 mile, 2 for the 10 mile and one for the full dose.
    Tried to keep the pace super slow, a few shouts of 'will ye go aisey' did the trick. As usual chat, gossip, banter and the miles clicked by nicely. legs felt reasonably cooperative. Friday's soreness all forgotten, never under pressure with the pace. Due to a miscalculation on my part the 7 miles turned out to be almost 8 but we couldn't disappoint the second shift so almost 18 in total.

Total 28.5k @ 5:26/k

Weekly total 95.9k (59.5 miles)

Very happy with the miles for the week. Next week might break 60.
    Also considering some racing over Christmas. Would love to do the Fields of Athenry 10k on Stephen's day. Also the Streets of Westport 5k on New Year's Day. In between there's a duathlon in Claremorris:). I've only sat on the bike about twice in the year but what the heck. I'm a have-a-go-hero.

I have a week of slack in the plan, I think, so could park it for the week. Holidays are all about racing after all:pac:.

In the short term I'll try to get out for 5 k before work tomorrow, not running in the evening will feel like a rest day. Wife away Tuesday so hopefully can still get the miles in. I'll think of a solution.

Monday, 12/12

Plan: Rest

Got out before work for a slow 5k. Already ahead of the game,:D

Total, 5k @ 5:46/k

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

I only just found this, it's made me smile very much a lot :)

You've had a cracking year, 2017 promises to be off the charts :)

Neady83 wrote: »
    I only just found this, it's made me smile very much a lot :)

You've had a cracking year, 2017 promises to be off the charts :)

Thanks, S. Figured you'd be along presently.
    2017 will be mega for us both!

Already slipping with the updates, so I'll be brief and try to catch up.

Tuesday 13/12
    The plan was for 10 miles but a last minute change of plan at home put paid to that. Just time to get out for a swift 5k in order to keep the 31 day challenge going.

5k @ 4:48/k

Wednesday 14/12
    Plan was 13 miles.
    Headed to Newport and met up with the same running partner from last week.
    Followed the same very hilly route as last week. Very slow to start but picked up the pace aswe went along. Lovely weather, felt strong and enjoyed the run and the company. Its great to have a training partner free on Wednesday mornings and happy to run the distance and pace that suits me. We'll probably do Wednesdays together the next while at least.

21.3k @ 5:35/k

Thursday 15/12
    Plan was 5 miles recovery.

I was delighted to meet up with a good friend and training buddy for this. We hadn't run together since Dublin marathon as he'd been injured and taking it easy. Dublin didn't go according to plan for him, though he still got a pb. It was good to discuss what went wrong and right on the day, for us both I think.

8k @ 5:29/k

Friday 16/12

Plan was for 11 miles but I just didn't have the time so was resigned to dropping a few more miles behind plan. I met a friend who said she'd do 10k with me to start. Neady was explaining about a rage run and maybe I witnessed one here. My comrade gave out and criticised me the whole way, at the end she said she felt much better! We're the best of pals, honestly:). After she left I did 4k on my own. Went quick, to dissapate my own rage.:mad::). Legs felt much better than last week, the training might be working and the drop off in milage might be no harm either.

14k @ 5:16/k

Saturday 17/12

The plan was 5 miles recovery but since there was a night out with the running group planned I decided it would be best to get the long run out of the way. I started with an out and back by myself. Ankle a little niggly but it seemed to sort itself after a few miles. Flat route for a change so pace a bit more respectable, effort was fairly easy. First 15k at 5:03/k. Just back in time for Westport parkrun. I'd agreed to pace one of the regulars. Her pb, from two years back was 25:04. She has recently been going well and after 25:40 last week we agreed 25:25 was a reasonable target. We hit the splits bang on for the first four k but she absolutely blitzed the last 600m and crossed in 25:03 for a 1 second pb! Overjoyed, both of us. I love these casual pacing gigs. A few of us headed off for a 4k cooldown afterwards and that was my long run nailed.

