Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The existence of extraterrestrial life

• 28-12-2016 1:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.universityherald.com/articles/44981/20161019/wikileaks-the-pope-knows-about-the-existence-of-aliens-says-former-nasa-astronaut.htm

Wikileaks revealed last October that John Podesta (who ran the failed Hillary Clinton US presidential campaign) was contacted by Edgar Mitchell who was the 6th person to walk on the moon, to discuss a meeting about aliens.
    The email was sent by Terri Mansfield who was representing Mitchell, and it was to discuss using alien technology to create zero point energy to benefit humanity.
    The email from Mansfield:
    stated in part that they are working with specific [Extraterrestrial Intelligence] ETI from a contiguous universe. The email goes on stating that the ETI's are nonviolent and completely God obedient and that the aliens would want to guide Dr. Mitchell's international Quantrek science team in their research about zero-point energy for the benefit of humanity.

The Vatican is said to be aware and even involved in all of this.
    A number of years ago, the Vatican came out with a statement talking about how the existence of extraterrestrial life does not affect the understanding of God, saying God is the creator of all life.

Edgar Mitchell said in an email that the aliens are hesitant about working with humans as they do “not tolerate any form of military violence on the planet or in space”.
    Mitchell is also quoted as having said the aliens are “the highest form of intelligence that works directly with God"

Terri Mansfield said in an email that the Vatican and the Pope are well aware of all this, and she would bring John Podesta up to date with what they knew.

Earlier this year the Vatican held a five day conference with the top 30 leading Astro-biologists to discuss the possible existence of intelligent alien life.
    The Vatican in recent years have been talking about the existence of life beyond our planet for a number of years now.

Here is one of the leaks released by Wikileaks:
    https://wikileaks.org/podesta-emails/emailid/1766

So, are we on the verge of the biggest revelation in human history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Curious as to which famous landmarks they will destroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭tigger123

I'm a bit confused: why such heavy involvement from the Vatican? Why not any of the other world religions?

And why is Edgar Mitchell getting involved? He walked on the moon ... and ... ??? Did he meet aliens up there? Or how is he involved in this?

Also, just because you send someone an e-mail, it doesn't prove anything. I could e-mail President Higgins and claim unicorns are living in my shed; it doesn't make it so. Or am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Are you categorically denying that it was Elvis and Princess Di faking it in the Nevada desert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

They never hit Ireland. Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭housetypeb

That they are "completely God obedient" seems such an odd thing to say when discussing scientific matters.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

So, the cops knew that Internal Affairs was setting them up?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

housetypeb wrote: »
    That they are "completely God obedient" seems such an odd thing to say when discussing scientific matters.

Religious nutters who want to pretend that there is a god and that he controls everything making up crap that will never be substantiated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't get it.. a ZPM (Stargate reference) would certainly come in handy, but I'm not sure how the Vatican or God fits in here? Unless the aliens have undeniable evidence of the existence of the latter - in which case that'd be a far more important revelation than even extraterrestrial life IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Peregrine wrote: »

"I'm eating my breakfast Kate"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think statistically there must definitely be other life out there.

I agree with the theory that if they are advanced enough to get here then we're in trouble. History has repeatedly shown that interactions between groups of beings where one is vastly superior - them the less superior comes off much worse (think native Americans).

Hopefully we'll be left alone to plod along in our backwater of the universe and hopefully we'll not destroy the planet or ourselves too soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

A couple of issues with these cover-up theories.

1. Governments are vast organisations mostly staffed by humans - known for their inability to be avoid gossiping and posting things on twitter. So any actual alien contact would be leaked in no time.

2. SETI, NASA, the ESA and other space agencies and scientists would LOVE to find aliens. It would be the biggest news ever and would probably mean they'd have vastly better access to resources to make contact. So they would be shouting it from the rooftops.

3. Why would any government cover it up? It makes no sense.

4. Most theories think there's a global cover-up. Have you ever seen how difficult it is to get all the civil services and all the governments to agree on ANYTHING?! Also many countries have strong feelings on keeping things open ... And would have no tendency to cover anything up.

5. Lots and lots and lots of other stuff ...

I think we're more likely to encounter lots and lots space slime and space mushrooms and so on before we ever have a chat with any intelligent aliens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

That Terri Mansfield is some character.

She holds a faculty position at the International Metaphysical University, and she is also a global ambassador of 'Peace and Love'.

She represents astronaut Edgar Mitchell, who apparently
    On his return from the moon, Edgar experienced an epiphany of consciousness, knowing that we are all connected, that we are all One. He founded the Institute of Noetic Sciences to study the connection between science and religion and healing and consciousness.

Her email is terribillionars@aol.com

She also works at Fundraising for Public Interest (FPI) along with somebody called Suzanne Mendelsshon. Suzanne is a pretty special person, in fact,
    Suzanne is Earth’s ONLY ETI obedience healer.

As well as this, Suzanne works for Quantrek, a company founded by Edgar Mitchell to investigate ET-related energy sources.
    There, Suzanne Mendelssohn, also a practicing Catholic, advises the Quantrek team as to the specific Tau neutrino which is the foundation for zero point energy
    But, getting back to the issue of the extra-terrestrials in question - rest assured, as wikileaks reveals, Terri and Suzanne
    work with specific ETI from a contiguous universe. They are nonviolent and in complete obedience to God.

Moar tinfoil needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

tigger123 wrote: »
    I'm a bit confused: why such heavy involvement from the Vatican? Why not any of the other world religions?

There was a great fiction book which I can only heartily recommend to all and Sundry called "The Sparrow".

The premise is that aliens are discovered (if I remember rightly due to their radio stations being picked up here on earth) and the first expedition there is organized by the Society of Jesus (The Jesuits) solely because they were the first ones to be able to move money large enough, and fast enough, to get the expedition off the ground.

So perhaps the answer to your question is financial in nature, but who knows. One suspects most things are :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭SkinnyBuddha

Great...zombie worshipping Aliens :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Good to see the catholic church is trying to get a head start before Quantum Presbyterianism take hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

housetypeb wrote:

This and the idea that aliens work directly with god and presumably can interpret messages from God too due to their close working relationship. Sounds like most cult leaders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Dear God, this is pure Dan Brown. The nearest possible life is roughly 4.2 light years away and that's as close as it's ever going to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Non violent until they get a taste for power

I hope they have a good set of chains on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,843 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

_Brian wrote: »
    I think statistically there must definitely be other life out there.

I agree with the theory that if they are advanced enough to get here then we're in trouble. History has repeatedly shown that interactions between groups of beings where one is vastly superior - them the less superior comes off much worse (think native Americans).

Hopefully we'll be left alone to plod along in our backwater of the universe and hopefully we'll not destroy the planet or ourselves too soon.

Well we're probably about 60 million years behind the curve too, considering we had an Extinction Event on this here planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Dear God, this is pure Dan Brown. The nearest possible life is roughly 4.2 light years away and that's as close as it's ever going to be.

True, we should be looking after what we have down here instead of worrying about 2 headed monsters from outer space that are presumably more intelligent than us, however they come to that conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Eh....DUH! :rolleyes: The aliens are from a contiguous universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ted111 wrote: »
    Eh....DUH! :rolleyes: The aliens are from a contiguous universe.

They couldn't have just said parallel universe like everyone else eh?

Brainiacs.. pfft! :rolleyes:

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    They couldn't have just said parallel universe like everyone else eh?

Brainiacs.. pfft! :rolleyes:

It might not be parallel going in the same direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

You see, this is so much better than talking about dead people...

Given the vastness of space and the countless number of stars and galaxies, and given the age of our own planet compared to the age of the universe, it is quite possible for intelligent life forms elsewhere on a Goldilocks planet - all the right conditions for intelligent life to have evolved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

The last person you'd hope would be involved with ET contact would be the rather shifty John P.

Edgar Mitchell apparently used the code word 'santa claus' for visual confirmation during transmissions, possibly there was also some mention of lunar tracks also during their walkabout. There is also numerous incidents of silos being disabled after sightings e.g. Rendlesham.

Guess the Chinese will spill the beans when they get their bases built up on the moon/mars around 2020

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Peregrine wrote: »

I use that line!!!!!!

*shakes fist*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Sounds like a shower of old bollocks talking bollocks to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

endacl wrote: »
    They never hit Ireland. Be grand.

