Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sets of faahve

• Registered Users Posts: 17,566 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

August 10

Didn't go for a proper walk last night as was going out for dinner after work and thought the 1.3k walk there and back would be grand. But walking there with a 5ft nothing girl in heels meant the pace was so slow that it couldn't possible count as exercise. Wine and cake was consumed so this morning was going to be interesting.

Pause deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    100kg x 5 (no pause)
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3

120s rest between each. All first reps were perfect. Some rep 2s were sloppy and I rushed and pulled from the floor with my back. But always corrected on the rep 3s. Grand otherwise.

Dip/lat pulldown:
    x 3/41kg plate x 10
    5kg x 3/53kg plate x 10

60s rest between exercises. Up in weight while down in reps. Everything was grand. More reps next which should be tougher.

Bulgarian split squat/barbell row:
    10kg x 5/20kg x 10
    15kg x 5/40kg x 10
    15kg x 10/60kg x 10

60s rest between exercises. Somebody else got their hands on the seal row platform, so did standard rows instead. The BSSs were noticeably tougher than last week and I was using the rack for more than just balance at times. Grand, otherwise.

Wine didn't affect me too much this morning. Got through everything. Bit of Death to fill the ears and keep me focused.

August 13

Not as much movement this weekend as I had planned. 15 minute round walk to the shop Friday night doesn't count. Went for a 4k/40 minute walk on Saturday that was nice. But very little yesterday, except for a tiny bit of mobility while cooking breakfast. Was very stiff this morning.

Squat:
    20kg x 1
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    110kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    110kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Had a few grindy good morning squats in the first worksets, but found my groove by the 3rd set. By then, weight wasn't too bad and it was just a matter of trying to stay upright and not revert to LB movement patterns. Weight is still challenging.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

105s rest between sets. Upped the rest time a bit because compared to squats and deadlifts, bench is far closer to my pre-meet work sets. Plus 2.5kg weekly increments is a bigger relative jump for an upper body movement.

BTN press/weighted chinup:
    20kg x 10/x 5
    30kg x 10/5kg x 5
    35kg x 10/10kg x 5

60s rest between exercises. These were all tough. Couldn't rush through the presses by the end and had to take a few breaths before getting the last ones. Also, some later chinups were pretty all over the shop. Buuuttt just about managed to finish everything, albeit with questionable form. Just have to do it all again, but properly next week.

Grand day. Sweaty, but not as sweaty as normal. Had some Kadavar to get me through the day because it was early and I didn't feel like anything too heavy.

August 14

3.2k walk yesterday evening. Mild sweat worked up. Graaand.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    147.5kg x 5
    147.5kg x 5
    147.5kg x 5
    147.5kg x 5
    147.5kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Noticed that my first reps were all solid, but subsequent tended to be a little sloppy. Did a few full resets just to get my head right. Was absolutely fecked after these though and needed a breather.

DB press/facepull:
    20kg x 5/29kg plate x 10
    25kg x 5/35kg plate x 10
    25kg x 10/35kg plate x 20

60s rest between exercises. Facepulls were grand. Last few reps of last two sets of DB press were fairly grindey. Was also fecked after these.

Front squat/DB row:
    60kg x 5/25kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    87.5kg x 3/25kg x 10

60 rest between exercises. Front squats felt kinda heavy but never any danger of failing. Rows were exhausting me by the end.

Very sweaty day. Took longer than I wanted in the gym (1h30ish) but that's probably due to taking two long breathers. Listened to some Cathedral for some old school doom.

August 16

Worked late Tuesday so no chance of walkies. Was in the office yesterday so no long walks, but instead had frequent bouts of 5-10 minute walks here and there. Not exercise, but at least there was movement.

Squat:
    20kg x 8
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    90kg x 8
    90kg x 8
    90kg x 8
    90kg x 8
    90kg x 8

120s rest between sets. First set was messy so I copped on for the rest. Instead of trying to rush through them (like it's a race to get them done before going out of breath), I took an extra breath or two between reps and made sure form was solid for every single rep. Seems like basic stuff, but it's a bad habit of mine. Was a sweaty, heaving mess by the end and needed a lie down. Also, massive quad burn.

