Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v7] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Just after catching up with last evening's episode. I assume now that Emmett escapes and tries to get Katy to go with him but she refuses to. Emmett and the others will come and there will be some sort of a standoff. That looks to be where they are heading with it. Ciaran most likely will be killed, will kill himself or will be arrested. New story for a while will be Katy missing him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Just after catching up with last evening's episode. I assume now that Emmett escapes and tries to get Katy to go with him but she refuses to. Emmett and the others will come and there will be some sort of a standoff. That looks to be where they are heading with it. Ciaran most likely will be killed, will kill himself or will be arrested. New story for a while will be Katy missing him.

If Emmet had any sense, he would tie Ciaran up, keeping his wound pressed on then call the Guards and ambulance straight away then Debbie and tell them all about it. But no doubt he will make a balls of it and leave Katy with an unstable and bleeding man who would be prone to killing Katy in panic.

I'm looking forward to the post-Katy storyline, how she copes, back in the real world, accepting Tommy and Debbie, the media interest, Deegan etc.

Danger is, they really don't have a major storyline to take the place of this one, its been going on well over a year now and its hard to see what take its place, I can see a LOT of people tuning out when this story is resolved.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

coolhull wrote: »
    I wish Emmet Braveheart would show as much courage as that wee babby!

It's beginning to look like an exciting week or two for us. :)

It's possible Leo will be elected Taoiseach and KT will be welcomed into the 'loving' arms of her family on the very same day......:

Though, judging by FC's leisurely, meandering pace over the past year, it's equally possible that Mick Wallace will be Taoiseach by the time KT is released back into the wild :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Well, fair play to ya, bottle, it only took you a week to solve the mystery of who was responsible for my short disappearance.
    You're obviously not a member of the Garda Squad in Carrigstown, 'cos if you were I'd have given up all hope....
    Yes, sadly, I too became a temporary victim of Ciarán the Carrigstown Crackpot.
    But only for a short period. And yes, I too was forced to drink that vile concoction.
    Though it turned out to be just Junior Calpol.
    Unlike Braveheart Emmet, it gave me the energy to bite my way through the plastic cable ties, then, using the stopper from the sink, I knocked down the walls of my cardboard 'cell' and escaped my captor.
    But before I left, I managed to 'borrow' a piece of paper that was sticking out of his backpack.
    It contained a long, long list of names.
    I don't really know how to tell you this, but the heading on the list was :
    * gulp *....
    "Baxtards who haf laffed at me on Boords.ie". (he never was good at spelling )
    Apparently I was just unlucky to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, nothing personal, but it looks as if he's out for revenge against most of you people on here. I don't remember all the names he'd written, but certainly on his hitlist were TB, Wanderer, Collie, Mena, Joe from Sligo, WalshB, Budgese, JP, and nearly all the rest of you out there. "Fookin' sh*t stirrers', I think is what he called you.
    Like I said, there were many more.
    It was a long list.
    A very long list......
    You know who you are.
    He seems to bear a particular grudge against Freshpopcorn, saying he would have gotten another year out this pantomime if it hadn't been for Freshie and his "bloody Facefcuk petition".
    Though in fairness, the list also mentions Builder Plumber, who Ciarán has a soft spot for, saying "he's the only one who ever tried to understand me".
    The rest of you guys out there, well, things ain't looking good for you. Lock your doors and windows, don't go walking in the park at night, and check underneath your cars for suspicious objects.
    Be afraid. Be very afraid..........

I haven't had a lot too smile about the last couple of days, I just let out a hearty laugh reading the above......Thanks for that Coolhull :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Wtf is all this talk about a leg ?

Don't know. I'm more of a breast man.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,086 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Wtf is all this talk about a leg ?

If you were a decitated fan of this thread you'd known.. Here...

Curtusy of Freshpopcorn. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭LushiousLips

Ciaran let himself in the front door. He showed Emmet the keys before he left. Rose was crossing the road and saw the front door open. (I think!)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

What exactly did Rose see that made her think she had seen Emmett?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Sparko

Sam Kade wrote: »

Utterly bizarre that he is filling in all the storyline gaps in an interview, rather than the writers actually writing it in! They spend weeks and weeks running more or less the same scenes over and over, yet somehow can't find space for a line about where the apartment appeared from, how Ciaran affords everything etc and instead rely on one of the cast to explain it..

