Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Walking like pigeons = junkie.

Tara Street Station was dealer place at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Haha. What an encounter with a little cretin :D

Paddy Clarke ha ha

• Registered Users Posts: 19,628 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The day Tommy interviews Micheal Harding is the day they'll only need the one guest.

*waits for someone to day this has already happened*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

3 superb interviews

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭micar

Really like Roddy's boots.

Anyone any idea of the brand

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭darlett

Jane98 wrote: »
    Just wondering if anybody believes he has no idea who his guests will be before they come out on stage?

I do yeah. But either way, as another poster said, if that's true, or if he's been studying their file all week, the net result is a better interview style and line if questioning than any I've seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

Roddy can be a bit of a prickly fecker, couldn't warm to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,563 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Basic Instinct on Channel 5, he's about to take Shardin down to the station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭whomenonotme

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    The day Tommy interviews Micheal Harding is the day they'll only need the one guest.

It has! Can't remember how long ago

• Registered Users Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Basic Instinct on Channel 5, he's about to take Shardin down to the station.

Everyone saw it,but nobody got a good look at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Doyle's stuff is increasingly anachronistic in this day and age. The literal version of Jason Byrne, perhaps!

Still a great writer though. Family(BBC and RTE) is incredibly fraught and took many by surprise when it first aired on TV.

People look past his work today because it harks back to a bleaker time in Irish history.

Yer man from The Gloaming, as he is in my uneducated head.

Anyone who, like I did, thinks that trad music ain't up to much, embrace these guys.

They are magic.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Springfields

What is that squeeze box thingy the singer is playing?

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Springfields

What is that squeeze box thingy the singer is playing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

I tend to look down on Dubliners and other Irish city people

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

That was brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Season 2 episode 2

https://www.rte.ie/player/series/the-tommy-tiernan-show/SI0000001918?epguid=IP000063229

PS be very careful when pressing "play" or you may hear Michael Healy Rae too.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

Just watching the Pádraig Harrington interview on plus one.

The guy is great. Ireland's best sportsman arguably and he gets a lot of flak.

Interesting interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

Make it an hour longer and put it on a Friday night!

That was varied and thought provoking, really enjoyable.

M

Just watching the Pádraig Harrington interview on plus one.

The guy is great. Ireland's best sportsman arguably and he gets a lot of flak.

Interesting interview.

I think he would make a good motivational coach when he eventually gives up the golf.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Tommy had it spot on about Dublin and Eastern humour. It is sharper, defensive and often used as a weapon not like in the West or South where it is more of a funny story. A funny guy in the West might be viewed with suspicion.

Very strange question from Tommy
    "What do you think love is"
    Wtf.

Baby don't hurt me.

saabsaab wrote: »
    Tommy had it spot on about Dublin and Eastern humour. It is sharper, defensive and often used as a weapon not like in the West or South where it is more of a funny story. A funny guy in the West might be viewed with suspicion.

Disagree. Depends on the person. I do think we're lucky that people here, more often than not, are gas. Something I'm quite proud of.

Tommy very off with the interview with Pádraig.

"So you'll end up the next while developing a personality" was just pathetic from him.

I sensed a low-key envy of Harrington.

Tommy has gone through stuff mentally and I could almost feel him projecting his own stuff onto Pádraig.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I tend to look down on Dubliners and other Irish city people

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Disagree. Depends on the person. I do think we're lucky that people here, more often than not, are gas. Something I'm quite proud of.

Could be the way some Dubliners react to country fellas?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Harrington ended up being by far the most interesting guest. Lowry was also a great guest. Golfers eh?

I mentioned it earlier, but this was when he did the Sunday Papers review on Off The Ball back in 2018. What they are discussing has obviously aged, but it was one of the best pieces of radio I've ever heard. The optimistic Harrington pitched against the pitch black realism/cynicism of Kimmage.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

saabsaab wrote: »
    Could be the way some Dubliners react to country fellas?
    Probably because the culchie wont give them money for a " hostel".

M

Edgware wrote: »
    Probably because the culchie wont give them money for a " hostel".

They should lose a finger every time they ask that, dregs of the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Fred Cooke is utterly pointless by the way. I assume he's getting paid by RTE. Probably got in with them since his dancing days.
    sligojoek wrote: »
    I'm sure Fred Cooke does a warm up act before Tommy comes on

Yeah Fred Cooke has been Tommys warm up act for many stand up shows before, they're good mates. Fred Cooke is to Tommy Tiernan what Ed Byrne is to Dara o'Briain, two friends through comedy with one riding on the coat tails of the other.