Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Who's this.
    She has an interesting voice.

Lisa O’Neill, she’s great.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,396 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I checked out for a min. What was said?

He said the majority of prisoners in this country are owed an apology

• Registered Users Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Who's this.

Never heard of her before, but like her.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Pleasant sounding song, her voice is probably an an aquired taste though.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Who's this.

Lisa O Neill.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Fine Cheers

Lisa O Neill, saw her supporting Mick Flannery many years ago.

Very funny character.

Funny Ha Ha or funny strange ??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,396 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Pleasant sounding song, her voice is probably an an aquired taste though.

So is mine

I tend not to sing on national television though

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

Apology to lads in jail!?!?

You can’t make a statement like that and not be asked “and what about the victims of crime?”

Absolutely. This is when, given enough time, the councillor eventually turns into an apologist for scumbaggery..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Paddy Power and his f*cking "banter" make me feel ill.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Lisa O Neill the best part of the show.

For anyone having a tipple tonight, throw on “Bobby D”, it’s class.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

DIY KING wrote: »
    Funny Ha Ha or funny strange ??

The good funny. She’s excellent

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Tolu Makay does a cover of the Saw Doctors N17. Very irritating laughter, just changed channel.

excellent version

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

She has played with David Gray and has been nominated for the Choice award twice.
    Just checked her wikipedia page there.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Fine Cheers

She has played with David Gray and has been nominated for the Choice award twice.
    Just checked her wikipedia page there.

Indeed. Check out her beautiful collaboration with Delush - You make me feel this way..... brilliant imho

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭chosen1

I think that was taken slightly out of context.

What I got from it was the fact that there are many children destined for a life of crime due to their surroundings and sometimes lack of any kind of parental support.

I work with some young people in this category and getting the early support of social workers is next to impossible often and children get left growing up with chaotic upbringing.

There is only one solution when they are adults and sadly that is imprisonment.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

“Men aren’t to be trusted”

Get to f*ck

Indeed. “When we go back home" on holidays, weird comment considering they fled here as asylum seekers and were in direct provision. I found the trust comment a bit rich.

Wha........:(

Any frost outside?

Its much frostier inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭enricoh

I just don't get this spoken word poetry lark at all, rte have it on a lot nowadays anyway. Are people into it or are rte trying to convince us to get into it?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭mistersifter

really enjoyed the chat with Eamon and wished it would have went on longer. He is 75 now and still doin podcasts so fair play. Hopefully he's in good health. Im not sure he is though - I saw him on the street a while back and thought the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,463 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

enricoh wrote: »
    I just don't get this spoken word poetry lark at all, rte have it on a lot nowadays anyway. Are people into it or are rte trying to convince us to get into it?!

The odd bit is all right, I wouldn't go searching it out though, (says me after searching yer wans poem and posting it earlier)

Annoys me no end when it's used in an ad for some bank or insurance company though

• Registered Users Posts: 21,018 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The girls were great

Nice to see new Irish people relaxed and being themselves, a lessser rte interviewer wouldn’t dare do impersonations :) good to see people having a laugh for a change

• Registered Users Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭dobman88

Enjoyed Eamonn and the 2 girls. Thought they'd be 2 doses when they came out already skitting to themselves but spent the whole time laughing along with them. Great craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

chosen1 wrote: »
    I think that was taken slightly out of context.

What I got from it was the fact that there are many children destined for a life of crime due to their surroundings and sometimes lack of any kind of parental support.

I work with some young people in this category and getting the early support of social workers is next to impossible often and children get left growing up with chaotic upbringing.

There is only one solution when they are adults and sadly that is imprisonment.

Yeah I think you have to give him the benefit of the doubt here. As part of his everyday work he sees the kids that are destined to only end up in prison. It's not their fault per say. It's the hand they have been dealt. From the outside looking in its easy to say WTF at his comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭darlett

dobman88 wrote: »
    Enjoyed Eamonn and the 2 girls. Thought they'd be 2 doses when they came out already skitting to themselves but spent the whole time laughing along with them. Great craic.

I could have listened to them for the hour. And maybe by then he could have asked them a question. No matter!

DelaneyIn wrote: »
    Indeed. “When we go back home" on holidays, weird comment considering they fled here as asylum seekers and were in direct provision. I found the trust comment a bit rich.

I would need to study the poem in a lot more detail before I could comment like that

As for the home part , who cares really they can have two homes

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

I would need to study the poem in a lot more detail before I could comment like that

As for the home part , who cares really they can have two homes

They claim to have fled here for their lives. Now they return to the same place they claim to have fled on holidays.

Don’t trust men, indeed.

DelaneyIn wrote: »
    They claim to have fled here for their lives. Now they return to the same place they claim to have fled on holidays.

Don’t trust men, indeed.

I don’t know the context of the poem so can’t comment, do you ?

I’m sure there’s more depth to it than trusting men if it’s on the leaving cert.

“ through a chink to wide there is no wonder”

Is that racist against the Chinese?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Jizique wrote: »
    Agree - if it wasn’t such an iconic song, it wouldn’t get an airing.
    First listen is wtf, potentially interesting but with every listen it turns an uplifting joyous singe into a whingy dirge

Surely the lyrics of the song are bittersweet.

"Well I didn’t see much future
    When I left the Christian brothers school
    So i waved it goodbye with a wistful smile
    And I left the girls of Tuam
    Sometimes when I’m reminiscing
    I see the prefabs and my old friends
    And I know that they’ll be changed or gone
    By the time I get home again.

(Chorus)
    And I wish I was on the n17
    Stone walls and the grass is green
    Travelling with just my thoughts and dreams

Well the ould fella left me to shannon
    Was the last time I traveled that road
    And ass we turned left at claregalway
    I could feel a lump in my throat
    As I pictured the thousands of times
    That I traveled that well worn track
    And I know that things will be different
    If I ever decide to go back.

(Chorus)
    Travelling with just my thoughts and dreams

Now as I tumble down highways
    Or on filthy overcrowded trains
    There’s no one to talk to in transit
    So I sit there and daydream in vain
    Behind all those muddled up problems
    Of living on a foreign soil
    I can still see the twists and the turns on the road
    From the square to the town of the tribes

(Chorus)
    Yes I wish I was on the n17
    Travelling with just my thoughts and dreams"

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Fluppen

Missed a couple of minutes of the start of this last bit and I still have no idea what he's talikng about :p Horse whisperer:confused: Googles "horse whisperer"

ETA (after googling): Or do horses whisper to him?

Joe is an addiction counsellor who trained in a model which allows him to work with an equine specialist to bring horses into the counselling work. The horses are there to enhance the work. On the most simple level working this way takes the session out of a room where clients often feel uncomfortable into a more natural setting where the client is more free and relaxed, either in an arena or preferably/weather permitting into a field.
    The role of the horses is simply to be themselves, they are extremely aware of their surroundings and react to what they see and hear. Horses are extremely tuned into our body language so when a client feels a certain way the horses will react to that. For example, when working with a genuinely anxious or upset person the horses tend to move closer and often place their nose close to or on the person, if someone comes in saying they feel fine when they don't, horses pick up on that discrepancy and become more wary keeping some distance. These reactions are observed and can lead to questions or exercises, the interaction with the horses also allows clients to externalise and or see things in a third person perspective which makes issues easier to talk about and resolve.
    I'm trying to be brief here so I'll just say that what Joe does is very effective work based on an increasing body of research which is coming in from all over the world.

Google Equine Assisted Psychotherapy for more information