Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v7] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

I know all publicity (good or bad) is good publicity regardless, but the writers who genuinely thought they were writing this story in a positive manner must be really embarrassed by how the story developed. Surely, you must have some self respect and pride in your work, especially one like writing?

I think RTE or anyone affiliated have no self respect. They are brazen as brass. Money continously been spunked away on woeful writers, awful shows and mediocre presenters. RTE wont ever consider hiding behind a paywall because quite frankly no one will even miss it. Odd good programme here and there but overall its a mess. Too many lifers around the place and all part of a big clique

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I know all publicity (good or bad) is good publicity regardless, but the writers who genuinely thought they were writing this story in a positive manner must be really embarrassed by how the story developed. Surely, you must have some self respect and pride in your work, especially one like writing?

As powerful and all-encompassing as the RTE back-slapping and head-in-the-sand attitude towards any criticism is, even they must surely pick up on the fact that almost nobody liked last nights plothole-ridden episode and the radio, internet and forums and spitting bile about how crap it was. They really are talentless nobodies, these writers, and they should all be sacked but this being Ireland they wont.

P.S anyone who thinks kids would be affected by that crap, take off the feckin cotton wool and just sit them down and tell them its make believe (and crap). Kids are gonna see and feel much much worse in the playground than they are ever going to see in front of a show like FC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

FWIW, I think LoveHate and Emmett are actually two good actors but they can only work with the material. LH really should have stepped in and said that the cartoon villain characterisaton last night was far over the top. He obviously owns his capability so why not use it.

Apart from the dialogue and obviously the ridiculous actions of the character last night, I thought Emmett was good.

PS, of course I am referring to the actors when I say LoveHate and Emmet!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

As powerful and all-encompassing as the RTE back-slapping and head-in-the-sand attitude towards any criticism is, even they must surely pick up on the fact that almost nobody liked last nights plothole-ridden episode and the radio, internet and forums and spitting bile about how crap it was. They really are talentless nobodies, these writers, and they should all be sacked but this being Ireland they wont.

P.S anyone who thinks kids would be affected by that crap, take off the feckin cotton wool and just sit them down and tell them its make believe (and crap). Kids are gonna see and feel much much worse in the playground than they are ever going to see in front of a show like FC.

I think much of the criticism is coming from the fact they are dragging out the Katy storyline longer and longer. Last night would have been a good time to end it, but no, they have to milk it for another fortnight at least.

They've paced this storyline disastrously. All of this should have happened last autumn, compressed into a two or three month storyline maximum. Spending over a year on a single storyline with very little progression to it is nuts and is alienating the viewers.

Strazdas wrote: »
    I think much of the criticism is coming from the fact they are dragging out the Katy storyline longer and longer. Last night would have been a good time to end it, but no, they have to milk it for another fortnight at least.

They've paced this storyline disastrously. All of this should have happened last autumn, compressed into a two or three month storyline maximum. Spending over a year on a single storyline with very little progression to it is nuts and is alienating the viewers.

And the worst thing is, they don't seem to have a single thing to replace this storyline with. The other big storyline, The Plan, has wrapped up exactly the way everyone predicted it would, so all is left to watch is Katy re-adjusting to life on the outside and Rose getting Alzheimers. Its not good enough for what they are charging!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

And the worst thing is, they don't seem to have a single thing to replace this storyline with. The other big storyline, The Plan, has wrapped up exactly the way everyone predicted it would, so all is left to watch is Katy re-adjusting to life on the outside and Rose getting Alzheimers. Its not good enough for what they are charging!

I suspect this is the real problem. The only reason they are milking the Katy plot for all its worth and then some is that they have nothing to replace it with.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Ugh, seriously. No offence but I don't think many would be comfortable at even the mention of that. It is hardly viewer worthy, emotional, dramatic, or entertainment. What next, a lesson on the menstrual cycle.

Surely that's a joke?? A bra shopping storyline?? Oh COME ON!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭maurv1

According to RTE guide, Farrah is going to be quizzed by the garda as being involved in the whole kidnapping thing

• Registered Users Posts: 13,194 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Is LH psycho eyes going to start washing Immit's jocks now?!

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

maurv1 wrote: »
    According to RTE guide, Farrah is going to be quizzed by the garda as being involved in the whole kidnapping thing

She should be jailed for crimes of stupidness, naivety, ignorance and conspiracy to annoy the viewers.
    The fact she was willing to move away and start a family with a man she has never even inquired about the contents of his ever carried backpack, let alone where he is from etc shows that she is pretty stupid and she may be able to use the defence of insanity in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Blingy

She should be jailed for crimes of stupidness, naivety, ignorance and conspiracy to annoy the viewers.
    The fact she was willing to move away and start a family with a man she has never even inquired about the contents of his ever carried backpack, let alone where he is from etc shows that she is pretty stupid and she may be able to use the defence of insanity in court.

Lol. Well said !!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

FC producers know that when this storyline comes to an end, that means waving goodbye to a good chunk of their audience-myself included. It's like when you're a kid and you don't want to put any of your toys away because when they go, that means bed time, so you try and play for as long as you can. I can't wait to get this sh!t out of my life. I feel like I've been mentally hijacked for months.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

I can't STAND Kevin. I actually think he is somehow abusing Heather as well. He seems to be a very controlling young man. And I'm still convinced that Natalie is alive and well.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

anna080 wrote: »
    FC producers know that when this storyline comes to an end, that means waving goodbye to a good chunk of their audience-myself included. It's like when you're a kid and you don't want to put any of your toys away because when they go, that means bed time, so you try and play for as long as you can. I can't wait to get this sh!t out of my life. I feel like I've been mentally hijacked for months.

Anyone remember the loopy Lucy storyline that went on for 18+ months. The girl who played Lucy was superb, but it was never ending.

Well said. And don't forget it was Farrah who sniffed a rat when Heather was poisoning Ellie last year and she seems to have thrown away all her intelligence and commons sense by shacking up with a psycho who says nothing about himself, his family or his past and cant stay still for more than 3 seconds...

Were Katy's arms tied behind her back all evening in her smashing new apartment? That was a mightily uncomfortable night sleep if so!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

They used to reduce the number of episodes during the summer months but I don't think anyone would even notice if they did it this year.

Rose's alzheimers story will develop over the summer months but I don't think any soap actor or actress could do as good a job of it as Ashley in Emmerdale did.

Katy re-adjusting to the outside world should be interesting but as someone else suggested, they'll ship her off to see Rachel in Barcelona and that'll be it.

The worst part of all is that there's very little they can do with the characters that are there outside of what's been done already.

Possible predictions:

Tommy cheats on Debbie

Charlie gets diagnosed with multiple accent disorder

Natalie turns up alive

Kerry ann socialises with her husband

Sash and Dan

Cass gets arrested for cultivating marijuana

Dougs dancer comes back with a baby in tow

Pete hurts his back again..

Affairs, murders, seiges are done way too often...

They literally have nothing else they can do...

They used to reduce the number of episodes during the summer months but I don't think anyone would even notice if they did it this year.

Rose's alzheimers story will develop over the summer months but I don't think any soap actor or actress could do as good a job of it as Ashley in Emmerdale did.

Katy re-adjusting to the outside world should be interesting but as someone else suggested, they'll ship her off to see Rachel in Barcelona and that'll be it.

The worst part of all is that there's very little they can do with the characters that are there outside of what's been done already.

Possible predictions:

Tommy cheats on Debbie

Charlie gets diagnosed with multiple accent disorder

Natalie turns up alive

Kerry ann socialises with her husband

Sash and Dan

Cass gets arrested for cultivating marijuana

Dougs dancer comes back with a baby in tow

Pete hurts his back again..

Affairs, murders, seiges are done way too often...

They literally have nothing else they can do...

Don't forget:

Paul and Niamh could talk about leaving each other again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Entertaining enough 2 episodes I suppose but flawed. Ciaran's character has jumped from reluctant depressed kidnapper to a villain enjoying what he is at. Last night he went all Bond villain with Emmett captured and supposed to figure how the reason behind the whole thing.

Emmett's capture could drag this storyline on more. I'm sure Ciaran will tell Katy about this and lets her go with a warning that Emmett dies if she shops Ciaran. Ciaran will play mindgames of all sorts with Emmett with him eventually revealing the issue of his sister. The final twist may well be that the sister is still alive and Emmett always treated her well and it was her who disappeared.

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Paul and Niamh could talk about leaving each other again...

Don't forget:

There's millions of riveting stories ahead....

The "will they, won't they" excitement of Hayley and Dean

Mondos latest hair brained idea....

Laura not wanting children

Pete and damo well overdue another feud at this stage....

The Brazilian brothers n cathal seem to have disappeared too....oh just think of all the coffee shop hijinks ahead!

The return of oisin

Miriam's skill sharing nights

The list is endless!!

