Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's all mock the disabled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭SkinnyBuddha

petrolcan wrote: »

By your response you are okay with the words in the first post?

Yep pretty much ..context is king though as has been pointed out to you on this thread.

I could give examples but I wouldn't want you to go full retard and close your account or what ever you might do when you OD on being offended.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Let's eliminate all words that we don't like from the language

Let's just be mute. That seems like the logical step forward. The snowflakes won't be able to cry about the bold words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Let's just be mute. That seems like the logical step forward. The snowflakes won't be able to cry about the bold words.

That's going too far. We can bark. Or grunt.

Point of order, he called them spastic losers.

I'm not telling people what they can and cannot say. I'm asking whether people might choose their words more carefully. Derogatory terms for homosexuality or race aren't used so why is it acceptable to use the words in the first post?

Banter doesn't cut it.

Sorry I misquoted. To be honest, the term spastic is obsolete I'd say. I certainly never knew that's what spa was short for when growing up. We'd call each other spas in the same way you'd call someone an eejit. Would you feel the same if someone called another individual a lunatic?

That's going too far. We can bark. Or grunt.

You try telling that to the Snowflakes. Can you do that? After what they did to Jerry???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

FortySeven wrote: »

Did you attend femfest or something?

All this telling me what I can and can't say is wearing thin.

From now on I am going to be as offensive as possible about minority special needs groups. Hopefully they will all get the message and shut the **** up complaining all the ****ing time!

And this is why we can't have nice things!

Sure people should be able to say what they want, hold they opinions they want but wanting to be offensive for the sake of it to a section of society that hasn't caused any problem, that has been treated appallingly, well, you make a good argument for why we unfortunately need political correctness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Turtle_

I don't think anyone means any harm to any disabled people when they say things like that, but harm isn't measured by intent, it's about the effect it has on the other person.

A few years ago I read a blog post by an American woman who has a daughter with various disabilities and who is retarded. She made the point that her daughter is a lovely warm and loving person, and it's hurtful to see retarded used as an insult.

Now, I think it's may a little bit sensitive, but if I walked in the shoes of a disabled person's parent and carer, maybe I would be a bit sensitive.

I think she has something of a point, ultimately. Why use retard to describe something that is just stupid. Why, unintentionally or otherwise, hurt the most vulnerable in society and their families. They are people who are loved and valued and as worthy of respect as you or I. They aren't some lesser form who are fodder for jokes and insults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Yep pretty much ..context is king though as has been pointed out to you on this thread.

I could give examples but I wouldn't want you to go full retard and close your account or what ever you might do when you OD on being offended.....

Whatever happened to 'attack the post, not the poster'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Lou Scaunt

Ring the Guards OP.

People can't be allowed to say words that offend you :(

I've taken to browsing the Internet in a blindfold, just to be safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Turtle_ wrote: »
    I don't think anyone means any harm to any disabled people when they say things like that, but harm isn't measured by intent, it's about the effect it has on the other person.

A few years ago I read a blog post by an American woman who has a daughter with various disabilities and who is retarded. She made the point that her daughter is a lovely warm and loving person, and it's hurtful to see retarded used as an insult.

Now, I think it's may a little bit sensitive, but if I walked in the shoes of a disabled person's parent and carer, maybe I would be a bit sensitive.

I think she has something of a point, ultimately. Why use retard to describe something that is just stupid. Why, unintentionally or otherwise, hurt the most vulnerable in society and their families. They are people who are loved and valued and as worthy of respect as you or I. They aren't some lesser form who are fodder for jokes and insults.

No, no, no. Her daughter is not retarded. That word was replaced by intellectually challenged or disabled. Learning difficulties is also used.

That's why retarded is ok to use as an insult because it is no longer used to describe people who have real issues.

I don't think anyone means any harm to any disabled people when they say things like that,

What about calling a gay man a queer?
    but harm isn't measured by intent, it's about the effect it has on the other person.

This, in a nutshell. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

'Spasticated' was a great variation when I was a kid.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Sorry I misquoted. To be honest, the term spastic is obsolete I'd say. I certainly never knew that's what spa was short for when growing up. We'd call each other spas in the same way you'd call someone an eejit. Would you feel the same if someone called another individual a lunatic?

So obsolete it was used in a post in the last few hours.

When I was young I used the same language, I've grown up since.

I'd certainly query why someone was calling the individual a lunatic.

Lou Scaunt wrote: »
    Ring the Guards OP.

People can't be allowed to say words that offend you :(

I've taken to browsing the Internet in a blindfold, just to be safe.

At what point did I say I was offended?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Lou Scaunt

At what point did I say I was offended?

