Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Pity there's not more guests like her, sick of listening to same crowd every week with the same story over and over.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I think she was on the radio before.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭KevRossi

mugsymugsy wrote: »
    Imagine wooden tubs trying to do this

"So what's the worst illness to die from?"

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I thought this interview was a bit boring at first, but fair play she's sound. This was class.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 macapaca

She's sound out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

Isn’t it great to hear a guest actually being allowed to talk and not being interrupted all the time with stupid questions. Darcy would be throwing questions at her.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Wegian

It must be one of the best shows on TV....such a great antidote to the staged Q&A on the chat show circuit with people peddling something like a book, film, something something

• Registered Users Posts: 17,339 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Much prefer Tommy’s show to the same old D list celebs and RTE “personalities” interviewed on the Late Late every week. So much more like an interesting conversation you’d have in the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 macapaca

Tubs would focus on the morbid, "what was the worst you had to embalm", "how do you feel when you are working on a child", "what about when it s bad crash".... 100% he would go down that path.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭paska

First time looking in .Whats with the hat?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,885 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why do they flee so far away from their own country?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Talking to an embalmer about death? Yeah i can imagine alright.

tenor.png

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

This is grand. She had to leave Zimbabwe, but cant say why. No direct flights from Zimbabwe to Ireland. Another story with more questions than answers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Disappointed rte sought out a refugee. No doubt they screened a few during their search and chose this woman. Has to be a good believable case and nothing about the chancers.

How many other safe countries was she in before she got here?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

We are absolute mugs.

Get a plane here and that's that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Wonder how the 81year old Irish lady that was found sleeping on the streets is.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭enricoh

This is grand. She had to leave Zimbabwe, but cant say why. No direct flights from Zimbabwe to Ireland. Another story with more questions than answers

She's still waiting for a decision from authorities 5 years later? Grade A Bull$&@t.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭irishproduce

She's well versed and coached in the finances line. He interrupted her there but she pressed through with her point about the cost of asylum centres. That's good coaching.

Show is being used as a platform for Charlie Flanagan's propaganda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

In addition to fleeing danger or persecution, there's also the long-term idea of wanting to be able to make a decent life. And Ireland, for all its faults, has a reputation as a nice, safe place to bring up children.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I'm a better refugee than you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

Come on Tommy ask her why she chose ireland ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,505 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ah, lads.

Keep being classy Boards...

Wonder how the 81year old Irish lady that was found sleeping on the streets is.

Read somewhere today that it was a fake news story.
    We have 10.5K homeless of our own.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

It would be great if they asked these questions. To give a better understanding of their plight. But RTE won't be asking any hard questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

This one is at the top of the class in the refuge center.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

This is utter ****e. She had to have changed flights in London, Paris or somewhere similar. Why not seek asylum there? Why come to Ireland, all we have to offer is the lowest rejection and deportation rates in Europe and the highest social welfare?

In addition to fleeing danger or persecution, there's also the long-term idea of wanting to be able to make a decent life. And Ireland, for all its faults, has a reputation as a nice, safe place to bring up children.

She seems like an educated woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Cody montana

This is utter ****e. She had to have changed flights in London, Paris or somewhere similar. Why not seek asylum there? Why come to Ireland, all we have to offer is the lowest rejection and deportation rates in Europe and the highest social welfare?

Do we?