Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns N Roses European Tour 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭rednik

nikkibikki wrote: »
    Rednik I think I can see my husband and maybe myself in your first picture! We must've been very close to you! Great quality pics!

You could be in a few more so ;););)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Fantastic gig, I think slash was the only one that played more or less none stop for the entire gig, everyone else seemed to take breaks/wardrobe changes.

Getting out of the car park was a nightmare though, took just over two hours with people getting stuck and no form of orderly lines, just people trying to pull in in front of everyone. Also people cannot drive in a bit of mud it seems, the amount of cars I seen getting stuck because the were putting the foot down once the wheels started to spin at all..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,933 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

What a day

Finally pulled the trigger on a ticket on Viagogo late THurs night, paid 60euro and that was incl all fee's, we left Trim at 15:00 and got to Slane for 16:30, wifey and 3 mates parked the car in Red Car park, i hopped out at main entrance, couldn't be arsed with the huge walk from car. While chatting to 2 girls at entrance a guy came over and asked if i wanted a free ticket, took it in case the print off didn't work, so didn't even need a damn ticket after all.

Tickets outside were being sold for as cheap as a tenner

Went inside, bought a shirt and headed for bar nearest red entrance, queued maybe 30-40mins then walked down into main arena area, pushed through some crowd then something weird happened, about 200 yards behind the front of GA it was really quiet, like i could move my outstretched arm all around me and not hit anyone, it stayed like that for the whole gig, PLENTY of space, yet i went to bar in middle of set and 50feet behind where we were standing people were shoulder to shoulder

Highlight for me was Black Hole Sun, most touching moment was during Fireworks when Cornell's "You know my name" was blasted out

Afterwards was just a complete clusterfcuk, finally pulled out of Red car park at 01:50

Done Slane now, not a hope would i go again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Brilliant gig. Great sound. Depending on where you were. Screen was amazing quality but out of sink. Which was a wreck the head. Dublin bus was a good experience. Had time for beers in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,041 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

scudzilla wrote: »
    What a day

Finally pulled the trigger on a ticket on Viagogo late THurs night, paid 60euro and that was incl all fee's, we left Trim at 15:00 and got to Slane for 16:30, wifey and 3 mates parked the car in Red Car park, i hopped out at main entrance, couldn't be arsed with the huge walk from car. While chatting to 2 girls at entrance a guy came over and asked if i wanted a free ticket, took it in case the print off didn't work, so didn't even need a damn ticket after all.

Tickets outside were being sold for as cheap as a tenner

Went inside, bought a shirt and headed for bar nearest red entrance, queued maybe 30-40mins then walked down into main arena area, pushed through some crowd then something weird happened, about 200 yards behind the front of GA it was really quiet, like i could move my outstretched arm all around me and not hit anyone, it stayed like that for the whole gig, PLENTY of space, yet i went to bar in middle of set and 50feet behind where we were standing people were shoulder to shoulder

Highlight for me was Black Hole Sun, most touching moment was during Fireworks when Cornell's "You know my name" was blasted out

Afterwards was just a complete clusterfcuk, finally pulled out of Red car park at 01:50

Done Slane now, not a hope would i go again

Legend... Woman Park the car... Let me out here

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Yep could be a long wait too judging by the looks of it. Still at least there isn't a tanoy saying this is the red exit :-P

Ah Red tannoy announcing where to go, bit annoying at the start, but the crowd turned it into a bit of fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Legend... Woman Park the car... Let me out here

Even better, jumps out and chats to two girls while the missus parks the car jahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 39,965 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Yep could be a long wait too judging by the looks of it. Still at least there isn't a tanoy saying this is the red exit :-P

Ah Red tannoy announcing where to go, bit annoying at the start, but the crowd turned it into a bit of fun :D
    Yeah and in fairness the girl making the announcements seemed to get a kick out of it as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Arruabarrena

4th Slane. Stood near the tree (same spot for Foos). Sound was appalling from there. Felt so sorry for anyone further back. Barely heard the drums all night, couldn't hear any of the piano in November Rain & Slash drowned Axl out all night. Seems like the band enjoyed it and they seemed on point with their performance. Just a shame the sound didn't travel so well. And don't get me started on the out of sync screens LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

Brilliant performance from Guns n Roses. The setlist was great, the vocals were spot on, the guitars were in tune and Slash was incredible.

Royal Blood were great too, I hadn't heard much of them before. Amazing what you can do with a bass and a set of drums!

Surprised to see Mark Lanegans set called lackluster in the media. I mean it's Mark Lanegan, he's not really known for jumping around the stage. He's great singer and the band were spot on. I loved it personally.

Otherkin? started a little dodgy for me, I didn't know them at all and the first few songs were a little pop punk or something. They were pulled it back though and finished really good. The last few songs in the set were great.

Would have been great if it wasn't raining but still a great day tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭bustercherry

You'll have to explain that one

4 hours to get from Dublin to car park. Missed a good chunk of the start of their set and suspect so did a lot more people. Sound was pathetic and screen were not in sync.

Thought there was no atmosphere further back which is probably to do with the sound.

Pure Crap.

Well MCD did advise to get there early.

:rolleyes: wise up.

People started walking from just outside navan. We were 3 hours from Navan to the bus car park. Poorly organised or no traffic plan whatsoever.

A group jumped off the bus to walk and once the traffic started moving about 4km away the bus drove past them. They got in at 9:30.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Did the camping thing at Slane for the first time (stayed in Slane Farm). Will 100% do it the same way again if I end up back at Slane - made everything so effortless.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Barely heard the drums all night, couldn't hear any of the piano in November Rain & Slash drowned Axl out all night. Seems like the band enjoyed it and they seemed on point with their performance. Just a shame the sound didn't travel so well. And don't get me started on the out of sync screens LOL

In the Gold Cricle it sounded perfect... drums were muffled at times though and Axl's vocals were defiantly given prominence. I know from Slash's book the mix was something they butted heads over down the years so would be interesting to hear their thoughts 5 or 10 years down the road on how things were behind the scenes. Have read on a few forums that there is quite a lot of tension still there, especially given the whole Izzy / money thing. Slash certainly appears to just be working his bollox off and being as gregarious as he can be with Axl.

Compare that to the following (which I recorded - excuse the unsteadyness) of him @ Vicar St in 2010 (Jesus, where does time go) where his smile is beaming and is clearly loving it all.

Slash is of course always 100% professional and never gives anything less in that regard... but when it comes to enjoying it, I just didn't get that vibe from him last night. Think these gigs are all about "the loot" (as Izzy referred to it) and that secretly (or perhaps not so secretly) he can't wait to get back to his own thing. Duff seems not far off the same. Smiling 80% of the time at the Academy / Ambassador but his overall vibe seems similar to Slash's.... damn shame that they couldn't sort something with Izzy, think the tour would have been all the better for it. Fcuk all the costume changes, fireworks etc, it's about the songs with as many of the original line up as possible.. well, for me it is anyway.
    So it's happening! Didn't think my dad was gonna be fit for it but he is saying nothing is gonna stop him from going tomorrow:D feel sick with excitement for this!!! Gonna swing in late though, don't want him being too ****ed when they come on. Argh!!!!!

How'd it all go for you, Tea? Hope your Dad had a good night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

How'd it all go for you, Tea? Hope your Dad had a good night.

Absolutely loved it! Says it was the best gig he's ever been to :D thought they put on a fantastic show, axels voice is incredible still! We were up on the platform happy as pigs in ****e! Honestly havent seen my dad so happy in years, mam says he hasnt shut up about it since last night, delighted with life! Im fairly chuffed with meself i must say!

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Lanshane

Fantastic gig. My best. They performed brilliantly and each member gave it socks for the three hours. Great fun in gold circle A. Fireworks at the end were a nice touch. The only downside were the beyonce wristbands given out for those in gold circle. Complete joke MCD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

Lanshane wrote: »
    Fantastic gig. My best. They performed brilliantly and each member gave it socks for the three hours. Great fun in gold circle A. Fireworks at the end were a nice touch. The only downside were the beyonce wristbands given out for those in gold circle. Complete joke MCD

Nice souvenir from a Guns n Roses gig. A feckin Beyonce bracelet.

4 hours to get from Dublin to car park. Missed a good chunk of the start of their set and suspect so did a lot more people. Sound was pathetic and screen were not in sync.

Thought there was no atmosphere further back which is probably to do with the sound.

Pure Crap.
    OK so absolutely nothing to do with the actual gig then.

:rolleyes: wise up.

People started walking from just outside navan. We were 3 hours from Navan to the bus car park. Poorly organised or no traffic plan whatsoever.

