Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I haven’t kept up with this thread in a while, but I have to say I really like this show. It’s consistently entertaining, Tommy has a real gift for this format, seeming to get the most out of his guests.

Such a refreshing change from Tubridy’s and D’Arcy’s fluff and misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Qrt wrote: »
    Ah Christ, this interview is a bit of a car crash. I can see RTÉ getting a (very valid) complaint from TENI.
    givyjoe wrote: »
    This is car crash stuff .

This "car crash" phrase used all the time when people simply don't like something.

I like the unprepared and spontaneous format of this show.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,534 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Does he have 'a difference'?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭naughto

He must be in it for the tax breaks
    Can you make a living of writing poems

• Registered Users Posts: 11,324 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I thought that poem was very well done. His accent is perfect for that style.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

What a dose,reading a poem of this phone.I have seen it all now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

murpho999 wrote: »
    This "car crash" phrase used all the time when people simply don't like something.

I like the unprepared and spontaneous format of this show.

I like the show, this particular bit is tough to watch, the lad is seriously uncomfortable being there.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

This lad is torture.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I like the show, this particular bit is tough to watch, the lad is seriously uncomfortable being there.

He has has settled in now.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I think this guy is pretty good! You’d never see the likes of him on the LLS.

I knew I recognised his voice, he’s on loads of ads and he just confirmed he does a lot of voiceover stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,399 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

That was a poem :eek: it needs to rhyme and be shorter :P

I love you I love you
    Stay we me forever
    Ride me tonight
    Or whereever whenever

Is it yer man that dope that was the lead in Dublin old-school?...

He's painful.. maybe the first episode of the Tommy show I might not bother watching..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭naughto

He should have started with the voice overs and lead on to the poems

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I think this guy is pretty good! You’d never see the likes of him on the LLS.

I knew I recognised his voice, he’s on loads of ads and he just confirmed he does a lot of voiceover stuff.

He was definitely on the LLS a few times..

I'm an ortist and fock all those companies that gave me paying work.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

zuutroy wrote: »
    I'm an ortist and fock all those companies that gave me paying work.

Eh, did you watch that on mute with the subtitles on?!

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jeju

Tiernan asked how hard it was to make a living from what he does, say a it was hard until he started making the voice over adds.... always thought it was Niky Byrne that did all those adds

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Mick has a savage voice.

Eh, did you watch that on mute with the subtitles on?!

He ridiculed them all, slagged off his peers for emulating him and basically intimated that he was above such things now.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,826 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Knew an actor once who made a nice living doing voiceovers. Somebody asked him why he always bought Volvo's
    'Voice Overs, Love Voice Overs', was his answer. :)

Emmet Kirwan was in Sarah & Steve and Fair City

• Registered Users Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Mick has a savage voice.

I thought something similar.

Except that his voice was savaged.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Tommy is so much easier to watch as an interviewer than Tubridy and the other shítehawk. Refreshing.

Jeju wrote: »
    Tiernan asked how hard it was to make a living from what he does, say a it was hard until he started making the voice over adds.... always thought it was Niky Byrne that did all those adds

Yes I thought Nicky Byrne did DTTB

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Skid X wrote: »
    Darren Sutherland's parents were very unhappy with how Frank Maloney treated him.
    Only tuning in now. Cant believe this piece of bullying scum is on rte. The way he treated Darren Sutherland was horrific. Also the way he spoke about gay people in London when he was running for mayor was disgusting. Two faced or what !

Just watching it now..

Who's idea was it to have lads stop wearing socks?

Although considering what came afterwards, yer man not wearing socks was grand..

That lad Kirwin is a dose..

• Registered Users Posts: 82,534 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Just watching it now..

No socks no job :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Qrt

Just watching it now..

I wear white socks as my own personal fashion statement.