Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SSE Airtricity Dublin Race Series 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    About to sign up for the half, Finisher-Pix is only a tenner and ive never used it before. Would yous recommend to get it for the sake of a tenner??

It's a lot cheaper than paying afterwards and the photo quality is great. I purchased my photo's the first year, didn't bother after that (I blame wanting something good to put on tinder). If you think you might want them afterwards Id say pay the tenner, if not don't bother.

As for swapping numbers, to be honest I always felt that it's the rules not to swap you don't do it, that said now that it looks like I may be pulling out of the Frank Duffy, I hate the idea of my number going to waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Rockyman7 wrote: »
    how many people write on the back of their number...wasnt nonsense two yrs back when dcm rang the wrong person to tell her that her husband wasnt in the best .

That's my point. They could easily allow race number swaps if they do what other races do.

There's no faffing around with checking databases. Simply look at back of number and you have all the details immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Djoucer wrote: »
    That's my point. They could easily allow race number swaps if they do what other races do.

There's no faffing around with checking databases. Simply look at back of number and you have all the details immediately.

I hope nobody asks you to do event controller or race director for a big event. Simply looking at the back of a number wouldn't do. The Dublin Marathon and Race Series have a medical set up whereby "patients" are scanned in and out of the medical area, and this assists the whole set up. Obviously, they don't only rely on the barcode. There have been plenty of Marys with beards in for medical treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Ed McGroarty

Entry to Extreme Norths Quadrathon is through Si Entries. While registration is still open and even for a period after it closes you can edit your own entry. This edit option includes changing the participants name and details. Affectively letting you transfer entry without the organisers having to get involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

I hope nobody asks you to do event controller or race director for a big event. Simply looking at the back of a number wouldn't do. The Dublin Marathon and Race Series have a medical set up whereby "patients" are scanned in and out of the medical area, and this assists the whole set up. Obviously, they don't only rely on the barcode. There have been plenty of Marys with beards in for medical treatment.

That's a pretty good set up. But it has nothing to do with numbers. As you said yourself, people still get treated and numbers are tracked in and out. Name on back adds final confirmation of person. Swapping race number does affect that set up at all given the Mary's with beards.

So why don't they allow race swaps when much smaller races do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Djoucer wrote: »
    So why don't they allow race swaps when much smaller races do?

How many races allow number swaps?
    How many of the races listed here, for example, allow swaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭muloc

Anyone know when registration for HM closes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

muloc wrote: »
    Anyone know when registration for HM closes?

http://sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie/race/dublin-half-marathon/

"ENTRY CLOSES 9TH SEPTEMBER."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭muloc

Singer wrote: »

Thanks...I must be blind!!

Singer wrote: »

Just in case, don't get caught out. Entries will close before that date if the limit of 10,000 is reached. If I was to hazard a guess, entries will close before 9th September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 NJW44

Do you need ID to pick up race number etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭doughef

Any spare entries ???? 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Just in case, don't get caught out. Entries will close before that date if the limit of 10,000 is reached. If I was to hazard a guess, entries will close before 9th September.

That'd be a great achievement and testament to the series. Moving it outside the city to an area not greatly served by PT and still selling out - impressive.

I had feared for the event when I first saw the venue but I was clearly wrong.

NJW44 wrote: »
    Do you need ID to pick up race number etc?

Race numbers are posted out.

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    That'd be a great achievement and testament to the series. Moving it outside the city to an area not greatly served by PT and still selling out - impressive.

The train station is only minutes from the baggage area / start line. The Luas goes to Connolly Station, also the Dart. Best advice is to try to use the train. Details are on the event website.
    If there are any groups of 40 or more travelling, send me a PM and I'll give you info on special parking arrangements for groups.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Van.Bosch wrote: »

Sure is. Pity I'm in Italy that weekend, with two races in the series now outside the park, it's great to see it has moved on with its well deserved success. Testament to the hard work put in by Hard Worker and co to keep the series growing...think it took a blip there (well it did for me) when it outgrew the park but was still in the park.
    Hope it continues to thrive and maybe next year it will fit my plans to do the at least some of the series again. Will always have a soft spot for these races - still the best goody bags ever from 2007 and 2008 - reckon I still have that mustard somwehere :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

The train station is only minutes from the baggage area / start line. The Luas goes to Connolly Station, also the Dart. Best advice is to try to use the train. Details are on the event website.
    If there are any groups of 40 or more travelling, send me a PM and I'll give you info on special parking arrangements for groups.

