Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO World Championship 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I started watching Raymond Smith v Davy Van Baelen in a prelim last night.
    Said I'd go to bed once it finished. Didn't count on them taking half the night though! The Belgian had about 9 darts for the match to win 3-1 but succumbed to nervous collapse and ended up losing 3-2.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

sc86 wrote: »
    lisa ashton would get to last 4 in the mens with 87 average

Yeah Lisa Ashton is capable of some top quality averages. I remember she destroyed the field a couple of years in a row when she won her back to back ladies titles.

markc91 wrote: »
    She has apparently got a thyroid problem and didnt want to play but had to due to sponsor pressure is the word thats going around....

Heard on another forum that she suffered from kidney problems this year during her pregnancy and was put on a course of steroids.

Fair play to her for playing. Can't be easy for her going out in front of tv cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

The sound of the darts hitting the board... I had to turn the bass down on the TV. It's way too much.

Nicholson is a bit annoying on the commentary. Tends to go off on inane tangents.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Like Geert de Vos, handy player and should have done better down the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,009 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Heard on another forum that she suffered from kidney problems this year during her pregnancy and was put on a course of steroids.

Fair play to her for playing. Can't be easy for her going out in front of tv cameras.

Sounds plausible, steroids definitely give people bloated appearances.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭pauldavis123

Youtube not working for me, anyone else?

https://www.youtube.com/bdodarts

Are we lumped in with the UK?

Like Geert de Vos, handy player and should have done better down the years.

Yeah good player.

He's still relatively young in darts terms. Wouldn't be surprised to see him win more in the next few years.

I have to say though that Jackie the Belgian 'superfan' with the silly hat does my head in. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭statto25

Youtube not working for me, anyone else?

https://www.youtube.com/bdodarts

Are we lumped in with the UK?

Yep, UK and Ireland excluded from the YouTube coverage.

3 treble ones, class from Cameron. Liked his reaction though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Three treble 1s from Cameron there, how's that even possible :D

case885 wrote: »

Believe me.... It's possible :(

case885 wrote: »

I'm more a 3 T5 man meself!

Ross 'the boss' Montgomery out in the first round.

Noppert won too. I think he played in the Grand Slam and player very well too. He might have a chance this year.

Hedman out of the women's championship, think she needs to knock it on the head now, she's never going to win the big one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Hedman out of the women's championship, think she needs to knock it on the head now, she's never going to win the big one.

Why should she knock it on the head? Would you think the same about someone like Kevin Painter?

If she still enjoys darts I'm sure she'll carry on but I'd give it up now at the age of 57. She goes through ridiculous working shifts to bank enough hours to play the tournament every year which can't be healthy for anyone. Kevin Painter's only job is darts. Different world imo.

But she won't mind my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Degag

The one who beat Deta wasn't too bad looking!

If she still enjoys darts I'm sure she'll carry on but I'd give it up now at the age of 57. She goes through ridiculous working shifts to bank enough hours to play the tournament every year which can't be healthy for anyone. Kevin Painter's only job is darts. Different world imo.

But she won't mind my opinion.

Hedman also has something like 100 career titles to her name. Painter can only dream of something like that. I'm aware it's Mens v Women's but that kind honours list can only be applauded especially when it's not your full time occupation. Hope she gives it another shot.

statto25 wrote: »
    Hedman also has something like 100 career titles to her name. Painter can only dream of something like that. I'm aware it's Mens v Women's but that kind honours list can only be applauded especially when it's not your full time occupation. Hope she gives it another shot.

She absolutely deserves applause, I'd love to see her win it if she carries on but it looks further away than ever this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

gramar wrote: »
    I'm more a 3 T5 man meself!

Saw one of the Dutch lads throw a 180 earlier today, he threw 26 on his next go. Stuff like that makes the BDO great to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

Ross 'the boss' Montgomery out in the first round.

Justin Credible will be delighted to see his prediction came through :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Who had it in for Anastasia?

That was supposed to be me knocking her up :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

This women's game has been pretty entertaining, good game..

The women love a good hug after the matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,010 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

tanko wrote: »
    Saw one of the Dutch lads throw a 180 earlier today, he threw 26 on his next go. Stuff like that makes the BDO great to watch.

So it's a bit like a box of chocolates then ? You're never that sure what you'll get.

Denis Harbour looks like a real old seadog.

Don't think the Harbourmaster has changed his darts since the 80s.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Degag

Denis Harbour looks like a real old seadog.
    Did he play in the PDC before? Name seems familiar.