Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U2 Joshua Tree Tour 2017 / 2019 **No Ticket Sales**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Any predictions? I reckon we might see A Sort of Homecoming, and perhaps a brand new song. Might even stretch the setlist to 23 or 24 songs!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,410 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Wooderson wrote: »
    U2 Brothr is a loon but a likeable loon.

hes seems a nice guy but could turn nasty if things are not going his way, Hes a teacher apperently

I wonder will a certain Mr Brooks get wind of these shows happening and release a statement saying 'how impressed he was with the shows and wants too play Ireland as soon as he can' Cant believe that fiasco was 3 years ago

Sadly a possible Christy Dignam apperence is unlikely saturday as Aslan are playing in Tipp the same night

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Any predictions? I reckon we might see A Sort of Homecoming, and perhaps a brand new song. Might even stretch the setlist to 23 or 24 songs!

Are they filming the show in Dublin?

not that im aware but would be so cool if they did

i reckon one of the US shows was prob recorded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭q2xv9rjei4awgb

HA!

As if!

Wouldn't get the full affect of the lighting etc. More than likely, if anything is filmed, it'll be in South America

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭secondrowgal

What's allowed and what's not:

Leave your garden furniture at home folks!! :D

http://www.dublinlive.ie/whats-on/music-nightlife-news/coldplay-u2-croke-park-backpacks-13279443

The full list of items banned from Croke Park includes:

Large backpacks and rucksacks

Umbrellas

Garden furniture or seats

Food

Banners or flags larger than A4 size

Laser pointers

Glowsticks

Flashlights

Inflatable balls or balloons

Weapons

Fireworks

Glass or cans

Alcohol

Studs and spikes

Selfie sticks

Cameras with more than 1’’ lens

Video cameras and audio recording devices

Rumours of it. They were apparently doing a test rig at a recent show, with loads more cameras and increased lighting, as if they were sizing up for a full shoot in the coming weeks.

What's allowed and what's not:

Leave your garden furniture at home folks!! :D

http://www.dublinlive.ie/whats-on/music-nightlife-news/coldplay-u2-croke-park-backpacks-13279443

The full list of items banned from Croke Park includes:

Large backpacks and rucksacks

Umbrellas

Garden furniture or seats

Food

Banners or flags larger than A4 size

Laser pointers

Glowsticks

Flashlights

Inflatable balls or balloons

Weapons

Fireworks

Glass or cans

Alcohol

Studs and spikes

Selfie sticks

Cameras with more than 1’’ lens

Video cameras and audio recording devices

So I can bring my lightsaber then?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,991 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Being the only show in Dublin I expect some on stage presence & duets from someone.... god knows who, but I definately think we will be in for a treat or even 2!

Seve OB wrote: »
    Being the only show in Dublin I expect some on stage presence & duets from someone.... god knows who, but I definately think we will be in for a treat or even 2!

Noel Gallagher id say, maybe Glen Hansard, Imelda May or someone else. Might be no duet

hopefully not that drag queen again

PTH2009 wrote: »

Harsh on Bono tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭lambayire

I wouldn't be expecting anything different than what's been played so far.

Have they ventured past 23 songs yet?

A Sort Of Homecoming would be very likely.

Has the media build-up for this one been quite low key so far?

large.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,837 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Dublin Airport today ,the boys are back in town !

c925183d1716af03c6e63064945d9d48.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭mrk75

I'd say he's never even listened to a full U2 album. Too busy making costumes and documentaries about himself.
    The guy I know back home who's a bit of fanatic like that (i.e. attends loads of gigs, always in the queue early doors to get a prime spot) has a daughter the same age as the daughter of another guy I know. Anyway, the two girls are being driven somewhere by the other guy and he puts on the new Joshua Tree live CD in the car.

He asks the girls do they recognise "Streets..." and neither has a clue - including the daughter of said fanatic who you would assume would be playing their music on a fairly regular basis in the house, in the car, etc...