Total 24k@ about 5:10/k

Sunday 18/12

As anticipated, it turned out a late night and not many locals were running on Sunday morning, myself included. The afternoon was spent in the restful surroundings of the bowling alley at my son's ninth birthday party:).
    Met my friend in the evening for an easy 5k and our running obligations fulfilled.

Total 5k @5:31/k

Weekly total 81.8k (51 miles or so)
    Not the 60 miles I'd hoped for but not a disaster either. Feeling a lot more energetic than last week and a little more pace here and there.

Monday 19/12
    Plan was for rest day but there can be none of those until next year. Out in the dark at 7am for 5 easy k. At least not running in the evening made it feel like a rest. 22nd day of my running streak.

Total 5k @5:19/k

Tuesday 20/12
    Plan was 9 miles with 10 strides. I had hoped to start with 4 miles solo before meeting the running group but as usual was a bit late going out so I knew I'd be a little short again. Met up with some triathletes so ran with them for a bit. Had 4.5 k done before I met the group for our usual 8k. I skipped the strides as we usually end up running the last k fast anyway but that didn't happen tonight, not to worry. 5 of us out, never looked at the watches, told some bad jokes. Loved it, of course, like pretty much every run.

Total 12.3k @ 5:19/k

Wednesday 21/12

The plan was 14 miles. Went to Newport again and met with my now regular Wednesday partner. Similar route to last week but added a mile and ran the loop in the opposite direction. Weather was nice. About 4 degrees with a bit of wind chill too but we dodged the showers luckily. My friend is very knowledgeable, I learned about the evolution of holly, promontory forts and mediterranean heather! We went a bit quicker than last week too. Afterwards had some Earl Grey tea, civilised people don't guzzle coffee like me:). Must score myself some Earl Grey.

I'm going to take a week off the plan for the christmas but do a few races instead. not sure if I'll do this weeks long run, 18 miles, on Saturday or defer til next week.

First race is the Fields of Athenry 10k on the 26th. No idea how I'll get on, the last 10k I did I couldnt break 40 minutes but that was fairly soon after a marathon. I could be slower now with the increase in milage. I'll probably start at 40 minute pace and see how I feel. If it goes pear shaped I won't beat myself up.

Two days later I've entered a duathlon. I haven't sat on a bike since summer so that could be interesting:).

Thanks, Annie. Yes, I'd love to see Lemonhead get a break. If he sticks at it I'm sure it'll happen.

Hope we'll see Fd back soon. She had encouraged me to start a log and even showed me how to do smilies when I used my technical ignorance as an excuse. :D I spy on her by other means and can report she's running well and improving all the time.

So you didn't know you were talking to me when you posted this? I just assumed you'd copped it :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Two days later I've entered a duathlon. I haven't sat on a bike since summer so that could be interesting:).

Careful now, the lynch mob will be out in force, yer not allowed mention bikes in this forum :P:P (good luck though!).

I was just looking for a shoulder to cry On :D. If only I'd known...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

See you in Athenry.... I'm only jogging it so we better chat beforehand as you'll be gone before I finish ☺

Great running P and well done on the running streak!! Not many left doing it on this side!!

martyboy48 wrote: »
    See you in Athenry.... I'm only jogging it so we better chat beforehand as you'll be gone before I finish ☺

No sandbagging now, Marty :D
    See you there.

Younganne wrote: »
    Great running P and well done on the running streak!! Not many left doing it on this side!!

Thanks, Anne. I was already committed to six days a week so in a way it's easier for me than someone who runs less often. The local leisure park has about 40 still going and coordinated via a WhatsApp group.

Thursday 22/12

8k Recovery after work, by myself after work. Trying to keep the pace down but slipping whenever I stopped concentrating.

8k @ 5:20/k

Friday 23/12

Plan was 11 miles and though it was wet and very windy I was determined to get it done. Started with an easy 5k with a very hungover friend then off for 13 more k by myself. At one point the road was flooded, just a few inches deep but no way around so the last 6k was done with very wet feet. Felt grand despite everything.

