Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ending tencancy - Advice needed

Options
  • 19-12-2016 12:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20

Hello Folks,

I've been renting the same place for two years now and the contract has expired. I have now found a new place and need to give the landlord 56 days notice but of course I dont want to pay for rent if I wont be living in there.

What options do I have so I don't loose the deposit?
    Can I assign the letting to someone else?

Thanks,
    Nicolas

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

nikouy wrote: »
    Hello Folks,

I've been renting the same place for two years now and the contract has expired. I have now found a new place and need to give the landlord 56 days notice but of course I dont want to pay for rent if I wont be living in there.

What options do I have so I don't loose the deposit?
    Can I assign the letting to someone else?

Thanks,
    Nicolas

Your only option is to strike a deal with the landlord for the amount of rent due. But this as nothing to do with the deposit. You cannot just not pay the rent for two months and assume that the deposit covers this.

1. Either he finds a new tenant and agrees to only charge you rent for the period of time until the new tenant moves in.

2. He agrees to let you find a new tenant and he and agrees to only charge you rent for the period of time until the new tenant moves in.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Giving them the full notice and making sure the place is clean and undamaged when you give it back is the only sure way of not losing a deposit.