Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v7] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Is that part about Kane from H&A being script consultant for the show real,or a joke?
    If true it would explain alot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

It was nothing strong Wanderer, I literally asked her to acknowledge the fact she won't attempt to free herself. All TV stars and movie stars acknowledge viewers input. It was merely a you can say anything to me but nothing negative. Is that right in your mind from someone who gets paid through licence fee? It was one tweet in response to a tweet where she blowed on about thetop writing behind the plot, I'll show you it. If you think that's worthy of blocking, that's your perogative of course!

And your use of the word "attacking" is harsh!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I just don't think you were ever going to get any other response than blocked, they are probably trained to do it. Licence fee? We are watching it 4 times a week no complaint they don't care about us ha ha.I would love to tell Ray D'Arcy what a talentless and unfunny presenter he is but I know it would just be blocked. And I don't know if any of the cast members come here, we really cant prove that, just speculate.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,179 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

It was nothing strong Wanderer, I literally asked her to acknowledge the fact she won't attempt to free herself. All TV stars and movie stars acknowledge viewers input. It was merely a you can say anything to me but nothing negative. Is that right in your mind from someone who gets paid through licence fee? It was one tweet in response to a tweet where she blowed on about thetop writing behind the plot, I'll show you it. If you think that's worthy of blocking, that's your perogative of course!

Trust me, you couldn't criticise a bar person in the RTE sports and social club without being cast out to the desert of TV land. You do know that twitter and lots of social media are filled full of RTE "supporters" who specialise in back slapping. Those supporters either work there, are related to those who work there or tend to be friends or relations to the said actors/presenters.

I think you should post the details of the tweets.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Trust me, you couldn't criticise a bar person in the RTE sports and social club without being cast out to the desert of TV land. You do know that twitter and lots of social media are filled full of RTE "supporters" who specialise in back slapping. Those supporters either work there, are related to those who work there or tend to be friends or relations to the said actors/presenters.

I think you should post the details of the tweets.

Yeah go on, what did you say, it would be interesting to see it. And remember I actually AGREE with you about Katy just being stupid to accept her situation, I just don't think bringing that opinion to the official RTE lines will end in anything but blocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Sparko

I know probing it too much is just asking for trouble, but let's say it's 800k that was stolen, less 100k for the passports, then less 400k to Niamh, leaves 300k, then presumably a bit of that went on the medication Dermot needs.

Does Dermot own his house? If so, then he's leaving behind an asset that must be worth as much as he has left of the cash..

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭flowerbattle

Cheers to the Daily Edge for reminding me where I knew The Ram from!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭threetrees

I tried hard to follow the plan, all the twists and turns and people who are getting a cut, then it got confusing and now it's plain ridiculous. I'm tuning out at every scene about the plan now. It is one of the most boring stories and yet I'm quite sure Niamh and Paul will remain in the show and most probably as a couple.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,179 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Yeah go on, what did you say, it would be interesting to see it. And remember I actually AGREE with you about Katy just being stupid to accept her situation, I just don't think bringing that opinion to the official RTE lines will end in anything but blocking.

That post is actually for TTB.:D

I'm only passing through with a comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭je551e

so Dermot dies per the synopsis on sky

je551e wrote: »
    so Dermot dies per the synopsis on sky

Wow. Only "credible" exit at this stage.

Link

• Registered Users Posts: 18,857 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

She may have felt you were criticising her in some way. She is unlikely to agree with a tweet that suggests the storyline of her character is not written particularly well. The fact that she doesn't know you would probably be a factor, she doesn't know where you are coming from or what your agenda is, so perhaps she simply viewed your tweet as a critical or negative one.

Wow. Only "credible" exit at this stage.

Link
    Tuesday: Dermot meanwhile faces up to life on the run.

Wednesday: Paul fights back against Dermot, whose health takes a worrying turn.

Thursday: The escape plan hits a roadblock. Violence erupts in the Brennan house when Oisin finds a new weapon against Dermot and there is a heartbreaking farewell for Jane.

