Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tayto vs King

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Paullimerick

I was just going to say Keoghs anything as they are nice. O Donnells if that's the name I also like.
    But but but tattoos cheese and onion are up there with the best of the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Discos or mini chips were really vinegary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

flazio wrote: »
    Put it this way, ever visited "King Park"?

I wasn't mad about the old King Park but the New King Park isn't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

King are nicer than Tayto.

However O'Donnells are the nicest most full of flavour crisps by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sam Spudz salt n vinegar used to be very tasty, also the Monster Munch that was out years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Hunky Dory Sour Cream and Onion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Outside of places like journal.ie, is there so much of a difference as to warrant an opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Tayto and King are produced in the same factory. It's my understanding that the difference between them is down to the type of malrodrextin used and the granularity of the yeast powder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

King. Every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

Tayto Bistro cheese and onion manna from heaven with a few pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Tayto and King are produced in the same factory. It's my understanding that the difference between them is down to the type of malrodrextin used and the granularity of the yeast powder.

there is no place for facts and science in this meaningless debate.

State a preference and disdain for all others and move on......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Neither.

Keogh's all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Yeah but which Malodrextin and yeast powder do you prefer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Tayto is exactly the same as King.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

King is far superior, especially the cheese and onion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

The multipack Taytos are always bland and in bits whereas the King are always full of flavour and taste fresher.

Personally though, my fave crisps are Pringles Salt & Vinegar and the worst are Salted flavour anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Tayto is exactly the same as King.

Eh...No.

King for me. My least favourite crisp is actually Tayto. I'd rate many other brands ahead of Tayto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Neither.

Keogh's all the way.

This.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Killed with the heart-burn already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Same thing

No, King are finer cut. Coming from the same factory doesn't mean they are identical.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

King easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

King all the way.

I remember years ago pubs used to do a navy packet called luxury.Feckin deadly so they were.

Gunmonkey wrote: »

Walkers Baked are damn nice too, a bit chunkier than regular crisps but not as heavy since its not been fried.

Walker's Baked are the worst crisps I have ever tasted. There's a reason why crisps are fried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭Guffy

Manhatton cheese and onion FTW

No competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Tayto by far.

All you King worshippers in another time and place would have ended up in the Manson Family.

King all the way.

I remember years ago pubs used to do a navy packet called luxury.Feckin deadly so they were.

Even further back the King pub crisp (that was extra salty so you would drink more) was in a pack that resembled the King card from the proverbial deck. Bigger packet too.

gufc21 wrote: »
    Manhatton cheese and onion FTW

No competition

Just thinking of them too. A freckin great crisp. Havent seen them anywhere but a pub though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭Guffy

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Just thinking of them too. A freckin great crisp. Havent seen them anywhere but a pub though.

They are meant to only be sold in pubs afaik. I remember seeing big bags on sale in the garage leaving dublin for galway before you hit the motorway. Think its a texaco but not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Give me Hunky Dorys instead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Cheese & Onion.

1/Golden Wonder.
    2/Tayto crisps.
    3/Walkers crisps.
    4/King Crisps.
    5/Pringles.
    6/McCoys crinkle
    7/Aldi crisps.
    8/Hunky Dorys
    9/Lidl crisps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

King Crisps with a few pints of stout.

Back of the net!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Once you've Smith's Crisp Salt & Vinegar you can't eat any other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Taytos prawn cocktail are divine

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Can't get how anyone would like Walkers over either of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The last time Tayto were nice they cost about 11p. Sometime in the late eighties the quality control dropped virtually overnight and they started selling bags of burned crap made from green potatoes.

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    No, King are finer cut. Coming from the same factory doesn't mean they are identical.
    Finer cut!
    Translation:
    thinner crisps mean it looks like you get more in a bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Perri all the way.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Mustard on ham for me. I just feel it beats crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

tayto pub crisps ftw. Otherwise King.

Ye can feck off with your Walkers!!!!!!

Is there actually a difference, or is that a myth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    Also cant find em outside of catering bags but Perri C&O were lovely back in the day, one of the first to use foil packaging from what I remember.

The red C&O? They were heavenly. Special mention for the purple pack Hunky Dory, the flavour of which i cannot remember but christ they were something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭worded

Two lads fighting over it here, king versus Tayto ....

https://youtu.be/kpZbaz3Wlfw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Killed with the heart-burn already

Even thinking of this has me reaching for the rennie

Finer cut!
    Translation:
    thinner crisps mean it looks like you get more in a bag.

Er, yeah... that's not why I prefer them. I just like the lighter texture. Now maybe you were fooled into thinking there was more in a bag with finer cut crisps but don't lump us all in with you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Tayto Ripples. At select Filling stations and supermarkets around the country.

Buttermilk soda, cheese, Tayto Ripples and a coffee.....Scrumdiddlyumptious !