Total 18k @5;22/k

Saturday 24/12

Plan was 5 miles recovery but no chance I'd be doing 18 miles on Christmas Day so tried to get some class of long run done. Set off early and got 10 miles in before parkrun. Legs felt a bit heavy but not surprised after the milage of the last few days. Ran a 25:40 parkrun which broke up the day nicely and tacked a few more k on the end.

Total 25k @ about 5:20/k

Sunday 25/12

Out for 6k between Santy and lunch. Totally soaked but met a few other mad feckers at the same crack. Will we ever get sense? Hopefully not for a while yet.

6k @ 5:14/k

Weekly total 97.1k (60.4 miles)
    Not exactly according to plan but that's my highest milage week ever. Very happy with that. Legs a little achey by times but no real injury worries, energy levels good, improving.
    Parking the plan for a week now to race.

Monday 26/12

Fields of Athenry 10k
    I love this race. I've done it 4 times I think. Last year I ran 39:22 for a pb which marked the beginning of a series of pbs at all distances. I lowered the 10k pb 3 more times during the year, most recently 38:54 in Moylough.
    There's a lovely downhill in the last k as you enter town, its possible to finish very fast. I had no idea what to expect going in to this. The milage of the last while is not ideal preparation, I haven't done any speed work for a good while and yesterday's turkey, wine and chocolate was a suboptimal taper. Felt ok in the morning, though, so I decided to start with the 40 minute pace group and see how it went.
    As an aside, the first 50 finishers get an exclusive t shirt. Always been a long term target of mine but last year 50th place was 38:35 so I didn't give it much thought today.

Travelled down with a couple of friends, met two more of our regular training group there. Registered and collected the coveted hats. No queues, the Athenry club put on a great show, super organised. After a short warm up I lined up with the 40 minute pace group. Had a look around for Martyboy but no sign.

Km 1-3
    Felt grand all the way, effort levels about right.
    Splits 4:02, 3:57, 3:57

Km 4
    Just before the 4k mark the pacer seemed to start to pull away. I checked the pace and he was actually right on goal pace, my perception had changed not the pace. I was working hard now to keep up and the heartrate was too high. I assumed this was the effect of the high milage and decided to dig in another while. If I had to let them go that't be fine too and not unexpected.
    Split 3:56

Km 5
    The course rises a little here and I was prepared for some hardship. Bizarrely, the opposite occurred. Just before half way I found myself beside the pacer and moving very easily. I thought he may have slowed down for the climb but my watch confirmed the pace was still steady, and also that my heartrate had dropped 20 bpm. A few of the guys in the group were starting to struggle but I felt very comfortable. It occurred to me that this felt more like a half than a 10k.
    Split 4:02
    Half way in 19:55

Km 6,7
    Stayed with the pacer, still very easy and relaxed. Resisted the temptation to push on, its not a goal race so if I can run a pain free sub 40 then I'm happy.
    Splits 3:56, 3:58.

Km 8,9
    At about 7.5 k I finally gave in and started to push on. I figured the sub 40 was in the bag and with a bit of application I could go 39:30 or even beat last year's 39:22. As soon as I went I started passing people and I was very happy with how the legs felt. At 8.5k theres a little hill and I decided to power up this , its pretty much all down hill to the finish from the top. Hit the 9k mark and started the descent in to town.
    Splits 3:54, 3:49