I hope irish rail stick on enough carriages as its only one train that will get you there

Nuttzz wrote: »
    I hope irish rail stick on enough carriages as its only one train that will get you there

Irish Rail are aware of the event and aware of our arrangements, so I'd imagine they'll be well sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Peadar_85

Any spare numbers going for the Frank Duffy 10 miler this Saturday?
    They're not accepting late entries unlike other years

Peadar_85 wrote: »
    Any spare numbers going for the Frank Duffy 10 miler this Saturday?
    They're not accepting late entries unlike other years

Send an email to raceseries@dublinmarathon.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Peadar_85

I contacted them through their Facebook page and they said it wasn't possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Peadar_85 wrote: »
    I contacted them through their Facebook page and they said it wasn't possible.

Is that you Mary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭ooter

Just looking at the course for tomorrow, the last mile and a half will be tough, if there's a headwind along acres road (which is very likely) it'll be tough from even further out.
    The rest of the course seems fine, probably the worst hill at the bottom of Wellington road.
    Running up north road never seems to bother me as much as running up chesterfield Ave, there's a climb up north road but not as noticeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Havent ran the route before- so if I was unfamiliar with Pheonix Park, where should I hold the energy and where should I push on?

Im a 9 min mile runner jogger!...if that helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 benwed

Defoe the last two mms u will need a bit in the tank for as is mostly uphill.the first 4k is prob generally downhill and the in between bit neutral enough.water at 3 and 6 miles so break the race into 3 sections mentally to help u thru it.best of luck and enjoy.weather looks decent aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭donaghs

Anywhere to lock bike in the park near the start? Would be good to be able to cycle there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

donaghs wrote: »
    Anywhere to lock bike in the park near the start? Would be good to be able to cycle there.

It says on the website that there will be a bike parking area close to the start line so I think you should be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Dealerz wrote: »
    Havent ran the route before- so if I was unfamiliar with Pheonix Park, where should I hold the energy and where should I push on?

Im a 9 min mile runner jogger!...if that helps!

Mile 1: Flat. Don't go out too hard.
    Mile 2: Downhill! Ok to speed up here, but don't wreck yourself.
    Mile 3: Up and down a bit around the S bends etc. Should be a slow mile.
    Mile 4: More up and down and then up Chesterfield towards the zoo. Not quite as slow.
    Mile 5: Around by the zoo, and the drag uphill starts. It shouldn't be too slow, the drag isn't steep.
    Mile 6: North Road, more non-steep but constant drag.
    Mile 7: Finally things level off and you turn back onto Chesterfield where it starts going downhill a bit.
    Mile 8: Glorious downhill. Speed up!
    Mile 9: Mostly downhill, a bump or two along the way, but also should be fast.
    Mile 10: Utter torture as you climb 100+ ft towards the finish.

Enjoy :D

Did anyone else clock the distance as over 10 miles?
    My watch showed 10.2 miles at the end, mile markers 4 and 7 were bang on with my watch but the rest were way off, mile 8 was 8.2 on my watch. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

The equipment used to measure the course would be more accurate than your watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

ooter wrote: »
    My watch showed 10.2 miles at the end, mile markers 4 and 7 were bang on with my watch but the rest were way off, mile 8 was 8.2 on my watch. :confused:

Ya, my Strava has me running 16.4k.
    Delighted with my time though. Will post report after my brunch :-)

Ya, my Strava has me running 16.4k.

