Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 207: Nunes vs Rousey (Women's Bantamweight Title)

• 29-12-2016 12:24am
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭

2vjd9gg.png

Date: Friday 30th December
    Times: Fight Pass Prelims (12:30am, Fight Pass), Prelims (1am, Fight Pass & BT Sport), Main Card (3am, BT Sport)
    Venue: Las Vegas, Nevada
    Odds: Nunes (6/5) v Rousey (7/10)

Who Will Win The Main Event? 65 votes

Nunes via KO/TKO
    0% 0 votes
    Nunes via Submission
    53% 35 votes
    Nunes via Decision
    3% 2 votes
    Rousey via KO/TKO
    0% 0 votes
    Rousey via Submission
    10% 7 votes
    Rousey via Decision
    32% 21 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Why does Rousey not have to do any media?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Watched the two vlogs, and the bit she was in has me thinking she is done mentally. Fight game mentality is a huge part of it if it's not there the fighter isn't there either.

It looks a really bad match up for her to, Nearing the lines that got her beat down badly in her last fight.

Not hopeful for her in this fight and I was in the last one. Maybe some kinda jinks there lol. Looking forward to other fights on the card then the main one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I think Cruz is the best trash talker in the UFC. He just de constructs guys right to their face without getting in any way worked up or angry.

Rig has lost his mind, bizarre.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

he looks like ****

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

well i hope i don't get banned for this but;

"Closing this thread - take a few minutes and set it up right if you are going to start an event thread or else just leave it if you dont know how.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2057686570 "

i only pop in here from time to time and i saw that no one was talking about 207 3 days from the event so i started a thread. fair enough i don't know exactly how you like these threads formatted etc but i thought your post was a bit rude tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Weight cutting in MMA has to change. These lads are killing themselves. Stricter rules like boxing are definitely needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »

He's hardly the only one thought, so many lads looks like strung out junkies and can barely make sense. McGregor cutting to 45 is hard to look at.

And then expecting them to do these pointless press things the day before a weigh in? They should be resting, losing the last few pounds, being monitored by doctors, not answering stupid question from Jimmy Dumbfeck from ExtremeMMABlog.bingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Yeah Hendricks doesn't look like he's ok. Commission should really step in and make sure he is.
    Luke Thomas said the interview he did with Hendricks is too bad to post.

Cody going to a chiropractor and getting a condom shoved up his nose and inflated.

chiropractics is 100% a scam. There is no foundation in science or medicine. There's a reason you don't find chiropractors in hospitals, the same reason you don't fine homeopaths or wizards, it doesn't work, it's just a load of nonsense dressed up as something legit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Cody going to a chiropractor and getting a condom shoved up his nose and inflated.

chiropractics is 100% a scam. There is no foundation in science or medicine. There's a reason you don't find chiropractors in hospitals, the same reason you don't fine homeopaths or wizards, it doesn't work, it's just a load of nonsense dressed up as something legit.

It's actually quite an insidious business. Virtually every doctor will tell you that it's ranked right alongside acupuncture in terms of straight BS.

All it does is produce a temporary endorphin release in the brain which goes away very quickly and actually becomes detrimental to health in the long run, due to persons with "addictive or hypochondriac" type personalities beginning to crave the release (because it is very hard to replicate)

Can't stop thinking of Homer pushing Moe over a bent rubbish can. That episode of the Simpsons said it all really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If Ronda remembers she's a Judoka and not a boxer she should get the take down and sub handy enough.

Nunes has crap clinch and take downs compared to Ronda and although she's a BJJ black belt and Judo brown they're worlds apart when compared to an Olympian Judoka.

Ronda's last loss wouldn't overly concern me as she's been winning and losing on the biggest stages since she was a child.

I just hope she doesn't try box or she's pretty much fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Ronda by War. Be grand.

i hope she doesnt bother with the media afterwards as well. Tis refreshing not to have to listen to her talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭XsApollo

If she wins she will be happy to talk to everyone and be the dick she always was.

If she loses we won't hear a word and probably never see her again.

She has no class and never did.

About the fight, if she goes in to grapple, she can win if she gets hold of Nunes which I don't think will happen.

If it doesn't come easy for her I think she will cave in after the first few hard hits or if she get bloodied, don't think her personality could handle or let her take another beating.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I really think Rousey will come back with a bang tonight. Cant believe so many people are wrting her off so easily.

Also @Paully is there any way you can change the setting on this thread to make the poll public and we can see who voted for what options, like we usualy can. I like to see what way some of the regular posters vote on these polls.

Cheers mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

this all comes down to what rouseys head islike and by all indications shes not in the best place. that being said i think even if she comes correct I reckon ronda pre the loss still has difficulty dealing with nunez' skillset, predicting a nunez tko within 3

really intrigued by the co-main, though i cant see cody catching dom.

John_D80 wrote: »
    I really think Rousey will come back with a bang tonight. Cant believe so many people are wrting her off so easily..

They've just fallen for the image she wanted to project, like CmcG it's earned her a lot of money. Tbh if my Judo comps made me a few quid I wouldn't care for the haters either.

People forget that Ronda beat Zingano in the opening seconds of their fight, and that was after Zingano had beaten the living crap out of Nunes.

Then loses to Holm, who lost her first defense to someone Rousey had schooled three times.

All that being said, the old saying goes 'You're only as good as your last fight' ~ So Nunes can't be wrote off either.

Rousey has spectacular Judo which had brought her to dominance, and used none of it against Holm. She can't be doing that again or she's fooked.

I thought she tried to on a couple of occasions but Holm defended each one very well.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I thought she tried to on a couple of occasions but Holm defended each one very well.

She tried and when Holm closed her down she didn't go for counters like a Judoka would. I'll find a clip in a minute.

I know she was getting the head kicked and punched off her which likely fooked up her game. At the weight in's and the fight Rousey looked dreadful, I've no idea what happened.

Ok forget the guy presenting this and get into her throws and the explanation on turning a front throw into a rear throw ~ that's Judo for beginners, and Rousey neglects the basics against Holm.

Go to 54 secs where the guy explains turning a front throw into a rear throw.. In judo you're taught there are eight points of balance, Ronda tried miserably to use ONE!.

If cody has sparked a good number of his opponents inside of the 1st, then being dragged 5 rounds with cruz will not be good. Consider mightly mouse couldn't really catch em enough to beat him and he figured TJ out, frustrated em and pulled em off his game over say the 4th and 5th round, I dont see this fella beating Cruz. he seems reliant on knocking cruz out but you'd have to catch the fecker 1st! for every round he doesnt catch cruz, comes the next round of cruz picking him off and scoring the bout for a win. Cruz wont knock em out so I think this may be like the faber fight, (last one). Cruz being chased and countering on and on.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

froog wrote: »
    well i hope i don't get banned for this but;

"Closing this thread - take a few minutes and set it up right if you are going to start an event thread or else just leave it if you dont know how.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2057686570 "

i only pop in here from time to time and i saw that no one was talking about 207 3 days from the event so i started a thread. fair enough i don't know exactly how you like these threads formatted etc but i thought your post was a bit rude tbh.

You wont get banned, and you are right. Its just it literally takes a few minutes to do the thread right and put the details in there so im sure someone could do it if Paulie isnt around or doesnt get a chance. Anyways apologies for the rudeness of my post towards you, didnt mean it to come across like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Axwell wrote: »
    You wont get banned, and you are right. Its just it literally takes a few minutes to do the thread right and put the details in there so im sure someone could do it if Paulie isnt around or doesnt get a chance. Anyways apologies for the rudeness of my post towards you, didnt mean it to come across like that.

no probs mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭eurokev

Definitely see 2 new champs to bring the year to a close. Cody is a bit of a beast at 35 and will be too strong for Cruz I think. Cruz is brilliant a the build up though, he has Cody pissed. Definitely don't think Cody gets the respect he deserves due to the fact of him being a total knob more than anything. But the punching power he has a the weight is fairly unique.

Rhonda looks in fierce fine condition from the little we saw of her in photos and the end of embedded. Her forearms are massive altogether. I see her winning extremely comfortably early. They'll have to attach Nunes's arm back on I'd say.

Heart says Nunes but head Ronda unfortunately. She looks in crazy shape. Hard not to root for Nunes, she comes across so well and as such a classy focused and well rounded athlete and person. Nice change from La Ronda and JJ...

Would love to see Cody shut down Cruz, but think he's too wound up at this stage and unless he gets a little lucky landing a bit punch won't be able to figure Dom out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,959 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

was fancying nunes for this but the shape ronda is in speaks volumes esp compared to how she looked v holly

cruz all the way for me, think it'll be a lot easier than his fight against tj

looking forward to the tj lineker fight, that should be fun to watch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Have to say I feel kinda sorry for Cody. Seems like a nice guy but Jesus, Cruz has fúcked with his head so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,937 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Would love to see Nunes get the win and voted her by KO. If she can copy the Holm gameplay if starting on the outside, outboxing and defending the clinch/takedowns she has a good chance but I think Ronda will be able to clinch takedown and arm bar of she gets in the right position. The best thing (only good thing) about her weigh in was Ariel's nature programme like commentating.

As for Cody/Cruz, I would actually like to see Dom get KTFO with a bomb but see him getting a handy 30-25. Some very tasty fights on this card, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    but see him getting a handy 30-25. Some very tasty fights on this card, looking forward to it.

It's 5 rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Somewhat unsurprising sadly but both Borg and Hendricks missed weight, UFC confident as of now both their fights will remain on card

Johny Hendricks 2.5lbs over and close to death.

Move up or give up Johny, you're not helping yourself at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Hendricks is gone at the game Magny is going to school him cant keep the burgers out his mouth.

shocksy wrote: »
    It's 5 rounds.

Nah, Cody's missus is jumping in for a 6th round.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 thegamechanger

I wonder will we see the old rousey tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,953 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

If Rousey uses what she's good at (her judo) she'll win comfortably, if she stands in the pocket she'll get knocked the fcuk out, i guess she'll go back to what she knows best, win via armbar in the first few mins then retire

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Nah, Cody's missus is jumping in for a 6th round.

You're still way out with your score prediction.

I still believe Nunes gets the job done, She's in great shape, she'll be entering this fight full of confidence. Ronda might look the part, but she'll still have those doubts in her mind just before the fight starts, and if Nunes hits her early on, Ronda will be in all sorts of trouble, mentally and physically.

I'm hoping for Nunes to finish by TKO within 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Johny Hendricks 2.5lbs over and close to death.

Move up or give up Johny, you're not helping yourself at this stage.

He was irritable as fúck doing interviews yesterday. Still looks like a reanimated corpse.
    Is there a public weigh later?

ERG89 wrote: »
    He was irritable as fúck doing interviews yesterday. Still looks like a reanimated corpse.
    Is there a public weigh later?

Weigh ins starting now
    http://www.mmafighting.com/2016/12/29/14102296/ufc-207-weigh-in-video

Gonna miss Goldie and Joe Silva. Will never forget the time Joe was picked up after a win, can't remember who but he got an awful bollocking for it. As stupid as Goldie was, I still enjoyed listening to him more than Jon Anik.

Smolka looked like death, Borg didnt cut down and kill himself can see him subbing Smolka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Love the stare from Nunes with the lion head on, nice to see her finally show some personality. She will toy with Ronda tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Gas seeing nunez with the lion mask i say ronda is going mental after that.

Really hope no love ko's cruz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

How was Ronda allowed to go through the whole buildup including tonight without saying anything. She walked off at the end.

Ronda refusing to talk to Rogan LOL shes one serious childs brain cant stand her tomorrow her legacy takes another absolute hammering when shes ko'd I hope.

How was Ronda allowed to go through the whole buildup including tonight without saying anything. She walked off at the end.

Because she gets special treatment due to her management owning the UFC, same cannot be said for Conor.

The lion's head was brilliant.. And holy fook Ronda is looking conditioned!.

Can be as ripped as she wants didnt help Sage, she'd been better of going to a striking coach instead of the cardio work if it unfolds as I expect.

404994.jpg

404995.jpg

404996.jpg

404997.jpg

I couldn't capture a decent shot of Ronda front on, but she's in remarkable condition. Way better than that dreadful look she had for Holm.