Last Km
    Ran fairly quick down the hill towards town. The next person ahead of me was maybe 20 metres off so i reckoned I wouldn't make up any more places, content to keep solid form and not flog myself. With about 600 metres to go there was a marshal standing in the road. He was shouting a number at everyone who passed, i remembered the top 50 t shirts, surely not? I could hear him shout at the group ahead, '47...48...49...50'. Shight, I was 51st, only one thing to do, run like fcuk. I proceeded to run like fcuk. Unfortunately the group of four ahead , galvanised with the knowledge of their precarious position, adopted a similar strategy. With 300 metres to go the gap was still a few metres. 200 metres left and i was definitely gaining. Running faster than ever before and wondering if I'd puke or calf before the line. I think I passed three as we turned onto the main street and finishing straight. I could see the famous arch and finish line maybe 100 metres ahead, two of them passed me again.I think. I fell over the line, have I done enough. No one was allowed to collapse, such were the efforts of the marshals to get us in to the finishing chute in the correct order. The finish judge told me I was 50th, and pointed me out to the guy with the box of t shirts. Headed down the queue and he gave the last one to the guy in front of me. I protested and after consulting the 'judge' another t shirt was miraculously produced. Woo hoo, delighted. First to congratulate me was the guy in 51st, top man. Had a look at the watch, 38:53 it said which would be a 1 second pb. Overjoyed at the day's work.
    Soon after met up with my friends, some very good pbs achieved today.
    Last km 3:23:D

Epilogue:
    Official results give me 38:51 chip, a 4 second pb.
    Gun position is however down as 52nd:(. Not sure how i feel about that. There is one unknown runner ahead and a few with slower chip times. The judge didn't have an easy job with 12 finishers within 9 seconds. If I wear the t shirt I'll have to put an asterisk on it.:)
    Regardless, I'm very happy with the way I ran and the way I felt throughout. I was well fit to pick up the pace when I wanted to.
    I like to run negative splits, today was 19:55, 18:56.

Next up, duathlon on Wednesday.

A PB too!!! Brilliant :) and don't bother with the asterisk for the t-shirt, the unknown runner can sod right off :D

Great stuff P, nice negative split that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Must try some of that turkey taper myself someday. Super run, congrats on the PB. I wouldn't be shy about wearing the shirt either. ;)

Your 5k PB needs serious attention, your second 5k yesterday was only 9 secs slower than your PB over 5k. Might not happen this side of Rotterdam but it's there to be slashed when you do get around it.

The second 5k was mainly downhill though. Anyway, I plan to do the Streets of Westport 5k on New Years day. Was a hilly route but I hear they've changed it this year so you never know.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Must try some of that turkey taper myself someday. Super run, congrats on the PB. I wouldn't be shy about wearing the shirt either. ;)

Thanks, D. Turkey taper, I like that.
    I fairly suffered for the shirt so probably break it out some time.

I've heard such great things about the Athenry 10km, so many people PB at it and I've always wondered how in the bjasus people manage to run so fast after stuffing themselves with turkey on Christmas day.

Tell us how it's done? :)

Well done on another cracking run and wear that t-shirt with pride, you were handed it fair and square and you never know what happened with those results - fact is, you were the 50th person to cross the line and you earned it.

Good luck in the duathlon tomorrow :) looking forward to the report.

+1 to good luck wishes tomorrow, I'm looking forward to the report too, so I can see how it all works :p

Tell us how it's done? :)

Simple, Neady, it's all training.
    I stuff myself with sweets, chocolate and beer most days so when Christmas comes around I'm well used to it.

Tuesday 27/12 am

Lovely morning. Did a nice easy recovery 4 miles with Mrs.ss

Total 5.6k @ 6:12/k

pm

Decided to get prepared for tomorrow's duathlon. Took the bike down and dusted it off. On recollection it was July when I last sat on it. Oiled it and checked the brakes and gears. Pumped the tyres to 110 psi. After some consideration I put on the clip-on tri bars. They give you a bit more speed if you can get comfortable in the aero position. However you have no access to the brakes or gears and a little less control over the steering so a dodgy cyclist like me cant really use them climbing, descending or on a bad surface or a crosswind. Went on a 10 mile spin to try out. Didn't feel too bad, traffic was heavy and the shoulders a bit stiff but got on the bars for some of it and pace was ok in the circumstances. Training complete.

Total 16k in 32:25. Av 29.5 kph

Wednesday 28/9
    Land of Giants Duathlon, Claremorris.

Up early, bike carrier on the car and collected a friend. I finished 2 minutes ahead of him last year but his running has improved since and he's a much better cyclist than me so good bit of slagging on the way over who might prevail between us. Arrived in good time, registration went smoothly. Great atmosphere as there usually is at these events. Met a big crowd from home as usual. Went down and racked the bikes in transition area. Did a short jog to warm up. Gave a bit of thought about what to wear. Didn't want to overheat on the run or get cold on the bike but didn't want to put on a jacket in transition either. Went with cycling shorts, cycling top over base layer and no jacket. just before the off I put on full finger gloves.
    The first run is on narrow paths around Clare lake and it can be hard to pass. There's always a few slower runners who insist on starting up front so I lined up about two rows back so as not to get stuck.

5.3k run
    Began with a charge down the main street and into the park. Plan was to keep about 4 min/k and I more or less managed this though the effort seemed pretty hard. Maybe the effects of the 10k on Monday or the surface which was gravel mainly. Once the pace settled down I was passing people all the way. Ufortunately I spent about a kilometer behind a guy who's cycling shorts were so worn out and transparent that he might as well have wrapped his arse in cling film:eek:. Cyclists dont wear underwear in case ye didn't know. If you were behind this lad you'd know.:)
    I tried to keep picking them off as I expected to lose places on the bike. finished the run in 21:15 or so and into transition. Soon realised the gloves were a bad idea as it took me ages to get the helmet buckled. 45 seconds in transition and saw a few guys I'd passed on the run get on their bikes first. Thought I pressed lap on my garmin so start the cycle but must have pressed stop as I realised later.

17k cycle
    The cycle starts with a steep uphill and I was actually passing quite a few on the climb. A fair few were passing me too but that was expected. I soon realised that I'd messed up the garmin which I restarted but it was frustrating not to know my speed or how far was left to go from here on.
    The first part of the cycle is fairly undulating and on a poor surface but I still managed to use the tri bars most of the way. I was passed occasionally but mainly by guys on fancy tri bikes with pointy hats.
    The last 8 k back to town is on good road. As we turned on to the main road I chanced a look over my shoulder and saw a group of five or so within a few seconds. Not sure they were all observing the no drafting rule:mad:. I decided to dig in and see could I hold them off. I stayed on the bars for the rest of the cycle and even managed to reel in three guys who'd passed me earlier. I was overtaken by one or two others on the last descent where I was a bit cautious.
    Very happy with the cycle overall, into transition and much smoother this time. Ditched the bike and helmet in 15 seconds or so.
    Official split was 33:55, not certain of the distance due to the watch mess up, supposed to be 17k so about 30kph.

1.9k run
    The second run is supposed to be 2k but I think its a bit shorter. The legs felt like jelly after the bike but suprisingly the watch told me I was running about 3:55 pace on the first k. I thought I might gain a few places here but it was a net loss of position if anything. The last 500m is messy as you leave the park and run back up hill to the centre of town. The road is open so you have to dodge shoppers and traffic to get to the finish. I was trying to chase down a lad who'd passed me on the end of the cycle and nearly had him when we both had to check our runs for pedestrians. We went the opposite side of a car coming from a side street and he seemed to pick the shortest route so the chance was gone.
    Happy to cross the line in one piece.
    Result 1:04:15 , 37th of 300

Pretty satisfied with the outcome . Its over a minute improvement on last year and I'm actually 32nd if you don't count the relay teams. Sometime in the future I'd love to get back cycling and take these events a bit more seriously.

I hung around the finish a good while and saw a lot of my friends finishing.
    My travelling companion improved a minute on last year but I still had him by two minutes. Mayo 1, Fermanagh 0:D.

Everybody seemed to be out last night celebrating, myself included. I had thought about going to a 1 mile charity race in Ballinrobe this morning but that plan never got off the ground.

Thursday 29/12

Just a bit fuzzy headed this morning so stuck with an everlasting painting and decorating job at home. Made it out in the evening for an easy 5k recovery.
    Total 5k @ 5:36/k.