Sunday: Callum struggles to get Ben and Jane to accept that Dermot is gone for good. Paul learns that his money is irretrievable.

That's the Sky descriptions for the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,857 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Sparko wrote: »

Thursday: The escape plan hits a roadblock. Violence erupts in the Brennan house when Oisin finds a new weapon against Dermot and there is a heartbreaking farewell for Jane.

Sunday: Callum struggles to get Ben and Jane to accept that Dermot is gone for good. Paul learns that his money is irretrievable.

That sounds like.....
    ......Dermot has merely done a runner with the money, as per 'the plan'

Could mean Oisin will use Callum to guilt trip/persuade Jane to stay I anticipate. And then Jane (who startd communicating with Dermissshhh a few weeks ago has to make a heartbreaking choice to let him go to Cavan.
    "Paul learns the money is irretrievable"...:
    Absolute nonsense, no way that money isn't traceable to Niamh and no way the Gardai/Criminal investigators/ bank would make an acknowledgement of the fact it is irretrievable a few hours after a very sick man had abandoned his home and kids on the run.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,598 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

What ever happened to Garda Frank Maguire? I sort of liked him.

Strazdas wrote: »
    That sounds like.....

I was fully expecting that he'd be back to drinking pints with Paul and the other locals within a few months, so if he actually leaves the show,
    dead or alive,
    I'll be surprised anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭je551e

Well I gathered
    from it now that he was dead because there's no way he would leave his son but this is Fair City after all

je551e wrote: »
    Well I gathered
    from it now that he was dead because there's no way he would leave his son but this is Fair City after all

Sure Look It left her very ill kid and sent him home from the medical team that were caring for him because she hooked up with his doctor after a few weeks. She also abandoned the other kid she fought for years to adopt/foster

Dermissshhhh is leaving Zoe because she happens to be away

So I think its very likely
    Dermissshhh will abandon Ben
    and Jane will adopt him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Cheers to the Daily Edge for reminding me where I knew The Ram from!

The Ram was also in the film Once 2007. He worked in the recording studio when Hansard and Irglova were recording.

nagdefy wrote: »
    The Ram was also in the film Once 2007. He worked in the recording studio when Hansard and Irglova were recording.

The Ram has been inside a lot of "places"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Talk about a putting a cat among the pidgeons:D

nagdefy wrote: »
    Talk about a putting a cat among the pidgeons:D

hqdefault.jpg

cat-breed-landing-hero.ashx

cute-pigeons-2-flickzzz-com-019-768559.jpg?w=584

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Strazdas wrote: »
    That sounds like.....
    Does this mean that Paul and Oisin kill Dermot? I predicted that if Dermot dies it would be this way. It looks like Oisin gets violent towards Dermot but will Dermot die from complications of this and his condition or does Dermot escape to his new life or die in a car crash trying to get away from Paul?

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭hungrypig

I think what would help a lot about the balance issue you mention is a mutual agreement of us fans in this thread posting questions to the "Boards.ie Talking to Head of FC Scriptwriters". We would have to approach it politely and not knock them straight away on everything, just calmly outline the plotholes that ruin the show like Paul not checking his account or a foster service that is ok with a young girl spending months in the Galapogas whilst her foster dad is on deaths door and the writer/producer would have to come to the Q&A session with an open mind and willing to accept criticism. Cant see that happening though.

I'm not surprised she blocked you, what did you expect? For her to say "'you are bang on, I'm very annoyed Katy hasn't tried to escape".She has a boss like all of us so she has to box clever and portray a 100% positive spin on the show, that's probably part of their duties, to promote the show on social media. Of course they aren't going to entertain negative comments and they are trained in how to react to these. Remember she is handed the script and has to work with the material, you are attacking the wrong person there. She may even hate her character and her actions privately.

I would like to think in a country as tiny as Ireland and with no other outlet besides the official gushing FB and Twitter sites, that the actors like to have a little peek at this incredibly honest and raw thread which describes exactly what a lot of people actually think of the show. Maybe some people like watching to see how bad it can get but I never understood that concept- surely there are better ways to spend time? I don't like pizza but I'm not going to eat it 4 times a week just to confirm I don't like it...

