Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 207: Nunes vs Rousey (Women's Bantamweight Title)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Gamebred wrote: »
    Its easier said than done, against the other women she could walk through a barage to get the clinch, against a good striker like Nunes you pay the price, she looked frozen after the first shot landed clearly wasnt in the right mind to be there.

But it was the Holm fight all over again... Holm is a boxer first... whats the number one rule in life? Dont ever try to out punch a boxer.

She had over a year to do something with her stand up and didnt, she looked ever worse than the holm fight. Most of Nunes' wins have been TKO's so to me it doesnt make sense the way Ronda obviously prepared for the fight.

Its not that she isnt good enough, Ronda beat tate who beat Holm. Mentally she is a broken broken women.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Rainman16 wrote: »
    Bull****! Not fighting soon after the Holm defeat and losing again tonight had nothing to do with training. Physically Ronda was in great shape last night, she prepared her body to fight but she couldn't prepare her mind. Physiologically she had lost that fight before ever setting foot in the ring.

Mentally she walked away from the sport 13 months ago.

No she didn't shake anything off, She is still carrying around the mental demons of the Holm fight, Fans are not mad at Ronda for losing a fight. Most the greatest fighters ofall time took loses in their career, They are respected because they didn't let defeat get to them,

Well her actions after the Holm fight and in the build up to the Nunes fight were far more Cowardly than Courageous.

Could dissect your post and start responding to each individual point like you just done but mate if you are the type of person that thinks it is ok to use words like coward when describing a sports person that has achieved as much as Ronda Rousey, or any professional sports person then I really have nothing to say to you.

Commenting on her frame of mind is one thing mate but to call her a coward is a bit much and says more about you than her tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Rainman16 wrote: »
    Bull****! Not fighting soon after the Holm defeat and losing again tonight had nothing to do with training. Physically Ronda was in great shape last night, she prepared her body to fight but she couldn't prepare her mind. Physiologically she had lost that fight before ever setting foot in the ring.

Mentally she walked away from the sport 13 months ago.

No she didn't shake anything off, She is still carrying around the mental demons of the Holm fight, Fans are not mad at Ronda for losing a fight. Most the greatest fighters ofall time took loses in their career, They are respected because they didn't let defeat get to them,

Well her actions after the Holm fight and in the build up to the Nunes fight were far more Cowardly than Courageous.

Ronda losing had everything to do with her training. Unfortunately for Ronda for loyalty for Edmond Taverdyan has a huge role to play in her downfall. She has literally made zero improvement in her striking in the last 4 years. This guy is meant to be a Boxing expert yet in her whole time with him she still can't even hit pads correctly and showed zero head movement in all her fights.

She basically went to 10-0 without fighting any pure strikers if you look at her record, which is down to the quality of the 135 division at the time.

Also in hindsight KOing Betche Correra was the worst thing to happen to her because she suddenly believed she was a boxer afterwards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

twinytwo wrote: »
    But it was the Holm fight all over again... Holm is a boxer first... whats the number one rule in life? Dont ever try to out punch a boxer.

She had over a year to do something with her stand up and didnt, she looked ever worse than the holm fight. Most of Nunes' wins have been TKO's so to me it doesnt make sense the way Ronda obviously prepared for the fight.

Its not that she isnt good enough, Ronda beat tate who beat Holm. Mentally she is a broken broken women.

She has never really improved her stand up over the years its always been muck watch her shadow box im not messing go to your local boxing club and there is 10 year olds with better form,

Shes too stiff and one dimensional even allowing for the mental issues which I beleive had her beaten before the fight, shes cant wrestle as in shoot a td cant kick cant box she is literally depending on a clinch and throw/trip or a wild right hand like she did in Brazil, the game has passed her by and shes no one to blame but herself and coaching team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Just because Ronda didn't get the clinch doesn't mean she went into the fight with the plan of standing with Nunes. You can see she clearly tried to clinch twice and one time made a desperate attempt to arm drag Nunes.

Her clinch game is all about walking through a few punches to get in close so she can hip toss her opponent. Against Holm and Nunes she wasn't able to do that as they were able to hold her off at distance and had well prepared defence when Ronda did manage to close the distance. It's disappointing to see such a fall from grace and it's such a shame she never made the move to a better gym with a top coach to try and work on more aspects of MMA rather than just relying on her judo. The woman's game has evolved and Ronda has been left behind.