Bench tng/NG chinup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10/x 3
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 10/x 5

60s rest between exercises. Dropped the pullup reps a little from last week because I knew bench was going to be tough. And yes, it was. I didn't even lock out the last rep properly and racked it in a risky manner. Didn't die. Had a cheeky lie down again.

Lateral raise/overhead front plate raise:
    5kg x 8/10kg x 8
    5kg x 12/10kg x 12

60s rest between exercises. After 2nd set, I wanted to give up and go home. Was feeling wrecked. Managed to finish everything, but it felt awful. Happy I didn't give into temptation to give up.

So, so tired after this morning. Bit of Bongripper kept my aural passages stimulated.

August 17

Many pints were had last night which meant that gym before work was an absolute no-go. Went at lunch hoping to do something; I wasn't sure what. Didn't have much time, so thought maybe some paused deadlifts and some dips/lat pulldowns. But when foam rolling my quads, my hamstrings cramped up :confused:.

Dips/pullups:
    x 5/x 5
    5kg x 5/5kg x 5
    x 10/x 10

60s rest between exercises. Lat pulldown machine was being used, so weighted pullups it was.

Very quick session. Better than nothing. Did load of lower body mobility and activation before doing a quick upper body superset. Realised in there how still hungover I was so doing anything too strenuous was probably a bad idea anyway.

August 20

4.1k brisk walk on Saturday. Only a 20 minute walk yesterday, but lots of housework done so Imma count that. Did some random stretched while cooking breakfast too. Body was looser than normal this morning and didn't seem to need too much mobility work.

Squat:
    20kg x 9
    60kg x 7
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Took the same approach as last Thursday's 5x8 squats in that I resisted the temptation to rush through them, but couldn't quite nail down the consistent form. Oh well.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5

105s rest between sets. Form all over the place this morning. Ass was rising and shoulders were moving when I was pressing. And when I managed to nail down everything by the 4th set, the bar just felt awfully heavy.

BTN press/weighted chinup:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 10/x 5
    35kg x 10/10kg x 5

Same weights/sets/reps as last week. Repeated them again because my form was awful last week. Form was just as bad this week. Should probably dial back for next week and up the reps.

Such a sweaty, sweaty day. Humidity didn't help. Needed a breather after squats but was grand after bench. Acid King got me through the morning.

August 21

3.5km brisk walk yesterday evening in ~30 minutes. Only a small amount of stiffness this morning.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 1
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 5
    150kg x 5
    150kg x 5
    150kg x 5
    150kg x 5

120s rest between sets. In the past, I'd have a tendency to rush the last rep to get the feckin set over and done with and it would be sloppy. Instead, I did a full reset after the 4th rep to force proper form for the 5th rep. Dare I say, every rep was solid as a result. Buuuttt I was still bollocksed by the end.

DB press/facepull:
    17.5kg x 12/35kg plate x 12
    25kg x 10/41kg plate x 12

60s rest between exercises. Stuck with same weight/reps on DB press because it was dodgy last week but better this week. Grand. Facepulls were grand too.

Front squat/DB row:
    20kg x 1
    60kg x 5/25kg x 6
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3/25kg x 12

60s rest between exercises. Poor time management on my part meant I had to cut these short. Just as well though because the front squats were awful. Form just wasn't there and as a result, everything felt heavy and laboured.

Tiring day. Deadlifts were oddly satisfying. Everything else was meh. Carcass got me through the session.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

In the past, I'd have a tendency to rush the last rep to get the feckin set over and done with and it would be sloppy. Instead, I did a full reset after the 4th rep to force proper form for the 5th rep. Dare I say, every rep was solid as a result. Buuuttt I was still bollocksed by the end.

