Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A day in the life of a software developer

Options
  • 01-12-2016 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭

I'm a future software developer, currently in 3rd year of college studying computer science. Hopefully starting an internship in Febuary.

I want to know what is the typical day in the life of a software(or web developer)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Depends on a company by company basis but a lot of software dev jobs are in Agile(or what they think are Agile) companies. So you'll have a daily standup at some stage, possibly a few other meetings here or there, coding, debugging, googling, listening to music and depending on the company maybe some pool or foosball for good measure.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,703 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Half the time project work, quarter emails/meeting and remender ad hoc work. Training /upskilling done in own time.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Get used to not taking a lunch break!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

kbannon wrote: »

That's the biggest impediment to productivity right there - you might as well finish at 3 and go home if you don't take a lunch break, go for a walk and freshen up both the mind and body. No job is that important that a half hour to get out in the fresh air is not acceptable or achievable :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub