Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Widespread Snow Showers Thurs 12th/Fri 13th Jan 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭glightning

Showers up here in inland NI are still of rain at the moment. A few more hours before they transition I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

It's ok lads please calm down. This thread has gone a bit NW nuts.

I do live high up granted, but this winter has been quite extreme.

All that matters is that the regular posters know me and who I am.

Currently wind is gusting here up to 80km/HR, -12 and approx 40cm lying snow. It's currently snowing from a band of precipitation from a warm front hitting the cold eastern air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

I have to chip in too and thank all you very knowledgeable folk in posting updates, charts and of course your explanations. Really enjoying the thread,

Bring on the Snow!

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Captain Snow

And so it Begins.:)

2n20552.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Holy crap that 6 o clock weather was something for snow watchers. I cannot believe there has been an upgrade. An UPGRADE??! That never happens!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Harmonie 18z upgrades showers tomorrow evening for eastern areas back to 06z almost.

There is going to be a lot radar watching tomorrow evening and the small swings in wind direction could be evil to watch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭Rougies

MidMan25 wrote: »
    The models seem to overplay the effect of proximity to the sea on snowfall.

Indeed, the global models just don't have the resolution. For example the distance between grid points for the GFS is 28km. Lets say a grid point lies exactly on the coast and the model says "rain" because of proximity to the sea, the map will then show rain 14km inland too, when in reality it could be turning to snow just 1 or 2 km inland.

the high res models like HIRLAM and Euro4 etc are obviously a lot better.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭sean555

GFS 18Z snow cover

BTW the title of this thread should be changed to Orange in line with Met Eireanns warning

Villain wrote: »
    Harmonie 18z upgrades showers tomorrow evening for eastern areas back to 06z almost.

There is going to be a lot radar watching tomorrow evening and the small swings in wind direction could be evil to watch :D

Im going to the pub tomorrow evening to get slaughtered and watch radar till i get thrown out or fall out the door. Hopefully into a bed of snow...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Ok. Time I popped up after a very long absence as SNOW is on the way. Here's a slide show I made in 2010 using the pics posted on the weather board.
    Ah yes ... those were the days.

What's your source on the Harmonie model if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭sean555

Hirlam 18Z showing good amount of snow showers every where.
    Just three examples below.

Rougies wrote: »
    What's your source on the Harmonie model if you don't mind me asking?

I know someone who has access is all

Any chance of installing a spy camera in their lunchbox or something? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

irish1967 wrote: »
    Ok. Time I popped up after a very long absence as SNOW is on the way. Here's a slide show I made in 2010 using the pics posted on the weather board.

Not working IRISH....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Soccarboy11

Corks missing out on it all it looks like from all the charts lol

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭davidsr20

Are we talking a short event here or snow for the whole day

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Corks missing out on it all it looks like from all the charts lol

Don't know what charts you're looking at? Could be quite slushy and I doubt it it will settle but snow is definitely on the cards for Cork tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,202 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

and dont forget while most will see some snow dont be to disappointed if you see very little
    15965437_10154734747925056_6847922854949845800_n.jpg?oh=11dc31a26a9081d331ab56117f2c8f99&oe=5922DD1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,217 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

davidsr20 wrote: »
    Are we talking a short event here or snow for the whole day

God help you should read the thread.

Showers will be around all day, until late tomorrow night. Depends on where you are and the positioning of the showers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

A screen grab from tonight's BBC weather forecast.

screenshot_1.png

Was looking at theatedt ones posted here. The city parr (about 5 mins away from that) is white which was an area for no snow etc.

Hopefully though! Haha. People who do get snow keep us updated though!

hotwhiskey wrote: »
    Not working IRISH....

Fixed

The snow showers are now blasting into the north west coast of Scotland.

In another 2 hours ish they will start piling into the NW coast of Ireland.

8xudrn.png

and dont forget while most will see some snow dont be to disappointed if you see very little
    15965437_10154734747925056_6847922854949845800_n.jpg?oh=11dc31a26a9081d331ab56117f2c8f99&oe=5922DD1F

Lol this has definitely happened in years gone by 😂😂

irish1967 wrote: »

Fixed link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭pauldry

Gerry Murphy said it would snow lots tomorrow

And thered be lying snow Friday

He better not be lieing...

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭littlema

hotwhiskey wrote: »
    Not working IRISH....

Worked grand for me on the first posting.......and it's very evocative!!
    BTW ....did ye see BBC forecast just now??
    And I live in Sligo looking across at Mountainyman. !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    A screen grab from tonight's BBC weather forecast.

screenshot_1.png

Will you tell him to move? I can't see if there is snow over my house.