100% me
    the sloppy, not the reset

August 23

Lots of time spent in the car on Tue/Wed. Tuesday night, I had a 4.7km walk that included a few random sprints, due to having a dog on a lead that wanted a bit of craic. Very little movement yesterday and felt pretty stiff last night. Bit of mobility this morning and I was grand.

Squat:
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    92.5kg x 8
    92.5kg x 8
    92.5kg x 8
    92.5kg x 8
    92.5kg x 8

120s rest between sets. Never felt that heavy. Felt my legs gasping for air before my lungs did, which is progress. No need for a breather afterwards, which is also progress.

Bench tng/NG chinup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 10/x 6

60s rest between exercises. Kept same weight as last week due to how much of a disgrace it was, but upped the chinups slightly. Bench ended up not being much better as 4th set was a struggle to finish. Gave myself an extra 60s rest before the last set and barely finished that too. Dang.

7.5kg x 5/10kg x 8
    7.5kg x 8/10kg x 12

60s rest between exercises. Was going to up the reps @ 5kg but the 5kg dumbbells were taken. 7.5kg with strict form is haaard. I used to be able to rep with 10kg but with awful form (lateral shrugs!). Entire shoulder region felt on fire by the end.

Grand day. Was listening to Enslaved until my headphone's battery died halfway through bench, which was annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,603 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I used to be able to rep with 10kg but with awful form (lateral shrugs!).

When you go a lot too heavy, you're into triple extension territory :)

giphy.gif

August 24

No walkies last night as had to work late. Didn't seem too stiff until I tried getting my hips down for sumo and that's when I realised I was rigid.

Pause deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    150kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Lots of full resets when I sensed myself getting careless. Everything felt solid but by jaysus did the weight feel heavy.

Dips/lat pulldown:
    x 5/ 41kg plate x 12
    5kg x 5/53kg plate x 12

60s rest between exercises. Same dip weights/reps as last week only I'm not hungover this time. Felt harder than last week. But I didn't have paused deadlifts beforehand, sooo, um, science says paused deadlifts are worse for recovery than pints.

Seal row/Bulgarian split squats:

40kg x 10/x 10
    /10kg x 10
    60kg x 10/15kg x 10
    60kg x 10/15kg x 5

60s rest between exercises. Cut these short because I was completely and utterly bollocksed. I think I went too heavy on the rows considering I skipped them last week. But the BSSs burned the legs big time. Balance is still crap (moreso on my left side), but I'm confident I'm starting to feel them doing something other than tire me out.

Ok day. Wish I powered through the last superset instead of give up though. Pantera on my ears this morning because I couldn't decide what else to play.

August 27

4.7k walk on Saturday. Aside from that, this was a very lazy weekend with bad eating. Was fairly stiff this morning.

Squat:
    20kg x 9
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    115kg x 4
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 2
    115kg x 3

120s rest between sets. These just felt awful. Only finished two sets. I put the first set down to perhaps not warming up properly but it never really got any better. Had to walk away.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 3
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5

105s rest between sets. Bar felt heavy. Last 3 sets were a struggle, but I got through them. Lots of ass rising though.

BTN press/chinup:
    20kg x 15/x 5
    25kg x 10
    30kg x 12/x 6

60s rest between exercises. Just went into autopilot here.

Not a good day.

August 28

Only a short 2k walk last night. Didn't have enough time for much else. Hips managed to be fairly open this morning, which made warming up a little easier.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    * belt *
    140kg x 3
    152.5kg x 5
    152.5kg x 5
    152.5kg x 5
    152.5kg x 5
    152.5kg x 5

120s rest between sets. The weight went from feeling like a feather @ 140kg to feeling like a truck at 152.5kg. There were plenty of full resets to make sure form didn't falter. There were plenty of times I wanted to walk away mid-set, but I didn't. Had perhaps two dodgy reps overall.

DB press/facepull:
    15kg x 8/29kg plate x 15
    20kg x 10/35kg plate x 15
    25kg x 12/41kg plate x 15

60s rest between sets. DB press was remarkably ok. Extra warmup set probably helped. Facepulls were remarkably fine too. Graaand.

Front squat/DB row
    60kg x 1
    60kg x 5/25kg x 5
    80kg x 5/25kg x 12

60s rest between exercises. Not sure what happened, but I ran out of time. Don't think I wasted a whole lot of time this session. But I just upped the reps of the front squat for the sake of getting more work in.

Grand day. Feel a little stronger than yesterday but not 100%. Probably have man flu. Listened to some old school Anthrax for nostalgia.

August 30

Was busy with work the last few days so no decent walks. Instead, had regular bouts of short walks so at least I wasn't sitting on my ass for hours on end. None of it counts as exercise though.

Squat:
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    95kg x 8
    95kg x 8
    95kg x 8
    95kg x 8
    95kg x 8

120s rest between sets. Form was rock solid and my legs were gasping for air over my lungs. Needed a quick breather on the floor at the end. I should have taken a picture of the massive sweat patch I left behind because it was shaped like a giant dick and balls.

Bench tng/NG chinup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 10/x 4
    72.5kg x 10/x 7

75s rest between sets. Upped the weight/chin reps from last week but also gave myself an extra 15s rest to accommodate them. Every set was difficult and last one was difficult to rack. Aaaand I got that pukey feeling at the end and needed to compose myself before moving on.

5kg x 8/10kg x 8
    5kg x 12/10kg x 12

60s rest between sets. The same weight/reps as 2 weeks ago. First set seemed piss easy but it went downhill after that. My shoulders were on ****in fire. And my jaw hurts from clenching my teeth trying to finish the last set of lateral raises. This was difficult.

Good day. I feckin killed myself so 'good' is a relative term under the circumstances. Nile got me through this session.

August 31

No walkies last night. Had errands to do immediately after work that involved driving so no time. Was a bit stiff this morning but got up a few mins early to ensure I had time for lots of mobility.

Pause deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    100kg x 5 (no pause)
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    152.5kg x 3
    152.5kg x 3
    152.5kg x 3
    152.5kg x 3
    152.5kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Had a one messy rep in each of the first 3 sets because I didn't take the slack out of the bar. Weird, as I never have the problem. Felt grand otherwise.

Dips/lat pulldown:
    x 5/41kg plate x 12
    x 10/53kg plate x 15

60s rest between sets. This was so, so difficult. Had been doing a bit of reading about bodyweight exercises and in particular, dips. Seems like I added weight too early and should be looking at getting the reps higher before adding anything.

Seal rows/Bulgarian split squats:
    40kg x 10/x 10
    50kg x 10/12.5kg x 10

60s rest between exercises. Had to leave early due to a work thing so didn't get to finish them. Wasn't too difficult under the circumstances.

Tiring day. Deep Purple for paused deadlifts.

September 3

4.3km walk on Saturday morning, followed by about an hour of gardening. No exercise yesterday, but frequent enough movement that I never got stiff.

Squat:
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 8
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    110kg x 1
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Same weight as last week when I sucked ass and only finished two sets. Bar felt really heavy for last two sets but no chance of failure here.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 4

120s rest between sets. Upped the rest time because a) last week's form was awful, b) this is pretty close to what a max effort 5x5 before the meet was like sans timed rest periods and c) I still have doms from Friday's dips! Bar felt heavy in every set. Didn't finish last set as it was a little bit too close to failure and I never set up the safeties.

BTN press/chinup:
    20kg x 12/x 3
    25kg x 15
    30kg x 12/x 7
    30kg x 12/x 5

60s rest between exercises. Same weight for press but upped the reps for chins. Was getting a massive upper body pump halfway through these which was probably a combined result of the bench before it. So much so that I checked the mirror in case it looked like I had Imaginary Lat Syndrome. Arms had given up by last chinups.

Good day. Sleep provided my soundtrack.

September 4

3.5km walk last night. Was still somewhat stiff this morning but had gotten up early for extra mobility anyway

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    150kg x 3
    155kg x 5
    155kg x 5
    155kg x 5
    155kg x 4

120s rest between sets, except that rest after first set was longer. I realised my belt was too big as my belly has shrunk a little recently and I was getting no tension at all from my belt, so had to adjust it. It being a lever belt meant I needed to borrow a screwdriver, so took a minute or two. But I couldn't finish the 4th set. Dunno. Just nothing left in me.

DB press/facepull:
    15kg x 15/29kg plate x 15
    20kg x 10/35kg plate x 15
    25kg x 15/41kg plate x 15
    25kg x 13/41kg plate x 15

60s rest between exercises. 25kg just felt heavy in my hands. Couldn't finish the last set. All facepulls felt grand though.

Skipped front squats/DB rows because I was pissed off and it was getting late.

Poor day.

September 6

3.5km walk Tuesday evening and I was stiff AF doing it. Think that walk helped prevent me being completely DOMSed yesterday. No long walks yesterday but plenty of frequent short walks throughout

Squat:
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    100kg x 8
    100kg x 8
    100kg x 8
    100kg x 2
    100kg x 8

120s rest between sets. Was supposed to be 97.5kg today but I bumped it up because I missed front squats on Tuesday. I was seriously out of breath after the 3rd set and just reracked after 2 reps on the 4th because I knew I'd fail. Then got my groove for the 5th set and it was pretty easy :rolleyes: At least form felt solid.

Wanted to see how 5x8 @ 100kg went because I wanted to try a bodyweight (90kg) widowmaker next week for the craic. Not sure if I should. Yay or nay?

Bench tng/NG pullup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 10/x 5
    70kg x 5
    75kg x 10/x 7
    75kg x 9/x 7
    75kg x 7/x 7

75s rest between exercises. Ended up having an extra long rest after the 60kg warmup due to chats with a lad working there. Working sets were grand but I racked the last two early because I was practically at failure. Form felt really good.

5kg x 8
    5kg x 15/10kg x 15

60s rest between exercises. Had very little time so just upped the reps on both here. Was feckin awful.

Weird day. Dio was a satisfying soundtrack though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Wanted to see how 5x8 @ 100kg went because I wanted to try a bodyweight (90kg) widowmaker next week for the craic. Not sure if I should. Yay or nay?

No, just no.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

It's *yea or nay

Also, yea. And report back

Imma do the opposite of what the grammar nazi says, so make that two nays.

This could be the first time I've been talked out of doing stupid and potentially dangerous sh1t I've read about online since I read the anarchists cookbook when we got dialup about 20 years ago.

September 9

Pause deadlifts
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    100kg x 5 (no pause)
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 1
    160kg x 1
    160kg x 1
    160kg x 1
    160kg x 1
    160kg x 1

90s rest. Decided to do some paused singles today instead of triples. Went up in weight slightly. Tried a small modification to my setup because I was afraid I wasn't creating enough intra abdominal pressure. Bar felt heavy in my hands but overall, it was grand.

Dips/lat pulldown:
    x 5/41kg plate x 12
    x 10/47kg plate x 18

60s rest between exercises. Kept dips the same reps because form last week was messy. Was solid this week. Went down in weight but up in reps for lat pulldowns for the same reason and they were better this week. Grand.

Seal row/Bulgarian split squat:
    40kg x 10/x 10
    50kg x 10/15kg x 10

60s rest between exercises. Same weights/reps as last week but I completed 5 supersets instead of 3. Rows were just too light and weren't a challenge, but BSSs killed me.

Grand day. This week has been a bit crap overall so I made sure I didn't absolutely kill myself this morning. Good for the head. Buffalo was my soundtrack and if you never heard of them, shut up and listen to this.

September 10

4.7km walk on Saturday. No walk yesterday but put a basecoat on the kitchen walls so arms were probably going to be a little tired. Was pretty stiff this morning so needed plenty of mobility.

