Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Montpellier Match Build Up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Buer wrote: »
    Interesting that the Indo report that SOB was in the original side, pulled up with a tight calf and it was VDF who came into the team to replace him indicating that Conan was due to start already.
    I can see some logic in Conan, SOB and Heaslip starting as it gets your big men on the pitch against that pack. However, once SOB was out I probably would have brought Ruddock in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Sangre wrote: »
    I can see some logic in Conan, SOB and Heaslip starting as it gets your big men on the pitch against that pack. However, once SOB was out I probably would have brought Ruddock in.

Conan, Ruddock and Heaslip as a backrow? We're not animals, Sangre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I'm ridiculously excited for this, really hoping Sexton plays better than he did in Montpellier though, because their is no Carbery to get out us out of this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Bitterly cold in Ballsbridge this morning.

Very wet also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Very wet also

I thought that was just forecast for between 7:45 and 9:45 this evening no? Or are you in D4 watching re-runs of old games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

errlloyd wrote: »
    I'm ridiculously excited for this, really hoping Sexton plays better than he did in Montpellier though, because their is no Carbery to get out us out of this mess.

In fairness, Sexton wasn't even close to being fit that day.

But is he 100% now? I doubt it.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,569 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Very wet also

been watching the 2011 HC final again???

sydthebeat wrote: »
    been watching the 2011 HC final again???

Only the second half

In fairness, Sexton wasn't even close to being fit that day.

But is he 100% now? I doubt it.

I'd say he is closer though in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

I don't think Ruddock exactly set things alight on his recent appearances, very happy with VdeF in the side

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Supposed to be dry all day, just really cold though. 1 degree during the match. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭swiwi_

molloyjh wrote: »
    I'd say he is closer though in fairness.

Fairness to whom...? What exactly do people mean by "in fairness"

In other news, what are the odds on the next iteration being

previous former
    former previous
    prior total
    etc

:p

Don't want to hear any moaning about the weather you bunch of softs*cks. It's proper snowing here, not a few flakes that shut down the entire Irish transport network for want of salt.

swiwi_ wrote: »

previous former
    former previous
    prior total
    etc

Don't want to hear any moaning about the weather you bunch of softs*cks. It's proper snowing here, not a few flakes that shut down the entire Irish transport network for want of salt.

In fairness to Sexton obviously. Duh! :P

Also, it isn't that bad here at all. It's cold, but that's fine. You can dress for that and be grand. Don't get the fuss at all myself. It's far from the worst we've ever had to cope with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

previous former
    former previous
    prior total
    etc

Come on swiwi, you lived in Ireland didn't you? We put "in fairness" in front of 80% of the opinions we voice.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Long Johns from Dunnes lads. 10 quid. Thank me in pints later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

dregin wrote: »

Pints after?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Bazzo wrote: »
    Come on swiwi, you lived in Ireland didn't you? We put "in fairness" in front of 80% of the opinions we voice.

In fairness, he's been gone a while.

Are they the ones with the flap at the arse?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

awec wrote: »
    Eh.... not that I can find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭Tarf1234

I'd say Ruddock is not fit, no way Conan starts in front of him at 6 if he's fit.

Conan makes an enormous contribution around the pitch, I don't think where he lines up in the scrum makes that much difference. Considering his form it's entirely conceivable he could start ahead of Ruddock imo.
    Ruddock was originally in the team and was pulled at 11. He is injured and was due to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Conan, Ruddock and Heaslip as a backrow? We're not animals, Sangre.

I meant Ruddock, VDF and Heaslip as thats a bit more balanced but yours would work as well Im sure!

If your head coach's surname is Coetzee it might work. If you intend on beating a rugby team at something other than eating, I would go with your revised selection ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Eh.... not that I can find.
    Are you using both hands? ;)

Down snowsuits - the Canadians all wear them and can have BBQs in -40 degree weather. You can get a good one for a couple of hundred quid, and they're well worth it:

first-ascent-down-suit.jpg

You'd look well in that standing in the RDS right enough.

The soft down padding would also be more forgiving during Venjur's more tumescent moments.

Bazzo wrote: »

In fairness you do.

Although I'm after leaving Ireland, so I have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Supposed to be dry all day, just really cold though. 1 degree during the match. :(

With a "real feel" of -6 with breeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Tarf1234 wrote: »
    Ruddock was originally in the team and was pulled at 11. He is injured and was due to start.