She has never really improved her stand up over the years its always been muck watch her shadow box im not messing go to your local boxing club and there is 10 year olds with better form,

There is the school of thought, that no matter how much you try and how much time you devote to it, you cant learn things like footwork, head movement, slipping etc after a certain age. Even late starters (early to mid teens) can do well in the sport (boxing) but as a general rule anyone starting much later than that will be a lot harder to train.

There are the obvious rare exceptions like Sergio Martinez but IMO the above is generally true and a lot the reason why the new breed of complete mixed martial artists are taking over MMA.

John_D80 wrote: »
    There is the school of thought, that no matter how much you try and how much time you devote to it, you cant learn things like footwork, head movement, slipping etc after a certain age. Even late starters (early to mid teens) can do well in the sport (boxing) but as a general rule anyone starting much later than that will be a lot harder to train.

There are the obvious rare exceptions like Sergio Martinez but IMO the above is generally true and a lot the reason why the new breed of complete mixed martial artists are taking over MMA.

Yeah some people are just too stiff they arent made to be strikers or even decent boxers, Ronda would never be able to out strike Nunes or Holm but with the right coach and training with people who arent yes men I can see her beating them but it will never happen shes gone to the pack now,

she got away with it against betch and these type of nobodies but a determined killing machine like Nunes who has been constantly improving was only going to end one way,

Presume her stock for Hollywood has hit the rocks too.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭pauldoo

I thought Rogan and Goldie were very biased in the Cruz Cody commentary. Very in favour of Cody, talking like it was incredibly dominant and a sure thing that he won. Cody definitely won 3 and 4, I didn't think either was a 10-8. Cruz definitely won 5. I actually thought Cruz might have taken the first 2 rounds. And could have taken the decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭xtal191

Cody vs Dillashaw has to be next now, yeah? Cant wait for that fight

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

pauldoo wrote: »
    I thought Rogan and Goldie were very biased in the Cruz Cody commentary. Very in favour of Cody, talking like it was incredibly dominant and a sure thing that he won. Cody definitely won 3 and 4, I didn't think either was a 10-8. Cruz definitely won 5. I actually thought Cruz might have taken the first 2 rounds. And could have taken the decision.

I scored it:

Rd 1: 10-9 Cody
    Rd 2: 10-9 Cruz
    Rd 3: 10-9 Cody
    Rd 4: 10-8 Cody (Barely though, so I see where you are coming from)
    Rd 5: 10-9 Cruz

48-46 Cody in my book but it was a weird one. A lot closer than the cards suggest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Aaaaaand suddenly everyone is a mental health professional!.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

I have to watch it again but live rd 5 was the only round I'd of given to Cruz and not by a lot either, he got embarrassed in there dont think the commentary was biased at all he was punching air and getting lit up like a christmas tree..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

pauldoo wrote: »

I thought Cody was a clear winner and was pretty dominant. There were times, shockingly, Cruz couldn't lay a glove on him. There was no way Cody won less than 3 rounds, with one of them a 10-8. Anyone arguing Cruz won that fight or could maybe have edged it on the scorecards is taking out of their hole. And I said before the fight it had 50-45 written all over it. For Dom. It was an absolutely stunning performance from Garbrandt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Thought Nunes was a bit smug about Rousey's coach. It's none of her business what Rousey's coach does, she should be just glad that the coach didn't have a good plan or she could have end up armbarred like everybody else.

Edmond is an absolute fraud and by all accounts a pig of a man. He deserves to get called out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Well done Ronda Rousey for having the courage to get back in there again after such a devastating loss and very public fall from grace against Holly Holm. She is and was very obviously someone that suffers loss particularly bad. Just the way she is.

It took a lot of guts to do that knowing so many people wanted to see her fall even further against Nunes. Unfortunately for her that is exactly what happened. I hope she's not the type that will let the keyboard warriors, meme makers and sharers, armchair experts and fair weather fans get to her. And as for the amateur psychologists who think they are qualified to comment on her mental state? HA

Best of luck to her in whatever path she decides to follow now. Nothing and no one can void her achievements in her sporting life.

Every fighter loses. They mostly take it on the chin and get back training and move on. She didn't.