Did you know that certain retards are the only humans capable of licking their eyebrows?

Mod-Banned

Lou Scaunt wrote: »
    Did you know that certain retards are the only humans capable of licking their eyebrows?

Jaysus

No, no, no. Her daughter is not retarded. That word was replaced by intellectually challenged or disabled. Learning difficulties is also used.

That's why retarded is ok to use as an insult because it is no longer used to describe people who have real issues.

Wrong.

I was with a gentleman with Tourettes the other day. His day wasn't going so well and his tics were pretty bad. Group of young males walked by calling him a retard and spaz. He certainly felt it was an insult.

Wrong.

I was with a gentleman with Tourettes the other day. His day wasn't going so well and his tics were pretty bad. Group of young males walked by calling him a retard and spaz. He certainly felt it was an insult.

Doubt it happened but carry on regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Wibbs wrote: »
    Would "cretin" or "moron" or "imbecile" annoy you as much? Why not? They're all words once used in medicine to describe different conditions affecting the brain, just like "retard", though retard/retarded has far more meanings beyond mental disability. It seems some words are singled out for ire's sake.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9svSePWwisQ

Doubt it happened but carry on regardless.

Doubt away.

For reference though, I've been working with people who have learning and physical disabilities for over 20 years.

It happens more than you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I know we can't judge the general populace on boards but I never knew that this was so common. We have 2 sn children and I really hope that by the time they are grown up they are not subjected to this.

Doubt away.

For reference though, I've been working with people who have learning and physical disabilities for over 20 years.

It happens more than you know.

So what did you do about it?

Called the police, gave a good description of the group.

Haven't heard anything back as yet.

Called the police, gave a good description of the group.

Haven't heard anything back as yet.

Good. I hope they try to catch them but I doubt it.

I don't advocate what you suggest and would have probably got myself arrested had someone done that to someone I was with if they were intellectually challenged or disabled but I'm afraid that is different from me calling my friends names in jest. Its my business. Nobody gets to tell me my business.

hairyslug wrote: »
    For some reason, the word retard really annoys me more than any of the others.

As for use on boards, stick retard into the search bar and you will see how common it is.

Spastic gives over 1300 results although some of them are genuine
    http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?query=spastic

Retard gives over 29000 results, again some of them are genuine usage
    http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?query=retard

Mong gives over 1500 results
    http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?query=mong

Window Licker gives over 200 results
    http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?query=%22window+licker%22

Obsolete in so much that it's not used in medical or official jargon anymore. It means something totally different in the vernacular. You'd easily hear someone called a lunatic if he placed a 100 euro bet on an outsider in the bookies or a mad man. You'd maybe hear fellas or girls being called psychos or nutters if they did something a bit, I'm gonna say it, mad. They're turns of phrase.

As for the queer thing, isn't LGBT now known as LGBTQ in some circles? With the Q standing for queer?

If that happened, then they are scumbags plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

longshanks wrote: »

Tune, come to daddy is better IMO.

that is different from me calling my friends names in jest. Its my business. Nobody gets to tell me my business.

Pretty much sums it up...again its all about context.

Good. I hope they try to catch them but I doubt it.

I don't advocate what you suggest and would have probably got myself arrested had someone done that to someone I was with if they were intellectually challenged or disabled but I'm afraid that is different from me calling my friends names in jest. Its my business. Nobody gets to tell me my business.

But I'm not telling you to do anything. What you do is entirely up to you.

All I'm asking for is that people consider the language they use.

I've spent time on the psychiatric ward. I've no issue with people using lunatic.

glynf wrote: »
    Tune, come to daddy is better IMO.
    2 great (albeit disturbing ) videos :)

Obsolete in so much that it's not used in medical or official jargon anymore. It means something totally different in the vernacular. You'd easily hear someone called a lunatic if he placed a 100 euro bet on an outsider in the bookies or a mad man. You'd maybe hear fellas or girls being called psychos or nutters if they did something a bit, I'm gonna say it, mad. They're turns of phrase.

To be honest, I have no issue with lunatic if used in the right situation.
    As for the queer thing, isn't LGBT now known as LGBTQ in some circles? With the Q standing for queer?

So it does but would you call the gay fella queer if you didn't know him?

To be honest, I have no issue with lunatic if used in the right situation.

Which would be what situation? A lunatic is an archaic term for someone with a mental illness is it not? Would it be to describe someone that fits that bill? To me that's outdated and a little crass. However, saying Mikey is a lunatic on the beer is alright to anyone I know.

So it does but would you call the gay fella queer if you didn't know him?