That or he is in complete denial about how terrible it is and is grasping at straws when challenged.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,878 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Emmet must have a hell of a strong bladder. He was sitting on that kitchen chair since last Thursday. Unless he has a colostomy bag, he's some man!
    I was kind of relieved when he put that rolling pin down his trousers . After about five really weak attempts to overcome L/H over the past week , I was beginning to think he had nothing at all in his pants.

Ooh, the size of that big scary knife that Ciar?n was waving around! I think I have a more frightening potato peeler in my kitchen drawer.

I can't understand why that little baby in Rose's care would start bawling out on the street. Since the poor child was born, she's been out in the open air, being pushed up and down the street outside Vino's. Last February, Head'n'Shoulders even brought her out into the park in the pitch dark, and it never took a feather out of her.
    I wish Emmet Braveheart would show as much courage as that wee babby!

ROTFL :D

If Emmet had any sense, he would tie Ciaran up, keeping his wound pressed on then call the Guards and ambulance straight away then Debbie and tell them all about it. But no doubt he will make a balls of it and leave Katy with an unstable and bleeding man who would be prone to killing Katy in panic.

I'm looking forward to the post-Katy storyline, how she copes, back in the real world, accepting Tommy and Debbie, the media interest, Deegan etc.

Danger is, they really don't have a major storyline to take the place of this one, its been going on well over a year now and its hard to see what take its place, I can see a LOT of people tuning out when this story is resolved.

Of course what you explained is what I'd do in the situation. Of course, Emmett will run and get Eoghan, Debbie and Tommy to come and a standoff will take place with Ciaran and Katy perhaps in cahoots against those on the outside. Ciaran will give all types of threats.

There could be a lull in storylines for the summer then as often can happen and nothing much happening. There will be Wayne/Orla story about what they do post-garage. Then more Paul and Niamh with Paul setting up some new venture. Maybe Paul and Oisin in business together. Let's hope they can have something with Cathal. Let's hope we don't see annoying Nina, the Condors, Pete v Damian, etc.

The main story will remain with Katy for a time tied in with Rose's dementia as well. Katy will find it hard to adjust and will be shown to be missing Ciaran.

A lot depends too what they do with the Ciaran character. Is he to be killed off or will he be in prison, on the run, or what? If they bring the Tessa character into it, I assume they will keep Ciaran alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

The actor who plays Emmett has said the mysterious leg from last night was Ciaran's when he was jumping the wall to get into the O'Brien's garden!

How the fook would Emmet know? He was in the kitchen sellotaped to a chair!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Rfrip

How the fook would Emmet know? He was in the kitchen sellotaped to a chair!

So so funny... you make it all worthwhile coolhull :)

With the Katy story as we know it near its end at this stage, in many ways I think we are all going to miss it. Sure it was frustrating and drove me round the bend at times while others found it a very disturbing storyline but it also provided many decent and some excellent episodes.

Compared to what immediately preceded the Katy story, it was certainly a massive step in the right direction. In the period between the Cathal/Debbie story and the Katy story, FC was at its very worst. Silly stories like the Condors, various revivals of Pete and Damian fighting, Laura taking pills, Kerrie Ann's wedding planning and so on hardly was compelling viewing. The most exciting story then was Ama's mistreatment of Doug. One story that was seemed to be thought about was one between Katy and Stella (possibly a transgender one) but this seemed to have been dropped in favour of Katy's kidnap. Stella was a suspect for a time but she just dropped out of it.

I think that FC is at its best when we have a deranged psychotic character in it. I think Lucy is a character who should be revived. I once knew a person very similar to her and even from the same place as her. A person like her would be very likely to revisit the people she knew. You could have Lucy getting involved with dangerous people.

The one thing with the Katy story is it was different. It went against all the rules of the quick wrap up and it was a story not done on FC before. Flawed it most certainly was but it was different and it is good to see FC or any soap get away from the typical affair type story.

With the Katy story as we know it near its end at this stage, in many ways I think we are all going to miss it. Sure it was frustrating and drove me round the bend at times while others found it a very disturbing storyline but it also provided many decent and some excellent episodes.