Cheers, was pretty sure that was the case. No way Conan getting in the 6 jersey ahead of Ruddock for a game like this, regardless of Conan good stats this year v Ruddock apparently modest recent displays. Conan has a way to go before he has the all round game that Ruddock has. Ruddock is an absolute monster when fully fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Does Ballsbridge shrivel up when it's really cold?

previous former
    former previous
    prior total
    etc

Ah, you missed me Swiwi swiwi. swiwi_, admit it

• Subscribers Posts: 42,569 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

jacothelad wrote: »
    Does Ballsbridge shrivel up when it's really cold?

it just disappears up its own hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

OSI wrote: »
    Winter Scumderland and the BT Young Scientist both on in RDS so there'll be feck all parking around the place.

Young scientists finishes at 6 doesn't it?

Ah, you missed me Swiwi swiwi. swiwi_, admit it

Any moral highground I have amounts to no more than a molehill at best...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

0fc4ed40ab7d58d1dfdc00b54aae2a30.jpg
    scott1974 wrote: »
    Forecast is for freezing temperatures, has there ever been a game called off in the RDS due to a frozen pitch?

Lads, I'm afraid Venjur sneaked into his seat in the Anglesea stand early today he was so excited about the game. Unfortunately, this is currently the view from the Anglesea Terrace...

406289.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭chancer12

Is this on TG4 or just Sky?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Whose turn is it to check the Leinster website?

I'm not doing it again. I had to look at it last week.
    chancer12 wrote: »
    Is this on TG4 or just Sky?

Edit: It's CC so definitely not TG4. And since no English team is involved, I'm going to go out on a limb and say Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭leakyboots

http://www.wheresthematch.com/tv/home.asp?sportid=3

This site is handy (although TG4 isn't mentioned on it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭chancer12

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

previous former
    former previous
    prior total
    etc

There's no lack of salt in that post anyroad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Nicer day than I expected it to be. Pretty cold but nothing spectacular. Besides I've splashed out and bought tickets in the Anglesea stand for the first time. No more hypothermia from the north or south stands for me! Or for the time being anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

weather would be fine, if it wasn't for that 7 degree wind chill!

http://www.accuweather.com/en/ie/ballsbridge/207869/hourly-weather-forecast/207869

Just for those planning to watch as many games as possible over the weekend, the key results for us would be:
    1. Bordeaux to beat Clermont
    2. Glasgow to beat Munster
    3. Scarlets to beat Saracens

If those happened (and they would all be home wins), then wins for us this week and next would guarantee not only a home QF but also a top 2 placing. Even if one of them happened, ideally Bordeaux to win, it would be great.

(Wins for us against Montpellier and Castres give us a home QF regardless of what happens elsewhere)

Also, Saints beating Castres (another home win) would ensure Castres have nothing left to play for next week so that would be sweet too.

There's no lack of salt in that post anyroad!

Speaking of salt this stuff from Lidl is the bomb.

Better than that sel de Camargue near from some place called Montpellier anyway (adroitly links off-topic post into match build-up thread)

Speaking of salt this stuff from Lidl is the bomb.

Better than that sel de Camargue near from some place called Montpellier anyway (adroitly links off-topic post into match build-up thread)

The most Leinster post in this entire thread, from a Kiwi in Switzerland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Honestly it's so hipster that it could actually be Thornley. Right down to the choice of Lidl.

But this just raises the question, where are the Lunsters of yesteryear?

A handful of Swiss condescend to shop at Lidl.

The rest shop at plush stores.

That is the most Leinster post in the thread.

A handful of Swiss condescend to shop at Lidl.

The rest shop at plush stores.

That is the most Leinster post in the thread.

Tut tut, you're out of the game too long, mate.

The creme don't shop at plush stores, they pull up around the back and have their prebought goods put in the back of the Range. That or home delivery, but lord knows you wouldn't want someone earning minimum wage on your property.

Tut tut, you're out of the game too long, mate.

The creme don't shop at plush stores, they pull up around the back and have their prebought goods put in the back of the Range. That or home delivery, but lord knows you wouldn't want someone earning minimum wage on your property.

Or you buy them at Lidl. You then carefully transfer the goods into Marks and Spencer bags before driving home in the range rover. It's about keeping up appearances. Gets a bit awkward though when you and the neighbour bump trollies at Lidl.