Changing things a little from this week on.

LB squat:
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 5
    * belt *
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    110kg x 1
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3

120s rest between sets. First time LB squatting since the July meet and first time squatting with a belt since then. Experimented with different grip width and bar position. Have moved my grip out two fingers and bar is slightly lower on my back. Early days but I'm not sure if I'll keep it or not.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Experimented with grip width here too by putting ring finger on ring. I've done this for Thursday's tng bench and lat recruitment felt better but stayed with my old way on Monday's pause bench (ring finger just inside ring), until today. Can't say it felt too good. Don't know if it was tired arms from painting or not. But I'll give it at least another week before I decide anything.

OHP/pullup:
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 10/x 5
    35kg x 8/x 5

90s rest between supersets. OHP was pretty tiring but pullups were grand.

Nice day. Just a very slight variation on previous Mondays. Dust was my soundtrack.

September 11

Weather was crap last night so no walk. Was surprisingly ok this morning

Deadlift:
    70kg x 10
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    * belt *
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 1
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Had planned on going up to 160kg for triples but I missed this weight last week. New setup is serving me well. Form good. No full resets needed.

Incline bench/rear delt flye:
    20kg x 10/2.5kg x 15
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 8/5kg x 10

90s rest between supersets. Had no real weight/reps in mind beforehand because I suck at both of these and just decided to do something that wasn't too challenging. Will keep the same weights but up the reps for next week.

SSB squat/facepulls:
    60kg x 5/29kg plate x 20
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5/35kg plate x 20

90s rest between supersets. First time doing SSB in a while so was conservative with the weight. Wasn't supposed to do facepulls but couldn't remember what I had planned as I didn't note it down. Shrugs! I was meant to do shrugs. Oh well. But facepulls after RDFs means my upper back is currently on fire.

Also managed to create an enormous racket trying to set up the SSB bar. Hit it off two squat racks, a wall and the ground a few times when setting it up and then again off my squat rack after I realised it was set up backwards. Good thing the gym was almost empty.

Nice day. Not too challenging. Siouxsie and the Banshees was an unusual soundtrack to deadlifts though.

September 13

Nice 3.5km walk Tuesday evening. Nothing of note yesterday but plenty of frequent movement that I didn't get stiff.

HB squat:
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 12
    90kg x 12
    90kg x 12
    90kg x 12

180s rest between sets. Operation MakeMyLegsLessCrap continues with reducing the weight slightly but upping the rep range. The longer rest periods definitely helped here. Both my lungs and quads were gasping for breath at the end of each set. But dare I say, these were easier than expected. Form held together and there was no chance of failure. So, yay?

Needed a rest on the ground after.

Bench tng/pullup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 10/x 5
    75kg x 8/x 5
    75kg x 6/x 5

90s rest between supersets. Reduced reps but also massively reduced rest periods. Thought keeping the same weight would be grand but no, massive struggle.

Lateral raises/overhead front plate raise:
    8kg x 8/10kg x 8
    8kg x 20/10kg x 13

60s rest between supersets. Because rest period is changed, I kept the same weight but reduced the reps. And went AMRAP for last.

Good day. Bongzilla were heavy enough to power me through the squats.

September 14

Plenty of random squat sits throughout the day and a 3.5km walk last night to ensure my legs didn't completely stiffen. They were sore AF this morning regardless, but not stiff. Bit of foam rolling made me cry.

Also, went in this morning with no specific plan. Knew it was going to be similar to previous Fridays. Was going to replace the pause deadlifts with something with less specificity. Was going to keep the dips and change up the back work and then wasn't sure after that. Sometimes, no plan can be fun.

Snatch grip RDL:
    20kg x 3
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5

90s rest between sets. May as well have been 120s because I used straps and I'm crap at putting them on. I've done this lift before and never really felt it where I should have but was kinda figuring it out as the sets went on. Wasn't feeling it my lats until I flexed my triceps hard and which point, that worked and the bar felt lighter. Still need practise.

Dips/cable pullover:
    x 3/29kg plate x 10
    x 10/29kg plate x 10

90s rest between supersets. Not used to cable pullovers so they were sloppy. Used the lat pulldown machine for them. Need to remember to sink hips lower so I can get a proper stretch at the top. Dips were fine for 3 sets but became a struggle at the end and had to reset twice. Reduced rest time would explain that.

Lat pulldown/hamstring curl:
    41kg plate x 12/23kg plate x 12
    47kg plate x 12/35kg plate x 12

90s rest between supersets. First time doing hamstring curls in a looong time. They felt light at first but from the 3rd set, I could barely get full ROM.

Prowler sprints:
    length x 2
    +20kg length x 2

90s rest between these. Seemed early and had spare time, so why not. They destroyed me. Finished these, packed my things and was about to leave but felt pukey. Had a quick lie down on the astro because I felt I was unfit to drive.

Grand day. This week was a little experimental due to changing things up but I need to adjust for the next week.

September 17

Another weekend of painting meant potentially tired arms. Got no exercise in but plenty of applying masking tape and edging of the skirting boards while sitting in a squat. Going to coin the term 'applied mobility' for this.

Had horrible doms in my left adductor since yesterday. Right was fine. No idea why, but plenty of stretching and awkward foam rolling was needed this morning.

LB squat:
    20kg x 5
    20kg x 5
    70kg x 8
    * belt *
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Same weight on paper as last week but this time, I used calibrated plates. That means about 5kg overall difference between last week's use of fake weights. Mainly worked on bracing core and upper back. A few sloppy reps here and there. Hands felt like they had the weight of the bar on them after the 3rd set, which tells me possible lack of lat engagement. Overall, felt kinda heavy, but not too bad. Just need more practise.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    85kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Also, calibrated plates. Bar felt heavy. This was my 2nd last warmup set weight in comp. 3rd set was sloppy and it might have been due to lack of lat engagement again. No chance of failure here though.

OHP/pullup:
    20kg x 10/x 5
    30kg x 10
    35kg x 8/x 6

90s rest between supersets. Same OHP weight, more pullup reps. OHP felt fine and pullups were a struggle, so opposite of last week.

Grand day. Nothing too strenuous. Andrew Belew for some mad prog kept me alert.

September 18

3.5km walk last night. Wasn't stiff, but still did plenty of mobility this morning with emphasis on left adductor.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 10
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1 + pop

Was working up to a 3x3 @ 155kg on calibrated plates but felt something pop in my left hamstring. Tried walking it off. Tried some foam rolling to the area and stretches and nope, was too sore. Was semi limping around. Struggled to put the plates back.

Incline bench/facepulls:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 10/29kg plate x 20
    55kg x 10/35kg plate x 20

90s rest between supersets. Was grand. Was meant to do rear delt lateral raises but I couldn't bend forward without being in pain, so did facepulls instead.

Lateral raises:
    2.5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10

60s rest between sets. Was kinda stumped as to what to replace what I had planned. Couldn't do DB rows. Couldn't do barbell rows. Just did these while feeling sad and sorry for myself.

Physio booked. In the meantime, I need to keep mobile. Will walk as usual this evening. Tomorrow, will attempt some bodyweight squats. Some light goblet squats if I feel confident. And some light hamstring curls.

:(

Went to physio. There's some minor purple bruising around the area. Pretty much like a tiny version of the external bruising you see from people with properly torn muscles.

It's nothing serious anyway. Need to ice it for a day or two before switching to warming it up. Have been prescribed some rehab exercises. No major imbalances found. No heavy deadlifting for 4 weeks. Am able to quarter/half squat for a few days and perhaps bodyweight full squat and half-lunges after that. Can add weight after 2 weeks.

Guess every day is either bench or arm day now. Gonna bro it up a notch over the next few weeks.