A group jumped off the bus to walk and once the traffic started moving about 4km away the bus drove past them. They got in at 9:30.

Well it is a small village that had 84,000 people walking through on the day, obviously there were going to be delays of some kind.

I'll agree on poorly organised, especially buses, when it came to looking for buses back to Galway afterwards, stewards were f**king useless in every sense of the word.

OK so absolutely nothing to do with the actual gig then.

As I said sound and screens was crap. To be honest there was zero atmosphere up around the back. Probably one of the few times I've been completely bored at a gig. It might have been different further forward though.

Actually the queue for beers was short which is the only redeeming thing.

Well it is a small village that had 84,000 people walking through on the day, obviously there were going to be delays of some kind.

I'll agree on poorly organised, especially buses, when it came to looking for buses back to Galway afterwards, stewards were f**king useless in every sense of the word.

Delays yes but they could have had a traffic plan in place to prevent the ****ing shambles.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Delays yes but they could have had a traffic plan in place to prevent the ****ing shambles.

If you think thats bad check the teething problems that T in the Park in Scotland had over the last two years with traffic, they moved from a well trodden site to an new area but never thought through the traffic implications, people were stranded onsite from 8 to 12 hours trying to get home.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/park-festival-descends-chaos-traffic-6054543

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭nikkibikki

Nice souvenir from a Guns n Roses gig. A feckin Beyonce bracelet.

Couldn't wait to feck mine in the bin. My brother came in about half an hour after us and got a proper paper GnR one.

As I said sound and screens was crap. To be honest there was zero atmosphere up around the back. Probably one of the few times I've been completely bored at a gig. It might have been different further forward though.

Actually the queue for beers was short which is the only redeeming thing.

maybe move closer the stage next time and stop blaming everyone else for your own poor timekeeping and viewing positioning.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭tommyhayes1989

Must say I really enjoyed it. We were fairly far back now and the screen wasn't in sync with the music. Traffic wasn't too bad for us, we came over the M1 (and got caught for a toll), parked in the pink car park and paid €20. Took an hour then to get home which wasn't too bad. By all accounts those on buses got royally screwed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Ahh, that sunshine all week and Sunday :pac:

The bus to the gig was plenty slow, traffic and every lad needed to stop for a pi$$ - lads learn to hold it :p
    In fairness, it was getting on, so a Garda escort appeared, opened up the other lane and all buses got to go in it, so they were trying.

Got to the metal detector area about 5.30/6 when Royal Blood were just coming on and since I didn't know the first two acts, suited me and the gang fine.

The back was HEAVING with people, maybe everyone was hungry?? Went to the toilets at the back (letting people in through waves but they were some of the most clean stalls I've seen in a festival situation)

Went down nearer to the front and plenty of room, was surprising.
    The lads came on - amazing show! They've all gotten older and have been through their own personal issues but to see them all play together - sure, will we see the likes of it again? :)

Took the nice long a$$ stroll through the maze of railings to Dublin bus (stopped for twenty minutes queue for a toilet) and was back in Dublin by 2am.

TL;DR: Terrible weather, bit of a hike with queues upon queues but fantastic music with friends and a lifetime of memories - yes I'd do it again :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

I've seen a good few complaints regarding the sound/syncing at the back of the venue but there was a tonne of space (way more than a stadium gig) down the bottom of the hill.

It's over 300m from the stage to the back of the venue i.e. twice the length of Croke Park's pitch, so I don't see how people thought they'd get the full experience standing that far back?!

maybe move closer the stage next time and stop blaming everyone else for your own poor timekeeping and viewing positioning.

Poor time keeping ffs. We weren't even near the last bus leaving Dublin.

Yawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

We got in around half 5 or 6 too, grabbed some chips and 4 beers each, then walked through the crowd. Couldn't get over how much space there was at that time, got down to near the speaker stacks. Lots were not that interested in getting close.

Great atmosphere there, bit of moshing, some gas c**ts from Cork too. People were all making sure everyone was safe and picked up quickly if they fell, no hassle.

As for people saying the majority of people didn't know the songs, all our area was singing along apart from the Chinese Democracy ones.

So delighted we got Dublin Bus though. I'm from Limerick but went up to the brother in Dublin on Friday night. It was very smooth getting in and out apart from maybe the fairly long way back to the bus area.