Fair play SS, great few days of racing. Training certainly paying off and the higher than normal Mileage doesn't seem to be affecting you at all. All bodes well for Rotterdam.

The bike bit doesn't count though :D What in the name of god is a Tri bar - no, don't answer that! As for the underwear comment!!!! #shocked :p

Well done P, considering you hand't been on the bike since July and you still got a PB and came 37th 32nd as Anne says, bodes well for next year.

Happy New Year!!

A tri bar is a magical device to make triathletes look cooler than cyclists. A bit like the way women wear high heels to male their calves look more shapely. Triathletes love their gear, aero helmets, disc wheels, skin suits etc. It's more of a fetish than a sport :D.

Rotterdam is a long, long way off yet. A lot of work to do between now and then.

Happy New Year all.

Friday 30/12

Lovely Day so I did a 10k loop on trail and road. Over Skelp which is kinda the shoulder of Croagh Patrick. Quite steep all the way, walked a bit and took a few photos.

Total 10.25K @ 5:43/k

Saturday 31/12

A good few locals have been doing a run every day challenge for december. A lot of us finished up with Westport parkrun today. I had planned to pace a couple for 22 minutes but only one showed up and he blew a gasket at 2k. I carried on anyway and ran 22:00.

Total 5k @ 4:26/k

Finished the year with about 1760 miles. New pbs at all distances. I'll be happy to continue that progress in 2017.

Sunday 1/1
    Streets of Westport Resolution Run, 5k

I had a few beers celebrating new year, also some port and some champagne and ate loads of junk. Luckily this didn't start until 2pm so I was coming round more or less. The course is 4.5 laps with a few tight turns and a stiff drag up the main street each time. My plan was to pace about 19 minutes (3:48/k) and see if I could finish fast to go a bit under. From lap 2 I was lapping people which involved a bit of weaving left and right. First 4 splits were 3:47, 3:50, 3:49, 3:47. Lap 5 I tried to pick it up a bit and according to Garmin I ran a 3:38 but I measured the course 5.1k so at the line I was19:02. The extra may be caused by not taking the race line but everybody seemed to have between 5.1 and 5.3. Very happy with the way i ran. Even pacing and at least close to the fastest i have run 5k.
    I haven't run a flat fast 5k course for at least 2 years so I might have a look around in the spring and see can I lower the pb.

Back for the cuppa afterwards and met up with everyone. I knew about half of the 177 participants. Most of my training buddies ran. The event was supposed to be chip timed but there was no timing mat at the start. The first set of results gave me 19:16. Everybody else was 14 seconds out as well and we pointed it out and the man from the timing company said he'd sort it. Later results went online and I had 18:49:mad:. Other times are off too but the discrepancy is no longer uniform. Just as bad.
    I don't know how they can call it chip timed if there isn't a mat at the start and finish. My problem isn't with the organisers, who did a great job, but with the chip timing company who take a cut of the entries and fail to deliver. They have form in this regard.

total 5.1k @ 3:46/k

Weekly total 40.9k (25.5miles)

Monday 2/1

Seeing as how it was a holiday I decided to get a few miles as neither myself or my regular partner can do much this wednesday. Headed to Newport for our now regular route, 2 other lads joined us as well. Ran 13 miles on a beautiful morning.

Total 21.2k @ 5:30/k

That duathlon sounds like fun :D

If 2017 is half as good to you in terms of PBs as 2016 was, you'll be flying it. Nice one and all the best for 2017 :) Hopefully I'll get to run with you at some stage.

That duathlon sounds like fun :D

If 2017 is half as good to you in terms of PBs as 2016 was, you'll be flying it. Nice one and all the best for 2017 :) Hopefully I'll get to run with you at some stage.

Likewise, big year for you too.
    Look forward to running a mile or fifty with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

That's all we need, another geriatric on here, fighting advancing age, receding hair and expanding waist :)

I'll be keep a fast twitch eye on this escapade!