No because I don't know him and that's not how I describe gay people in everyday parlance anyway. But funny enough (and maybe ironically) I'd call my best mate a queer if I saw him writing a soppy valentine's card to his missus. I'd do the exact same to my brother if he was writing one to his boyfriend and it was lovey dovey. Nothing to do with sexual orientation, just teasing their mushyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It's not the fact that they're not directed at disabled people that matters here. It's the usage of the terms as a synonym for bad or stupid person, and a way to convey dislike or inferiority of a person, by likening them to the above descriptions. Some people are ignorant and can't get their heads around that.
    Sign of a crap character in my view.

And they'll argue til blue in the face that there's no harm in it so I just unfollow threads like this instead of wasting the energy on them..

Sign of a crap character in my view.
    Really ? So I'm of crap character for calling my mate a spa for filling up his tank with diesel when its an unleaded car he has been driving for 7+ years?....eh ok:rolleyes:
    And they'll argue til blue in the face that there's no harm in it so I just unfollow threads like this instead of wasting the energy on them..

off ye go then back to your safe place....have to laugh at you for finding the energy to post in it , in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Most of these terms come from common usage within the medical profession and especially the psychiatric services, words like Bewildered and demented and tormented sat next to spastic, imbecile, insane, deranged, hysterical and several other medical terms used to describe different illnesses.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Most of these terms come from common usage within the medical profession and especially the psychiatric services, words like Bewildered and demented and tormented sat next to spastic, imbecile, insane, deranged, hysterical and several other medical terms used to describe different illnesses.

That doesn't mean that they should be continued to be used. Especially as the way they are used is in a derogatory manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Really ? So I'm of crap character for calling my mate a spa for filling up his tank with diesel when its an unleaded car he has been driving for 7+ years?....eh ok:rolleyes:

off ye go then back to your safe place....have to laugh at you for finding the energy to post in it , in the first place.

Yep, reinforced by your parting comment..but it's forgiveable since you yourself lack the capacity to understand what you're doing wrong. And don't worry, people like you are so far beneath me you couldn't possibly bother me.

I post once or twice in discussions like this so others know they're not the only ones who object to vile thoughtless behaviour and the world isn't completely full of d1cks..much the same as I wouldn't want someone to feel alone with racists or homophobes.

Yep, reinforced by your parting comment..but it's forgiveable since you yourself lack the capacity to understand what you're doing wrong. And don't worry, people like you are so far beneath me you couldn't possibly bother me.

I post once or twice in discussions like this so others know they're not the only ones who object to vile thoughtless behaviour and the world isn't completely full of d1cks..much the same as I wouldn't want someone to feel alone with racists or homophobes.

Have you never called someone mad or a mental case or a lunatic?

since you yourself lack the capacity to understand what you're doing wrong. And don't worry, people like you are so far beneath me you couldn't possibly bother me.
    :rolleyes::D:D:D
    who object to vile thoughtless behaviour
    go you!!!

While you're objecting you might apply some of this -->http://www.ledahealth.ca/pictures/subsect_tbn_vszqkNeVr0.png

thank me later when the hurt goes away.

:rolleyes::D:D:D

go you!!!

While you're objecting you might apply some of this -->http://www.ledahealth.ca/pictures/subsect_tbn_vszqkNeVr0.png

thank me later when the hurt goes away.

Are you one that thinks that the world has gone mad for political correctness and hero worships Donald trump?

Are you one that thinks that the world has gone mad for political correctness
    Me? No . ..not at all.
    and hero worships Donald trump?
    As for Trump , between me and you ,he's a bit of a spa.

Me? No . ..not at all.

As for Trump , between me and you ,he's a bit of a spa.

Just trolling then. Thanks for clearing that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Because when people use those terms in this way its not to directly insult disabled people. Its why being called a 'fruitcake' or 'pussy' arent homophobic or sexist , theyre not said with those people in mind

Just trolling then. Thanks for clearing that up.

What sort of answer is that ?

Do you really think people give a sh1t when you take 2 words out of context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I use a lot of those words in day to day life. I don't feel guilty about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Its difficult because in America retard is still a widely used term that isnt used pejoratively

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

wakka12 wrote: »
    Because when people use those terms in this way its not to directly insult disabled people. Its why being called a 'fruitcake' or 'pussy' arent homophobic or sexist , theyre not said with those people in mind

I always thought fruitcake was crazy not queer?

This kind of political correctness leads to the sh!t we have in America where you can be disciplined for using words on the university campus. They give you a list at reception. The one that sticks in my mind was 'throws like a girl'

Fup right off with this scat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Legally courts had to up until this year because we still used the Lunacy Regulation (Ireland) Act, 1871

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet