Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC on Fox 22: Van Zab

• 17-12-2016 2:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭

Prelims 10pm BT sport
    Main card 1am BT Sport

Paige VanZant vs. Michelle Waterson
    Sage Northcutt vs. Mickey Gall
    Urijah Faber vs. Brad Pickett
    Alan Jouban vs. Mike Platinum Perry

Looking forward to this card.should be much better than last night's bamma amateur show. Can't wait to see the platinum king back in action

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

It just shows you how much the UFC are pushing Sage Northcutt (and what he represents) that his fight (against a guy whose only previous UFC experience has been two novelty fights) is second from the top of the main card whereas Bryan Barberena, the guy who submitted him handily (and has won again since then), is buried in the undercard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Why is it on so early?

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

wow it really is, might stay up now then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭tinpib

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Why is it on so early?

Ya, it's strange alright. I'm not complaining though. It's in California as well so starting very early local time.

Early prelims will probably be behind closed doors fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

I'm not staying up still knackered from pints and bammator last night. Sunday morning first thing replay while phone is asleep.

Hope Faber enjoys his last fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

I'm looking forward to seeing northcutt and gall. I don't really like gall so id be happy to see him beat. Sage is a cheesy looking f**ker but seems like a decent sort.

Just going through the card here on Sherdog/Wiki and Paddypower.

A Scottish guy is making his UFC debut on the last prelim, Paul Craig. He has a great record, but so those the other dude who is 1.44.

Aliev deserved that, my man Bojan didn't do enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

https://twitter.com/benfowlkesMMA/status/810229360506482688

Not a UFC card without some verbal diarrhea from goldy.

This started early :D Yes boi, main card starting at 1am?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Thought this started at 10pm??

Entertaining first round from the chicks, I was looking at Aldana's record and it looked a bit like Bill Goldberg's :pac:

looking forward to the 2 reality stars fighting, Sage will be exposed on the ground, Mickey might be head kicked and starched hes coming off fighting 3 worse than amatuers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Not down with the cool kids, what is a Van Zab?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

The sexiest main event in the history of combat sports i reckon.

Hope northcutts ko's micky gall stiff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Axwell wrote: »

Prelims start at 10pm as per bt guide.

Axwell wrote: »

It started at 10pm on bt .it's on now I'm watching it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Started at about half 8.

John_D80 wrote: »
    Started at about half 8.

Prelims started 10pm on BT sport

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

The event itself started at about half past 8. There was fights on before the televised prelims. That's what Axwell was referring to.

Prelims started 10pm on BT sport

Correct, early pre lims on fight pass started at 8:30pm though.

Emmet is gassed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

It was close but I definitely have Emmett winning that.

Apologies lads if ye missed the early prelims.

No need to apologise! People on here can use Google. I always go onto UFC.com to get the details anyway.

Looking forward to the next one, seeing Covington get a beating is always enjoyable.

Can't believe how one-dimensional Barbarena was there, totally different guy to the one that beat Alves last time out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Both Craig and DeSilva looked gassed after one round. Didn't like Craig laying there with his arms behind his head either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Craig's bottom game is decent but Silva kept jumping into bad positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Another step closer to another ufc Scotland hopefully! Never heard of him until a few weeks ago now it'll be Non-stop living in Scotland!

Nice one Paul Craig. Yer man De Silva was knackered after almost being subbed in rd 1. Craig also didn't touch gloves at the start of round 1, straight into it, were a few boos.

Bit about him on BBC

http://www.bbc.com/sport/scotland/38284727

tinpib wrote: »
    Nice one Paul Craig. Yer man De Silva was knackered after almost being subbed in rd 1. Craig also didn't touch gloves at the start of round 1, straight into it, were a few boos.

I wasn't keen on that I know if someone did that to me when I offered I'd be pretty passed but f it it's a pro game at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Anyone catch Stann saying "he's had 4 fights in 2016 already". It's December mate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Haha probably 1% of the people listening can understand a word this guy is saying.
    He looked allright though, a bit gasses.
    Bearjew, what a nickname

valor wrote: »
    Haha probably 1% of the people listening can understand a word this guy is saying.
    He looked allright though, a bit gasses.
    Bearjew, what a nickname

1% is probably a stretch I hadn't a clue and I live a few miles from where he trains!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

hehe, so cute gettin flustered sweat dripping all over Stann ;-)

Lovely promo spot for Faber's last fight.

Yeh class recap.

You'd swear Faber just died the way they're going on about him lol. Great fighter in his day, glad he's hanging up the gloves though, it's time.

martyos121 wrote: »
    You'd swear Faber just died the way they're going on about him lol. Great fighter in his day, glad he's hanging up the gloves though, it's time.

Without Faber the UFC would have dropped the feather and bantam weight classes when they absorbed the WEC.

He is the reason that people started to give the smaller divisions any sort of respect. He's a no argument hall of fame fighter and one of the most important in the history of the lighter divisions in MMA.

Completely fitting tribute.

Did BT just say coming up next is Nunes v Rousey?

Did Waterson compete at 105 before?

Without Faber the UFC would have dropped the feather and bantam weight classes when they absorbed the WEC.

He is the reason that people started to give the smaller divisions any sort of respect. He's a no argument hall of fame fighter and one of the most important in the history of the lighter divisions in MMA.

Completely fitting tribute.

You won't hear me disagreeing with any of that, I just found it funny how they all mentioned their favourite Faber moment when they did the same thing for Kimbo not long ago. He'll 100% still be involved with the UFC in some capacity after tonight, as well as cornering TAM fighters when he gets the chance.

martyos121 wrote: »
    You won't hear me disagreeing with any of that, I just found it funny how they all mentioned their favourite Faber moment when they did the same thing for Kimbo not long ago. He'll 100% still be involved with the UFC in some capacity after tonight, as well as cornering TAM fighters when he gets the chance.

If the new owners don't take Faber on in a role like Forest's they're mental. He's one of the most universally liked guys, he's good in front of the camera, his personality is fantastic, he's positive and he's a legit legend. Would make a perfect ambassador for the company.

A top fighter his whole career I really respect him as a person theres no bitterness in him from what I've seen following the sport over the years comes across real genuine.

Gamebred wrote: »
    A top fighter his whole career I really respect him as a person theres no bitterness in him from what I've seen following the sport over the years comes across real genuine.

His attitude was always pretty amazing, even when he lost. He'd be the first guy to congratulate the other guy, no excuses, still smiling, still positive, and back at it the next day.