All the best

TbL

That's all we need, another geriatric on here, fighting advancing age, receding hair and expanding waist :)

All the best

TbL

To give the man credit he has a fantastic head of hair!!! Mind you I admire Homer Simpson's hairline.

All the best

TbL

Thanks, grandad.
    Might I remind you I was still in short trousers when you started running marathons. And as tang points out I have a luscious barnet. As for the waistline...guilty as charged your honour.

Tuesday 3/1

Should have been an LT session but since I had done Wednesdays run on Monday this freed up Wednesday for Tuesdays run. Sooner or later i might do the sessions in the order prescribed. Anyway headed out with the tuesday group for our regular 8k.

Total 8k @ 5:21/k

Wednesday 4/1

Dentist appointment this morning so headed off for the run at 11:00. The plan was for 9 miles with 4 at lactate threshold pace. I wasn't sure of the wisdom of this since I'd done a fair bit of fast running the last week but decided to start anyway and see how I felt. I went out the coast road as this is as close to a flat route as we have around here. After about 100 metres I met with a friend and somehow agreed to pace her for sub 20 at this weeks parkrun:). I may have to review that plan. Off again and did the first three k nice and steady before setting into the fast bit. I've never had a LT test done so, based on P+D formula, I estimate my LT pace at 4:05 to 4:10 per k. Thats 6:32-6:40 per mile. The first k it was hard to find the correct effort level, second better but I was working hard. From three on I got in to a nice rhythym and got through it ok. Glad to relax after 6.4 k again. Splits for the fast bit 4:09, 4:07, 4:07, 4:08, 4:04, 4:06 and 4:08 for the 0.4k. Jogged back at 5:00/k or so. Felt fine after, very happy with the outcome.

Total 14.4k @ 4:38/k

I'm supposed to have a 20 miler this sunday but we've taken the opportunity to book a night away so this will have to happen on Saturday if at all. Which means I might be compromised for my friday 11 miler. And I'll look for a substitute for the pacing at parkrun. Its not easy...

And finally....

Shoe news:
    I have new shoes. I got gait analysis done about five years ago and on that basis have been wearing Asics GT 2000 ever since. I normally have two pairs on the go and replace them after about 1000 k. I've had no injury problems but they wear out around the big toe before I've finished with them. Also, they're expensive even when you shop around online. For a change I bought myself a set of Mizuno Wave Inspire about a month ago. I've been wearing them on my shorter runs and on my recent races. Impression so far....they feel a lot like the asics.

Belly news:
    I've been weighing myself on a weekly basis for the last few months. just before christmas I dipped under 73 kg for the first time in a long time. I think I could profitably go to 72 or a bit lower. Unfortunately, after the excesses of the festive period I'm back over 74. To compound the problem the missus arrived home with a sackful of cut price mince pies from Aldi yesterday and I'm the only one in the house who eats them. Thanks, darling.

74kg, feck sake!!!! The last time I weighed that was going into Secondary school, you have a clear ten kilos on me. Great hair & a skinny Fooker and he's complaining about a few mince pies!!

Ah yea but he lives in Mayo...

TbL

The yanks say every pound is 2 seconds per mile. So if I lose 4 kilos I'll have a sub 3 and don't even have to train. I don't know where you keep that 10kg, tang. Lose that and you're sub 3 as well.

Ah yea but he lives in Mayo...

TbL

There's no whingers down here, just winners.
    And jealous Galway fookers. :D

The yanks say every pound is 2 seconds per mile. So if I lose 4 kilos I'll have a sub 3 and don't even have to train. I don't know where you keep that 10kg, tang. Lose that and you're sub 3 as well.

Have you not seen his calves?! :D:D:D

BTW, Lemon, when are you coming to our parkrun? The Operation Transformation group start on the 14th, might suit ya.;D

Obviously haven't been looking as closely as you.

Leave my calves out of it, very sensitive about my calves!!!!

Christ if that's the case and I can get down to a racing weight, forget the sub 3 I'll be hitting 2.30 :)

TbL