Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting stronger getting older

• Registered Users Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Deadlift

Supersetted ab wheel rollouts

6 x 4

120kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    160kg x 2 x 3

These felt like a struggle right up to my first 160 rep. The last 2 reps glided up and I felt like I had another 2 after that. Did an extra unprogrammed set at the end just for a bit more volume. I’m happy with how the weights are moving despite the long breaks in between.

Front squats 60kg x 3 x 6

Finally got to do some of these. Baby steps

OHP

37.5kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    47.5kg x 3
    50kg x 3

Ohp is feeling great thanks these days. 50 went up relatively easy. I think my technique is tidied up a good bit and that is helping with the weight.

Slingshot bench

72.5kg x 3 x 8

I find these a challenge at this weight. I’ll either rinse and repeat until they get a bit easier or increase the weight and drop the number or reps

Shrugs paused at top 112.5kg x 3 x 12
    Bicep curls 29kg x 3 x 12
    Db Rev flys 11kg x 3 x 12
    OH tricep extensions 29kg x 3 x 12

Squat

Toe squats to 100kg x 2

110kg x 2
    120kg x 2
    130kg x 2
    140kg x 2
    145kg x 2

Getting to do a lighter squat day in between my last Session (front squats) helped today. It was my heaviest double in a long time. Depth was in but I had to grind out the last 2 reps. Happy enough. Will post a video later if I’ve time.

Happy new year

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Throw us up an aul video there

bluewolf wrote: »
    Throw us up an aul video there

Ye must be bored haha

https://youtu.be/91FSKVxQpZY

• Registered Users Posts: 24,602 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I think you uploaded at 0.5 speed... :pac:

Let yourself lean a bit on the second rep hence the hips up and back but that's an easy enough fix

I think you uploaded at 0.5 speed... :pac:

Let yourself lean a bit on the second rep hence the hips up and back but that's an easy enough fix

It felt like .5 speed alright

Can see a progression, which is the main thing.

Bench press

65kg x 2
    70kg x 2
    75kg x 2
    77.5kg x 2 (belt)
    80kg x 2 (belt)

Heaviest double in a long time. Good way to start the new year. The belt was a first when benching. It felt good. Cant say there was much benefit but it made me more aware to keep everything tight

Ab wheel 4 x 4

Killer. How did I ever do 10 reps of this yoke

T bar row 60kg x 3 x 12

First time using my handles. Grand. Expect the weight to rise in the coming weeks. Great pump

Shrugs paused 115kg x 3 x 10
    Bicep curls 29kg x 3 x 13
    Db Rev flys 11kg x 3 x 13
    OH tricep extensions 29kg x 3 x 13

I hope to shortly start assembling my lat pull down contraption. I doubt I’ll have the weight for decent resistance on lat pull downs but it’ll do just fine for tricep building

Deadlift

125kg x 2
    135kg x 2
    145kg x 2
    155kg x 2
    165kg x 3

165 was feeling easy so I did an extra rep and tbh could’ve done another 2-3. I like how gravity is my friend sometimes.

Front squat 65kg x 3 x 6

Grand.

Dtp1979 wrote: »

Super easy

I was waiting for the recliner to pop out and take the legs from under you so I'm a bit disappointed right now but yeah, looked grand.

:disappointed:

I was waiting for the recliner to pop out and take the legs from under you so I'm a bit disappointed right now but yeah, looked grand.

:disappointed:

Haha that’d get me a few views on YouTube alright.
    It’s not a recliner though.

OHP

40kg x 2
    45kg x 2
    47.5kg x 2
    50kg x 2
    52.5kg x 2

Single hand Tricep push down 10kg x 3 x 8
    Db Rev fly 11kg x 3 x 12

I was feeling under the weather today so I’m happy I got anything done. Ohp is still moving along nicely. Prob had 2 more in the tank. Tried out my cable contraption. I have a variety of handles To work with. It’s basic but works ok.

Squat

Toe squats to 100kg x 3

115kg x 4
    125kg x 3
    135kg x 2
    145kg x 1
    155kg x 1

Life back to normal so I found it hard to did any time. I’ve tweaked a few things in my schedule to try make more time.

I was really off balance on the second rep at 115. Recovering it made the rest of the set a bjtch.
    125 moved fairly easy. 135 didn’t feel heavy at all. Yippee.
    145 was actually ok. I based that last single numbers off how the 145 was going to feel. That’s why I tackled 155.

That was the heaviest single in a long long time. A long time. The sounds outa me on the video. Good god. The last time I moved that kind of weight was during smolov Jnr, probably 2 years ago. I feel I’m weaker now than I was when I was consistently lifting but the numbers are contradicting me, at least in the squat. I’m still progressing despite the long stretch between workouts. That’s gonna catch up on me fairly soon though.

Single Leg extension 20kg x 3 x 15

I finally dug out my adjustable bench with the leg curl/extension device that I attached to it. Good pump in the quads walking away

Yaaaaaaa gwan ��

• Registered Users Posts: 4 bunny_

I sincerely admire people who can motivate themselves and have enough will power for just being better physically and mentally.

bunny_ wrote: »
    I sincerely admire people who can motivate themselves and have enough will power for just being better physically and mentally.

I wish it was easy every day.

There's a slight movement forward of the bar on the way up out of the hole that made it a lot harder than it would otherwise have been. Nicely held together after that as well.

I went into the lift over confident feeling I had 160 in the tank. I got some land coming out of the hole and it totally caught me off guard.

It was only a small thing but made a big difference. That didn't happen...160 was there.

They're fine margins...a tiny thing is out and the bar moves a fraction and amplifies the difficulty from there on

Bench press

70kg x 4
    75kg x 3
    77.5kg x 2
    80kg x 1
    82.5kg x 1

These got easier the heavier the weight. Technically they held together well too. No complaints.

T bar row 60kg x 3 x 12

Deadlift

Finally, after 3 failed attempts to get lifting, I manage it.

130kg x 4
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 2
    165kg x 1
    180kg x 1

Again I based the final lift off of how 165 felt. This was first time putting 8 blue 20kg plates on my bar. I was expecting a struggle but to my surprise it moved wayyyy easier than I ever thought it would. So happy I didn’t another single. My hips rose on the first one and I was trying to correct that on the second. The hips were slightly better on the second and it was a slower rep. Happy all the same.

My new pioneer adjustable lever came. Fitted the inzer belt perfectly. What a cool little piece of engineering.

Glute bridges 140kg x 4 x 10

I’ll be walking funny tomorrow. Videos to follow, or the lifts, not me walking funny

**EDIT : after writing the above I had a little spare time

Single Leg extensions 25kg x 3 x 12

Double leg curls 25kg x 3 x 10

Lever belt

Camera angle makes it look like just one plate each end...

Moved well though.

Should do with 60kg :pac:

Easy peasy