Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lahvlahn Thread from 12/01/17 - Now we're talking

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

They are blocking cars by walking across the entrance.. ffs can anybody tell the truth for fear or reprisals from these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I'd get the biggest f**king Tesco bag I could find and walk straight past the c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

The fact that there is a picket at all is in itself intimidating. Many people just won't pass a picket. They will just go elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,567 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Hash Wednesday.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Why don't you offer to deliver to your regular customers?

M

Home delivery would be grand so to speak.

Sure damo he should go and try to reason with a bunch of union heads... thats the very definition of wasting your time.

M

I'd spit in the face of any scum asking me where I was going.

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭LandonRicketts

So who is actually working within the Tesco strike stores at the moment, is it those not in Mandate Union or those not in any union or what?

Managers drafted in from other stores and employees who broke the picket probably because they thought the pre96-ers got a really good deal

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

Strikers out of control...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,958 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"I'm meeting Damo for an ounce of coke, now feck off."
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,023 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

so what if she wanted to shop in Tesco ??? It's her fúcking choice

M

"I'm going to ride your ma", that would get a nice response.

Why don't you offer to deliver to your regular customers?

Yes, a nail bar could offer hand jobs at home.

Ya No Wat I MEEN......

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

"€14 per hour very low for a married man."

What does his marital status have to do with his wage?

And how much do people want for working in a supermarket realistically?

it's hard enough to understand that accent, never mind with a bad line on top of it

Meanwhile, there are OOD bargains to be had in the shopping centre if you get down there quick.

PauloMN wrote: »

National comparison could be the Luas drivers!!

Shutting businesses down, that is all that unions were ever good for.

M

Up the back so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Duggie2012

excatly, that seems pretty decent wages i would have thought.

Going in the back way, in Finglas.

M

When it's over will there be a massive booze sale in Tesco to bring de customers back?

Move on Damo. Everyone is repeating themselves at this stage!

they seem to be trying to throw all the blame on Tesco today

Shutting businesses down, that is all that unions were ever good for.

We pay radio telephonists to do that.

Where is Duffy today, I presume he's on the picket line with them?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Why doesn't he load up his fish on to a barrow and head off to the end of the road where the picketers aren't! A-Live-A Live O, so to speak

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

I just think people in Ireland are losing the run of themselves. No disrespect to anyone working in a low paid job, but they are low paid for a reason. I mean €14 per hour is the bones of €30k per annum on a 40 hour week, for a job that requires zero qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

Your wan was eating the phone. Couldn't understand her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

They are blocking cars by walking across the entrance.. ffs can anybody tell the truth for fear or reprisals from these people.

It's up to the public at the end of the day - if they just drive through regardless, the picket will lose it's power.

No one smells of roses here - both the workers and Tesco are abusing the small business owners. Plague on both their houses.

M

Why doesn't he load up his fish on to a barrow and head off to the end of the road where the picketers aren't! A-Live-A Live O, so to speak

De health & safety crowd would shut him down.

stopping no one, other than that 14 year old girl that you conveniently choose to forget.

RTE are far too soft on the unions. The unions are responsible for Irish citizens not being able to run their business. The guards should be called and the picketers should be moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

I just think people in Ireland are losing the run of themselves. No disrespect to anyone working in a low paid job, but they are low paid for a reason. I mean €14 per hour is the bones of €30k per annum on a 40 hour week, for a job that requires zero qualifications.

I beg to differ. Their are multinationals who pay €30k a year & look for qualifications.

Some Jobsworth from the HSE would have his balls on a spit, for not having a stainless steel barrow meeting the latest set of Cockle & Mussel Retailing Regulations, Street Traders, for the use of. (amended 1997).

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Duggie2012

i agree. and if someone had asked me where i was going and what i was buying i'd have given them some answer.

M

RTÉ lost €20 million last year, it's actually losing more than Bus Eireann is and feck all mention of it.

well people have started to sleep out in cars for new developments again !! What could go wrong :D . Same with bank loans for businesses , they hardly want to see the business accounts, can't give the money out quick enough

Add Ash??

M

Who would have ever thought that living above a pub would be loud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

What does he expect if he's living over a pub?

Man rents apartment above pub and is surprised at noise at the weekends?

M

Has someone taped in to his line or has he a geiger counter running in the background?

baldbear wrote: »
    I beg to differ. Their are multinationals who pay €30k a year & look for qualifications.

Well even more to the point so!

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

Adash can't meditate with the load music butting in...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Its not just an issue of the wages, its the new contracts that are been implemented that are detrimental to the workers and compromise the original contactual agreements that were drawn up by those amount or workers who were employed under the 1996 t&cs

Lives in flat above pub.
    Noisy? What de feck did he expect?
    If I'd rented a flat above a chipper, I'd not be surprised at the whiff of frying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Duh!

What did he expect living over a pub in a busy city street in Dublin?

Stupid caller, move on Damo!