Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Film isn't as good as the story to be honest but it is worth a watch

RobertKK wrote: »
    That was a really enjoyable story, loved how she was allowed to tell it without interruption which some other RTE types would be only to willing to do and drag the story away from the story teller.

It was brilliant.

When there was silence, Tiernan didn't interject to fill the space or coax things along, which made it all the more compelling.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,560 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He looks completely dejunkified, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Call me Al wrote: »
    Anyone who watched the film would have background info. And he said he'd watched it, just like thousands and thousands of other Irish people.
    Great film by the way!

I’m so late to the thread. What is the film?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Aaah, the misery slotðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

twirlagig wrote: »
    I’m so late to the thread. What is the film?

Molly's Game I think

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

Even this show's human interest interviews are better. Tubridy would mangle this interview too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,327 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Thats the second guest on tonight that mentioned their reverance of Tommy. And there have been others this season.

Which goes to show the esteem he is held in.

No-one admires Tubridy :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Carrrkk

• Registered Users Posts: 19,627 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Great guest, Tommy let her speak too without asking her about deaths in her family going back to the famine era.

It's absolutely stark just looking at it.

I mean, it actually stands out to have a guest a) be allowed to tell their story without being interrupted, and b) not have the story dragged into misery.

Maybe I missed it, but when she said a mob fella beat her up and put a gun in her mouth, did Tommy remember to ask her "How did that make you feel?"

That is an amazing question.

May sound like he's making light of the situation but he is actually opening up the interviewee.

Imagine Tubridy asking an ex-addict if their time on drugs was good craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Good looking bloke...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭Be right back

Who's this guest? Missed the start.

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭tara83

Call me Al wrote: »
    How did they bag her for the show?!
    Fascinating stuff :-)

She was speaking at Pendulum summit, must have been recorded then

Who's this guest? Missed the start.

Don't think he's famous now, just a human interest story. An ex heroin addict.

He speaks very well on it. Talking about how it was great craic, but then it wasn't. Wonder how quickly it turned.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Very healthy looking for an ex junkie, fair play to him, looks like he copped on to himself just in time

• Registered Users Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Great speaker and delivery. Many of us could not narrate our lives as well as this man.

'Thats when the trouble started....'

Haha.

Fair play to this fella. This room just got a little dusty here when he said about qualifying with a Masters.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Feckin he’ll....talk about turning your life around....fair feckin play to him...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭zweton

Wow!

Tommy's emotion says it all.

Absolutely cracking interview.

Tommy showing great emotion there. I hope he's never offered the LLS. This is much better.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,749 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Tommy Tiernan has great empathy with his guests, it doesn't come as fake either.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,505 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Wheety wrote: »
    Fair play to this fella. This room just got a little dusty here when he said about qualifying with a Masters.

I know, someone was definitely cutting onions near to me too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Was he on with D’Arcy last week?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,339 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Tommy is a great listener. He gives the guest space to speak. Tubridy would be interjecting every 10 seconds and hurrying to get the interview done.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,560 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Fair play to this lad coming on and going through his hard times so openly and turning his life around, I hope he goes onwards and upwards. Tubs would have asked what colour were the needles.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭Pearlstone

This guy is amazing.