Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lahvlahn Thread from 12/01/17 - Now we're talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

perhaps someone should warn Louise about the dangers of smoking 60 benson and hedges a day

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

I'd say you'd get some odds on Redrum winning anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

This one sounds like the local pub queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Bartender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Now the bookie sitting at the end of the bar with his 'book' is part of our culture so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

It must be great to be a regulator in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

What are the odds of a gambler going on to become an addict? 6/4 Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,957 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Now the bookie sitting at the end of the bar with his 'book' is part of our culture so to speak.

In the pubs and restaurants Joe frequents these days, there's none of that.
    Or so he thinks - odds on there's somebody who will facilitate a wager for discerning punters.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    It has my local ruined. Everyone studying form on their phones and the bar staff on the phone to the bookies more often than pulling pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I was driving today and listening to Duffy not listening to his first two callers. Jesus hes a real thick. Anyway with regards to betting in publs it's been happening for years. I am at present in a boozer in castlegregory and the Barman is taking more in on bets than he is selling beer.
    A great little country. :)

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Omg, Did Joe just say that?..........Solder the posts back on?

Id say if it was Joes Jaag the firefighters would have dragged the girl out of it by the hair!

He's wouldn't have stopped to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,562 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

De 2-17 Joe Duffy Wurkday Calculator and dat:

Wurkdays in 2-17 to date so to speak: 29
    Joe Shows: 29
    No Show Joe Shows: 0
    PBH Shows: 0
    D'Omen Shows: 0
    AN Udder Shows: 0

Wurkdays in 2-17 to date so to speak: 29
    No Show Joe Shows: 0
    D'Omen Shows: 0

That will all change when the stretch in the evenings get longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

sligojoek wrote: »

Yep. Won't be long until he needs a bit of chinshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I think the 2002 vintage Champagnes (one of the best years in the past half century BTW) will be getting decanted in various hosteleries around France this Spring as it'll be 14-15 years since bottling, so expect our hero to make his way over there from the end of this month, when Aer Lingus start to fly to Bordeaux again after the winter break.

This is the one to go for BTW, especially if you intend placing it in the cellar. The price? At over a grand it's half a fcuking days wages.

http://www.millesima.ie/champagne-dom-perignon-vintage-2002.html?sku=17444

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Red Kev wrote: »
    I think the 2002 vintage Champagnes (one of the best years in the past half century BTW) will be getting decanted in various hosteleries around France this Spring as it'll be 14-15 years since bottling, so expect our hero to make his way over there from the end of this month, when Aer Lingus start to fly to Bordeaux again after the winter break.

This is the one to go for BTW, especially if you intend placing it in the cellar. The price? At over a grand it's half a fcuking days wages hour's fees.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Wayne on Fair City just mentioned he might ring Joe Duffy!!!

Not even FC is immune for RTEs shameless self promotion any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Not even FC is immune for RTEs shameless self promotion any more.

If Joe hears that he'll be looking for royalties for use of his name.

Coolhull posted this in the FC thread.
    Monday afternoon, 1.45 ---Wayne dials a number.................

Talk to Joe on 1850 715 815

Joe : ''And we 'ave a caller on Line 2, it's Wayne is it? Go ahead, yer thru to Joe''

Wayne : ''Hello, Joe. First I want to to tell you how much I enjoy your show.''

Joe : ''Sure a course yeh do, everyone do be likin' de Liveline. But tell me, wha' can I do for yeh'?

Wayne : ''Well, Joe, it's like this. Yesterday my landlady's husband burst through my door, and said the house is for sale, and we're to clean it up in case someone wants to view it''

Joe : ''I see, I see, I see. Just remember, Wayne, dere's to be no names mentioned, mind. Are yeh tellin' me he entered yer house, not even invited? Of a Sunday?''

Wayne : ''Yes Joe, uninvited, on a Sunday evening. Frightened the shi..eh, the sugar out of my wife, and she's just a harmless, quiet little woman, Joe. I want to know is there anything I can do? Have you any advice?''

JOE : ''Well, Wayne, the first piece of advice I 'ave is to lock de door behind yiz so people can't burst in on top of yiz. Yeh should reely try dat first.''

Wayne : '' God, Joe, that's great advice. Lock the door, eh? God, I would never have thought of that. I'll tell my neighbours too. They have the same kind of trouble sometimes, Joe, That's a very handy thing to know, Joe.''

