Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Striking Out [RTÉ1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭PressRun

Poor imitation of The Good Wife, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Its not an imitation. Its its own thing.
    And has Amy who is a gem. Men Behaving Badly guy is pretty good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Its not an imitation. Its its own thing.
    And has Amy who is a gem. Men Behaving Badly guy is pretty good too.

Ah here. She's a mediocre actress at best. I can't decide if its a poor script or poor acting that's undermining her in striking out. But its a very mediocre performance and has all the hallmarks of clocking in, reading the lines and clocking out again.

I agree with others who say she isn't suited to this role. She's not.

But clearly the RTE casting director when given a new drama starts with AH as top of the list and tries to shoehorn her into every new drama whether she's suited or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

Ah here. She's a mediocre actress at best. I can't decide if its a poor script or poor acting that's undermining her in striking out. But its a very mediocre performance and has all the hallmarks of clocking in, reading the lines and clocking out again.

I agree with others who say she isn't suited to this role. She's not.

But clearly the RTE casting director when given a new drama starts with AH as top of the list and tries to shoehorn her into every new drama whether she's suited or not.

yes with Hubermans it is a case of throwing her in because she is a well known name because of who she is married to so the show will get a bit of a lift but it doesnt always mean she is the right person for the role, in fairness to other actors it must really annoy them but in fairness to hubermans i think everyone in her position would do the same, i heard her on ian dempsey this morning and she seems a nice person but in terms of her acting ability shes ok nothing special

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Capt Peacock

Gerry Ryan was the original presenter of operation transformation: a man who ate to excess and was on drugs presenting a fitness show.

What really used to crack me up was that morbidly obese Gerry wore a track suit while watching the poor saps weigh in :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Hippo wrote: »
    This thread certainly moved OT fairly successfully!

Reality TV is a whole other debate. If you're going to make drama programmes, then at least try and make decent ones.

I guess any drama is better than most reality TV. I have to yet watch Striking Out but a problem with a lot of Irish dramas (with the exception of Love/Hate and one or two more) is they tend to have interesting concepts but end up getting poorly executed or else are held back by restraint. A lot of them do not know what they are either.

Clean Break for example started off as a sort of a Love/Hate set in Wexford with a tiger kidnap plot straight out of that series too. At times, the series hinted at living up to being a worthy successor to Love/Hate but then it held back. The very end with the stamps being the reason for everything was Tales of the Unexpected. CB was all in all watchable though and while it may not have scaled the heights of greatness, it was still decent. SO will probably be similar and may give it a go Monday or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Is there anyone for the 'Striking Out' bus this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Anseo

Wife is yellow dress is rotten mean.

Jaysus Lisha, I think it's a little usual for someone to turn up at the hospital to find their husband has another wife :D

This is her life. These are her choices.

The properties on this programme are fab.

Jaysus Lisha, I think it's a little usual for someone to turn up at the hospital to find their husband has another wife :D

Ah but she was rotten before other woman says she was his wife too.

I think there is one thing we can all agree on without any controversy, even if I am a long time admirer - Amy has a lovely BOD - not sure that there has ever been one better really.

The properties on this programme are fab.

Yes I want fair city Yvonne's cottage

Ladies..... I know your husband, he used to work for Kay McCoy in Fair City, he's not worth fighting over.

Ah the poor son is totally forgotten. Corinne is a nasty one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

So the storyline of week one the TV presenter just got dropped?

And week 2, the dead persons will, just gets dropped?

Lisha wrote: »
    Ah the poor son is totally forgotten. Corinne is a nasty one :)
    It's the first bit of decent acting I've seen yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭CH3OH

it is woeful acting and an awful storyline

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Amy's even got her brother a job on the show

CH3OH wrote: »
    it is woeful acting and an awful storyline

Looks like 3 unrelated episodes the only overlap being the parents trying to push the couple back together.

Watching it to see how naff it will end up at this stage

Amy's even got her brother a job on the show
    Which guy is her brother?

Will Eric bang the wife in the yellow dress?

Corinne's house is jaw droppingly gorgeous

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Theo67

Shocking stuff. And Amy's walk is even beginning to annoy me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Which guy is her brother?

The head of the hospital fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Theo67 wrote: »
    Shocking stuff. And Amy's walk is even beginning to annoy me.

Her shoes are nice

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

"You're acting like an oddball"...takes one to know one in this case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Icsics

Bar scene straight out of the good wife

Ridiculous conversation about the teething ring

Ah this is utter tripe

Why does the IT geek speak like a five-year-old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

what's the story with the whispery voice on the Kalinda character?

scargill wrote: »

Is she from the AIB backing brave ad?

scargill wrote: »

No doubt to make her seem strange, fey and interesting.

elastico wrote: »
    Is she from the AIB backing brave ad?

YES..that's where I recognise it from...so it must be an actual(and not put-on voice?:eek:very irritating,whether it's real or fake

Ahh I like Ray

'I could be struck off for this'......every episode

Lisha wrote: »
    Ahh I like Ray
    He is the most likeable character in this thing.

OK it's beyond ridiculous now

Yep,Men behaving Badly guy on the sheisha in the middle of the day:eek:

He is the most likeable character in this thing.

"Nothing penetrative"

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

Will Eric bang the wife in the yellow dress?
    "Nothing penetrative"

Love interest in cafe guy

'Almost photogenic memory' - if that was deliberate it's brilliant. If it was a genuine mistake......ah bless....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Just catching up on it now, on second episode. I like it but it's like a cheap mans good wife

He I told ye Corinne was rotten to the core

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

I thought so too. But they've managed to top it again!

CCTV footage.......how far-fecthed can they make these silly stories ???!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

This is a massive pile of steaming poop..