Spoke volumes for me....!

Noel Gallagher id say, maybe Glen Hansard, Imelda May or someone else. Might be no duet

Glen would be epic. Noel cool, but I doubt it, he did London, but not unlikely. I'm not a fan of Imelda, but will give her credit as she is a very good singer and would be well received.

Shane McGowan gets my vote :D
    Harsh on Bono tbf

Why, I mean WTF getting that yoke up on stage.

Veloce wrote: »
    It must get qware annoying for Bono and the lads seeing the same people up the front row at every gig.

I was about 3 people back from the barrier for the second Dublin gig during the I&E tour. Standing over on Adam's side. Some girl was there waving some box and a poster/banner at Adam all night. Now towards the end, Adam's partner was there standing over to the side of the stage. She comes over and accepts the giftbox from her, it had all random sh!t in it like Barry's Tea and all sorts. Couldn't believe it. It was gas as Adam was doing his best to avoid eye contact with her all night - during certain songs he was right there in front of her about 10 feet away!
    That was apparently why they brought in the system for the Vertigo tour around 2005 where access to the "heart" was on a random basis. The same feckers were at the front row at every gig. Must be a torture alright...

large.jpg

haha deadly. it's amazing how you forget some of the mad sh1th they got up to

Edge 2, 3, 4 ;)

Chorus 2, 3, 4

Lyrics from @U2

The Little Things That Give You Away"
    The night gave you song
    A light had been turned on
    You walked out in the world
    Like you belong there

As easy as a breeze
    Each heart was yours to please
    Is it only me who sees
    There’s something wrong there

Oh no la la, I’m not a ghost now
    I can see you
    You need to see me

It’s the little things that give you away
    The words you cannot say
    Your big mouth in the way
    It’s the little things that tease and betray
    As the hunted I become the prey
    It’s the little things
    The little things that give you away

I saw you on the stairs
    You didn’t notice I was there
    That’s ‘cause you were talking at me
    Not to me

You were high above the storm
    A hurricane being born
    But this freedom
    It might cost you your liberty

The words you cannot say
    It’s the little things

Sometimes
    I can’t believe my existence
    See myself from a distance
    I can’t get back inside
    Sometimes
    The air is so anxious
    All my thoughts are so reckless
    And all of my innocence has died
    Sometimes
    I wake at four in the morning
    When all the darkness is swarming
    And it covers me in fear
    Sometimes, sometimes, sometimes
    Full of anger and grieving
    So far away from believing
    That any song will reappear
    Sometimes
    The end is not coming
    It’s not coming
    The end is here
    Sometimes, sometimes
    When the painted glass shatters
    And you’re the only thing that matters
    But I can’t see you through the fears
    Sometimes
    The end isn’t coming
    It’s not coming
    The end is here
    Sometimes

lambayire wrote: »
    I wouldn't be expecting anything different than what's been played so far.

Have they ventured past 23 songs yet?

A Sort Of Homecoming would be very likely.

Has the media build-up for this one been quite low key so far?
    Can't see it deviating too much from the general set list so far. Maybe ASOH alright. They could always drop Pride.

Might get IWF in the encore set and maybe the new song.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭Wheety

If these people are queing for the show then they need too get serious help as its not healthy too be queing for a show that takes place in 3 days. Do these people not have Familes/jobs etc

I hope those queuing have Pitch 2 or Red Zone tickets, otherwise they are going to be disappointed.

Also, I'd imagine the very front for a U2 gig is pretty crap as you won't see the full affect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭45mhrc7evo1d3n

Info below on what you can/can't bring that I received in an email about collecting my Red Zone tickets. Info re bag size highlighted in red (by me).

