Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 55,649 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Profound interview, and a subject that needs to be discussed. Vulnerability in men.

That silence after he asked Tommy if he had ever cried in another man's arms really hammered home the issue.

Needs to be discussed?

Can’t shut people the fook up today about vulnerability/sadness/tragedy/melancholy and any other poxy misery!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

I don't know if it's just him being him, but baz opened up there after the first couple of minutes in a way you just don't see often in interviews anymore. I'll put it down to the interviewer in this case, it's hard to define the skill but I think tiernan has a good dollop of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

walshb wrote: »
    Needs to be discussed?

Can’t shut people the fook up today about vulnerability/sadness/tragedy/melancholy and any other poxy misery!!

Do you have a remote at all walshb? Deployment might be an option.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,543 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was happy with the interview and I think he did a good job and I wasn't looking forward to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Profound interview, and a subject that needs to be discussed. Vulnerability in men.

That silence after he asked Tommy if he had ever cried in another man's arms really hammered home the issue.

That question opened up something in me that I hadn’t faced in 19 years.

One of my best friends took his own life in 2002 at 16 years of age.

We saw him in the funeral home and my friend and I bawled in each other’s arms.

I’d forgotten about it completely, it was like Stephen King’s IT.

I just told my wife that story and it actually lifted a weight off my shoulders.

Tommy is just a great interviewer

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Needs to be discussed?

Obviously some people have problems discussing it because of "machismo"... As Tommy said

• Registered Users Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Tommy really missed his calling as a therapist.

Not sure about that. I think Tommy himself has his own demons and that's what makes him such a profound interviewer.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

Oh jaysus

Not sure about that. I think Tommy himself has his own demons and that's what makes him such a profound interviewer.

Yeah that's it I think

• Registered Users Posts: 11,944 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Tommy is simply a fantastic interviewer
    Would love it if he interviewed Eddie Jordan.

Kind of interesting too in that, with all the discussion of mental health the last twenty years, it only seems to be getting worse..

Losing the stoic 'deal with it' may not be the best course of action I think..

Nose ring.
    Pink hair.
    Polyamory.

The girl of someone's dreams presumably.

Christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,327 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

So it's just a new fancy label for being allowed sleep around to your partner's knowledge?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Poly what?

Will you ever stop attention seeking?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I'd say all this polyamory crowd are riddled.

Ah spare us..

Do you have a remote at all walshb? Deployment might be an option.

Why’s that?

Will you ever stop attention seeking?

Use the ignore function..

Very handy..

Feckin hipsters..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Jordan 199 wrote: »
    Would love it if he interviewed Eddie Jordan.

Why?

Could you imagine Tubridy asking that control question.
    Great question.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,327 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Great question Tommy.

I dare say, if a fella said he was polyamorous, he'd still be called a sleaze.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

If I was stuck with that one, I'd be totally in favour of polyamory

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Losing the stoic 'deal with it' may not be the best course of action I think..

Causation of immeasurable damage.

Don't believe me? ask a professional

• Registered Users Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

She has a beautiful face and is beautiful.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

More weird social engineering by RTE..

Yeah, you're a bit of a tramp love..No need to go on national television and tell the world..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

AMKC wrote: »
    She has a beautiful face and is beautiful.

Not even close.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Bit of a tonal shift here.

If Tommy says 'spitroast' I'm emailing RTE..

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Loyal Lady

Think Tommy could interview anyone