Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calf prices 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Did you put you in contact with that buyer?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Fr calves macroom yesterday 14 days old nice calves last you'd buy them at €40 this week €75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Fr bulls sold here at avg 9-10days old.
    Repeat buyer
    €85
    Think lads would do better to try sell from the yard. Some pathetic prices in the mart especially when you take off commission and transport etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,243 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Coming up to the 6 weeks I suppose.

Ah here. Sure he's only doing aswell as the lad selling them at 10 days old for 80€
    Your man that's buying is getting them half reared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ah here. Sure he's only doing aswell as the lad selling them at 10 days old for 80€
    Your man that's buying is getting them half reared
    Was going to ask would the 70 euro difference cover the costs/labour of having them so long? They could also die during the extra 4 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Just for a bit of balance a neighbour is getting 150 for friesian bulls.

Repeat buyer.

Are u my neighbour too cause I know a lad getting same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,243 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was going to ask would the 70 euro difference cover the costs/labour of having them so long? They could also die during the extra 4 weeks

I know here they'd have to get milk replacer past week 2.
    You'd only get back what you put into them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Exporters can only buy over 14 days so calves under that age have less buyers again I guess in the mart

A fleikveih bull just landed here. Fr colourings on him tho. Sire is down as simmental on icbf. Won't be well received in mart without the white face I take it?

It's not the 70 Euro you have a lot stronger calf hence its less lightly to get sick.

Pidae.m wrote: »
    It's not the 70 Euro you have a lot stronger calf hence its less lightly to get sick.

Yes that's the advantage for the buyer, but for the seller between labour extra space etc the 70 euro may not be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Mooooo wrote: »
    Yes that's the advantage for the buyer, but for the seller between labour extra space etc the 70 euro may not be worth it.

If 70 euro of costs on a couple of weeks is an issue then spare a thought for the clown that will have them for the next couple of years.

Who2 wrote: »
    If 70 euro of costs on a couple of weeks is an issue then spare a thought for the clown that will have them for the next couple of years.

Well that's their own choice and business. Extra calves landing daily and fresh cows to manage inside and out is what we have to weigh it up against. I take whatever will be paid for em which is determined by those buying not much I can do on that front. Not saying it's easy for the next man but it's my own house I must see after

65 for fr bulls 2 weeks old in bandon. Calves 4 weeks + going around 100/105

Saw a super red sim bull 6 weeks old make 340 , 3 two week old BBC heifers make 350. the real good fr calf was a plaster do, 4/5 farmers hopping off each other for them. 170-220 in Bandon. The new exporters were in Bandon for there first day out too so plenty of argy bargy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Calves back almost €100/hd in New Ross on Sat. Fr bulls from 40-100. Everything bar strong ch well back. Buyers. (lunatics) still beating each other up to pay up to 500 for chx bull calves and 350 plus for heifers.

That'll be it until second week in Apr now for the fr bull. One of the things that's very funny is the number of cork regged calves turning up there. You wouldn't think there'd be a margin in it.

Lads on the dairy thread reckon it costs 1500 to get a friesian heifer to 2 year old.
    A friesian bullock would have similar costs to get to that age and would not be worth 1200 at 2 years old. Do your sums from there......

She's carrying two lot's of AI charges though for starters plus a nice few vaccines that aren't needed in a male animal plus a good valuation for her as a dropped calf. No bother getting pedigree 100% ho bull calves into €1400 at 18-20 months. Do a good job with them to 15-16 months then 100 day finishing on a good ration. 375-390kg carcass even at 3.80 gets you there. Have them at the right time and no bother to get buyers for them. They leave a reasonable margin too but all based on getting them for 60-80 euro as dropped calves. Every penny above this comes out of your margin.

Calves back almost €100/hd in New Ross on Sat. Fr bulls from 40-100. Everything bar strong ch well back. Buyers. (lunatics) still beating each other up to pay up to 500 for chx bull calves and 350 plus for heifers.

That'll be it until second week in Apr now for the fr bull. One of the things that's very funny is the number of cork regged calves turning up there. You wouldn't think there'd be a margin in it.
    We may stop posting prices in the marts up here.
    Them cork lads will ruin everything.
    Maybe if we post that calves are making 1 Euro they'll stay away.:D

Heard there were good prices in the dairy sale in Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

She's carrying two lot's of AI charges though for starters plus a nice few vaccines that aren't needed in a male animal plus a good valuation for her as a dropped calf. No bother getting pedigree 100% ho bull calves into €1400 at 18-20 months. Do a good job with them to 15-16 months then 100 day finishing on a good ration. 375-390kg carcass even at 3.80 gets you there. Have them at the right time and no bother to get buyers for them. They leave a reasonable margin too but all based on getting them for 60-80 euro as dropped calves. Every penny above this comes out of your margin.

