Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haye vs Bellew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

Johner wrote: »
    Froch is such a bad commentator.

Wembley. 80,000 people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Danye

Time for Derry to hang up the gloves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Every time it comes back to the commentators, I say "wow they have mark wahlberg, that's a bit of a coup", before I slap myself across the side of the head.

I thought Katie was up next guys? Is that the "movable" fight for tonight, like it was the last time. (somebody can help out with that term they use to describe it, is it 'floating'? )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Would love to see Paulie get the win here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

Would love to see Paulie get the win here.

I don't think paulie has much left to offer. His boxing skill was always underrated but never had the power to carry himself into elite territory. Took some awful beatings over the years too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Is Katie still fighting tonight?

Pauli keeps getting caught with the long right. Doesn't look good for him, particularly if the early rounds are expected to be his best.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭ben36

I'm in the Tolka house in glasnevin and they're not showing the fight,do any of you know is there anywhere around here closer to the finglas direction that will have it on?cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Danye wrote: »
    Time for Derry to hang up the gloves.

It's a shame I always liked Derry. His fight with Tommy Coyle is one that always sticks out in my mind, tommy was giving him a pairing but Derry pulled a ko outta the bag late in the fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Jaysus, Paulie nearly had him there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Night night Pauli.

Sad to see someone as **** as Eggington do that to Paulie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Body shot, paulie stays down

It's a shame I always liked Derry. His fight with Tommy Coyle is one that always sticks out in my mind, tommy was giving him a pairing but Derry pulled a ko outta the bag late in the fight.

Yeah I've always liked him. Seems like a decent chap. He's always been a warrior.

The way Pauline is carrying on here, I'd say he's finished as well.

Second retirement of the night, surely.

He had some physique back in the day.

pauliemalignaggi.jpg

I think he was understudy for all five of the Backstreet Boys back then as well.

boxer.fan wrote: »
    I don't think paulie has much left to offer. His boxing skill was always underrated but never had the power to carry himself into elite territory. Took some awful beatings over the years too.

You were spot on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Pretty amazing that he actually made it as far as he did without any power at all. The magic has definitely ran out though. Hope he retires, he has a fine commentating career ahead.

Classy from Paulie there, legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭megadodge

Sad to see someone as **** as Eggington do that to Paulie.

Jaysus, will you give over. Eggington is one of the best value-for-money fighters you'll ever see. He gives everything he has and is as down-to-earth as you'll ever see and that's all you have to say about him.

megadodge wrote: »
    Jaysus, will you give over. Eggington is one of the best value-for-money fighters you'll ever see. He gives everything he has and is as down-to-earth as you'll ever see and that's all you have to say about him.

Never said he didn't give value for money did I? He's a British level fighter and it's sad to see a once world class level fighter like Paulie lose like that to a British level fighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Jaysus Paulie knows how to talk haha never shuts up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

What time is it on lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭monty_python

Pheonix10 wrote: »

9ish I think

What time is it on lads?

It's gotta be Katie Taylor up next I think? Anybody????

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭BabyWillis

Pheonix10 wrote: »

9ish I think
    It's nearly ten o clock when you posted this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭megadodge

Never said he didn't give value for money did I? He's a British level fighter and it's sad to see a once world class level fighter like Paulie lose like that to a British level fighter.

If you said "British level fighter" that would be fine. But you didn't.

You said "someone as **** as Egington", which was pretty pathetic.

"There's Anthony Joshua.. He's universally loved isnt he".

I think Sky Sports want me to love Anthony Joshua a bit too much. It's a bit like when you're in the same school as your cousin.... you dont really like him.. but your mother keeps at you to go and play with him.

AJ just doesn't have the personality of Frank Bruno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Some body shot to finish Paulie there. But I fear he will continue like Roy Jones. He's been in with quality down through the years but as said never had the true power to be among those.