Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v7] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭sjb25

Why have I been watching this bolloxology

• Registered Users Posts: 34 kiero111

I think renee needs to give it to Farrah when she gets home

• Registered Users Posts: 23,799 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

nagdefy wrote: »
    Hot lady dectective. Why can't we have her permanently instead of Deegan?!

And nice new female garda :) Not much of an actress, but it's Fair City, won't hold it against her.

Elena was cute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Honest question: has there ever before been a FC story line which has lasted as long with such little progression between episodes?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

They shouldn't have killed Ciaran off. Would've been more interesting if he stayed and they brought his sister into it..they still might but what would be the point now, it'd be lose any impact

• Registered Users Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Rfrip

Oh my f£cking god....

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Off goes the mother there. Sure no big deal her daughter has only been missing the last year

• Registered Users Posts: 33,749 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

lol on the Ray Darcy show to talk about the awful story lines they were given.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    They shouldn't have killed Ciaran off. Would've been more interesting if he stayed and they brought his sister into it..they still might but what would be the point now, it'd be lose any impact

He might not be dead. I think they'll find nothing during the dive and just assume he's swept out to sea, but it'll leave the door open for a possible return for him in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭sjb25

Rfrip wrote: »
    Oh my f£cking god....

...jaysus!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,799 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

RobertKK wrote: »
    lol on the Ray Darcy show to talk about the awful story lines they were given.

If I was even an extra given that rubbish I'd refuse to do it. Dignity would stop me.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I had to laugh when Debbie and Eoghan automatically believed Emmet raped and stole from Tessa so kicked him out!!! :pac::pac: What nonsense!!

Fair City would want to sort their lighting rig out. Katie lying there at the end and it looked like early morning, but Debbie walking out the door and it's clearly around midnight.

She's been waiting a year for news about her missing daughter, she finally gets home and straight away 'right i'll be off'!!! :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

So the bets start now, people: Do you think D'Arcy will say ONE negative thing about the storyline about how people found it dragged out or the petition etc or will it be a non-stop back slapping ego feeder using descriptions like "the most gripping FC story ever" and "the audience lapped up the tension". I actually think, given the overwhelmingly annoyed mood of the audience the last few months, he HAS to mention how dragged out it got!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭A_smurf

The whole storyline has just been a shambles, especially the point about Katy being freed and going back home. So she turns up randomly in Carrigstown at the start of the episode. What an anti-climax (not that I was expecting it to end halfway decently anyway)!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

So with no food nor money she treks from Santry to Dun Laoghaire and back to Carraigstown...not a chance to pass a phone, dial 999.

Now is there going to be a campaign to take down all the Katy posters?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

No doubt the Darcy show will describe it as the storyline that has gripped the nation for a year now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Did FC do gritty crime drama better in the Billy Meehan days, or are people looking at that era with rose tinted glasses ? Every crime story/ villain they have done recently quickly turns into a Scooby doo show caricature, Flynn, Cathal, and now Ciaran

Billy Meehan and Terrence from his days 1996-97 and 2007-2008 were excellent. The time he held Lou hostage around 1997 was excellent. He did split persona, charming to maniac, really well.

Terence (Terry McMahon) below. With his semi yank accent.
    092_d0cd1b5eb047fd12b3146fae10d1d2bc3c84377c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

I felt like smacking Katie tonight the way she was going on blaming her Mam and Emmet for everything after all they've been through while she's been missing especially Emmet who was going to kill himself for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

And where are Tommy and Debbie living? How can Eoghan afford rent on his earnings from a phone cover shop?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Billy Meehan and Terrence from his days 1996-97 and 2007-2008 were excellent. The time he held Lou hostage around 1997 was excellent. He did split persona, charming to maniac, really well.

Is that Ray D'Arcy chatting to Terrence? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Hot lady dectective. Why can't we have her permanently instead of Deegan?!

And nice new female garda :) Not much of an actress, but it's Fair City, won't hold it against her.

Well if we put the two of them in...
    RobertKK wrote: »
    a filthy interview room.

And make...
    a cheap porno

We would have something worth watching. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I think that FC was more daring back in those days. Billy Meehan, Terence, Marty Halpin, Pete Flanagan, and others were pure evil. Ciaran was not meant to be evil but more mixed up. In the end he was more to be pitied. If he was pure evil I don't think Katy would have helped him at all.

The Katy story had its ups and downs, was largely uneven, moved slowly and certainly could have been way better. The same could be said about the underuse of Cathal. Part of the reason for this is because FC's current writers and its preceding storylines often were tame fare. That's because an attitude of restraint seemed to be at play in RTE. Pre-Katy/Ciaran, we must remember it was all Laura's pill popping, Pete v Damian, the Condors, Orla and the screeching baby, Doug's relationship with Ama, Kerry Ann's wedding plans, and other such harmless stories. Going from these to a violent storyline would be a shift for them and they were not ready for it.

Shakyfan wrote: »
    Is that Ray D'Arcy chatting to Terrence? :D

Ha ha! A live interview! D'arcy must be bricking it!!

I think it's Malachy the ex priest.

Well if we put the two of them in...

And make...

We would have something worth watching. :D

Excellent! Everyone's on top form here tonight despite the miserable fare. Must be the sunshine:D

• Registered Users Posts: 56,498 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ha, D'Arcy...the only thing more ridiculous than Fairly Sh1tty!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

I think that FC was more daring back in those days. Billy Meehan, Terence, Marty Halpin, Pete Flanagan, and others were pure evil. Ciaran was not meant to be evil but more mixed up. In the end he was more to be pitied. If he was pure evil I don't think Katy would have helped him at all.

i think they were just piggybacking off of what eastenders and corrie were doing back then. richard hillman, trevor beating little mo...they wanted to emulate that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,803 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

what a lot of bollox - first thing they would have done when the guards found her in the street like that is get Katie to hospital, plus emergency psychiatric help! not leave it a day or 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,803 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

oh dear we really are seeing the ugly side of Farrah!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,626 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

amtc wrote: »
    And where are Tommy and Debbie living? How can Eoghan afford rent on his earnings from a phone cover shop?

When did he last even go to work?
    What ever happened to Miriam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Robsweezie wrote: »
    i think they were just piggybacking off of what eastenders and corrie were doing back then. richard hillman, trevor beating little mo...they wanted to emulate that.

I think that Marty Halpin was certainly inspired by Richard Hillman. FC and other soaps tend to copy each other and copy other popular films and series too. I think this still happens. I'm sure Room provided the inpsiration for the Ciaran/Katy story.