Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

I enjoyed this weeks show (don't shoot me )
    I normally cant stand Baz but he came across as human and we found out stuff we never heard of before about him all due to TT style of interviewing but Baz must have thought he was going on the radio the way he was dressed.
    The 2nd guest I could take or leave theres loads of her type floating around ready to give you their opinion on anything whether you asked for it or not.
    I enjoyed the last guest and his use of the Irish language and the spark between himself and TT
    Look of the night was with the last guest when he was telling about his journey through Africa with some ex british squaddie whose job was to reverse a chip van to Bobby Sands cell window when he was on hunger strike to drive him mad, the look on TT was priceless

• Registered Users Posts: 21,018 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Alicano wrote: »
    Jinx is going 20+ odd years. Remember him when I was a teen in Eamon Dorans playing daytime gigs. And he was as ****e then as he is now :D.
    Somebody must love him if he's getting a national TV gig.
    The RTE staffer who books the music has a real fondness for muck. Trying too hard to be alternative.
    Anyway. Once someone likes it. I have yet to last 15 seconds into any music act they've had on :)

jinx isn't alternative

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭Alicano

jinx isn't alternative

thanks for the correction. What is he?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,018 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Alicano wrote: »
    thanks for the correction. What is he?

mainstream

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭Alicano

mainstream

Punk poetry is mainstream or once an artist is on RTE they become mainstream?

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LilacNails

Oohhh BOD... Nice....

Slipping into banality with this muppet now, he must have a book out. Trial run for the Late Late after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Brian o Driscall first on. I wonder does he think Ireland can win tomorrow and did he watch today's matches. So far a very boring conversation do.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭zweton

Slipping into banality with this muppet now, he must have a book out. Trial run for the Late Late after all.

why is he a muppet?

zweton wrote: »
    why is he a muppet?

He’s just a pure Friday night talk show guest. Just completely bland and absolutely nothing to him and I’d see it as a massive sell out having him on at all.

I’ll go back to it once he’s done promoting whatever he’s promoting.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Poor Tommy Tiernan. 4 sons and 2 daughters. Jeez I do not envy him. Better you than me dude.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,285 ✭✭✭Cody montana

He’s very boring?

• Registered Users Posts: 55,649 ✭✭✭✭walshb

BOD is a gentleman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

He's an absolute great. Have a look at the match in the 6 nations v ENgland in 2009 if want to see bravery.

I'd put that before a bit of blandness in interview any day. We all might be bland being interviwed. He's a great ambassador for his country.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

walshb wrote: »
    BOD is a gentleman!

Yeah he's a very nice guy.

How long has this been on lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

He comes across as such a genuine man.

Samsgirl wrote: »
    He comes across as such a genuine man.

Exactly.

Nothing insincere or contrived.

Just normal decent down to earth person..

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Blud

Arduach wrote: »
    He's an absolute great. Have a look at the match in the 6 nations v ENgland in 2009 if want to see bravery.

I'd put that before a bit of blandness in interview any day. We all might be bland being interviwed. He's a great ambassador for his country.

Has anyone said he wasn't a great player? Doesn't mean he can't be boring as ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

Yeah he's a very nice guy.

How long has this been on lads.

Too long

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

walshb wrote: »
    Exactly.

Nothing insincere or contrived.

Just normal decent down to earth person..

Down to earth with an accent like that.

Blud wrote: »
    Has anyone said he wasn't a great player? Doesn't mean he can't be boring as ****.

There's a fella calling him a muppet.

Blud wrote: »

What are you expecting?

He’s just a sports legend having a chat.

I wouldn’t say he is boring!

Hmob wrote: »
    Too long

Walked into that. 🙂

Ah I always liked BOD anyway.

But is he the first guest.

mgn wrote: »

What?

If you were born where he was that's the way you'd speak too.

Absolute rubbish.

Don't think he has much of an accent tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Feels a bit like a therapy session

Arduach wrote: »
    There's a fella calling him a muppet.

Dry your eyes, it’s hardly the biggest slur in the world God love you. Loads of people say it every day in loads of scenarios.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,339 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Amazing how people open up to Tommy.

Jaysus I thought he was gonna break down there.