I think RTE or anyone affiliated have no self respect. They are brazen as brass. Money continously been spunked away on woeful writers, awful shows and mediocre presenters. RTE wont ever consider hiding behind a paywall because quite frankly no one will even miss it. Odd good programme here and there but overall its a mess. Too many lifers around the place and all part of a big clique

That is a good description of RTE. Most of the stuff on it sucks. Fair City may not be perfect but at least it is watchable and it sometimes can be good. I object to the amount of reality drivel mostly: the likes of Dragons Den, Stetsons and Stilettos, Room To Improve, all them The Voice of Ireland type shows, etc. The Late Late Tubridy Show is just a vehicle to promote all this tripe. I missed FC last week and it just shows us what was on instead: we were all supposed to sit back and watch (yet) another Louis Walsh protege get humiliated in the Eurovision semi-finals. The right song won the Eurovision this year but what will RTE do next year? Get yet another ex boyband singer to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

• Registered Users Posts: 33,749 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

People on liveline complaining about the violence when it it is the story lines that are the problem.
    I wouldn't have minded if someone had actually died on the soap...but it was not Emmett who was tortured, it was the viewers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Not plan I g any kidnaps...but where does one acquire chloroform from???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Not plan I g any kidnaps...but where does one acquire chloroform from???

Asking for a friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Maybe it's time for Fair City to downsize on script writers. 5 top notch people rather that the 42, or whatever it is, bungling idiots.

Sam Atwell (Kane Phiillips from Home and Away in the 2000s) has been script consultant since 2014, the nadir of the soap's existence since it started in 1989. Give him a one way ticket back to Australia. Whatever he's been paid is too much of tax payers' money. His role is contributing nothing to the storyline content.

I read about this Katy story getting abuse online and on Joe Duffy's show and don't get the hatred for it. Yes, this storyline has annoyed and frustrated me over the last while, and at times has also been genuinely entertaining. I know Ciaran's character is not well developed and one minute, he's acting like Blofeld and the next he is crippled by guilt. I know the story has gone on for too long and drifted from its roots.

I could think of far WORSE fare on RTE that deserves to be complained about. I'd watch FC whereas I don't watch Tubridy or D'Arcy unless they have something decent on (which is very rare these times). I abhor all these reality shows ranging from Stetsons and Stilettos to Dragon's Den. Only good thing is they toned down a lot of this political drivel like The Frontline and it was wise to get rid of this mess.

Staying in FC, I could also think of storylines that were much worse than the Katy one. Orla and the screeching baby, the Condors, Laura and the pills, and most of the stories involving that Nina one come to mind. Also, other storylines that could have been interesting were too quickly shut down. Dean and the fighting is an obvious one. At least, they made an effort to try something different with the Katy storyline. It is far from perfect, is inconsistent and is often poorly paced and thought out, but at least it is something different.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,498 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The two stories-sequels I'm praying for are Kelly's Bunions part II and another bag stolen from Nuss. Substitute story? Decco's other taillight broken..

We need to keep positive, guys. Great things will come our way. I just know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'd love to drag out paying my licence fee as long as they dragged out this tripe

RobertKK wrote: »
    People on liveline complaining about the violence when it it is the story lines that are the problem.
    I wouldn't have minded if someone had actually died on the soap...but it was not Emmett who was tortured, it was the viewers.

People complaining about violence and then RTE taking their views onboard is what has killed off good drama. Fair City's more violent storylines are the ones I remember best and liked. Look at that evil Bill Taylor, or Paddy Bishop or Billy Meehan. They were all good storylines.

I remember after almost every episode of Love/Hate, reading all the condemnations of violence. Love/Hate explored the violent world of gangland and did it properly. The series then was cancelled in 2014 and the dramas since then have been restrained and suffered as a result. If the likes of Striking Out, Rebellion and Clean Break were made in 2012, they'd be gritty and violent. Instead, these dramas suffered from a deliberate restraint and a policy of keeping violence to a minimum. The Orla and the screeching baby type stories in FC are also as a result of complaints made about violence. If one does not want to see violent shows like Love/Hate, don't watch them. If there is a violent episode of FC coming along, one does not have to watch it either. When those who complain about violence are listened to, things get toned down and this is when all the bad insipid stuff gets made.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,868 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

anna080 wrote: »

Also on social media, freekaty freeemmet keepemmet faircity all trending, it has everyone talking :p

Sorcha who plays Orla was on TV3's 6 O' Clock show tonight and the presenters were reading out tweets about Fair City Katy storyline I don't think she was happy