Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I love Travellers

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

dd972 wrote: »
    I look like one, well, apparently so to the scores of people who've made comments insinuating so who've also never had a 30 second conversation with me. I remember getting a pint in Dublin city centre once and the barman's mien went from intense scrutiny and suspicion to 'phew, thank f**k for that' the second he heard my voice.

Nowhere does prejudice better than the land of cead mile snap judgements.

As for Travellers, 90% of their grief is among themselves, I'd be more worried about the sort of aggressive, pumped up ned who killed that Indo journalist on Wexford St with one punch.
    I'd be equally worried in relation to thugs being thugs - whatever background.

Do you genuinely think Ireland is the most prejudiced place there is? (And are you aware of the irony? :)).

Criminality is disproportionately high in traveller society, as well as there being the presence of dangerous and outdated customs. This is just statement of fact. For those who are decent normal people (and there are) their situation is sh*t but it's far more to do with the problems within the community they are born into rather than the rest of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

FortySeven wrote: »

They never back down.

They do. You just have to match their numbers and be ready to go toe to toe. In my experience they don't want to know. Great lads for roaring and shouting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

9or10 wrote: »
    More than their share? How would we tell?

They are 0.6% of the Irish population and 15% of the prison population so I imagine more than their share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

pablo128 wrote: »
    They do. You just have to match their numbers and be ready to go toe to toe. In my experience they don't want to know. Great lads for roaring and shouting though.

Perhaps but you risk getting the one that is quite happy to stab you, shoot you or throw a pipe bomb in your front window.

It's way beyond what most people would be willing to risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

xzanti wrote: »
    My biggest issue is HOW the girls all have that body?

Not being a smartass or anything, genuine question.

They're all thorough-bred stunners. Massive cans and a shiny black mane of hair.

Where did I go wrong :o

It's all the inbreeding

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

9or10 wrote: »
    Probably, but then this thread would suggest that we do as well.:)

IMHO - pick any group Muslims, Pakistanis, Italians there will be some right cnuts amongst them.

I've met some cracking lads who were travellers that were delighted to help you out. I've also met some cnuts.

More than their share? How would we tell?
    Prison population. That's how we tell. There's about 100 times as many of them as there should be locked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

I heard the thick, lustrous hair was due to traveller girls getting their hair shaved once it started to come in. Don't know if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭surrender monkey

Hammer89 wrote: »
    It's not through experience or observation though, is it? I'd go as far as to say that the vast majority of people who are afraid of travellers have not experienced or witnessed any intimidation tactics from them. So, where does the fear stem from? I'm no expert but I would imagine it stems from a pretty unrealistic perception that society in general has of travellers. And we certainly do. Where that perception comes from I don't know, but it's definitely not based on first-hand experience or observations. Not a chance.

I'm terrified of travellers and it is indeed due to personal experience. Whenever I hear the accent I'm immediately on edge and have to get as far away as possible. I endured 4 years of anti social behaviour from a gang of travellers and it was relentless. Night after night trapped in my own home couldn't leave for fear of what they would they would do if they knew the house was empty. The guards couldn't help and if you said when you called that the trouble was emanating from travellers you could be sure that they would take their sweet time responding. I'm a shadow of who I was before it and I despise where I live now because of it. Make no mistake here if they single you out for their own kicks you are well and truly f*cked !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Travellers bullyed the crap out of my younger brother in primary school. Physical and emotional and never once was anything done about it and despite my mother going up.
    Other people ask after my brother today, nearly 20 years on, and nearly always mention how bad the bullying was and how nice a child my brother was.
    He was a gentle soul and never said boo to anyone.
    One day he stood up for himself and fought back. The mother got a phone call from principal asking to take my brother home because he was fighting. She was told if he did it again, he'd have to look at another school.
    The traveller kids, did not get in any trouble nor were parents called nor did they have to go home nor were they called to the office.
    A lot of travelers are pure scum (some are lovely people) but they way they are treated by some 'settled' people makes it all worse.
    The way the school handled the situation was sickening. My brother got all the blame for being horrendously bullied and standing up for himself.

time to move on and let it go

Move along, get along, move along get along, GO, MOVE, SHIFT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Flimpson wrote: »
    I heard the thick, lustrous hair was due to traveller girls getting their hair shaved once it started to come in. Don't know if true.

Not sure what way to take that...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

We need to show more love to our travellers. We're a small nation so actually being ethnically diverse enough to have a minority to love and care for is a blessing.

I love everything about travellers. Their diverse culture of music, craft making and salesmanship can do business acumen is to be both admired and respected.

Let this thread be full of good stories where we share stories of good encounters with our friends.

I'll start. I haven't any. Looking forward to spreading the love.

Let's raise a "Latte" to travellers!

LATTE 2016

Love All The Travellers Equally

We are so privileged to have this vibrant ethnic minority to enrich our otherwise dull and a boring Island. In fact I am quite happy that we send them tribute in the form of free housing and welfare, we owe it to them. One could say they are the true ruling class in our society. Our Brahmans if you will.
    FortySeven wrote: »
    I had the joy of being the only witness to a culturally enriching brawl in a bar I was working alone.

I found it fascinating watching a man and a woman trading punches before they started throwing the furniture.

I felt so culturally enriched that I telephoned the garda to come and share some of my warm comforting glow but was told since I served them drink it was all mine to enjoy. They declined my invitation and hung up the phone.

After the display of ethnic problem solving I felt so in awe of the powerful and unique culture that my cultural enrichment had me trembling and I could barely hold the large glass of whisky I had poured myself after I had bolted the doors behind them.

I hope you appreciate how privileged you were to witness this wonderful display of ethnic culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Advbrd wrote: »
    Not sure what way to take that...

I heard that they do that alright.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

OP is clearly trolling.