Please do not bring backpacks or large handbags. There will be no cloakroom or storage facilities on site. Bags must not be left at the entrance or surrounding areas. Any items left will be removed and disposed of accordingly

Should you require somewhere to store a backpack, large handbag or any additional luggage during the event the following locations have Bag drop/locker storage facilities available (please note these are independently run facilities)

· Ned Kelly’s: 43 O' Connell Street Upper
    · Extreme Ireland
Tourism Office,
 37 College Green
    · Busáras station opposite Connolly train station

Searching is a condition of entry to protect your safety and that of others.
    Due to increased security measures, we strongly advise you allow sufficient time to get through security checks to gain entry to the venue in a safe and timely manner.

To ensure as smooth an access as possible and to avoid any unnecessary delays we strongly suggest that you bring as little as possible with you to the event and minimize jackets and additional layers when possible. To avoid disappointment do not bring backpacks or larger handbags, you may be refused admission to the venue without a refund.

We recommend if you are bringing personal bag, purses or clutch bag, you should only bring those of smaller sizes i.e. those measuring 4.5in/11.4cm x 6.5in/16.51cm or smaller will be allowed.

Further security searches of clothing, bags and other items will be determined by the venue in reasonable discretion, including on entry and exit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭innuendo141

Wheety wrote: »
    I hope those queuing have Pitch 2 or Red Zone tickets, otherwise they are going to be disappointed.

Also, I'd imagine the very front for a U2 gig is pretty crap as you won't see the full affect.

I think I was the perfect distance from the stage - in parallel with the B stage on Adam's side. I saw sh@g all of the lads during the first 4 songs because I'm teenchy, but the stage zone view was perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭thejaguar

This might be a stupid question - but are you allowed to bring booze to the seat in Croker during the show?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

thejaguar wrote: »
    This might be a stupid question - but are you allowed to bring booze to the seat in Croker during the show?
    At Coldplay earlier this month you were allowed.

Edge 2, 3, 4 ;)

Chorus 2, 3, 4

Lyrics from @U2

The Little Things That Give You Away"  
    The night gave you song
    A light had been turned on
    You walked out in the world
    Like you belong there

As easy as a breeze
    Each heart was yours to please
    Is it only me who sees
    There’s something wrong there

Oh no la la, I’m not a ghost now
    I can see you
    You need to see me

The words you cannot say
    It’s the little things

I saw you on the stairs
    You didn’t notice I was there
    That’s ‘cause you were talking at me
    Not to me

You were high above the storm
    A hurricane being born
    But this freedom
    It might cost you your liberty

The words you cannot say
    It’s the little things

Sometimes
    I can’t believe my existence
    See myself from a distance
    I can’t get back inside
    Sometimes
    The air is so anxious
    All my thoughts are so reckless
    And all of my innocence has died
    Sometimes
    I wake at four in the morning
    When all the darkness is swarming
    And it covers me in fear
    Full of anger and grieving
    So far away from believing
    That any song will reappear
    Sometimes
    The end is not coming
    It’s not coming
    The end is here
    Sometimes, sometimes
    When the painted glass shatters
    And you’re the only thing that matters
    But I can’t see you through the fears
    Sometimes
    The end isn’t coming
    It’s not coming
    The end is here
    Sometimes
    The "234" thing is interesting. Is that someone counting them in in real time or a pre-recorded "click track"?

Wonder whose voice it is and if they have that for many songs or just that one (being a new tune)?

mrk75 wrote: »
    The "234" thing is interesting. Is that someone counting them in in real time or a pre-recorded "click track"?

Wonder whose voice it is and if they have that for many songs or just that one (being a new tune)?

Yes, it seems the recording comes directly from the sound desk so it is someone counting them in. Makes sense when you think of it but not being in the music business I never thought of it before!

I was wondering the same about how many times it happens

mrk75 wrote: »

It's directly from their IEM....IEM stands for In Ear Monitors.

It's what the members of the band hear during the gig

Yes, it seems the recording comes directly from the sound desk so it is someone counting them in. Makes sense when you think of it but not being in the music business I never thought of it before!

I was wondering the same about how many times it happens

It's the mix of what the members of the band hear during the gig in their ear monitors.

99% of the major musicians use them

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭iSeano90