Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Python issue

Options
  • 22-12-2016 10:57am
    #1
    Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭


    Hi all,

    First of all, sorry if this is on the wrong forum, mods, feel free to move it necessary.

    Basically, I'm trying to get my amazon echo dot to work in conjunction with Kodi on my raspberry pi, I'm following the instructions here.

    All is going fine until i run "C:\Python27\Scripts\lambda-deploy.exe deploy" (under step 4) and i get the following output:

    uwIyDav.png

    Any ideas how to set the region, sorry if this seems like a simple problem. I'm running the process on a virtual machine (Win7) on the same subnet as the Pi running Kodi, but getting the exact same issue if i run it on a physical Win10 machine.

    Any feedback welcome.


Comments

  • Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham


    Do you have to set a region in a config file somewhere?

    Edit:

    Yes, check your .env file. I'm guessing it's either not found/readable or the value for the region isn't set.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001


    Thanks for the quick response, below is the .env file, region is set to "us-east-1" but i also get the same output if i set it to "GM"
    # The Kodi webserver only supports HTTP.
    # Uncomment KODI_SCHEME to tell the skill to use https between AWS and your local network
    # (only use if you have already set this up with your own certificates)
    #
    # KODI_SCHEME = https

    # If using a reverse proxy you might need to add an extra bit to the url before "jsonrpc"
    # You can do this with KODI_SUBPATH (don't use slashes before or after)
    #
    # KODI_SUBPATH =

    KODI_ADDRESS = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    KODI_PORT = xxxxx
    KODI_USERNAME = xxxxxxxxxxx
    KODI_PASSWORD = xxxxxxxxxxxx

    SKILL_APPID =

    # Your local time zone for responses that include absolute times.
    # See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_tz_database_time_zones
    #
    # For example, if you are in the Eastern US time zone, you would use:
    # SKILL_TZ = US/Eastern
    #
    # Leave empty or undefined (commented out) if you don't need or want absolute
    # time responses. An example is asking when the currently playing item will
    # end. If you have SKILL_TZ defined, it will also tell you the wall-clock
    # time when the item will conclude.
    #SKILL_TZ = US/Eastern

    LAMBDA_ENV_VARS = KODI_SCHEME,KODI_ADDRESS,KODI_PORT,KODI_SUBPATH,KODI_USERNAME,KODI_PASSWORD,SKILL_APPID,SKILL_TZ

    AWS_DEFAULT_REGION = us-east-1
    LAMBDA_TIMEOUT = 60
    LAMBDA_MEMORY_SIZE = 128
    LAMBDA_HANDLER = wsgi.lambda_handler

    AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    LAMBDA_ROLE = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


  • Registered Users Posts: 20 psalm69


    Try AWS region: eu-west-1


  • Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham


    Apologies if this is an obvious question, what's the name of your .env file?


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001


    psalm69 wrote: »
    Try AWS region: eu-west-1

    Thanks, same result unfortunately :(


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001


    Graham wrote: »
    Apologies if this is an obvious question, what's the name of your .env file?

    Sorry, I missed your post, there actually is no name, just .env, should I rename it to something? See below.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/3HHWp


  • Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham


    davo2001 wrote: »
    Sorry, I missed your post, there actually is no name, just .env, should I rename it to something? See below.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/3HHWp

    Nope, .env is correct.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001


    Dang, anyone have any other ideas?


  • Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭CSSE09


    I have no experience in what your doing but when I'm certain the env var is correct I'd try adding single quotes on to your region string 'eu-west-1'


  • Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn


    davo2001 wrote: »
    Sorry, I missed your post, there actually is no name, just .env, should I rename it to something? See below.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/3HHWp

    It looks like you have file extensions hidden. The file in the zip is called .env.lambda and in your screenshot it's showing as a "LAMBDA file".

    You should rename it to .env.
    ren .env.lambda .env
    


  • Advertisement
  • Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham


    Rockn wrote: »
    It looks like you have file extensions hidden. The file in the zip is called .env.lambda and in your screenshot it's showing as a "LAMBDA file".

    You should rename it to .env.
    ren .env.lambda .env
    

    Well spotted you.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001


    Rockn wrote: »
    It looks like you have file extensions hidden. The file in the zip is called .env.lambda and in your screenshot it's showing as a "LAMBDA file".

    You should rename it to .env.
    ren .env.lambda .env
    

    Thanks very much, that seems to have resolved the issue. Much appreciated. :D


  • Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham


    Quick tip - Un-hide file extensions. If you're developing, it's always useful to know what you're working with.


Advertisement