Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting stronger getting older

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Increase of 5kg. Didn’t use a belt. Really kept upper back right for these. Felt like I did 3 sets of rear felt flys instead. Prescribed RPE was 8-9. I’d rather avoid a 9 on these bad boys and slowly progress on 8, if that makes sense.

Depends if your 10 is actual max or whether it's a 10 where you couldn't do any more without your form going but either way it sounds like you're erring on the right side. Otherwise it becomes an exercise where the load is being moved from where it should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Depends if your 10 is actual max or whether it's a 10 where you couldn't do any more without your form going but either way it sounds like you're erring on the right side. Otherwise it becomes an exercise where the load is being moved from where it should be.

10 for me on these Wouid be technical breakdown

Yeah I went the long way around saying that it looked like that was the case :)

Month 2 week 1 day 2

Squat 125kg x 3 x 3 @6-7

5kg up on last time. First set was a 7, due to stiffness I’d say. Set 2 & 3 were @6. Progress sneaking up quietly on this program.

Benchpress 65kg x 6 x 3 @6

Totally forgot I had to do 5 sets of squats. Had to rush through bench and deadlifting. Like, 30seconds rest between Sets kinda rushing. Wasn’t too hard actually. Very happy with the bar path. Nice, steady and smooth. Weight was 5kg up too. No pain. NO PAIN.

Deadlift 140kg x 4 x 3 @6.5

Again, rushed. Didn’t write lastmonths weight down so nothing to compare. RPE felt about right. That’s what it’s all about I suppose. Should’ve been 5 sets. A sharp pinching pain after the 4th set. No pain at all 10 seconds later but decided against chancing a 5th. Not worth the potential risk

Month 2 week 1 day 3

Squat 130kg x 3 x 5 @8.5

Probably a little heavier than I should’ve went. A comfortable 8 would’ve been nicer. 10kg heavier than last month.

Benchpress

70kg x 5 @9
    67.5kg x 3 x 5 @8

Got through the first set but it was too heavy. I wanted an 8. 67.5 was the right RPE. Still a good 7.5 up on last month.

OHP 37.5kg x 3 x 6 @8

That was comfortable enough. An easy 8

Abwheel x 3 x 10

Month 2 week 1 day 4

HB Squat 110kg x 3 x 6 @8

This wasn’t bad at all actually. Little sticky on the last rep but overall solid. 10kg up on last month.

CGBP 65kg x 3 x 6

Shoulder wasn’t 100% going in, but felt fine warmed up. 5kg up on last month.

Deadlift 140kg x 3 x 5 @8

I was feeling tired. Dreading these, but once I got into it they were fine. Moved prett good

Month 2 week 2 day 1

Squat 105kg x 3 x 8 @6-7

I hate cardio day. Back was feeling twingy in a few places so I was happy with the 5kg increase on last month. Extra extra tight bracing.

Benchpress 55kg x 4 x 8 @6.5

Pain free shoulder again, thankfully. It’s holding up well. 5kg up on last month. Bar path was good. Very pleased with the progress on bench these last few weeks

RDL 135kg x 3 x 5 @8

Worked up to these to gauge how the back was feeling. Twas ok.
    5kg increase too and I think the RPE went down. I think I find these easier without a belt, if that makes any sense. Upper back pump

Ab wheel x 3 x 10

Got through today’s workout very quick so I Rolled the living daylights out of my glutes.

Month 2 week 2 day 2

Squat 130kg x 5 x 2 @ 7

Set 2 was a 6. The weight felt heavy on my back but not challenging at all. Technique was spot on today. Can’t recall any reps I had to worry about.

Bench press 75kg x 6 x 2 @7

I went to the harder side of the RPE scale today. I was feeling good. Being honest, I’d say a couple near the end were an 8.

Deadlift 145kg x 5 x 2 @ 6

All lifts were up 5kg on last month. I’d say those increases are coming to an end shortly. Deadlifts were handy enough.

Month 2 week 2 day 3

Squat 135kg x 3 x 4 @8.5 - 9

Took me a while to get into these. The weight felt pretty heavy but it should for 4 reps @9. Last set was possibly an 8. Up 5kg from last month

Bench press 72.5kg x 4 x 4 @8.5 - 9

Shoulder was a little stiff, but no pain. As expected though, the weight was heavy. Still buzzing at the fact I can bench some challenging weight pain free. Up 2.5kg from last month

OHP 40kg x 5 x 5 @7-8

Should’ve been a 2.5 increase but someone else was using the small plates. Lower RPE than last month so kinda the same

Month 2 week 2 day 4

HB Squat 115kg x 3 x 5 @8

Terribly stiff this morning. Tummy feeling a bit qware too. Totally off balance on rep 1 and fell forward. Silly.
    Set 2 and 3 were big improvements. Very last rep was a 9. Up 5kg from last month

CGBP 65kg x 4 x 5 @8-9

Really kept the elbows tucked and concentrated on form. RPE went up as the sets went on, due to tricep tiredness. 5 kg up from last month.

Deadlift 145kg x 3 x 4 @8

There’s something very satisfying when the weight hits the ground perfectly even. No rattling or shaking. One big thud. Reps were really good today. Up 5kg

Month 2 week 3 day 1

Squat 110kg x 3 x 7 @7

Jaysus I hate that cardio feelin. Handy enough squats. Up 5kg from last month

Bench press 60kg x 4 x 7 @7

Again, keeping to the heavier side of things on week 3. No pain, but I’m still cautious. Delighted with progress. I’m almost ready to do smolov again.
    Kidding ;). Up 5kg

RDL 140kg x 3 x 4 @8.5-9

These were beltless too. Found them very heavy. I might hold off on increasing weight and clean up my technique cause it’s headibg into back breaking territory after this. Set 2 and 3 the tidiest.

Month 2 week 3 day 3

Squat 135kg x 5 x 1 @7

Delighted with another 5kg jump. This was effin handy. 100kg warmup genuinely felt like 40kg. Great squat session.

Bench press 75kg x 6 x 1 @7

Again, pretty handy. Very stable reps, no discomfort. 2.5kg increase. Very little rest. Between 30-60 seconds

Deadlift 160kg x 5 x 1 @7

Big 10kg jump today. I was feeling energetic. It prob had something to do with 450mg caffeine I’d inhaled. Kept the belt right up to my ribs and that made a difference too. Solid reps. Very happy with them

Ab wheel x 4 x 10

Month 2 week 3 day 3

Squat 140kg x 3 x 3 @8.5-9

Feeling very tired. I was in bed late. This was always gonna be harder than it should have been, but saying that, it wasn’t too bad. The feckin doms got a rude awakening in my abs when I closed the belt the first time. Floating in around PB territory now. Up 5kg again

Bench press 77.5kg x 4 x 3 @9

Doms wereprerry bad on these too. Bar path was pretty good, again no pain. I was gonna chance 80kg, but made the right call at 77.5. Tough but solid, technically correct reps. Up 2.5kg too.

OHP 45kg x 3 x 4 @8

A surprising 5kg increase on this. Was gonna go for 42.5 but the same guy as last week had the small plates. So I chanced bigger. It was grand

Month 2 week 3 day 4

HB Squat 125kg x 3 x 4 @9

Tough enough. Body took a while to wake up. Elbows hurt on these.

CGBP 75kg x 4 x 4 @9

I was flaring my elbows a little on these. Prob why I could do them at that weight.

Ran outa time so had to skip deadlifts. Deload now.

Month 2 Deload

Squat
    85kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    125kg x 1
    135kg x 1
    145kg x 1

Deadlift
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 2
    120kg x 1
    140kg x 1
    155kg x 1
    170kg x 1

Bench press
    50kg x 7
    60kg x 4
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 2

Some big guy beside me benching 120kg x 10. Cool to see. My measly 70 was grand too. Got carried away and forgot I was deloading with the 80kg x 2. Was ok too

Handy day. Easy Deload

Squats
    60kg x 8
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 2
    130kg x 2
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 1
    155kg x 2 Pb :)

What a lazy busy week. Jaysus. No time at all today. Barely got this squat session in. 150 was grand so feck it, 155 double. That’s definatley an unexpected Pb.

