Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister hit car

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Like a lot of cyclists he probably thought the fact that he had colourful lycra and a helmet on made him somehow safe. Cycling into a low bright sun or cycling in poor conditions on public roads is asking for trouble. Common sense should prevail.

Oh, you really should explain further about these rogue cyclists asking for trouble by cycling in the direction of the sun. This is a ground breaking stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

amcalester wrote: »
    So it's the minister's own fault that he was hit because he may have been wearing a helmet and Lycra while cycling with the sun at his back?

Have you a source for this?

No. I suggested that cycling into a winter bright sun on a public road equates to cycling in unsuitable conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

No. I suggested that cycling into a winter bright sun on a public road equates to cycling in unsuitable conditions.

Rubbish!

Moflojo wrote: »
    Shtahp.

If the conditions are poor or there's a low bright sun it's up to all road users, including drivers, to adjust their behaviour according to the conditions. If a driver is blinded by the sun they are obliged to stop, slow to a safe speed, or wear appropriate eyewear.

Agreed. However if you end up in hospital or worse as a result of a collision with a car there's not much consolation in being in the right.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Would it be OK, if cyclists tacked into the Sun from an angle, ( like sailors tack into the wind)

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Would it be OK, if cyclists tacked into the Sun from an angle, ( like sailors tack into the wind)

I guess if it keeps you out of hospital in plaster of Paris then go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Cycling into a low bright sun or cycling in poor conditions on public roads is asking for trouble. Common sense should prevail.

I've seen some stupid comments on this site, but this is right up at the top!

"Jaysus Mick can you pick me up? I started cycling on a nice cloudy day, but the sun is out at a low angle and now I can't get back on the bike!"

Does this also apply to pedestrians too? Should we all stay away from the road when the sun is out, on the off-chance a driver is blinded and ploughs into us, since it'll be our fault for not using the ol' "common sense"?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Equine excrement

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Go back and get some more driving lessons. If you can't see the road ahead of you the onus is on you to slow down to a safe speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Is the car alright?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,618 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Beasty wrote: »
    Oh, and I'll change the thread title now
    is the new title suggesting the minister was at fault?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,618 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Cycling into a low bright sun or cycling in poor conditions on public roads is asking for trouble. Common sense should prevail.
    so if there's a sufficient problem that cyclists and pedestrians cannot safely use the roads near sunrise or sunset, the answer is clear - we need to close the roads during these dangerous periods.

also worth mentioning that it's a more general issue than cycling into a low sun, it's more specifically finding yourself between that low sun and a car, regardless of the direction you are going.

we need to remove the obvious menace of car drivers from the roads in these periods.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

Eamonnator wrote: »

Do you not do this anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Lets hope the silver lining in all this is Ross will get a clattering from Naughtens wife to get a proper action plan regarding cycling in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Mr Naughtens late father , Liam, was also a road traffic accident victim, killed in an accident in 1996.

We all need to be very careful out on the road as it is frightening to think of two members of the same family having accidents on our roads although thankfully this event was not fatal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Ryder wrote: »
    Do you not do this anyway?

In the heat of the moment, I forgot, that I did.
    I always try and have a tailwind on the way home.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,079 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

doolox wrote: »
    Mr Naughtens late father , Liam, was also a road traffic accident victim, killed in an accident  in 1996.

We all need to be very careful out on the road as it is frightening to think of two members of the same family having accidents on our roads although thankfully this event was not fatal.
    THey are rarely 'accidents'.
    http://crashnotaccident.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 29,079 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

ED E wrote: »
    Lets hope the silver lining in all this is Ross will get a clattering from Naughtens wife to get a proper action plan regarding cycling in place.
    That's possible. But it is also possible that somebody will use this incident to push mandatory helmets or mandatory hi-vis or other nonsense diversions from the real issues that impact road safety. Be careful what you wish for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

According to RTE news, he's still in Portuncula hospital this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

You're right, except that it's not cycling into a winter bright sun on a public road that's dangerous - it's driving any vehicle from moped to artic to tractor, and also walking, cycling, etc.

But perhaps this nasty crash may spur the local council to put in protected cycleways, which would mean the cars couldn't get at the cyclists in that low sun or at other times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

Just as an aside, the news article mentioned the minister being hit from behind in low sun conditions. There was an accident in very similar conditions this time two years ago at Blakes Cross. Two lads were hit from behind by a van, one killed and the other badly injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

i'm talking your post with a giant pinch of salt.
    The Minister Felt very sore and had to make the Trek to hospital for some Specialised care but sure Look, all's well that ends well and we won't be talking about anyone getting off Scott free.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Moflojo wrote: »
    Shtahp.

If the conditions are poor or there's a low bright sun it's up to all road users, including drivers, to adjust their behaviour according to the conditions. If a driver is blinded by the sun they are obliged to stop, slow to a safe speed, or wear appropriate eyewear.

The accident occurred at 2pm today so too early to be blinded by the sun and and weather conditions were perfect.

Can we get the OP to change the misleading title as all reports say the car hit Dennis Naughten?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,169 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

It's ironic that had to be taken to A&E in Portiuncula Hospital Ballinasloe.Remember Denis Naughten was kicked out of Fine Gael for standing by his principles over the closure of A&E in Roscommon a hospital he was much nearer to today when he was injured.

BailMeOut wrote: »
    The accident occurred at 2pm today so too early to be blinded by the sun and and weather conditions were perfect.

Dunno about that. I was out today and it was pretty blinding (luckily I was on nice bike lanes most of the time, and for the short part when I wasn't, the drivers of South Dublin were really impressively careful about pulling right across away from me).

• Registered Users Posts: 10 losttheplot74

According to locals in Roscommon, some think it was an assassination attempt.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I was walking on the beach today and even there the sun was fairly blinding.

I genuinely wish him all the best and hope he has a speedy recovery.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

is the new title suggesting the minister was at fault?
    I corrected a typo - nothing else. There was a collision - that means both parties hit each other. Whether it says Minister hit car or car hit Minister really does not matter in my view. There is no point in trying to establish or indeed imply who was a fault and it's not my role to edit the title in anything other than a neutral fashion in the circumstances.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

If that's the case maybe Rob was walking in unsuitable conditions:
    RobFowl wrote: »
    I was walking on the beach today and even there the sun was fairly blinding.

And equally maybe we should all have left the car at home today for similar reasons.

Alas I didn't and both drove and walked in bright sunlight, but in my view I did both in a safe and suitable fashion.

Beasty wrote: »
    I corrected a typo - nothing else. There was a collision - that means both parties hit each other. Whether it says Minister hit car or car hit Minister really does not matter in my view. There is no point in trying to establish or indeed imply who was a fault and it's not my role to edit the title in anything other than a neutral fashion in the circumstances.

Mmmnot really a correction, though; now the title is saying the Minister hit the car. "Minister in collision" would be neutral.