Yeah that would equate to 10.2 miles, very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭crouchie15

It was bang on 10 mile for me on my watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,920 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Not strange at all, for two reasons:
    • The course is measured on the shortest possible route (the racing line). It's unlikely you followed it perfectly
    • Consumer-grade GPS is not accurate, it's a "close-enough" technology

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Huge thanks to the organisers for today, great race as ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

It's going to happen during the marathon too. My watch last year was ahead of the markers. My new watch today was behind.

Jesus me legs are killing me. Last year after the half I ran the 3 miles home, today I could barely walk it.

Happy though considering I had 6 months off and this is my 3rd week back training after a nasty bout of Salmonella and a few other infections for good measure.

Loved the distance, no plans to do the marathon and September has a beer festival in London and stag in Amsterdam so the comeback training might take a back seat.

Got around in 87mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Phoole

The course is accurate. Your watches are wrong. The group I run with all use their watches and every time each person's watch gives a slightly different distance.

No worries lads, my watch has never been that much over before, just thought I'd ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

Are the official rsults available anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭unknownlegend

Are the official rsults available anywhere?

Yes results are up on http://www.chiptimes.biz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

What a weather contrast from last year. That was a pretty hot race. Was thankful for the shaded area around mile 6 and the fire brigade. I didn't get a PB but did beat last years time so happy enough.

On a side note, my bag didn't include the Travel cup. Anybody else miss out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

KJ wrote: »
    What a weather contrast from last year. That was a pretty hot race. Was thankful for the shaded area around mile 6 and the fire brigade. I didn't get a PB but did beat last years time so happy enough.

On a side note, my bag didn't include the Travel cup. Anybody else miss out?

Great weather for sure.
    Course is a little on the tough side for a PB, especially the last mile.

You can have my travel cup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,604 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Well organised and marshalled as always - well done to all concerned. Whatever about the performance, running the Frank Duffy is always a highlight of my year - sentimental favourite as it was the first "real" race I ran, in 2012. Much preferred the tee shirt that year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭hawkwing

My garmin measured it at 10.1 this year and 10.1 last year which is about right for a 10 miler so no complaints. There seemed to be only about 4 small t-shirts left when i got in so i can't blame not taking the very shortest route for my performance:o
    When i passed 7 miles i saw my 10mile PB on the watch :eek:,ah well roll on to DCM '17 now:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

What's the name of the MC? Free comedy at the start line was deadly. He's got some cracking gags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

According to my Garmin I did 10.6 miles today. Some of this will be down to weaving but definitely felt it was over 10miles. Wouldn't normally go over by this much for me.

Was bloody humid out there today. I was bate! After running the wonderful DCM the last two years & after some problematic injuries, my body has taken a turn against running, really not feeling natural to me anymore but I still can't seem to stop myself doing a few races - the race series is always a fav for me :eek::cool:

As usual brilliant and well organised by the team. MC was on fire as usual. Huge thanks to everyone who volunteers, I want to do that next time I'm not racing. The people at the water stations were especially great fair play to them. Despite the huge crowds/demands they kept shouting out encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,744 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Whyner wrote: »
    What's the name of the MC? Free comedy at the start line was deadly. He's got some cracking gags

Isn't it yer man Frank Grealy off Irish Runner magazine?

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Isn't it yer man Frank Grealy off Irish Runner magazine?

Definitely not frank.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Pink11 wrote: »
    According to my Garmin I did 10.6 miles today. Some of this will be down to weaving but definitely felt it was over 10miles. Wouldn't normally go over by this much for me.

Was bloody humid out there today. I was bate! After running the wonderful DCM the last two years & after some problematic injuries, my body has taken a turn against running, really not feeling natural to me anymore but I still can't seem to stop myself doing a few races - the race series is always a fav for me :eek::cool:

As usual brilliant and well organised by the team. MC was on fire as usual. Huge thanks to everyone who volunteers, I want to do that next time I'm not racing. The people at the water stations were especially great fair play to them. Despite the huge crowds/demands they kept shouting out encouragement.

It was 10 miles. Map the course on strava or map my run. it's not long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭solidasarock

Really enjoyed it although I really am not one for hot weather. Thank god I brought a cap with me.

I am just happy I managed to go the entire distance without a single walking break.

I really dig the purple shirt too.