She blamed the media for her loss.

Look at how McGregor, GSP etc responded to losses. They didn't hole themselves away. They improved their game and learned from it.
    McGregor wanted to avoid media etc in the build up to Diaz 2 and everyone was impressed with how focused he was and wanted the UFC to cut him some slack. Rousey tries to go the same route and all of a sudden she is accused of being weak and acting like a petualnt child. Double standards much?

There was no double standards.

Ronda hid for a year and did American talk shows who don't ask any questions about Mma. She refused to do the normal fight week stuff, something which has never been done before afaik.

Conor did media and did all the fight week stuff.

He deserved it and given how Nunes was completely overlooked in the buildup (yes yes, have to market the fight etc, we know), she had every right to milk it. I thought both her octagon interview and press conference were exceptional (as were both Cruz's and Garbrandt's).

darced wrote: »

I would agree to a point most definitely but there is no substitute for a lifetime of experience that guys get when they start boxing/muay thai etc as nippers, much like the grappling edge Ronda would have over 99% of fighters she would meet.

At best i suppose Ronda and those like her would be hoping to build a reasonable defence that they could use as a platform for their own clinch/ground game.

The likes of Holly Holm, conversely then works on her ground/clinch/TD defence in order to best suit their striking style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

darced wrote: »

I don't know **** about boxing, but for there to be that much of a gulf in skill, I was like "there is no way she could be sparring competent strikers, ever" because even if it wasnt regular, if her coach set up good sparring they would have went through her like butter already and she wouldn't have any stupid ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Rainman16 wrote:

It had everything to do with training! She tried to stand with nunes, once again woefully unprepated to trade with a competent striker. She is incapable of even basic head movement and footwork to dodge punches. Her trainer is a boxing specialist ffs! She showed zero improvement from the holm fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Wailin

Some couch experts on this forum. Jesus lads ye should be out running your own fight gyms ðŸ˜

Edmund is the worst coach in mma, look at his other fighters bar Ronda all absolutely muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Isn't Rhonda not supposed to of take leg kicks in training cos of her knees. Tbh I'd be very suprised to ever see her fight again, I think she'll try go the acting route like Carero(sp, angel in Deadpool) did

Edmund is the worst coach in mma, look at his other fighters bar Ronda all absolutely muck.

Hoppa used to spark boys for craic, now hes hopeless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Wailin wrote: »
    Some couch experts on this forum. Jesus lads ye should be out running your own fight gyms ðŸ˜

better than keyboard warriors imo, you dont need to be an elite coach to see the glaring holes in rondas game/coaching that have been there from the very beginning

Wailin wrote: »

A lot of us have followed from the early years or competed in the sport or combat sports to be fair and have a good knowledge

Also, it's a discussion forum. We're discussing a spectator sport. Maybe we should all just say well done Amanda, commiserations Ronda and not offer any other comment?

mdwexford wrote: »
    Every fighter loses. They mostly take it on the chin and get back training and move on. She didn't.

She blamed the media for her loss.

Look at how McGregor, GSP etc responded to losses. They didn't hole themselves away. They improved their game and learned from it.

So what if she holed herself away. Whats the issue with that? Why is she obliged to comment on anything she does? She doesn't owe anyone a soundbite.

She may have blamed her media obligations for the loss but I have never seen anything where she directly blamed ''the media'' for the loss. Those obligations were placed on her by the UFC, not the media itself.

Both McGregor and Rousey knew and know only too well and better than anyone, the detrimental effect constant promotion can have on a fighters training. She was 100% right to back out of the media for this one. At the very least now she knows she cant blame media obligations for this loss

mdwexford wrote: »
    There was no double standards.

Ronda hid for a year and did American talk shows who don't ask any questions about Mma. She refused to do the normal fight week stuff, something which has never been done before afaik.

Conor did media and did all the fight week stuff.

Of course there was a double standard. I'm one of McGregors biggest fans and agreed at the time and still do that he had done enough for the company that he should have been allowed to concentrate on his training camp for Diaz 2, just as Rousey should have been and was.

Obviously the minutia are different but its basically the same situation and round here for the last couple weeks there was nearly a witch hunt over it.

Hope Ronda murders this fanny squasher.

Mod: Grow up..banned for a month

This is another reason to be delighted with the result. Slap it up you.