Joe : '' 'Tis. 'Tis. 'Tis. But tell me, do yeh know dis landlord fella pers'nally?''

Wayne : ''I do, Joe. For a few weeks there I had a job driving him and his son in a limousine from his house to the burger place three doors down for business meetings. I had to wear my chauffeur's hat, even. That's unfair, Joe, isn't it?''

Joe : ''A'course, a'course, a'course 'tis unfair. But first, tell me, Wayne, have yeh a radio on in the background? I can hear a lot of interference. Is there a pack of big dogs howling'at the moon or sumthin'?''

Wayne : ''No, Joe, that's the wife sobbing quietly.''

Joe : Good 'eavens! And dat's how she sobs quietly?''

Wayne : ''You should hear her when she really gets going. And, Joe, I have to live with her. I remember one time Joe ,when the young fella was in hospital with a sore throat and she................''

Joe : ''Sorry Wayne,we have to leave it dere I'm afraid. The sound engineer, Ken has to go to A and E, he's after takin' a bit of a turn. But I hope youse come to some agreement with yer man. We'll see wha' we can do for yiz.
    God Bless...... Back again tomorrow at 1.45.
    Ray D'arcy is next.............''

Joe forgets he's still on air and his microphone is still on :

''Jaysus lads, did youse hear that fcukin' racket? Me ears are still ringin'. Are Ken's ears still bleedin'? Dat's unnatural wailin', so it is. She must be afcukin banshee......
    Wha'? Wha'? Still on air? Oh, sh1111! Sh111t!''

The Live Line stays stays open till three-fifteen . 1850 715 815......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

^
    Fake News.
    Joe would never cut off somebody who has a young fella in hosbital.

M

Wurkdays in 2-17 to date so to speak: 30
    No Show Joe Shows: 1
    D'Omen Shows: 1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Mid-term break so to speak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Red Fred wrote: »
    Mid-term break so to speak?

I refer to my post from Friday.... ;)
    Red Kev wrote: »

This is the one to go for BTW, especially if you intend placing it in the cellar. The price? At over a grand it's half a fcuking days wages.

Joe must have programmed the LL studio to literally go into meltdown at 12.40 today. Some serious technical issues on our Ray-D-Joe, so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I'd say he will be a no-show all week, sure what would be the point of coming in for a 4 dayer. He did well to last that long without a little breakeen though

Yay; first of the NO-Joe Day Shows.
    The Bould Damo presiding, with all the Massey-Ferguson information you could shake a stick at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

No way the Mc cabe scandal will be mentioned , Damo wouldn't have a notion where to start , I'm sure he'll start with a scam/ rural crime or a disease / autism/ cf , something safe !

surely the late late show will be a big part of today's show ?

I'd say he will be a no-show all week, sure what would be the point of coming in for a 4 dayer. He did well to last that long without a little breakeen though

If there are any avalanches in the alps for the next week ,Joe'll be the cause .

He lived beside his neighbors.....that's novel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,730 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Neighbors

Bastards the lot of them.

M

What colour were the neighbours?

Neighbour from Hell.
    I hope I'm not that person :)
    Luckily, my neighbours are quite tolerant and I don't go out of my way to be a nuisance.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Council House scum ( I grew up in a council estate btw)

Did he fix your window?
    No, did he feck.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

Where's Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,730 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Hate the way this fella repeats the questions asked him.

M

Did you buy Sea Sea Sea Tea Tea Vee?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

What decade did these things happen?

How long ago was this....and why is it relevant??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,291 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Whoy did he thrown the wife out?

joe6pack wrote: »
    Where's Joe?
    Probably got his feet up somewhere in the sun, after a gruelling five weeks of part-time wurke.

joe6pack wrote: »
    Where's Joe?

Using up the bit of verukas holiday he had to give up in order to save kennys hole.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

This is why "social housing" is a terrible idea.

Stick them all in the one place away from normal people.

Mention of Lugs Brannigan in 3,2,1 ....

M

Whoy didn't he do something constructive like throw a fake real looking pipe bomb in to their driveway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Did you ring the guards?

Yeah, and they got Tusla to set up a file on the father saying that he was a sex offender. Then they arrested him.

is there any current , relevant topics to discuss going on in the country at the moment :confused:

Of course the guards will do nothing about stuff like this, they're too busy bitching and backstabbing each other and renovating their rental properties.

Local TD will have been Joe's pal Charlie O'Connor, I bet.