Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

"be a doctor, buy your own plane"- can't argue with that advice :P

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Jaysus, a man of many talents.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

Just looked at some of his reviews online.

People say his manner is poor and unempathetic.

I suppose once he's technically skilled that's what matters but still it would be important to have confidence in a guy who was going to operate on your brain.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That ****in sorrow question. No need for it

• Registered Users Posts: 8,396 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

mfceiling wrote: »
    What an amazing man.

Young people nowadays looking up to "influencers" or wanting to be famous.

Forget it. Aim to be like this man.

Exactly

It frustrates me to see people aspiring to be like people who haven’t actually achieved anything

• Registered Users Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

This guy fecking loves himself.

Certainly not shy about listing his achievements

But in fairness Tommy has been asking him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

This guy fecking loves himself.

No he doesn’t. He’s genuine. Don’t be a begrudger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

This guy can do whatever he wants. Crazy smart

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭External Association

screamer wrote: »
    Ah you get that ould codswallop about all high achievers/ management etc. Being honest, a doctor has to be able to detach, or they’d need to live on anti depressants. I think he’s a really interesting guest, obviously gifted at his chosen field and seems so normal and down to earth.

I like this man.

Dunno if it's codswallop. Certain personality types are more common in certain professions.

While naturally the job makes you case hardened.

Strange because it's a profession where you are working closely with and on other humans. I do believe though it is possible to be emotionally detached and not a psychopath, me for example :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

KaiserLu wrote: »
    He's a fecking neurosurgeon. Saves people's lives. Have a day off with your begrudgery.
    The same fella that walked out on the family for a younger model. Bit of a prick to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ryan Tubridy should be humilated watching this

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Just looked at some of his reviews online.

People say his manner is poor and unempathetic.

I suppose once he's technically skilled that's what matters but still it would be important to have confidence in a guy who was going to operate on your brain.

Do you normally take medical advise from anonymous morans online?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭newmember2

Great guest

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭FarmerBrowne

ArielAtom wrote: »
    The same fella that walked out on the family for a younger model. Bit of a prick to be honest.

Is that you Eamon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

No he doesn’t. He’s genuine. Don’t be a begrudger.
    Not begrudging at all, why is that lazy label thrown around if anyone doesn't fawn over someone?
    He's clearly a brilliant guy who's achieved far more than most of us ever will, it's just an observation that in my opinion he doesn't seem humble. Fair play to him, he's achieved hugely and does great work.

That ****in sorrow question. No need for it

How come?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Fantastic interview.
    The only god awful thing about the show is them not being able to shake hands at the end of the interview. It stands out a mile.

Is that you Eamon?

Who me?

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Munstergirl854

If I met him in a pub drinking a pint of Coors and he told me he was a neurosurgeon I'd laugh him out the door and wouldnt believe him...

Amazing work all the same.

2 great interviews so far with top class guests. No comparison with the LLS last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Is that you Eamon?[/QUOTE

No just someone that’s knows. Unlike your good self.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

ArielAtom wrote: »

Huh?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

I found that interview with the neurosurgeon
    fascinating.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,396 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Do you normally take medical advise from anonymous morans online?

Ireland’s top Neurosurgeon who saved my life didn’t ask about my day.

2 star review

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

That was thoroughly enjoyable.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Easily the best guest of the series so far. Fascinating chap to listen to and clearly Tommy was enthralled by him. Very very well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

HeyV wrote: »
    I NEVER knew that... was it the planned last episode anyway or did they end it when Dermot passed away?

And Frank Kelly, Fr Jack died on the same date 18 years later

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭sailing

One of the other three people chosen for the Space program was a former colleague of mine. Fascinating learning about the selection process. A flick of a pen at a meeting in Seville cancelled the program. It must have been an enormous disappointment at the time.

His next op is on Tubs' frontal lobe to stimulate humour. Could be a 24 hr op.