They better not hit the guiness brewery. They're welcome to the spire though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Not True .Those stars (Alpha Centauri and Proxima Centauri ) will move to about 3 light years in about 27,000 years though by about 60,000 years they will move beyond their current distance

Though no chance of life there will be a Red Dwarf Gliese 710 approaching to about 1 light year ( exact distance uncertain since it is currently 64 light years away ) in 1.4 million years

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

RobertKK wrote: »
    http://www.universityherald.com/articles/44981/20161019/wikileaks-the-pope-knows-about-the-existence-of-aliens-says-former-nasa-astronaut.htm

Wikileaks revealed last October that John Podesta (who ran the failed Hillary Clinton US presidential campaign) was contacted by Edgar Mitchell who was the 6th person to walk on the moon, to discuss a meeting about aliens.
    The email was sent by Terri Mansfield who was representing Mitchell, and it was to discuss using alien technology to create zero point energy to benefit humanity.
    The email from Mansfield:

The Vatican is said to be aware and even involved in all of this.
    A number of years ago, the Vatican came out with a statement talking about how the existence of extraterrestrial life does not affect the understanding of God, saying God is the creator of all life.

Edgar Mitchell said in an email that the aliens are hesitant about working with humans as they do “not tolerate any form of military violence on the planet or in space”.
    Mitchell is also quoted as having said the aliens are “the highest form of intelligence that works directly with God"

Terri Mansfield said in an email that the Vatican and the Pope are well aware of all this, and she would bring John Podesta up to date with what they knew.

Earlier this year the Vatican held a five day conference with the top 30 leading Astro-biologists to discuss the possible existence of intelligent alien life.
    The Vatican in recent years have been talking about the existence of life beyond our planet for a number of years now.

Here is one of the leaks released by Wikileaks:
    https://wikileaks.org/podesta-emails/emailid/1766

So, are we on the verge of the biggest revelation in human history?

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Apollo house ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Until there is tangible evidence of extra terrestrial life (ie pieces of a flying saucer) or a dead alien, then there is absolutely no point in wasting time and effort chasing something that doesn't exist!

We need real tangible proof, and not some shaky, blurry, grainy mobile phone footage taken at dusk.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

LordSutch wrote: »
    Until there is tangible evidence of extra terrestrial life (ie pieces of a flying saucer) or a dead alien, then there is absolutely no point in wasting time and effort chasing something that doesn't exist!

There is some level of a "chicken and egg" issue there though. Unless we engage in SOME level of effort in the search for such "tangible evidence" we are not likely to simply happen across it.

And the laws of physics as we understand them so far suggest that IF there is life in the universe, the kind of evidence we will find for them is not likely to be body or ship parts, but data that is more remote and distant than that.

So the "do not look until you find something, but never find something until you look" circular argument kinda precludes even the remotest possibility of any progress in this regard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

osarusan wrote: »
    Moar tinfoil needed.

^

This to the power of infinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

LordSutch wrote: »

We need real tangible proof, and not some shaky, blurry, grainy mobile phone footage taken at dusk.

I think efforts like SETI are ok. They're just monitoring signals in case there is something out there. It's not the same as chasing alien abductees around south Carolina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I knew it was a spoof when the Vatican was mentioned. God would have nothing to do with those creeps.

BTW, what does fully god obedient mean? Whose god? Which set of rules?

The reality is that if we do ever encounter any intelligent life, it will be very very very difficult to find a means of communication.

We struggle to understand dolphins and they're mammals that share almost all of our physiology and most of our DNA.

Try having a chat with a jellyfish and you might get some sense of the challenge.

We may not share the same senses. We may not have very much in common at all other than being alive and intelligent.

On top of that there's the tiny issue of microorganisms. We evolved with a vast array of bacteria and fungi that like to digest any raw materials that are undefended.

(Forgetting about viruses as they're adapted to use our cells so they're not compatible).

If an alien landed here and it had useful basic chemicals - earth microbes would destroy it and in all likelihood it wouldn't have immune defences.

Basically microbes would just go yummy raw materials ... Nom nom nom nom .... Alien melts.

The same is likely if we encountered another ecosystem with alien microbes that we have no defended for.

We might not even be able to adapt as they would be radically different to what our immune systems are evolved to deal with.

The Star Trek type universe where everyone's just exactly the same as humans other than a bit if a bump on the forehead or odd complexion is not really possible at all.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I knew it was a spoof when the Vatican was mentioned. God would have nothing to do with those creeps.

BTW, what does fully god obedient mean? Whose god? Which set of rules?

That's great. You want to start a religious war with our new alien friends.
    And you'd do well to remember the array of laser guns and warp drives they no doubt have at their disposal.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Apparently the Vatican have already offered to babysit the aliens' kids. What a kind gesture?

If there are aliens the Vatican would surely be the last place they would want to deal with, unless they were going to steal their silver.

Anyway the aliens may want to harvest us for meat. Probably rape us first mind.
    That may not be too bad if they looked like the aliens from V but in real life they probably wouldn't be that sexy......

Exciting times ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Aliens?
    We need to set up a Department of Belly Button Inspectors quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Alcoheda

Hang on, I thought there were wiki leaks emails that outed this Podesta guy as some kind of pizza obsessed kiddie rapist, That doesn't sound very God obedient to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

The reality is that if we do ever encounter any intelligent life, it will be very very very difficult to find a means of communication.

We struggle to understand dolphins and they're mammals that share almost all of our physiology and most of our DNA.

Try having a chat with a jellyfish and you might get some sense of the challenge.

We may not share the same senses. We may not have very much in common at all other than being alive and intelligent.

On top of that there's the tiny issue of microorganisms. We evolved with a vast array of bacteria and fungi that like to digest any raw materials that are undefended.

(Forgetting about viruses as they're adapted to use our cells so they're not compatible).

If an alien landed here and it had useful basic chemicals - earth microbes would destroy it and in all likelihood it wouldn't have immune defences.

Basically microbes would just go yummy raw materials ... Nom nom nom nom .... Alien melts.

The same is likely if we encountered another ecosystem with alien microbes that we have no defended for.

We might not even be able to adapt as they would be radically different to what our immune systems are evolved to deal with.

The Star Trek type universe where everyone's just exactly the same as humans other than a bit if a bump on the forehead or odd complexion is not really possible at all.
    No reason to believe that extra terrestrial life will even be what we consider to be biological beings either, could look like inanimate objects to us. I just thinks there are so many variations of their appearance that we could not even comprehend, we may not even be able to see them for instance. Could be gasses. When you consider the miniscule chances and long chain of events that culminated in humans existing then youll appreciate how unlikely, impossible even, that eztra terrestrials will be anything like any living creature on earth or anything we can even dream up

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

tigger123 wrote: »
    I could e-mail President Higgins and claim unicorns are living in my shed; it doesn't make it so.

Unicorns living in your shed? HA nobody would believe that (we moved them last week. Tell no one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,462 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It's pretty arrogant to say we are the only one in existence.
    Pretty sad too considering the state of this world we live in

bb1234567 wrote: »
    No reason to believe that extra terrestrial life will even be what we consider to be biological beings either, could look like inanimate objects to us. I just thinks there are so many variations of their appearance that we could not even comprehend, we may not even be able to see them for instance. Could be gasses. When you consider the miniscule chances and long chain of events that culminated in humans existing then youll appreciate how unlikely, impossible even, that eztra terrestrials will be anything like any living creature on earth or anything we can even dream up

There's also scale to consider - it could intelligent and ant sized or dinosaur sized.

The mothership could be the size of an M&M or the size of the moon.

It could just be software running on some kind of technology too.

There are literally infinite possibilities.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,796 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

osarusan wrote: »
    That Terri Mansfield is some character.

Yeah,herself and Derek were great on Live at 3.

Oh,the memories.

It's pretty arrogant to say we are the only one in existence.
    Pretty sad too considering the state of this world we live in

Yes it is, but at the same time nobody has yet managed to debunk the Fermi Paradox. This is an interesting piece of it:
    If interstellar travel is possible, even the "slow" kind nearly within the reach of Earth technology, then it would only take from 5 million to 50 million years to colonize the galaxy. This is relatively brief on a geological scale, let alone a cosmological one. Since there are many stars older than the Sun, and since intelligent life might have evolved earlier elsewhere, the question then becomes why the galaxy has not been colonized already. Even if colonization is impractical or undesirable to all alien civilizations, large-scale exploration of the galaxy could be possible by probes. These might leave detectable artifacts in the Solar System, such as old probes or evidence of mining activity, but none of these have been observed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I hope they're hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

There's also scale to consider - it could intelligent and ant sized or dinosaur sized.

The mothership could be the size of an M&M or the size of the moon.

It could just be software running on some kind of technology too.

There are literally infinite possibilities.

Actually that's quite interesting now that I think about it. Wasn't it recently announced that NASA was planning on making a 'deep space' recon vehicle about the size of a mobile phone (or smaller)? reason for the small size was so that it could travel much much faster & father into deep space, and in a fraction of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Sorry? We're talking about a vastly technologically superior alien species who are TIMID about contact and who also believe in an Abrahamic Near Eastern based monotheistic God?

Fcuk off.