Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Power on the move; audax and touring

• 15-12-2016 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭

On long distance stuff, especially with all the electronic devices we seem to need powering on the move is often an issue.

Primarily it seems to be phone and/or garmin.

My solution is don't use phone much and use a garmin etrex with AA batteries.

Another common solution is a power bank which is wired to device on the move. Messy and probably fine in dry weather.

Luxos U light allows to charge on the go and if they work they seem great but lots of failures about.

This product is newish and might interest audax lads or people touring. It will work with all the main dynamos
    https://www.igaro.com/d1

Reviews here (and on lfgss I believe)
    https://yacf.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=100575.100

They might do a similar deal here but I'm not sure it complies with rules and I couldn't be bothered looking into it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

I watched a guy on youtube touring Portugal and Spain and he had a solar panel type device on his carrier for charging his phone and gopro.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I watched a guy on youtube touring Portugal and Spain and he had a solar panel type device on his carrier for charging his phone and gopro.

Reminded me of this video...

https://vimeo.com/180916728

@09:15 the solar panel charger. You can buy them from a decent brand like Anker for about €50 or so.

Great video for anyone who has not seen it, definitely worth a watch!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

ford2600 wrote: »
    ....This product is newish and might interest audax lads or people touring. It will work with all the main dynamos
    https://www.igaro.com/d1...t
    Will it recharge the Garmin without resetting it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

It that not dependant on garmin type and cable type?

Yacf is usually good for that type of query

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

It's the cable that dictates that. You can get non-data cables and they won't reset your Garmin.

Just to expand.. its the USB part of the cable, as such. Those little short cables for charging lights tend to do. They lack the two pins that think "data"

It's easy to experiment with a USB hard drive or something, if it just charges, grand. If you can browse the device, not so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

The Gomadic chargers have the right USB connection and are cheap enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Ken Kifer used to use a solar panel for charging his laptop while touring.
    http://www.phred.org/~alex/kenkifer/www.kenkifer.com/bikepages/touring/laptop.htm

That was back in the early 2000s, or thereabouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

FWIW I bought the 15w solar charger https://www.anker.com/products/A2421011 it has a velcro pocket where you can leave two devices charging. I'd bungee the panel on top of my rear bags while cycling in sunny conditions. It kept my phone charged in France and topped up my external battery too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

poochiem wrote: »
    FWIW I bought the 15w solar charger https://www.anker.com/products/A2421011 it has a velcro pocket where you can leave two devices charging. I'd bungee the panel on top of my rear bags while cycling in sunny conditions. It kept my phone charged in France and topped up my external battery too.

How about on a damp 300km in April in Kerry?

What is typically power output on dull days? 3A is max I think.

Seems big for Audax for me, 400g and 670mm by 282mm? More relaxed touring in sunny climate might be a good bet ok

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

ford2600 wrote: »
    How about on a damp 300km in April in Kerry?

What is typically power output on dull days? 3A is max I think.

Seems big for Audax for me, 400g and 670mm by 282mm? More relaxed touring in sunny climate might be a good bet ok

Yeah for touring in summer. I had it stretched on a Carradice longflap bag which I've toured lightweight with tho, so worth bearing in mind for anything other than bikepacking ultralight.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Have a SON dyno hub on both bikes now :)
    My Luxos U light works daily but USB power out doesn't, didn't last long. Instead I bought a USB Werk. More bulletproofer :)
    Etrex 20x for routing. It's a good job.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Hauki

Slightly off-topic, but is it possible to charge Edge 520 while you have tracking on (i.e mid-ride?) without pausing?

Hauki wrote: »
    Slightly off-topic, but is it possible to charge Edge 520 while you have tracking on (i.e mid-ride?) without pausing?

Your best bet is just to start it and then plug it into a usb cable hooked to a plug/power bank at home and see what happens. I would take a stab in the dark and say it won't stop/end.

The Edge 1000, and I think all the '20s have some smart yoke in them that differentiates between a PC and power, I think. The older units like the 500 did stop/end.

I found the following powerbanks great compared to heavy ones. They are made of plastic and you'd think they were crap given the weight/build of them. But they charge a device quite fast compared to some expensive ones I have tried.
    http://www.homestoreandmore.ie/gadgets/usb-power-bank/invt/061232

During the last food stop at the W200 I got boosted from 20% on my garmin to about 35%, which gave me the piece of mind for the rest of the spin.