Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today FM Megathread Mod warning post #1 / #1401

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Juniper Petite Sordidness

you mean you dont dance around your kitchen....and constantly remind everyone you've a kid, partner and a twitter account....this aint content creation

sligono1 wrote: »
    Today fm is now the yummy mummy's station mariead and then that dose Alison Curtis and I better not forget the reason you could not turn on the radio before 7am Paula McSweeney we have to listen to her desperate struggles in life first no man then she got one got married asap and in the family way asap now we have to listen to it all.

What's wrong with playing music I listen to the radio for music simple.

“Yummy” mummy’s? Yummy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

sligono1 wrote: »
    Today fm is now the yummy mummy's station mariead and then that dose Alison Curtis and I better not forget the reason you could not turn on the radio before 7am Paula McSweeney we have to listen to her desperate struggles in life first no man then she got one got married asap and in the family way asap now we have to listen to it all.

What's wrong with playing music I listen to the radio for music simple.

That day is long gone. Listen to one of Today FM's on-line station or RTE Gold...or any on-line music station

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭sligono1

That day is long gone. Listen to one of Today FM's on-line station or RTE Gold...or any on-line music station

No that's not the point go online all.right if your in ur kitchen or a nice office but if your on the move and listen to the radio that's not an option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Mairead back with the microphone in hand for to camera pieces. Faux auditioning for gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭EverythingGood

Listening to the sports on Matts show with Miguel Delaney, got me thinking, what ever happened to Paul Kimmage and Ewan McKenna on previous Monday reincarnations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,786 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Listening to the sports on Matts show with Miguel Delaney, got me thinking, what ever happened to Paul Kimmage and Ewan McKenna on previous Monday reincarnations?

Too controversial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭robo

I only realised that Mark Lawrence is no longer on talking football with Tony Casscarino - Miguel is there instead. And I found out - Mark has been "upgraded" to OTB on Newstalk. I miss Mark on TLW

• Registered Users Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

robo wrote: »
    I only realised that Mark Lawrence is no longer on talking football with Tony Casscarino - Miguel is there instead. And I found out - Mark has been "upgraded" to OTB on Newstalk. I miss Mark on TLW

For the love of God, why did they bring Delaney in?? I'll not be listening to that section again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

razorblunt wrote: »
    Mairead back with the microphone in hand for to camera pieces. Faux auditioning for gigs.

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Cryptic insults make no sense. Keep your b1tching to logical sentences please

IG content for Mairead's show and the station seems to now revolve around her walking around the station office interviewing other presenters on the topic of discussion from her show.
    Similar to what she was doing on The Panel.

It's essentially a "I might be doing radio but don't forget I can do this too".

It's also basically the same as the crap that Muireann was trying to do, they just have someone else doing it.

IG content for Mairead's show and the station seems to now revolve around her walking around the station office interviewing other presenters on the topic of discussion from her show.
    Similar to what she was doing on The Panel.

It's essentially a "I might be doing radio but don't forget I can do this too".

It's also basically the same as the crap that Muireann was trying to do, they just have someone else doing it.

And I bet they are paying a lot more money for Mairead than they did for Muireann - but same type of "content creator" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Nokia6230i

robo wrote: »

Lawro was always on with Phil Egan on Premier League Live between 2 & 3pm on Saturdays too as well's The Last Word on Sport between 6 + 7pm on Fridays with Big Cas.

Missed big time!

Didn't know he was on NTs OTB at all; maybe I just haven't heard him; it's John Giles on a Thursday with Kenny Cunningham and others on Football Show with Killer (Kevin Kilbane).

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    Lawro was always on with Phil Egan on Premier League Live between 2 & 3pm on Saturdays too as well's The Last Word on Sport between 6 + 7pm on Fridays with Big Cas.

Missed big time!

Didn't know he was on NTs OTB at all; maybe I just haven't heard him; it's John Giles on a Thursday with Kenny Cunningham and others on Football Show with Killer (Kevin Kilbane).
    Think it was last Friday when I heard him on OTB

So the 12pm to 2pm show is for Mairead to reminisce with her old work buddy's about jobs that are no longer happening and the LOLS they had and continue to have with their WhatsApp groups - herself & Tommy Bowe recalling all the lovely holidays they did for No Frontiers on RTE, when oh when will she have Ray or Jenny on to talk about the good old days on TodayFM and how she learned the tricks of the trade from Ray (press wrong buttons, say the wrong artist which she did today already) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭johnire

Fergal Darcy......”Uncle Ferg”........positively creepy!!!

The Freebie season has started early.
    I tell you what I've never seen lads get freebies like Dermot & Dave, the mentioning and tagging them then on their social media.

I'm still not convinced they adhere to the #ad principles of posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

Am I the only one that finds Dermot & Dave not the least bit funny?

How long are they on Today FM now? 4 or 5 years?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

gamecube wrote: »

I think they are excellent personally. In the wrong slot mind you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,703 ✭✭✭giveitholly

They are fine,something different to the rest of the shows with their content creators,it doesn't matter who presents those shows because they follow the same template,pure shoite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

No. I cant stand them either.

And I used to like Dermot when he was on that TV show on RTE 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I just tuned into Mairead Farrell's show and Dustin the Turkey was doing a TV slot.

Very, very funny. He ripped the absolute p1ss out of RTE.

Ryan Tubridy saying he was offered 2 gigs in England. Dustin said its true, the 2 shows were Embarrassing Bodies and the Un-dateables.

And embarrassed Mairead about Andrew Maxwell, which I always had suspicions about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,609 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Pamela Joyce in for Marééééééad this week

must easier to listen to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Pamela Joyce in for Marééééééad this week

must easier to listen to

Ye she's excellent i must say. Should be a full time replacement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭davo2001

Ye she's excellent i must say. Should be a full time replacement

Until she gets made permanent and then everyone in this thread will hate her, just like very other presenter has gone in the last few years.

davo2001 wrote: »
    Until she gets made permanent and then everyone in this thread will hate her, just like very other presenter has gone in the last few years.

Foul! I never hated Muireann O'Connell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭zetecescort

presumably Al Porter is free to return after todays ruling

In my new (and entirely self appointed) role as “content reviewer and critic” - well, we have content creators - I have begun a complete scrutinisation (another word I may have invented) by listening to the Mairead Ronan.

My initial impressions are that is absolutely dire, bottom-of-the-barrel-and-keep-scraping stuff. I will listen to a few more broadcasts before finalising my objective and insightful review, but first pass, it ain’t looking good

With great humility and no element of self aggrandisement, I have completed - but only with the aid of prescription painkillers - a review of Mairead Ronan's programme.

It really is lowest common denominator stuff. The "content" is mindnumbingly poor, with "excitement" reaching octave levels that only dogs can hear. And my dogs don't want to hear!

And neither do I. It's gone from my playlist. Forever

Bring back Muireann - please

• Registered Users Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

presumably Al Porter is free to return after todays ruling

Hopefully not.