Some valid points there. Another issue is the attention bull calves get after birth. The rule of getting 3 or 4 litres of biestings into them within 2 hours of birth goes out the window when alot of lads realize it's a bull as opposed to a heifer calf that has landed. This really sets them back.

We may stop posting prices in the marts up here.
    Them cork lads will ruin everything.
    Maybe if we post that calves are making 1 Euro they'll stay away.:D

Heard there were good prices in the dairy sale in Ross.

I only for a report from the lad who does a bit of part time here. He has a small cattle enterprise going and has been waiting for the drop to start buying. I saw those 14..... prefixes a couple of times last year. Crazy stuff really. For the lot numbers they'd have those calves would have been in the mart before seven in the morning which would have them been loaded a mad o'clock during the night. Mart running until 4 or 5 on Sat evening's. By the time they are loaded and transported it could be most of a day on the hoof. The losses must be big with illness after a shock like that.

Some valid points there. Another issue is the attention bull calves get after birth. The rule of getting 3 or 4 litres of biestings into them within 2 hours of birth goes out the window when alot of lads realize it's a bull as opposed to a heifer calf that has landed. This really sets them back.

You'd wonder why. Biestings is rarely that scarce when there's a lot of cows calving. If you're keeping them any length of time at all that sort of messing would be penny wise and pound foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

Whaaaaaat!!

The bulls need biestings too?????

ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

alps wrote: »

Whaaaaaat!!

The bulls need biestings too?????

ffs

But I've only one bull at the minute, nice 2 1/2 yr old He, but if I have to give him 3 or 4l of beastings for every cow that calves the poor Chap will be scuttery as fook the whole time ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭mcgyvor

Sold 5 fr bulls to day in fermoy 2to3 weeks 140 each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭farisfat

Any up date on calve prices i have few pens of angus ready to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Sold a handful of he calves, handy enough calves from heifers 7-10 days old 250 across the board bulls and heifers

Fr bulls going Tuesday from a week old to 19 days old 110 euro.a head .all to one buyer from yard and have first shot of bovipast got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Buying 3-4 week old lmx bulls and heifers out of yard for 290 avg at moment.

Good news Bandon mart today fr 5 weeks old pumped with milk €260. Feed on!!

Pidae.m wrote: »
    Good news Bandon mart today fr 5 weeks old pumped with milk €260. Feed on!!

I'm sure they were fine calves but mother of fook what was the buyer thinking !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I'm sure they were fine calves but mother of fook what was the buyer thinking !!

You'll always find one

Aa heifer 175 aa bull 225 2 weeks old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Buying 3-4 week old lmx bulls and heifers out of yard for 290 avg at moment.

They sound like pretty good value at that

And they are half reared at that age

An elderly farmer came in and spent an hour there and bought 18 5/6 week old calves. The main man from the north was there today he bought probably 250 out of the 1400 calves. Funny do aa weren't so dear. 2 weeks old nice stock bulls 170 ish

The small **** of a shipping fr is still 80 or 90 quid

Reggie. wrote: »
    You'll always find one

It takes two though to get to that price. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

79af6b3bc5b23131ace1d835c402fa444ebd7cfc574c6b040665280337e74d7e.jpg

Think the auctioneer was the other lad
    It takes two though to get to that price. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Calves from 10-160 today in carnaross for hols

Got 50-110 depending on age 14-24 days old

stanflt wrote: »
    Calves from 10-160 today in carnaross for hols

Got 50-110 depending on age 14-24 days old

Not like you to be at the mart

Reggie. wrote: »
    Not like you to be at the mart

Auld man was

Do you think I'd have the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

Auld man was

Do you think I'd have the time

Great dinner below, you could have brought herself out for a treat!!

visatorro wrote: »
    Great dinner below, you could have brought herself out for a treat!!

Suggested it last week for the 5 yr wedding anniversary

Was looking at a potential divorce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

€115 in the yard. 2 to 3 weeks old. My benchmark is if a fr bull calf will make the price of a half ton of meal I'm happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Got 80 out of yard for a group of 15 frx bulls 7 -10 days old. I was happy enough 1st calves moved this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

yewtree wrote: »
    Got 80 out of yard for a group of 15 frx bulls 7 -10 days old. I was happy enough 1st calves moved this year.

Frx, could you expand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Frx, could you expand

Roughly 75% fr 25% jersey. Friesian sire, 50/50 crosbred dam. Is that what you are asking?

Suggested it last week for the 5 yr wedding anniversary

Was looking at a potential divorce

I'll never look at you the same way again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Mooooo wrote: »
    3 month old aa bull 320,
    2 6 week old bb heifers 280 each
    Bandon

Good prices.