No. FC can, every now and then, and I mean rarely, when the right actors, scriptwriters and plot align perfectly, be absolutely BRILLIANT and downright award-winning. I'm talking when Heather started to crumble, when Katy almost got out and even recently when Heather almost died, that could rival any drama on the planet. Sadly that high is always followed by a depressing months long low of grumpy builders, steroid addiction and American burlesque dancers, so in that respect I'm always chasing the first high of "Quality FC". I don't think The Plan is up to that calibre though! :P

Well said úna

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭hungrypig

Firstly its ok to watch fair city and enjoy it as light entertainment ( and a very guilty pleasure) but to acknowledge the many glaring failures in the script writing and poor acting.
    Anyone who pays for a TV licence has a right to express an opinion about fair city given the budget it takes to produce.
    The amount of inaccuracies and appalling lack of basic research is a complete joke. The apparent forgetfullness of a ridiculously big team of writers who change the course of plotlines and ignore previous events/ facts written by other script writers .
    Story lines about dermots miraculous recovery from cancer that had spread everywhere from a super speedy transplant are a f###ing insult to anyone who has had or needs a liver transplant.
    This is essentially a public funded project. They have a responsibility to do their jobs well.
    I love this for the light hearted hilarious thread that it is but sometimes the spectacular amount of flaws / inaccuracies and poorly researched plots that drag on for years makes me annoyed at the way tax payers money is spent

hungrypig wrote: »
    Firstly its ok to watch fair city and enjoy it as light entertainment ( and a very guilty pleasure) but to acknowledge the many glaring failures in the script writing and poor acting.
    Anyone who pays for a TV licence has a right to express an opinion about fair city given the budget it takes to produce.
    The amount of inaccuracies and appalling lack of basic research is a complete joke. The apparent forgetfullness of a ridiculously big team of writers who change the course of plotlines and ignore previous events/ facts written by other script writers .
    Story lines about dermots miraculous recovery from cancer that had spread everywhere from a super speedy transplant are a f###ing insult to anyone who has had or needs a liver transplant.
    This is essentially a public funded project. They have a responsibility to do their jobs well.
    I love this for the light hearted hilarious thread that it is but sometimes the spectacular amount of flaws / inaccuracies and poorly researched plots that drag on for years makes me annoyed at the way tax payers money is spent

Totally agree , couldn't have put it better myself !

• Registered Users Posts: 56,244 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Paulio's money is irretrievable; yes, because in FC land that "ctrl alt steal" button cannot be undone, even with "ctrl alt where's me money" button...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

hungrypig wrote: »

I agree with a lot of this. First off I do enjoy Fair City by and large and it is one of the better programmes on RTE. It is not perfect and there are a lot of poor storylines and poor characters (maybe or maybe not poor actors but some of the characters only get poor stories so hard to judge).

As a TV tax payer I think we do have the right to criticise not just FC but all TV our money goes to fund and we deserve a say as well. Some audiences are not catered for at all.

WRT the Dermot storyline. While interesting I agree it was poorly handled. His illness was secondary and very secondary to the plot of him colluding with Niamh and the others to rob Paul. We never saw Dermot hopelessly upset or in declining health. He was more or less the same as always moodwise. I always knew he was going to survive this illness as that was not the main story. I am not from a medical background but his transplant would take a lot longer to get over and Dermot is acting like a man in full health. Now is seems that
    Dermot will get into a fight with Oisin and will be left for dead from reading between the lines. He may or may not die or he or may not get out of the country but it seems Jane and Ben lose him forever

I think they rush into stories before really thinking them through especially when someone suddenly leaves (example in case being Jo Fahy). Whatever storylines were there for Dermot and Jo (that laundery and things to do with Ben being the main ones) have to go and then Dermot has to be reinvented and/or written out. They tried the current story although interesting it is full of holes.