Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 19,627 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

As a Dub, I've never quite understood where that "trun" word came from.

As in, "The driver trun us off the bus for not paying our fare".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Casey78 wrote: »
    Its nothing against her, fair play to her for what she has achieved. I meant in general I really dislike the Dublin accent, especially her one.

Shouldn't you be knee deep in transfer votes by now Peter?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Fantastic interview and a lovely lady.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

A load of boggers on here giving out about accents!! :pac:

Ol' Donie wrote: »

It's a colloquilism, they exist in every part of the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

monkey9 wrote: »
    I like Kellie Harrington, she's lovely.

She is herself nothing bigheaded about her.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

“Well bais, isn’t that aul accent beyont in Dublin ony shocking altogether, so it is”

terrydel wrote: »
    It's a colloquilism, they exist in every part of the world.

Yes, thank you.

So how did it come about?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

murpho999 wrote: »
    Christ but I hate the Dublin accent.
    Schwiiing wrote: »
    It really is deplorable.
    jk23 wrote: »
    This is very cringey to watch, she seems very uncomfortable
    PsychoPete wrote: »
    Must be fairly close to the worst accent in the country
    Like like like. !

Bloody hell talk about judgemental.

She comes across as very normal and down to earth to me. Nothing fake about her.

This is probably her first time on a chat show too so she may be nervous.
    No.like. shes been on tv3 like a couple of times like. Think it was like 6.0clock show like.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭coastwatch

This show is the best reason for not paying the TV license.
    Dave McSavage was right all along
    https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0616/796121-david-mcsavage/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Any translators for this guy?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

One cool motherf*cker, this fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Christ but I hate the Dublin accent.

It’s a terrible county.

What's going on like
    This guy was only on tv3 like 6.oclock show like recently as well like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Farawayhome

Any translators for this guy?

Wat da bleedin story wit his accent bud?

Yes, thank you.

So how did it come about?

Sorry wasn't around the first time it was used, can't help you. I think you'll struggle for an answer on this one, just a hunch.

What's going on like
    This guy was only on tv3 like 6.oclock show like recently as well like.

Don't know.

Reckon Kellie Harrington has given him a sandwich or two over the years.

Most “city” accents seem to be shortcut lazy speech, to get things said with as few words as possible. In the days of tons of children being born into tiny inner city households those who shouted loudest hit heard, those that got whatever they had to say fastest also got heard. So you end up with rough sounding speech which echoes down the alleyways calling the chiselers hime etc. “I was thrown off the bus” = “He trun (abbrev. “has/d thrown”) me off d’bus”. An academic, which I am not, would phrase this more correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

He was a hipster before the Stoneybatter mob took over.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Here's an aul country accent now for the complainers....

great bit of craic talking sh*te about fairies. Like these two lads:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5cz6MtwnCM

• Registered Users Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I'd say this lad would be an absolute to listen to with a few pints in him if he's this bad sober

Bloody hell. Come back ray all is forgiven pal.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭coastwatch

Looks like the original Hipster

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Lets not get carried away here.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

Eddie Lenihan is the f**king man lads.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Dear mother God in heaven!

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭padohaodha

Eddie Lenihan is an absolute legend.Should be more of him on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Had ye not heard of Eddie Lenihan before? Surprised to many are shocked

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

You could book Eddie yourself to go to your own local pub and have him tell all those stories and you'd be swinging in terror laughter and history. Fantastic person. Actual living legend on our Island

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Skid X wrote: »

Lets not get carried away here.
    At least he doesn't pretend to not have met them in the green room and canteen. Give credit where it's due.