Compared to what immediately preceded the Katy story, it was certainly a massive step in the right direction. In the period between the Cathal/Debbie story and the Katy story, FC was at its very worst. Silly stories like the Condors, various revivals of Pete and Damian fighting, Laura taking pills, Kerrie Ann's wedding planning and so on hardly was compelling viewing. The most exciting story then was Ama's mistreatment of Doug. One story that was seemed to be thought about was one between Katy and Stella (possibly a transgender one) but this seemed to have been dropped in favour of Katy's kidnap. Stella was a suspect for a time but she just dropped out of it.

I think that FC is at its best when we have a deranged psychotic character in it. I think Lucy is a character who should be revived. I once knew a person very similar to her and even from the same place as her. A person like her would be very likely to revisit the people she knew. You could have Lucy getting involved with dangerous people.

The one thing with the Katy story is it was different. It went against all the rules of the quick wrap up and it was a story not done on FC before. Flawed it most certainly was but it was different and it is good to see FC or any soap get away from the typical affair type story.

I really admire your input and dedication to FC, you're really focused and know what's going on, you, along with others on here should be employed by FC to keep the storylines on track, because I don't think they have any continuity people... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

We were robbed of a decent payout of somebody logically and dramatically finding out about LH & his dungeon. It was a BS way for Eoghan to find out followed by bumbling about from one location to the next.

How can they end this wont be a total sh*t show. There's so many factors but I suspect they'll blitz it. No way on earth is LH living long enough to go on trial. He's dead or straight to prison, never seen again. KT will arrive home and we wont see her for a while, she's nearly due back on a break in the rota

• Registered Users Posts: 86,878 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Spotted Dominic and Angela on Red Rock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭The Parish Priest.

I have an idea for an interesting fresh storyline for fc, a popular long-term character gets caught with child pornography and admits to having paedophile urges

How many writers do RedRock have?.. I've never watched it but going by the promos it does look like a good drama, all without a licence fee! And Rte want to double the TV license fee... I hope you'll all get out and protest if they do try to increase it, I'll throw me telly out the window if that happened.

I have an idea for an interesting fresh storyline for fc, a popular long-term character gets caught with child pornography and admits to having paedophile urges

Ha, that will never happen.. Unless they bring in a newcomer/stranger, can't see any of the regulars taking on that role.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Barry O Hanlon as soon as he gets out of jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭The Parish Priest.

Ha, that will never happen.. Unless they bring in a newcomer/stranger, can't see any of the regulars taking on that role.

That's the problem with fair ****ty, it's so safe and predictable.

I think this would be an interesting story though am unsure if they would do it with a regular. They'd bring in a new character. Suppose it was a boyfriend of Heather's who everyone trusts and who takes advantage of Heather's vulnerability to do damage to Ellie.

How many writers do RedRock have?.. I've never watched it but going by the promos it does look like a good drama, all without a licence fee! And Rte want to double the TV license fee... I hope you'll all get out and protest if they do try to increase it, I'll throw me telly out the window if that happened.

I know this is outside the scope of this threat, but I do have massive issues with RTE. FC is one of the few watchable things on it. While FC has way too many scriptwriters, this is the tip of the iceberg in RTE. Look at all these so-called 'stars' it has like Tubridy, Joe Duffy, Ray D'Arcy, Marion Finnucane, etc. All on 100s of 1000s a year. Look at the amount of people involved in every programme.

Then loads of money are pumped into tame, restrained dramas like Rebellion which was both expensive to make and a flop. While watchable, this drama would not be something I'd buy on DVD because it was tame, drawn out and boring. FC when it tries is streets ahead of the likes of Rebellion ironically.

If the licence few was increased, it would be time to mount a protest. Why do we have to pay for the likes of Tubridy's salary or raise funds for half baked dramas or woeful reality programmes. Why do we have to pay a licence fee for RTE to promote singers and comedians most of us don't even like but who have the ear of the elite. RTE makes programmes for the limited abilities of its 'stars' often and it shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

There's a link on the RYE website where you can send in script ideas for Fair City. Plus they hold an open day for visiting once a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,038 ✭✭✭Hitchens

the Leg being hotly tipped for an IFTA :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

The synopsis for next Tuesdays episode shows that Ciaran still isn't arrested. Has Rose been writing some of the scripts.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Spotted Dominic and Angela on Red Rock

The difference in their acting from Fair City to Red Rock is incredible. It goes to show what a well written character can do for an actor/actress.