Bench press

40kg x 10
    50kg x 10
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 3 x 3

Kind of the tail end of a half arsed Deload. Will start into month 3 in the coming week.

Deadlift
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    160kg x 3

Handy enough. Prob had another 3-4 160’s

Skull crushers/pull ups

I’ve been kinda neglecting direct back work. Might try get back into pull ups, at the meet least

Squats
    60kg x 8
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 2
    130kg x 2
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 1
    155kg x 2 Pb :)

What a lazy busy week. Jaysus. No time at all today. Barely got this squat session in. 150 was grand so feck it, 155 double. That’s definatley an unexpected Pb.

PB on a deload?

Well yea, crazy as it sounds! I did practically nothing all week, so it was more of a mess around quick session than it was a Deload really. Just wanted to do a bit before I got back into the program. 150 went well, I knew I had the double in me at 155 so I did it.

You're as impatient. Pretty sure YNDTFP :)

Ah, it wasn’t really impatience this time. I could’ve went on and tested my 1rm. If it was last year, I would’ve! This was more curiosity

A deload usually doesnt involve weights 90%+ though chief. Sometimes you just need to stick with the programme and let the deload feed into the next block and build some real momentum. As before, I'm only saying because I was often guilty of the same and just found that trusting the numbers will be there at the end will usually serve me better.

Month 3 week 1

Squat 105kg x 3 x 9 @6-7

Great leg pump. Weight wasn’t an issue. Slightly harder than I had wanted. I was hoping for all 6’s. 5kg up on last month.

Bench press 55kg x 4 x 9 @6

That was ok. No pain, 5kg increase, which is a nice jump. Got a bad aul cut on my finger yesterday which I thought would open doing these. It didn’t.

Rdl 130kg x 3 x 6 @8.5

Tough enough. I can’t believe I used to like Romanian deadlifts. Keep your upper back tight enough for these and there’s no need for extra lat work. Fried. 5kg increase

Month 3 week 1 day 2

Squat 130kg x 3 x 5 @7

Should’ve been a 6 but lack of squatting lately made it harder that it needed to be. Up 5kg from last month

Bench press 70kg x 5 x 3 @6

A surprise, was this. Didn’t expect this to be a 6, at all. 5kg up

Deadlift 150kg x 3 x 3 @6.5

A big 10kg jump. Don’t think I’ve really been trying to push these lately. Today I did. A comfortable 6.5.
    Hadn’t time to do the 5 sets

Month 3 week 1 day 3

Squat 130kg x 3 x 5 @9

Stupidly long break in between sessions. The weight felt heavy all the way up to 100kg. After that, I kinda got my groove. No weight increase from last month. I’ll take that, considering the 6 day gap since I last squatted.

Bench press 70kg x 4 x 5 @8

The break didn’t seem to effect my pressing. 2.5kg up on last month

OHP 40kg x 3 x 6 @8

2.5kg up from last month. Technique grand.

Feels like forever since I lifted anything heavy. Moved house and finally got everything sorted. Some laziness didn’t help.

Bought these bad boys below. 5-40kg adjustable. The bench is incline/flat/decline. It’ll certainly help on days I can't make it to the gym. There’s a host of accessory work I can do with these.

Found some time today. Didn’t restart plan as it was a short session. Squatted up to 140kg x 1. Heavy but well manageable. Thought I’d be weaker.

Home gym accessory

Db bench flat 25kg x 4 x 12

Skull crushers 28kg x 4 x 12

These are the kind of days I would’ve normally missed as I can’t make it to the gym today. Hopefully it’ll Pay off In the future. I’ll try not let these accessory’s affect the main program, when I get back to it

Homegym

One arm DB rows 36kg x 3 x 10

Rev flys 9kg x 4 x 15

It’s better than sitting on my arse I suppose

Homegym

Db bench 30 degrees
    20kg x 10
    22kg x 5 x 10

Skull crushers 28kg x 4 x 12
    S/S
    Db shrugs 40kg x 4 x 12

Benching going ok. I’m well aware of my absence from squatting/deadlifting. I have to get back to it on a regular basis.