Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

25.1.17 - EFL Semi Final 2nd Leg - Liverpool (0) v Southampton (1) KO 8pm Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    It was straight at him tbf
    I thought it was a poor shot, should have placed it in the corner
    Southampton may rue the chances missed but to their credit deserve the lead
    Is this Liverpools best defensive partnership available at current?

Yup missing Matip. Sakho in the dog house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Until Matip is back. Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

No matip would slip in there

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

niallo27 wrote: »
    No matip would slip in there

He's not available though, is he? He may be for Sunday (I haven't heard he will though), but not at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Is Matip going to be out for long more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Have to be willing to let play break down, play those killer passes into feet or space. If it breaks down we go again, all this pass pass pass is going no where. You create chances by continuously playing balls in to killer areas and letting it play out.

• emmetkenny wrote: »
    Yup missing Matip. Sakho in the dog house.

Injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I do not get emre can
    What does he bring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Really prefer Lallana when he's not in the front three, keep him in midfield and he's a much better player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Great save? He performed a basic save, then punches it back in play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

We're extremely poor in the final third.

We look really lethargic.

Despitw a huge amount of posessuon we are lucky to be only 1 down.

Southampton playing this masterfully. Hitting us on thw break and defending extremely well.

Unless Coutinho has some magic when he comes on I can see us with a 1 or 2 goal deficit going to Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I do not get emre can
    What does he bring

sloppy passing and no end product. massively overrated

I do not get emre can
    What does he bring

He has been very underwhelming this season when fit.

I do not get emre can
    What does he bring

Brings me a fcuking migraine

Injured?

Yup, not sure if he's back for Sunday either.

When he plays our back four looks much better. He brings a calmness that we lack when he's out.

He hasn't played much but he reminds me of Hyypia :)

5starpool wrote: »
    He's not available though, is he? He may be for Sunday (I haven't heard he will though), but not at the moment.

I don't know did he mean the best available now or in general. Hopefully they got their mistakes out of the way tonight.

Yup, not sure if he's back for Sunday either.

When he plays our back four looks much better. He brings a calmness that we lack when he's out.

He hasn't played much but he reminds me of Hyypia :)

Well that's great news
    Because this current defense looks dreadful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

DDC1990 wrote: »
    We're extremely poor in the final third .

We look really lethargic.

Despitw a huge amount of posessuon we are lucky to be only 1 down.

Southampton playing this masterfully. Hitting us on thw break and defending extremely well.

Unless Coutinho has some magic when he comes on I can see us with a 1 or 2 goal deficit going to Anfield.

Ye don't look much better in the first and second thirds either. Need to pick it up in second half or will have a mountain to climb to get back in it.

Players look tired.

Can has played a lot recently.
    Would expect him to be tired
    Played against City
    Look tired against Sunderland
    Then he was played in FA Cup
    And again today
    Crazy

We have been here before and more often than not Klopp sorts it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Start by replacing Daniel with Origi.

niallo27 wrote: »
    We have been here before and more often than not Klopp sorts it out.

Haven't you heard. We're meant to be invincible.

I'm sure Klopp is questioning the Cuuntspazticated Fuuckknobbery he saw in first half
    We usually see a reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Not a fan of Can and Lucas in the middle being honest.....

Well that's great news
    Because this current defense looks dreadful

Feck off you taking joy in our defensive woes :pac:

Start by replacing Daniel with Origi.

Wish they'd pass to Sturridge in tight areas
    All they do is pass sideways
    We need to play passes in feet into dangerous areas
    If it breaks down so what , that's football
    You create chances, moments though
    All we need is moments to score

jayo26 wrote: »
    Ye don't look much better in the first and second thirds either. Need to pick it up in second half or will have a mountain to climb to get back in it.

Players look tired.

Very slow tonight. Lucas and Can slow in the middle. Losing Lalana press and energy in there because he's playing further forward.

Sturridge is going to take root if he doesn't move soon and Firmino is having a really poor run of form (actually started around the time Couthino got injured).

Feck off you taking joy in our defensive woes :pac:

Why pretend it's anything else tbf
    Nothing in this tie anyway, loads of game left to yourselves get back in it
    Can't remember if away goals count in the league cup however

Well that's an encouraging start to the half, pass back to Lovren and under no pressure hoof it to Forster.

Milner tried to give away a free 3 times there, finally succeeded.

It's like our defence try to spread out as far away from each other as possible, and then telegraph their passes to each other so everyone in the stadium knows where the ball is going.

Do you only skim these threads? Already answered in here.

Great start to the second half.

Ah we've been poor tonight and lucky to be only one down, no two ways about it. Hopefully we can make it through the tie because I'd like to win the cup.

Away goals count if it's level after extra time in the second leg.

• 5starpool wrote: »
    Do you only skim these threads? Already answered in here.

Haven't read the whole thread no, why is it a rule?
    Probably more helpful to just post it than the point you are trying to make

Can has been really disappointing.....

NukaCola wrote: »
    Can has been really disappointing.....

Been disappointing for a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,679 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Lallana, Wijnaldum and er Karius look like the only players even trying tonight.
    Severe lack of urgency for the rest of them

5starpool wrote: »
    Milner tried to give away a free 3 times there, finally succeeded.

Channeling his inner Moreno :)

Can has no finesse on the attack, ball just bounces off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

We've nobody who can beat a player. That's the issue. It's easy to defend against us because none of our players can skin past anyone.

• SlickRic wrote: »
    We've nobody who can beat a player. That's the issue. It's easy to defend against us because none of our players can skin past anyone.

Lallana surely

Haven't read the whole thread no, why is it a rule?
    Probably more helpful to just post it than the point you are trying to make

I'm not in the mood to be helpful for some reason.

The rule hasn't changed in recent years though regarding away goals, and it is a rule particular to this competition.

SlickRic wrote: »

Well Lallana, Firmino and Sturridge can but they haven't had much opportunities.....

Why the **** is Can furthest forward, he hasn't a clue what to do when he gets it.

Couldn't open up Plymouth who parked the bus. Can't get passed Southampton who aren't.

Going back and sideways like we're trying to do a match version of the Konami code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ugh Sturridge...easy ball on to the left wing, and he turns inside into 3 players and falls over instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Even though this is a really bad game to watch, Southampton are making it look easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Coutinho an obvious sub second half, but I reckon Woodburn could bring a lot to this game too at wide forward. Just someone willing to run at defenders and create a hole by dragging players to him - the Mane job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,679 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Cop on studge